Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Nemo great football club but hurlers way down the line

Imagine you wanted your lad s to hurl and you were in memo - amount of wasted hurling talent there shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Imagine you wanted your lad s to hurl and you were in memo - amount of wasted hurling talent there shocking

Nothing stopping them from hurling with a different club if indeed you wanted to play football with Nemo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

DuffleBag wrote: »
    Nothing stopping them from hurling with a different club if indeed you wanted to play football with Nemo.

I'd totally agree
    I don't agree with it as I'm a romantic at heart but realism must prevail over romance and imo dual clubs is not going win much when jack of all trades master of none won't work
    If nemo were become successful in hurling they would have to have some of the football team involved
    Unfortunately dualism is hard at any level
    Wexford have put a limit on dual under age and while it's harsh in another way I can see there point

Nemo is hurling and football club so they couldn't

Different with likes of castle haven who play football only

Alan Donovan as an example of very talented hurler cronins lovely hurlers to but will never develop there

Middleton back from dead in dean Ryan today after xtra. Time
    Thurles well up end of first hslf
    Won by 5 or 6 in end great result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Now Ger Lane tells us that in a few days we should know our new managers for the hurling and football teams ....this process has been on going for weeks now ...the big question is are we going to get two managers that will not inspire confidence ...if so and it looks that way ....then we can write next year off as well ...hopefully our u21 and Minor teams have better seasons and we sure need trophys from these teams ...mind you both underage managements in hurling failed this year and are the same for next year .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Now Ger Lane tells us that in a few days we should know our new managers for the hurling and football teams ....this process has been on going for weeks now ...the big question is are we going to get two managers that will not inspire confidence ...if so and it looks that way ....then we can write next year off as well ...hopefully our u21 and Minor teams have better seasons and we sure need trophys from these teams ...mind you both underage managements in hurling failed this year and are the same for next year .

CD, everyone knows its ronan McCarthy, I heard both English and ephie withdrew from the charade of a process after the cleary situation, McCarthy has proven himself to want the job at all costs, and to add insult to injury I feel he will probably appoint a few of the lads he was with Cuthbert!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

sean mac wrote: »
    CD, everyone knows its ronan McCarthy, I heard both English and ephie withdrew from the charade of a process after the cleary situation, McCarthy has proven himself to want the job at all costs, and to add insult to injury I feel he will probably appoint a few of the lads he was with Cuthbert!!!!

There's been reports that Cleary was prepared to do the job but that he wanted assurances over resources that would be made available and this was not forthcoming - there has also been reports that John Cleary decided not to take the job due to personal reasons.

The Players were very keen on Cleary and do not want Ronan McCarthy. I think McCarthy will get the job but if the players don't have confidence in him then he's at nothing.

Frank will be acutely aware that IC success will be imperative to pay the debt for the stadium. These 2 appointments are absolutely critical and in spite of past conduct, I can't see how CCB can expect success if the players aren't onside. Even Frank must surely realise that things are different now ?

There's been reports that Cleary was prepared to do the job but that he wanted assurances over resources that would be made available and this was not forthcoming - there has also been reports that John Cleary decided not to take the job due to personal reasons.

The Players were very keen on Cleary and do not want Ronan McCarthy. I think McCarthy will get the job but if the players don't have confidence in him then he's at nothing.

Frank will be acutely aware that IC success will be imperative to pay the debt for the stadium. These 2 appointments are absolutely critical and in spite of past conduct, I can't see how CCB can expect success if the players aren't onside. Even Frank must surely realise that things are different now ?

'Even frank must realise' jesus christ gary are you for real, he doesnt give a **** about football its the white elephant he cares about and maintains control of,the players not wanting mccarthy along with most cork football people would guarantee he will appoint mccarthy,have you been around for the last few years?

Alan Donovan as an example of very talented hurler cronins lovely hurlers to but will never develop there

Not if the child starts first day with two clubs. Cian McCarthy hurls with Sars and football with Passage

And even older. Mick Daly hurled with Cobh and transferred to Nemo for football, before transferring completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Innish_Rebel

Not if the child starts first day with two clubs. Cian McCarthy hurls with Sars and football with Passage

And even older. Mick Daly hurled with Cobh and transferred to Nemo for football, before transferring completely.

Not sure about the Mick Daly Situation - but as far as I know Sars are a hurling club. So to play for another club in football is possible - Glanmire is the football in the area but they are separate clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

'Even frank must realise' jesus christ gary are you for real, he doesnt give a **** about football its the white elephant he cares about and maintains control of,the players not wanting mccarthy along with most cork football people would guarantee he will appoint mccarthy,have you been around for the last few years?

Frank's main focus is the enduring monument to his greatness.
    However, he'll also want bumper crowds that will wonder in awe at his achievement. He knows that Cork v Kerry in Football and Cork v Tipp in Hurling would yield bumper crowds if we are competitive.

IMO Frank is smart enough to realise that his monument must get some decent crowds to fully anoint his greatness.

Maybe you are right and he is just concerned with building the stadium and isn't bothered whether we can fill it for Cork games. He's a dictator and out of touch with modern IC demands but surely he's not a complete fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Not sure about the Mick Daly Situation - but as far as I know Sars are a hurling club. So to play for another club in football is possible - Glanmire is the football in the area but they are separate clubs.

Ultimately Hurleratheart is right in that Nemo are doing a disservice to any intending young hurlers who join their ranks. They proudly call themselves 'Nemo Hurling & Football club'. That's as good as it gets from a hurling perspective. Not saying that's a good or bad thing - they can put football to the forefront as much as they like. My issue is that in some instances they get kids to join practically under false pretences. Not everybody has a GAA background but still wants their child to play hurling. They take one look at Nemo's facilities, take their lead from what the club call themselves and join up on the premise that their child will get a good grounding in hurling. That won't happen. as from day 1 football will be prioritised with hurling as an afterthought.

But shur wouldnt you say the same for East cork teams who put hurling first, with a divisional board that run off the championship and league before march, or west cork clubs that put football as their preference. BTW i'm no Nemo sympathizer but a bit of balance is needed here.

As I said in my last post, I've no issue with Nemo putting football first. But don't advertise yourself as a hurling club, get people in the door on that pretense and then subsequently disregard the promotion of the game.

That was my point they should call themselves nemo football club and let kids who want to hurl go somewhere else

Bit of imbalance beyween winning club all Irelands - fair play to them - and struggling to put out a junior hurling team

I'm surprised Ttm you didn't know basic principals of GAA is you can't just go off and play where you like
    You being font of all knowledge

Rural clubs would fall apart if it was not for parish rule

End of day i wish them every success in final they are a great football club

Not sure frank lives in same world of rest of us.

How much longer will this crap go. On for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭MUFC91CS

But Nemo are a hurling and football club. Just because they prioritise football does not take away from the fact that they field hurling teams. Very few clubs are equally competitive at both levels anyway.

I would strongly have to disagree with the point that Nemo are trying to get numbers by advertising themselves as a hurling club and that people are unaware of the fact that football is the clubs priority. I'm not even from Cork and I know Nemo are predominantly a football club. If I had no knowledge of GAA, or sport in general, and I was sending my kid to join a sports team I would either ask someone who was in the know or do a slight bit of research myself.

I wouldn't play football or hurling for a team other than my own club and football is pretty much treated with disdain there. The Castlehaven example is obviously different if they don't have a hurling team.

Dcrosskid the thurles dean Ryan panel is i was told from a tippeary person as follows
    It may be missing a name or two and you probably will know the clubs
    Most of the panel is there and like you say this panel is meant to be a team with a good chance this year
    Chris carew
    James Ryan
    Edmund o Gorman
    Rory darmody
    donnacha Quirke
    Barry mcgrath
    Brian o Meara
    Kieran connelly
    Michael nally
    Jack fallon
    Conor crowe
    Derry troy
    Brian o Meara
    Nathan slattery
    Connor bowe
    Darren flood
    Anthony cooney
    Jack Taylor
    Zach Johnson
    Aran Ryan
    Paddy doyle
    Paddy o dwyer
    Sean butler

Anthony cooney and mcgrath are meant to be two hurlers that are promising from thurles side in cooney is a good forward while and Thurles to be fair deserves credit for what there doing at school hurling.
    Interesting Liam Cahill tipp management who imo is a good coach said tippeary need more investment in the under age

The senior draws for the football and hurling are around the fifteen or so while the minor and under age are the week after
    Great news in the minor hurling has been changed and a repeat of cork playing limerick after beating them can't happen again and every team gets three chances

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/midleton-cbs-dig-deep-to-reel-in-thurles-358215.html

Thurles must of caught Middleton cold first half - great to dig it out for a finish they meet ASR next which will be great game I'm sure
    DlS look strong in other half ofcdraw

Harty cup starting next week too
    Can not wait

As I said in my last post, I've no issue with Nemo putting football first. But don't advertise yourself as a hurling club, get people in the door on that pretense and then subsequently disregard the promotion of the game.

This is one eyed nonsense, nemo compete at junior hurling level in the city, they are a senior football club. How the **** could anyone join the club thinking they were going to be playing a superior standard of hurling? do nemo promise senior hurling???
    Is this just an issue because they prioritise football? would you have the same issue with midleton hurling& FOOTBALL club?

Clubs are stronger in certain codes always the case picking on nemo is either a: small man meself syndrome or b: jealousy of nemo

they are not my club but they are one of the most progressive in cork, pity some of the other predominantly hurling clubs in the city weren't as forward thinking cork hurling wouldn't be in such a pitiful mess

This is one eyed nonsense, nemo compete at junior hurling level in the city, they are a senior football club. How the **** could anyone join the club thinking they were going to be playing a superior standard of hurling? do nemo promise senior hurling???
    Is this just an issue because they prioritise football? would you have the same issue with midleton hurling& FOOTBALL club?

Clubs are stronger in certain codes always the case picking on nemo is either a: small man meself syndrome or b: jealousy of nemo

they are not my club but they are one of the most progressive in cork, pity some of the other predominantly hurling clubs in the city weren't as forward thinking cork hurling wouldn't be in such a pitiful mess

Well thanks for that but I'm over 6ft and definately not jealous I have only a passing interest in football

I know a few lads wh o wen t there who would of made fine hurlers I think its a pity

That was my point they should call themselves nemo football club and let kids who want to hurl go somewhere else

Bit of imbalance beyween winning club all Irelands - fair play to them - and struggling to put out a junior hurling team

I'm surprised Ttm you didn't know basic principals of GAA is you can't just go off and play where you like
    You being font of all knowledge

Rural clubs would fall apart if it was not for parish rule

End of day i wish them every success in final they are a great football club
    Thank you for the compliment as always no need though
    You will find i never said they can play where they want, others did but as usal you decide to make an issue with my post for God only knows

I never said players should leave other posters did
    My point is that dual clubs rarely work and again I don't like it but realism is unfortunately dualism won't work and nemo are essential going to take football or hurling seriously and you being a real bread and butter fan in all credit due you know gaa from ground level up you would know football is better in nemo and Douglas proved that in hurling and football while it's hugely admirable they do both fact is in modern gaa hard do both with same players

Sean post as always summed it up excellently

As for the Cronin being good hurlers no one denys that but you will find upon reflection lot good hurlers in cork but good doesn't cut it at senior inter county and you must be great
    Cronin much much better potential for cork football as is Donovan
    All just my opinion of course

Outstanding post sean as usal

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/midleton-cbs-dig-deep-to-reel-in-thurles-358215.html

Thurles must of caught Middleton cold first half - great to dig it out for a finish they meet ASR next which will be great game I'm sure
    DlS look strong in other half ofcdraw

Harty cup starting next week too
    Can not wait
    Outstanding win for midelton and yes I agree great the harty cup starts next week
    Doesn't matter what cork club east west south etc win as long as Cork get a harty cup
    Rochestown were a credit to cork last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

A huge day on Sunday for two clubs Newcestown trying to become the only west Cork club to be senior in both championships likewise Valley Rovers Won premier Intermidate football last year now trying to win hurling ...who ever wins it will be some achievement ...

Thank you for the compliment as always no need though
    You will find i never said they can play where they want, others did but as usal you decide to make an issue with my post for God only knows

I never said players should leave other posters did
    My point is that dual clubs rarely work and again I don't like it but realism is unfortunately dualism won't work and nemo are essential going to take football or hurling seriously and you being a real bread and butter fan in all credit due you know gaa from ground level up you would know football is better in nemo and Douglas proved that in hurling and football while it's hugely admirable they do both fact is in modern gaa hard do both with same players

Sean post as always summed it up excellently

As for the Cronin being good hurlers no one denys that but you will find upon reflection lot good hurlers in cork but good doesn't cut it at senior inter county and you must be great
    Cronin much much better potential for cork football as is Donovan
    All just my opinion of course

I respect your opinon of course but disagree

My remarkes were about developing both codes and not ignoring one

Huge huge near impossible task to have succes in both, barrs of old managed it and two small rural clubs with small numbers and resorces cratloe and loughmore in modern times

Fair play to likes of douglas who try to be competitive in both - surely if they concentrate on one to detriment of other they might win more buth its a flawed base to start from

where did i say cronins and alan donovan would hurl for cork you definetly have your own way of ibterpreting things

Fair play on complementing Rochestown you just about caugh that bandwagon in time last year

Goodnight

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    A huge day on Sunday for two clubs Newcestown trying to become the only west Cork club to be senior in both championships likewise Valley Rovers Won premier Intermidate football last year now trying to win hurling ...who ever wins it will be some achievement ...

Great credit due. To them

Honest endeavour

Relax there Seanie bie, you're getting very excited with bad language and all. ;)
    Why advertise yourself as a hurling club if you're not going to promote the game. I'm sure there are people who have joined their kids up to Nemo thinking they would be properly coached in hurling. That doesn't happen and even one lost soul to our ancient game is one too many. We have too few strong hurling clubs and too few strong hurling counties that we can afford to be losing any potential players. Nemo are surrounded on both sides by clubs who promote both codes equally and properly. Douglas showed how to do it with their minor footballers and hurlers this year. Nemo are a mighty football club no doubt and fair play to them, they just need to lose the word 'Hurling' from their name. Because they certainly ain't promoting it.

CORKDOUBLE wrote:

I rest my case.

I respect your opinon of course but disagree

My remarkes were about developing both codes and not ignoring one

Huge huge near impossible task to have succes in both, barrs of old managed it and two small rural clubs with small numbers and resorces cratloe and loughmore in modern times

Fair play to likes of douglas who try to be competitive in both - surely if they concentrate on one to detriment of other they might win more buth its a flawed base to start from

where did i say cronins and alan donovan would hurl for cork you definetly have your own way of ibterpreting things

Fair play on complementing Rochestown you just about caugh that bandwagon in time last year

Goodnight
    Our points are actually agreeing in we both want and appreciate the clubs to do both but realise as hard as it's is its unrealistic to be winning regularly in both codes

As for jumping the band wagon with Douglas all i can do is repeat what I said to you many times before I never had anything against Douglas and despite your efforts to claim other wise I as regular posters know here that's not the case and I suggest you go to page four of this thread when you will see i said I expect Rochestown to be strong
    Unfortunately there was three cork team in the group and it was hard to mention every team all the time but I have always clearly said any team represents cork I support bar of course sars as while I would support them in munster I hope they loose sunday as I don't think winning does cork any favours

You seem to have a view I'm against city team but that your opinion but if you actually read my posts I support any team from anywhere in once cork benefits the most
    If two cork teams are playing obviously there can only be one winner
    Take skib sunday it would be great if they won but aside from that I wanted the haven simply and only simply cause I think cork would benefit more
    Your entitled to your opinion but with respect I would appreciate if you stopped this nonense I joined the Rochestown band wagon last year as if you want I'll repost posts to prove other wise
    Again I couldn't care who wins the harty this year Once it's a cork school but if I'm seem to be talking about any one school in particular don't assume I'm against other cork teams when I'm not but just giving my view in one cork team may be stronger than others
    You seem to think some didn't want Rochestown to win last year which is nonense
    I would like to think and I do think that you would support any cork school to win a harty as you are like my view in cork needs a harty cup