If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin is an unadulterated kip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I feel so bad for the people who hate Dublin but are stuck there with a gun to their head, unable to move, unable to look for other jobs, unable to avoid visiting the place for a dat trip, unable to learn to drive so as to avoid the bus eireann buses running from Dublin.

Must be awful having no choice but to be in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    People are defending Dublin. That's not "jumping on" people. The opening post is slating Dublin so of course a lot of people here will defend the place. And how do you know everyone defending Dublin is a native Dub or even lives there? Strangely enough, some people from outside the capital are able to not completely slate the place and some of them, shock horror, actually like Dublin!

There is a difference between defending Dublin and insulting people to do it. Dubs remind me of Neapolitans, they s**** on about everyone else all the time (culchies, muck savages, boggers) but the minute anyone says anything about their beloved Dublin (Naples for Neapolitans) they throw their arms up in the air.

And here we have a case in point :P ...
    Bambi wrote: »
    Been to em all bar paris, they're all equally manky around the city centre except for Vienna (and it means nothing to me)

On the plus side they're not riddle with red faced misery laced boggers :)

They are beautiful in the city centres, you must have gone to the wrong parts.

I will say one positive thing about Dublin. Its quite simply the best city for a night out that I've been in. The range of options for going for a pint is great and all within walking distance and its the one capital city where you are assured of a decent pint (Guinness, even though ye don't do the large bottle grr). It even looks quite nice at night too, perhaps because the dirt isn't as visible :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Very Bored wrote: »
    There is a difference between defending Dublin and insulting people to do it. Dubs remind me of Neapolitans, they s**** on about everyone else all the time (culchies, muck savages, boggers) but the minute anyone says anything about their beloved Dublin (Naples for Neapolitans) they throw their arms up in the air.

And here we have a case in point :P ...

They are beautiful in the city centres, you must have gone to the wrong parts.

I will say one positive thing about Dublin. Its quite simply the best city for a night out that I've been in. The range of options for going for a pint is great and all within walking distance and its the one capital city where you are assured of a decent pint (Guinness, even though ye don't do the large bottle grr). It even looks quite nice at night too, perhaps because the dirt isn't as visible :P.

In fairness, anyone who runs down Dublin as much as you have does come across like a bogger with a chip on their shoulder. And note, I'm from rural Ireland and like a lot of things about my upbringing.

And nope, some of the cities you have mentioned are not nicer than Dublin in the centre. Cardiff being one. And London doesn't even really have a true centre. Again, you seem to think nobody else has been to these places.

And once again, littering isn't confined to Dublin. All the cities I've been to in Ireland fall down on this aspect. Yup, even Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,592 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Anyone with the gift of vision would have come to this conclusion a long time ago. Stacked up against most European capitals and Dublin is exactly as Joe described it.

In fairness, anyone who runs down Dublin as much as you have does come across like a bogger with a chip on their shoulder. And note, I'm from rural Ireland and like a lot of things about my upbringing.

And nope, some of the cities you have mentioned are not nicer than Dublin in the centre. Cardiff being one. And London doesn't even really have a true centre. Again, you seem to think nobody else has been to these places.

And once again, littering isn't confined to Dublin. All the cities I've been to in Ireland fall down on this aspect. Yup, even Galway.

See, at it again, anyone who runs Dublin down... so anyone who dislikes Dublin is a bogger with a chip on their shoulder. I have an Italian friend, he lives in Italy as he has done all his life, he visited Dublin a couple of years ago and hated it though he liked other places he visited in Ireland... is he a bogger with a chip on his shoulder too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Reiver wrote: »
    Really? REALLY?! The country where everything is trying to kill you!?

Well... from a people perspective. :D

There are not much issues with spiders and the likes though, in the cities. Also the only aggressive spider is the funnel web (which is beyond evil), the big scary ones like huntsmen are not actually very venomous at all, not enough to be a danger. Redbacks are often on building sites apparently, which is why they bite people - because that persons hand was about to crush them. The venom in their bites are crazy.

But about 6pm in Syndey by central station... there`s about as many bats as that scene in the mansion from The Dark Knight Rises. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

There is a difference between defending Dublin and insulting people to do it. Dubs remind me of Neapolitans, they s**** on about everyone else all the time (culchies, muck savages, boggers) but the minute anyone says anything about their beloved Dublin (Naples for Neapolitans) they throw their arms up in the air

Yeeeaahhh, about that... :D

Personally though I find Dublin pretty mediocre for a night out in. Might have just got bored of it though, as its not the biggest of cities in terms of land space and there is not a huge amount of variety imo. Also like most of Ireland it can be tricky to have a good (non date) night out in without a lot of alcohol being involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,909 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

snubbleste wrote: »
    Ah now, Joe Duffy was very clear. The podcast of the show was edited.
    Dublin is an unadulterated KIP
    It's a KIP

Dublin city centre is DEAD!
    DEAD!
    DEAD!

'Real' Dubs like Joe are convinced the city centre does not extend more than a few yards south of the Liffey. I lived in Fairview years ago, and the bus drivers would often announce at the Georges Quay stop that the bus wouldn't make any more city centre stops. It would stop at College street/green, Nassau St, Kildare St and finish at St Stephens green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I feel so bad for the people who hate Dublin but are stuck there with a gun to their head, unable to move, unable to look for other jobs, unable to avoid visiting the place for a dat trip, unable to learn to drive so as to avoid the bus eireann buses running from Dublin.

Must be awful having no choice but to be in Dublin

F*ck sake ... it's not my fault there's no direct flight to Cork

I WAS FORCED JOE... FORCED :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Tell you what people/culchies in this thread who seem to despise Dublin so, we'll do our thing and stop propping you guys up economically, you guys can prevent yourselves from visiting our fair city if its so terrible.

See, at it again, anyone who runs Dublin down... so anyone who dislikes Dublin is a bogger with a chip on their shoulder. I have an Italian friend, he lives in Italy as he has done all his life, he visited Dublin a couple of years ago and hated it though he liked other places he visited in Ireland... is he a bogger with a chip on his shoulder too?

Nope, some people put forward good arguments against Dublin and don't come across as insular as you do.

I have no idea of this Italian guy's background. "He's from Italy" isn't massively illuminating. Believe it or not though, not everyone from Italy is a cultured, high art devouring, opera-loving sort. People love to use Italians and other continental Europeans as their cultured trump card, as if they are all a homogeneous group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Do yourselves a favour and visit Rome, London, Paris, Prague, Vienna, Budapest etc. then come back and tell me how beautiful the capital city of Ireland is.

Architecturally those cities are a lot nicer than Dublin. That's not to say they're all better though. I've been to worse cities. There are things I like about Dublin and things I dislike. The only city I've been to that I would never return to is Lisbon.

I always hear bad things about Lisbon. Lisbon and Los Angeles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I always hear bad things about Lisbon. Lisbon and Los Angeles.

I've actually never heard anyone say anything bad about Lisbon which is why I was really surprised. I just thought it was a dull boring kip. A lot of pushy drug dealers too which gets annoying after a while. I haven't been to L.A but yeah I've heard a lot of bad things about that place.

An unreasonable response:
    Nope, some people put forward good arguments against Dublin and don't come across as insular as you do.

I have no idea of this Italian guy's background. "He's from Italy" isn't massively illuminating. Believe it or not though, not everyone from Italy is a cultured, high art devouring, opera-loving sort. People love to use Italians and other continental Europeans as their cultured trump card, as if they are all a homogeneous group.

Incidentally, I asked was my Italian friend a bogger because he didn't like Dublin. I didn't hold him up as the custodian of La Scala. The point was that he can't be a bogger as he's not from, such an eloquent term, the bog, but that went straight over the top of your head, as I guess, do most things.

Oh, and you missed the part where I praised Dublin extremely highly for something... conveniently.

A reasonable response:

Incidentally Mr. Vain, I would say the same about Naples.

Incidentally, I asked was my Italian friend a bogger because he didn't like Dublin.

Yeah right. :pac: That totally happened. Totally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭booooring!

Are you married to Dublin or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

The visible drug problem on the streets of Dublin city centre has a lot to do with lack of policing. Funnily enough I was outside the dail there the other day and there were about 40 Gardai protecting the dail from a protest of...about 150 nurses and mid wives. That's priorities for you.

Funding and Gardai numbers along with most other public services have been cut over the past 7 plus years due to an economic crisis caused mostly by culchies called Sean: Sean Fitzpatrick, Sean Dunne, Sean Quinn. Really it's culchies that got Dublin into this mess.

As for Dublin comparing badly with various European cities maybe so but atleast its on the same plain as them. Compare Ireland's villages with the villages in countries like France or Italy. Most Irish 'villages' are no more that crossroads with a church, pub and shop. Now days some have ugly commuter estates attached to them. Of the 1000s of villages in Ireland only a handful could be considered attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I know Cardiff very well. It and Dublin are very similar, it's not any nicer than Dublin certainly.

I like Dublin just fine but Cardiff is a significantly nicer city.

booooring! wrote: »
    Are you married to Dublin or something?

Yes. Yes I am.

iguana wrote: »
    I like Dublin just fine but Cardiff is a significantly nicer city.

I disagree, they are very similar. I cannot think of anything that makes Cardiff nicer. Similar shopping, public transport system is no better, similar sized city centres with nice buildings in both along with bad buildings, both have their dodgy districts, both have lots of parks. The newly spruced up Cardiff Bay area is a bit on the tacky side. If anything, overall I find Cardiff a bit rougher than Dublin. And whilst Dublin has many of the UK multiples, it still less homogeneous than Cardiff. Rock up to Cardiff from any other part of the UK and without the bilingual signage you wouldn't know you weren't in Manchester or Cheltenham or Oxford or wherever. Cardiff is cheaper of course, but that corresponds to Welsh wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭gumbo1

I like to have unadulterated kips in Dublin!!

Yes. Yes I am.

You do realise that this adds nothing to the debate?

By the way, you do understand that it is perfectly possible for an Italian to not like Dublin? You do realise Italians have opinions too? They're like real people and everything :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

You do realise that this adds nothing to the debate?

By the way, you do understand that it is perfectly possible for an Italian to not like Dublin? You do realise Italians have opinions too? They're like real people and everything :rolleyes:.

They seem happy enough with their visitss to Dublin to me:

http://www.tripadvisor.it/Attractions-g186605-Activities-Dublin_County_Dublin.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,913 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Billy86 wrote: »
    'm pretty sure I've seen Dublin and Brussels regularly take the bottom two spots lists of "European capitals by free activities". Which is why whenever someone asks "what can I do in Dublin for the that won't actually cost money just to enter" the barrel begins to get scraped very, very quickly.

Idle hands...

Where did you see this list? In doctor Billy86 Bullsheets mind? Because. unlike other capital cities, most of Dublin's galleries, museums, libraries, colleges etc are free to visit. You can just walk in!

Just shows you the lengths some Irish people will go to run down their own country. Billy86, you've obviously never been to a Dublin museum or gallery, yet you're willing to bitch about nothing being free in Dublin!

Lots of little spoofs, lies, tall stories and barstool talk on this thread.

Idle minds... :rolleyes:

Yes because Trip Advisor represents every Italian who visited Dublin... ever...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ignatius in bloom

Yes because Trip Advisor represents every Italian who visited Dublin... ever...

no but it gives an indication of what people like, sort of like a poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Well I asked my Spanish friend, and my Italian friend, and these eastern european lads I met in the street, and they love Dublin, so I think that proves the point :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭StonyIron

It depends what you like. It's not a city you visit for the grand architecture though. It has very little of that. It's more for for the craic and the atmosphere.

It does need more street policing though. There's no question about that.

If you'd no policing in Paris it would melt down in ten mins. Same in London : note London riots ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ignatius in bloom

StonyIron wrote: »
    It depends what you like. It's not a city you visit for the grand architecture though. It has very little of that. It's more for for the craic and the atmosphere.

It does need more street policing though. There's no question about that.

If you'd no policing in Paris it would melt down in ten mins. Same in London : note London riots ...

I think Dublin has great architecture but its more spread out than other cities less obvious and also DCC have kind of hidden it with some of the ****e they have allowed companies to build.