If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin is an unadulterated kip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

I'd say foreigners must find it downright adorable when certain Irish people start going on about how those other Irish people that live a 30 minute drive or so away from them are so different from them and are this and that and the other. Even coming up with new derogatory nicknames for each other now apparently, to add to the existing ridiculous ones.

I don't find it adorable. It's cringe worthy and embarrassing. You're utter buffoons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tbh, it's in every country and even within areas of the same country.

This type of thread pops up every few months or so and everyone starts hacking at each other. We get along great in other forums, it's just AH that has become Thunderdome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

There was a program about this,
    joe duffy walked around dublin for a few hours.
    His main complaint was all the old shops are gone,
    clearys is gone,boylans is gone.
    peats now is a shop that sells the old stock from clearys .
    Theres too many fast food shops ,2euro shops, in the city centre .
    This was discussed on classic hits fm,on a talk show .
    is dublin a kip
    Someone said the boardwalk should be removed ,
    its mainly used by junklies .
    i,ve never found public transport unsafe, but i dont usually get on buse,s
    after 11pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

OneOfThem wrote: »
    I'd say foreigners must find it downright adorable when certain Irish people start going on about how those other Irish people that live a 30 minute drive or so away from them are so different from them and are this and that and the other. Even coming up with new derogatory nicknames for each other now apparently, to add to the existing ridiculous ones.

I don't find it adorable. It's cringe worthy and embarrassing. You're utter buffoons.

Jesus, every country in the world does this!You see it in the UK, US, Germany, France.

I wouldn't take it too seriously...it's not uniquely Irish in any sense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

That's weird, because Joe Duffy is usually so positive about everything? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭miroslavklose

OneOfThem wrote: »
    I'd say foreigners must find it downright adorable when certain Irish people start going on about how those other Irish people that live a 30 minute drive or so away from them are so different from them and are this and that and the other.
    To be fair, I wouldn't worry about what foreigners think about our naming conventions. It's not as if many people actually use these terms seriously.
    riclad wrote: »
    Someone said the boardwalk should be removed ,
    its mainly used by junklies .
    It would be an incredibly Irish thing to do to bulldoze an entire boardwalk just because junkies go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,599 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

riclad wrote: »
    This was discussed on classic hits fm,on a talk show .

if its the show i'm thinking of, i wouldn't take it seriously. the show is a bunch of over exaggerated bating and trolling rabel rousing tripe.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

It's an accusation that someone would prefer that Ireland stayed in Britain. Where we were in terms of citizenship West Britons. Given that there are people who believe that independence was a mistake, it's valid to use in those cases.

I'd wager that it is invalid in 99.99999% of cases in which it is uttered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

biko wrote: »
    Yeah I had never heard muck savage before boards. I had heard bogger and culchie many times though.

When in Australia I heard the Aussies call the English "poms".
    It works well for Dubs too, it's short for "pompous".

*Please note that I don't refer to all dubs as poms, that would be racist. There is a small number of poms that bring disrepute on the whole population.

http://www.worldwidewords.org/qa/qa-pom1.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,913 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

When in Australia I heard the Aussies call the English "poms".
    It works well for Dubs too, it's short for "pompous"

Who told you that Biko? You got that spectacularly wrong.

And comparing Dubliners to English people isn’t just going to cut the mustard or get people as roiled as you want. We’re close neighbours. Do you think there’s much difference in farming practises in the two countries? Are all Irish farmers WestBrits now because they’ve adopted the British methods of farming? Are we all WestBrits for driving on the left hand side of the road? Are you more Irish than me because of where you live?

WestBrits. :rolleyes:

Grow up and stop trolling Biko.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Who told you that Biko? You got that spectacularly wrong.

And comparing Dubliners to English people isn’t just going to cut the mustard or get people as roiled as you want. We’re close neighbours. Do you think there’s much difference in farming practises in the two countries? Are all Irish farmers WestBrits now because they’ve adopted the British methods of farming? Are we all WestBrits for driving on the left hand side of the road? Are you more Irish than me because of where you live?

WestBrits. :rolleyes:

Grow up and stop trolling Biko.

Dont worry about Biko, he always tries to be funny but never is.

I`m just surprised he thought POM was short for pompous. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,531 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

You only have to visit the Dublin City forum here and see the delusions of grandeur some have when in comes to Dublin.

The problem with Dublin is that it is badly planned and not looked after.

You only have to visit the Dublin City forum here and see the delusions of grandeur some have when in comes to Dublin.

The problem with Dublin is that it is badly planned and not looked after.

It is a kip and loads of Dubs think its the best city in the world. They need to see some of the rest of the world to really form an objective opinion.

The whole West Brit thing is a bit stupid though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

sully2010 wrote: »
    It is a kip and loads of Dubs think its the best city in the world. They need to see some of the rest of the world to really form an objective opinion.

The people from outside Dublin need to see some of the rest of Dublin to really form an objective opinion :)

...actually don't bother, that would take from these areas ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Its hardly a kip and to be fair the vast majority of Dubliners don't bang on that its the best city in the world. Its the same with Cork. Few Corkonian's go on about it being the centre of the planet, other then a local radio station im not sure ive ever heard a real life person say its the real capital unless their taking the piss but plenty non Corkonian's and non Dubliner's are only too happy to believe the bull.

The more I travel the higher the esteem i've felt for Irish cities.

I just find threads like this funny because I would wager some of the more vitriolic posters in it would then turn around and claim it is outrageous to consider Irish people as petty or begrudging.

Funny enough, I quickly googled the definition of begrudgery and apparently it is an Irish with Irish (location, not language) origins. :pac:

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Its hardly a kip and to be fair the vast majority of Dubliners don't bang on that its the best city in the world. Its the same with Cork. Few Corkonian's go on about it being the centre of the planet, other then a local radio station im not sure ive ever heard a real life person say its the real capital unless their taking the piss but plenty non Corkonian's and non Dubliner's are only too happy to believe the bull.

The more I travel the higher the esteem i've felt for Irish cities.

Dont get me wrong, I'm a Dubliner who loves Dublin but what I see now I don't like and that is why I call it a kip. eg

-The walking dead junkies roaming the city centre, banging up whereever and whenever they please.
    -Gangs of feral scrotes roaming the streets everywhere and if you so much as look at them the wrong way, you could be in for a hiding or worse. Stories literally every week of this happening.
    -The whole knacker and wannabe knacker culture that is pretty exclusive to Ireland and the UK. And its bad in Dublin. I just don't get it.
    -The tacky shops all over town, O'Connell street is a disgrace.
    -Public transport is pretty crap, and buses can be dangerous at night. The Mexican girl who got randomly beaten up on a bus last year says she feels safer at home now in Mexico city than she does in Dublin. Reports recently of Brazilian students being beaten up and told to f**k off home, one nearly lost an eye in a recent attack.
    -The lack of a visible Garda presence. I don't blame the Guards for this, if you go and cut and cut theirs salaries and don't give them the resources they need to do their jobs their morale plummets and talking to a couple of Guards I know, this is exactly what has happened.

I have been lucky enough to travel to a lot of places in the world and for a first world EU country I think Dublin is a kip compared to others, even ones that are not considered first world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

*Please note that I don't refer to all dubs as poms, that would be racist.
    Dubs are not a race, so you would not be a racist if you said it, you would be a thoroughbred gobshite.

Dont get me wrong, I'm a Dubliner who loves Dublin but what I see now I don't like and that is why I call it a kip. eg

-The walking dead junkies roaming the city centre, banging up whereever and whenever they please.
    -Gangs of feral scrotes roaming the streets everywhere and if you so much as look at them the wrong way, you could be in for a hiding or worse. Stories literally every week of this happening.
    -The whole knacker and wannabe knacker culture that is pretty exclusive to Ireland and the UK. And its bad in Dublin. I just don't get it.
    -The tacky shops all over town, O'Connell street is a disgrace.
    -Public transport is pretty crap, and buses can be dangerous at night. The Mexican girl who got randomly beaten up on a bus last year says she feels safer at home now in Mexico city than she does in Dublin.
    -The lack of a visible Garda presence. I don't blame the Guards for this, if you go and cut and cut theirs salaries and don't give them the resources they need to do their jobs their morale plummets and talking to a couple of Guards I know, this is exactly what has happened.

I have been lucky enough to travel to a lot of places in the world and for a first world EU country I think Dublin is a kip compared to others, even ones that are not considered first world.

Most of the stuff you write about (and I am not disputing it) relates to the city centre and surrounding area. There are some really lovely parts of Dublin but people don't see this (and if they are from outside Dublin, perhaps there is an element of willful blindness).

I was actually walking the other evening with my mam and the dog and a garda car driving down the road stopped and asked if were ok, and we exchanged the usual pleasantries. It was nice to see them out and about especially in a rural area. I have travelled a fair bit too, and would agree that Dublin city centre is a kip, but I wouldn't describe all of Dublin like that.

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Most of the stuff you write about (and I am not disputing it) relates to the city centre and surrounding area. There are some really lovely parts of Dublin but people don't see this (and if they are from outside Dublin, perhaps there is an element of willful blindness).

I was actually walking the other evening with my mam and the dog and a garda car driving down the road stopped and asked if were ok, and we exchanged the usual pleasantries. It was nice to see them out and about especially in a rural area. I have travelled a fair bit too, and would agree that Dublin city centre is a kip, but I wouldn't describe all of Dublin like that.

Well I'm from a "lovely area" in South Dublin but the scrote/knacker problem is very visible here too. Junkies to a smaller extent. Literally everyone I know has been accosted and aggressively asked for money, cigarettes etc and god help you if you don't oblige, a guaranteed headbutt, box or worse. The Luas enables the scrotes to roam freely, just wait for the 2 lines to be connected Lol

The city is being destroyed by years of Government and Council mismanagement.

Well I'm from a "lovely area" in South Dublin but the scrote/knacker problem is very visible here too. Junkies to a smaller extent. Literally everyone I know has been accosted and aggressively asked for money, cigarettes etc and god help you if you don't oblige, a guaranteed headbutt, box or worse. The Luas enables the scrotes to roam freely, just wait for the 2 lines to be connected Lol

The city is being destroyed by years of Government and Council mismanagement.

Sounds lovely. I don't have that (yet!) although we do have to put up with the w*nker alpha males shooting the beautiful deer and the odd kn*cker does make it up in a stolen car every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

booooring! wrote: »
    It's a piss smelling, scumbag central, ugly buildings, over crowded piece of ****. Dublin is a hole.

What? The entire city? All of it, really?

That's a bit like the person who spends a week in Benidorm and tells you they hate Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    What? The entire city? All of it, really?

That's a bit like the person who spends a week in Benidorm and tells you they hate Spain.

Benidorm is to the Spanish what Dublin is to the Irish? We should tell Madrid!!

His point was that Benidorm is a part of Spain, not all of it. I will give you the benefit of the doubt and assume that went over your head. :)

But do you mean the same Madrid that is home to the biggest shanty town in Europe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,913 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Well I'm from a "lovely area" in South Dublin but the scrote/knacker problem is very visible here too. Junkies to a smaller extent. Literally everyone I know has been accosted and aggressively asked for money, cigarettes etc and god help you if you don't oblige, a guaranteed headbutt, box or worse.

Where the hell do you live??? You're telling me you get bullied in to handing over money and cigarettes? That has never ever happened to me in Dublin, in fact anywhere and I lived in the inner North city for years.

How old are you? Does this happen in school?

I think you missed the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

The sense of humour is weak in this thread, so while we're being pedantic let me clarify: Benidorm is to the Spanish as Lahinch is to the Irish. God almighty :rolleyes:

Ok, here is my point. Benidorm is a dump. I have not been all over Spain, but most of what I have seen is very nice. For the record, I think Lahinch is quite nice too. I reckon I have a fairly decent sense of humour but I failed to see anything remotely amusing in your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

We need another 3000 gardai in dublin .
    Gardai retire every year ,
    we hardly have enough gardai in the city centre ,and tourist area,s .temple bar etc
    Theres a problem with the hse , the junkies are put on methadone ,they go to clinics ,hang around the city centre .
    There,s very few drug addicts that go to rehab centre,s to get off drugs .Some have been on methadone for 15 years plus .
    i Have been asked for cigarettes a few times ,
    or do you wanna buy some hash.
    thats about it .
    i Don,t think i,ve ever been threatened by some random stranger ever .
    i just ignore them or say i don,t smoke .
    Reduce the army by half ,and recruit more gardai .
    There s some lovely area,s and parks in dublin .
    And theres rough area,s too .
    And Theres some beautiful buildings , art gallerys etc
    It,s a mixture of good, bad , and bland mediocre modern buildings .
    We dont need a new metro to the airport ,
    we need more hospital beds and rehab centres .