Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2015 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Páidí Ó'Sé and Dinny Allen-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0h3QQIBH6Y

back when men were men and sheep were nervous. love this clip.

all this in an era before Kerry had destroyed the game of football...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

robbiezero wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more. Thoroughly enjoyed watching that Meath team and other teams of that era play. No comparison with the sort of nonsense that went on yesterday.

Was at the 88 drawn match. Don't know how anybody could enjoy that tbh.

I suppose somebody will say the Dirty Dozen were mens men now. Collective amnesia about here.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,978 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

K-9 wrote: »
    Was at the 88 drawn match. Don't know how anybody could enjoy that tbh.

I suppose somebody will say the Dirty Dozen were mens men now. Collective amnesia about here.

I remember those games well, was at all of them 87-90 different times, different 'style of man' as some would say. Beating them in 90 with our 2 kildare imports so impressive, was one of my favourite sporting moments. Still despise Meath over any other county to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I remember those games well, was at all of them 87-90 different times, different 'style of man' as some would say. Beating them in 90 with our 2 kildare imports so impressive, was one of my favourite sporting moments. Still despise Meath over any other county to this day.

Ye won All Irelands so you don't really care tbh. 88 in particular was dour stuff.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

I love how when anyone dares criticise the clearly evident tactic that Tyrone have employed for over 10 years now- acting the pr*ck- that the only response is whataboutery. It's the defence of a 10 year old- "but the other kids were doing it"

No effort to man up and admit that this has been a constant problem under Harte's reign and is made worse by selectors, etc running onto the pitch and getting involved- it's embarrassing at this stage and I cant wait for the next article stressing that Harte doesn't encourage this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Jippo

Amprodude wrote: »
    Come on Keane go to specsavers will you. He didn't strike him at all.

Watch the YT he linked to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Jippo wrote: »
    Watch the YT he linked to.

Yeah he punched the ball out of O Donaghues hand. Perfectly legal. What James did after was a disgrace and as bad as what Tyrone did on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,200 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

So Kerry V Tyrone and Dublin v Mayo.

Both Kerry and Dublin will rightly be favorites.

But there will be some interesting aspects.

This is probably the best organized team defensively that Kerry will have met, with a experienced manager to boot.

Dublin are many peoples pick for the championship, but this will be their first real game against a team of any experience or quality in a whopping 364 days.

Should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭jjdonegal

This is probably the best organized team defensively that Kerry will have met, with a experienced manager to boot.

Dublin are many peoples pick for the championship, but this will be their first real game against a team of any experience or quality in a whopping 364 days.

Should be interesting.

Ah come on serious??? Have you not heard Jim Gavin? Every game is a serious test for Dublin :-)

jjdonegal wrote: »
    Ah come on serious??? Have you not heard Jim Gavin? Every game is a serious test for Dublin :-)

Yea, he probably spends most of the week preparing for the TV interview after the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Jippo

Amprodude wrote: »
    Yeah he punched the ball out of O Donaghues hand. Perfectly legal. What James did after was a disgrace and as bad as what Tyrone did on Saturday.

He did not "punch the ball out of [his] hand" at all! You can have another look I have linked to the incident:

https://youtu.be/oQbxpYRgwr8?t=104

Keep believing what you want to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 maloney12277

mayo for sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Should be interesting.

Fr. Tod,
    Actually just saw your OP on this thread again, and the responses around that time

You tipped Monaghan, Mayo, Dublin and Kerry to win the provincials, and there wasn't much disagreement.
    Most expected a Dublin v Kerry final.

It really shows that there haven't been a lot of upsets this year.

Similarly Kilkenny and Tipp in the hurling.

Let's hope for two great semi finals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

mayo for sam

We've been 'for' sam for a while now, I've never seen an anti-sam slogan in Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

mayo for sam

Mayo for sandwiches..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    The lesser of two evils, but yes I would prefer Dublin to win as I know that would hurt every Kerry fan to the bone!! But the opposite would also be true - win win really:)

i hope Dublin beat Mayo, if Mayo won the All Ireland it would be the most insufferable event in irish sport, we would never hear the end of it. their fans have built themselves up into this very dislikeable parody in the last 5 or 6 years that more and more people are starting to see every year.

losing to them in a final is just unthinkable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

i hope Dublin beat Mayo, if Mayo won the All Ireland it would be the most insufferable event in irish sport, we would never hear the end of it. their fans have built themselves up into this very dislikeable parody in the last 5 or 6 years that more and more people are starting to see every year.

In fairness it wouldn't be any more insufferable than Donaghy braying on about Joe Brolly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

So you are going to label all Mayo supporters with this harsh,petty and baseless generalisation.Sure we've our fair share of dislikeable elements,much like all counties.

Me thinks it would be insufferable to the pride of some Kerry supporters to lose to Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

In fairness to Mayo, every county has their share of numpties and most Mayo fans I've met were decent genuine GAA fans. I hope they do go on to win and based on their performance against us last Saturday I think they have a fair chance. Their semi with Dublin should be a cracker, I expect sparks to fly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,943 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

There are so many utter numpties floating around in supporters circles that it is completely redundant trying to use that as a criteria to like or dislike any particular county.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

As a Kerryman I wouldn't begrudge them an All-Ireland providing they are good enough to beat Kerry fair and square, build up a good lead and beat us fairly playing football and without the need for a dubious referee to hand it to them it to them. Of all the teams to beat Kerry I would be the most accepting of Mayo, providing they won it cleanly and fairly playing true football not puke.

seligehgit wrote: »
    So you are going to label all Mayo supporters with this harsh,petty and baseless generalisation.Sure we've our fair share of dislikeable elements,much like all counties.

Me thinks it would be insufferable to the pride of the Kerry supporters to lose to Mayo.

Totally agree.
    As a Mayo man living in Kerry we are looked at with a certain amount of sympathy here.
    We are no threat to them.
    We are "harmless"

That would change drastically if we beat Kerry in a final.

Stinicker wrote: »
    As a Kerryman I wouldn't begrudge them an All-Ireland providing they are good enough to beat Kerry fair and square, build up a good lead and beat us fairly playing football and without the need for a dubious referee to hand it to them it to them. Of all the teams to beat Kerry I would be the most accepting of Mayo, providing they won it cleanly and fairly playing true football not puke.

Bad reffing decisions are an integral part of it. Who cares if Mayo get them? You got a few last year in Limerick and a dubious penalty against Cork. Does that belittle your victories because of that? Not in my eyes.
    If Mayo win then fair play to them and it wont be down to the calls of a referee; it's a season long effort where every team deserves a bit of luck.
    No different if Kerry; Dublin or Tyrone win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Jippo wrote: »
    He did not "punch the ball out of [his] hand" at all! You can have another look I have linked to the incident:

https://youtu.be/oQbxpYRgwr8?t=104

Keep believing what you want to believe.

I didn't see any punch on the face. If he connected on face O Donaghue would have a mark or a bruise wouldn't he? O Donaghues is too much of a pretty boy and threw himself down there trying to get Cork player sent off. A pure joke he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Totally agree.
    As a Mayo man living in Kerry we are looked at with a certain amount of sympathy here.
    We are no threat to them.
    We are "harmless"

That would change drastically if we beat Kerry in a final.

Better have your bags packed just in case it happens :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

When you mention the referee here do you mean the cheating star Donagahe or the man in the black who carries out Donagahes instructions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Ceist_Beag wrote: »
    In fairness to Mayo, every county has their share of numpties and most Mayo fans I've met were decent genuine GAA fans. I hope they do go on to win and based on their performance against us last Saturday I think they have a fair chance. Their semi with Dublin should be a cracker, I expect sparks to fly!

Well Mayo probably have more supporters than anybody else (bar Dublin I guess). The more supporters you have, the more numpties you will have! So I guess it makes sense that they have more! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Bad reffing decisions are an integral part of it. Who cares if Mayo get them? You got a few last year in Limerick and a dubious penalty against Cork. Does that belittle your victories because of that? Not in my eyes.
    If Mayo win then fair play to them and it wont be down to the calls of a referee; it's a season long effort where every team deserves a bit of luck.
    No different if Kerry; Dublin or Tyrone win it.

There was no dubious decisions last year in favour of Kerry and anyone with half a footballing idea could see clearly that J'OD's penalty against Cork was very well deserved. Kerry hardly ever benefit from the referee and 9 times out of 10 we are playing against 16 men on the field especially if it is Dublin as the opponents, a team who get everything from referees, even having a referee living and working in Dublin who referees heir training sessions, then that same referee gets to referee both Dublin's recent All-Ireland Finals, what a sick joke, even Sebb Blatter and FIFA would hardly try a stunt like that.

Fair enough you have your opinion and I have mine.
    One example - Shane Enright clear 2nd yellow not given in Limerick. You disagree and your entitled to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Fair enough you have your opinion and I have mine.
    One example - Shane Enright clear 2nd yellow not given in Limerick. You disagree and your entitled to.

ah yes, the good old GAA mentality that automatically every person on a yellow who creates a foul, automatically has to be sent off.

nothing about the fact that the first yellow he got, wasnt actually a yellow card offence in the first place so maybe just maybe, the ref felt (and correctly so) that he didnt deserved to be sent off for it.