Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pub Openings / Refurbs / Closing Thread - Mod Note Post #1

• 24-08-2015 6:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Works well in many of the regional forums.

Bow Lane Social due to open soon on Aungier St. Dublin.

www.bowlane.ie

Bronze Cocktail Lounge opened recently enough on Baggott St. Dublin.

www.bronze.ie

Haven't heard of any closures recently?

############## Mod Note regarding Bar Closures ##############

Please do not post rumours or otherwise speculate about bars that may close as such comments only do more damage to businesses.

Also, no speculation about why bars may have closed. If you have links to reputable media reports - fair enough, but "I hear yer man owes the revenue millions & never paid PRSI either" type stuff puts boards on dodgy legal ground.

Cheers,

tHB
    #############################################################

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

'Porndog' bar / restaurant due to open on Harcourt St. Dublin soon.

Intersting name choice.......

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Big Nasty wrote: »

Dare I ask what kind of establishment this will be?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,555 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

irish_goat wrote: »
    Dare I ask what kind of establishment this will be?
    I think it's posh hot dogs which some craft beer / cocktails.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭thesandeman

Is this a countrywide thread?

Yeah, there's more to life than just the Big Shmoke. ;-)

O Dwyers in Kilmacud (Co. Dublin) has been taken over by a new owner. No major refurb but got a luck of paint.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭matrim

Owners of P.Macs are opening a new bar on Westmorland St right beside their other bar cassidys. Don't know exactly when but the announced location last month and you can see ongoing work if you walk past

• Registered Users Posts: 33,377 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Solas Wexford Street closed pending refurb.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

What was the John Tyndall and has been vacant for quite a while in Carlow Town has lost its for sale signs and was getting exterior paint as I passed a few days ago.

Was mooted for JDW a while back but that seems to be further down Tullow St where Buzz's/The Traders used to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

O'Sheas Merchant to become a craft bar pretty soon. Well. A Hybrid.

Has someone taken it over? Hardly another Galway Bay pub?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,913 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Foleys Hop House opened in the former Stage Door premises in Woodquay, Galway back in July, have been three times, decent craft range, beer of the week for a fiver and great woodfired pizza.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

Cute hoor, Fran well, Hop house 13? or something more substantial ?

oblivious wrote: »
    Cute hoor, Fran well, Hop house 13? or something more substantial ?

seemingly a manager from one of the GBB bars is taking over, so I assume a bit more than fraft.

also, it looks like they are keeping a section for the old school locals to continue on drinking Guinness, which is a good thing.

I'm all for the craft revolution, but I'm dead against uprooting aul lads from their pints in their dotage, and it looks the kind of place that still has a few ol fellas drinking pints of guinness and smoking players, leave them at it I say, no harm in it.

The Square Ball
    is opening in Hogans Place in D2. From the same guys who own The Back Page in Phibsboro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

matrim wrote: »
    The Square Ball
    is opening in Hogans Place in D2. From the same guys who own The Back Page in Phibsboro

Ah the Bodytonic folk, another good addition!

Big Nasty wrote: »

http://thedailyedge.thejournal.ie/porndog-dublin-visit-2349807-Sep2015/?utm_source=facebook_short

Opening tomorrow.

Draught beer only served in 1 litre growlers and works out at €8.50 a pint initially and then €6.80 a pint for refills. Hotdogs for €16/17. I think I'll pass...

http://thedailyedge.thejournal.ie/porndog-dublin-visit-2349807-Sep2015/?utm_source=facebook_short

Opening tomorrow.

Draught beer only served in 1 litre growlers and works out at €8.50 a pint initially and then €6.80 a pint for refills. Hotdogs for €16/17. I think I'll pass...

Have I just stepped back in to 2007? :eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Opening tomorrow.

Is this a joke? I say that without irony.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,913 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Ravelleman wrote: »
    Is this a joke? I say that without irony.

Sounds horrific.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭thesandeman

But...but...but.. Their 'three draft crafts' are sourced from three different suppliers so they must be worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,386 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Dear God, the only useful function served by this place will be to skim off some of the cream of ireland (rich and thick) so us regular joes can have a drink in peace in sane establishments.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Who doesn't want their bottles served in one of these?

?width=371&version=2350447

it sounds like a place I'll never go.

And that's cool, variety is the spice of life.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Draught beer only served in 1 litre growlers and works out at €8.50 a pint
    In the comments people are saying 7.50 per pint, just shows how expensive it is when the missing/negligible 68ml is actually costing €1!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

seemingly a manager from one of the GBB bars is taking over, so I assume a bit more than fraft.

also, it looks like they are keeping a section for the old school locals to continue on drinking Guinness, which is a good thing.

I'm all for the craft revolution, but I'm dead against uprooting aul lads from their pints in their dotage, and it looks the kind of place that still has a few ol fellas drinking pints of guinness and smoking players, leave them at it I say, no harm in it.

If they want craft beer in then fine, put in a few extra lines and bottles. Don't cut off your bread and butter punters.

• matrim wrote: »
    Owners of P.Macs are opening a new bar on Westmorland St right beside their other bar cassidys. Don't know exactly when but the announced location last month and you can see ongoing work if you walk past

I wonder will they close Cassidys now?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

The Gasworks on Grand Canal Street will become a new Galway Bay Brewery pub in January.

BeerNut wrote: »
    The Gasworks on Grand Canal Street will become a new Galway Bay Brewery pub in January.

Great stuff. Always a nightmare getting a decent pint out there on match days.

BeerNut wrote: »

With that and the square ball on Grand Canal Street, there should be plenty of choice after matches. And for those of us that live close by :)