Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

nd wrote: »
    So my part worn Hankooks lasted about 10k miles on the front and cost 35 euro each fitted. I've decided to try new Falkens this time and they'll cost me 86 each fitted. *Wonders what'll work out better value*

Mmm. My Behemoth is currently vapourising a €35 part-worn Eurotec, and I'm curious to see how it stacks up against a new Semperit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

that's awful. you'd have to take her out. it's sound and you're on tv.

must be awful for yer wan to think yer man would rather get two wanli's supplied and fitted to his 307 mammy wagon than got out for dinner and a few pints with her.

Myself and 166man got offered to take part in this....
    250 voucher for advance or 250 voucher for a date.
    Sorry but she could have hit ever branch on the ugly tree but 250 buys you a night that you'll never forget that you couldn't remember any of it .

Advance pit stop voucher might get you the ride, but you'll be the one who's bent over getting screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I'm not a fan... Although I'm unsure of what colour your car is?

Also hate debadged cars, they just look wrong...

My car is black generally I wouldn't be a fan but since it's black I'm not sure it may work.

I need a new badge anyway front one is in bits have a temporary black and white wrapped one on the front now to help decide I'll try get a pic tomorrow throw it up see what people think.

Not a fan of De badged cars myself taking it to far imo looks weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Debadging the front of a car is the motoring equivalent of shaving someones eyebrows off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,857 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Lol. Then you get the women who put the eyelashes on the cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    Lol. Then you get the women who put the eyelashes on the cars.

And men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Debadging the front of a car is the motoring equivalent of shaving someones eyebrows off.

Depends on the car, imo. Suits some cars better than others. On some cars the badges are not very noticeable to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

GvidoR wrote:
    Depends on the car, imo. Suits some cars better than others. On some cars the badges are not very noticeable to begin with.

Example

Autosport wrote:
    And men

Tut tut terrible :)

Example

Here's one...

toyota_corolla_1998_hatch.jpg

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    Tut tut terrible :)

What's terrible?? It's not only women who put those eyelashes on cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

GvidoR wrote: »

Here's a nice debadged car:

article-2529865-1A4D48F000000578-911_964x709.jpg

Autosport wrote:
    What's terrible?? It's not only women who put those eyelashes on cars.

Nope just the eyelashes in general.

Here's a nice debadged car:

[IMG][/IMG]

That's car racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Well there's your problem...
    G4blsqY.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Just cause :P.
    FlegYEP.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Myself and 166man got offered to take part in this....
    250 voucher for advance or 250 voucher for a date.
    Sorry but she could have hit ever branch on the ugly tree but 250 buys you a night that you'll never forget that you couldn't remember any of it .

Advance pit stop voucher might get you the ride, but you'll be the one who's bent over getting screwed.

I'd agree with you on that I've never seen the show only that clip. But any even slightly decent lad would choose the date regardless of how she looked. I mean it's TV it's terrible for her not to be picked. I mean all that then for 250 euro advance pit stop voucher I'd hope I'd never be that stuck that I'd have to depend on a voucher to get tyres. Plus as you said the night out would be a bit of craic and a few memories.

It's pity you or 166 man weren't on it at least there would have been decent cars on it then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,553 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yeah. She seemed like immense craic :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    She looked like she could do with a 250 euro service herself :pac:

/Runs before any women see this post

This is the motors forum, you're safe.
    /runs out hot on heels of lightning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    She looked like she could do with a 250 euro service herself :pac:

/Runs before any women see this post
    This is the motors forum, you're safe.
    /runs out hot on heels of lightning

Sorry I'm afraid to thank either of these incase autosport or stheno come on :pac:

So 3,500km on the clock this week. Yay.

This may be a handy heads up for some of ye: I use a sat nav that I love. It's a Garmin Nuvi 55LM. T'is the bees knees in every way I can imagine.

I needed a 2nd one for fella that I have working with me (wanted us both to use the same exact nav so if he had any issues, he could ring me and I would be able to explain the menu system etc to him, rather than him having a nav completely different to mine).

Anyway, I went onto the halfords site and it's there as a web exclusive at €110. Which is what I paid for mine about 6 months ago.

Anyway, as it's a web exclusive, and i needed it next day (ie; couldnt order online as it wouldnt arrive on time, and click+collect wasn't available), I rang the Drogheda store. The girl said they'd none, but that Liffey Valley had 1 in stock. So I rang Liffey Valley to confirm and indeed they did have one (it was a demo model - it had been opened, but never turned on. Apparently once they turn it on they're not allowed to sell it). Seemed good to me. I didn't get a discount on it for being a demo model, but both stores said it's retail price is €30.

So I got it for €30. And trust me, it's a fantastic little nav. It's "trip planner" app makes it the best thing since sliced bread.

Just posting it incase anyone here wants a nav and wants to ring their halfords looking for it. For €30 you could just throw it in a drawer and take it out next year or such when your current Nav dies.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Sorry I'm afraid to thank either of these incase autosport or stheno come on :pac:

Very wise CIP very wise as for the other two, keep running :P

FBD sent my renewal. BAHA!

Just got a quick quote for €630 there....

from FBD :confused: Thats less than half the renewal quote.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

See if you can take it! That would be so funny.

Fcuk that. Still too expensive :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

People annoy me.

Going into my local tesco about to pull into parent child spot I have a toddler and a 9 month pregnant fiance when some gob****e pulled into the spot no kid no nothing I asked him were his kid was were he politely essentially told me to fcuk off.

I took great pleasure in walking into Costa and informing him he had just gotten himself a 70 euro fine on his windscreen thanks to me.

Now I'm not sure if them fines hold up but either way I'm delighted I ruined his day as he started ranting at staff and calling for security.

I know some people don't take parent child spots seriously but to me it's no better than taking a disabled spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Just shows that insurance companies pull numbers out of their ar*e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

People annoy me.

Going into my local tesco about to pull into parent child spot I have a toddler and a 9 month pregnant fiance when some gob****e pulled into the spot no kid no nothing I asked him were his kid was were he politely essentially told me to fcuk off.

I took great pleasure in walking into Costa and informing him he had just gotten himself a 70 euro fine on his windscreen thanks to me.

Now I'm not sure if them fines hold up but either way I'm delighted I ruined his day as he started ranting at staff and calling for security.

I know some people don't take parent child spots seriously but to me it's no better than taking a disabled spot.

They are just a makey uppy retail thing. Typical "Mammy Power" stuff, me and my kids above all else. If you wanted a spot close to the door you should either left earlier or waited for one.

5W30 wrote: »
    Just shows that insurance companies pull numbers out of their ar*e.

Absolutely. Makes no sense at all.

Also, I got bored during half time in the SA match so went out to the shed and did this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,678 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

passed the nct then hit the mother of all pot holes 100m from my house on the way home, if it had happened on the way in I would have failed on tracking id say