Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2015 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Patww79 wrote: »
    Yes. An inferiority complex is very hard to shake off in any sport.

I have an inferiority complex....but I don't think it's a very good one ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ShamoBuc wrote:
    I said I want Kerry to beat tyrone, because I do. Tyrone have given me enough reasons to want them to lose, nothing about 'successful' counties, no trophies given out the next day. I would be qute happy to see a Mayo team beat Kerry in the final though.

Dublin are less successful than Kerry, if it's a Kerry Dublin final will you shout for Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Mergal

Tyrone are filth, it may have been said somewhere already on this post but that last 20 was the most disgusting exhibition of Gaelic football I've ever seen. Why do they do it?? The sending off?? He should be ashamed of himself for the rest of his life. I presume his parents and friends were watching that and will remember that. I'm old enough to remember Boylan's Meath teams, they were filthy and had a terrible reputation, but they were hard. They would give it as hard as they'd take it, like MEN.
    I hope Kerry humiliate them for the cowardly dirtbags they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,780 ✭✭✭threeball

Mergal wrote: »
    Tyrone are filth, it may have been said somewhere already on this post but that last 20 was the most disgusting exhibition of Gaelic football I've ever seen. Why do they do it?? The sending off?? He should be ashamed of himself for the rest of his life. I presume his parents and friends were watching that and will remember that. I'm old enough to remember Boylan's Meath teams, they were filthy and had a terrible reputation, but they were hard. They would give it as hard as they'd take it, like MEN.

The amazing thing is their supporters keep denying it despite of yesterday and the U21 games and the sledging about fathers dying in the minor and players like McCann and McMenamin. Its all one big conspiracy by the other counties to get them because they don't want them at the top table.

You do realise Aiden O'Mahoney of Kerry has done the exact same thing !!! O'Donoghue is not much better....with his Ronaldo type diving. Donaghy also runs after his ref buddies all game trying to get other players booked. There is very little difference in the cynicism between Tyrone and Kerry.

The ref will have a hard time judging the theatrics from both of those sides. Unfortunately i suspect they are been told to do so by management of those counties. Tyrone will have there work cut out as the whole country knows who is going to get the decisions from the ref in that game. I'm sure the Kerry media campaign from Liston, the O'Shea's and Spillane to influence the ref about Tyrone's play-acting has already begun in today's papers.

You do realise Aiden O'Mahoney of Kerry has done the exact same thing !!! O'Donoghue is not much better....with his Ronaldo type diving. Donaghy also runs after his ref buddies all game trying to get other players booked. There is very little difference in the cynicism between Tyrone and Kerry.

The ref will have a hard time judging the theatrics from both of those sides. Unfortunately i suspect they are been told to do so by management of those counties.

O'Donoghue is a disgrace too, his holding the face theatrics when he gets a kick in the shins is disgusting. It seems to be more systematic with Tyrone though. Donaghy is in the refs ear like say Paul O'Connell would be, but you don't see them going down for 6 minutes when someone pulls his shirt.

The ref will have a hard time judging the theatrics from both of those sides. Unfortunately i suspect they are been told to do so by management of those counties. Tyrone will have there work cut out as the whole country knows who is going to get the decisions from the ref in that game. I'm sure the Kerry media campaign from Liston, the O'Shea's and Spillane to influence the ref has already begun in today's papers.

Kerry seniors are certainly well versed in the dark arts but its not as pervasive through all grades as it is in Tyrone. They're also a bit cuter and less obvious about it which means its easier to overlook than the blatant in your face stuff that goes on in Tyrone. Its like they use the villain tag to create a siege mentality but go out of their way to reinforce the way they're perceived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hibbeler

Amprodude wrote: »
    Dont get me wrong I'm not taking a pop shot at you or anything. Far from it.

Funny thing about what you said is Mayo are never going to beat Kerry in a final and we all know that. This Tyrone team aren't any worse than Kerry team of 2014 with cynical play and again in 2015, donnacha o connor a fine example of this where he was concussed by o mahony and we all know there is no love lost there between the two. It goes back to the drawn game in 2008.

What about the days of Jimmy Barry Murphy getting his accessories squeezed by Jimmy Denihan because he didn't want him to get the better of him. Same with the Meath football team of 1987-90, the stuff they got away would make you sick. Anyway what Tyrone did today is no different to what I described above. Not saying it's right by the way but people don't be long forgetting to take off the blinkers. Tyrone not the first or last team guilty of this.

I'm sorry but I feel you're wrong to equate what happened yesterday with the hard Meath teams of the Boylan era and indeed the Cork teams of that era. Those teams yes were very physical and agressive and gained a reputation for it. But the reputation let's face it is based on the other teams not being able to handle it. There is a difference to being a strong physical side and being cynical for the sake of it as was the case yesterday.

You'd have to feel that if a Meath/Cork player from that time had fallen over to get someone sent off because someone crumpled his hair ala McCann yesterday he'd hear about it from his own teammates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭zetecescort

is the idea of retrospective punishment allowed for under GAA rules? not knocking Tyrone or northern teams in particular, would have no issue with our own Micheal Sheilds being punished but something needs to be done to stamp out trying to get lads sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

is the idea of retrospective punishment allowed for under GAA rules? not knocking Tyrone or northern teams in particular, would have no issue with our own Micheal Sheilds being punished but something needs to be done to stamp out trying to get lads sent off.

If the ref does not deal with an incident on the field it may be retrospectively looked at and a punishment applied.

But once the ref deals with it on the field, correctly or otherwise, no further punishment can be applied.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

A disgrace from thon Tyrone player, they really do make me sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

mickeyk wrote: »
    It's more than decent but they didn't beat Dublin on the way, who won it in 2011 and 2013 and had the best squad of players around at that time (probably still do)

Mayo's task this year is more difficult IMO, they have to beat all the big guns without exception, unless of course Tyrone or Monaghan knock Kerry out.

Definitely more difficult. But they haven't done it yet. :)
    keane2097 wrote: »
    What are you on about?

Who knows lad, who knows.
    MattB11 wrote: »
    Well done Tyrone and Mayo both well deserved wins, would love if both could cause upsets in the semi's

Only Tyrone in that regard. :)

A Tyrone-Dublin All-Ireland final 20 years after the last one. We can but dream.
    Bret Hart wrote: »
    You'd love if Tyrone caused a upset ? You did see there game today,didn't you ?

To want them to win after there behaviour and sportsmanship,you must be a gambler.

It was cynical and "professional". They did what they had to do to close the game out.

This is not condoning what went on but if the roles were reversed I'm sure the Farney would be the same.

It wasn't helped that Duffy is a truly awful referee and completely lost the game.

I don't know if you were at it but some of the stuff like missed black cards and the like were truly out of this world. Compare that to what was the best refereeing performance of the year so far from Gough in the second game.
    MattB11 wrote: »
    They are an under dog and playing Kerry Id guess there is quite a few who would like it too, regardless of behaviour and sportsmanship the better team progressed.

The only criteria one needs to support the other team.
    DoctaDee wrote: »
    Just in the door ... another anti-climatic day. I was really disappointed in both of the losers today. Monaghan much like Kildare last week just don't seem to have a gameplan to take into Croker - very laborious and 1 dimensional. I thought Tyrone worked tirelessly cutting down their options all the same. they're a tough nut to crack once they build a lead - I've seen all the time wasting stuff before and like it or not they never gave Monaghan a chance to build momentum.

I couldn't make my mind up beforehand on the Mayo/Donegal game .. 34 mins in and with them not at anywhere near full tilt they were still in it, then the goal ... it was a strange sensation but you could feel the air been sucked out of them, they came out 2nd half really skittish in their play. I was surprised at how well Mayo dominated the midfield area - it was baffling that Murphy was left inside when his influence was needed outfield. Neil McGee was a big loss (didn't see what happened) and wouldn't have altered the result. Fair play to Mayo tho they had all the answers.

I was up in 726 so for the second half I pretty much was tracking Murphy. And I couldn't fathom what Donegal were at leaving him in there. Nothing was going in and McFadden was having an off day so nothing was gonna go into him.

It follows for me that if Colm McFadden plays well then Donegal play well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

The hypocrisy here is disturbing. What I'd say to Monaghan is what goes around, comes around.

And here's a top tip: don't touch a guy's head when the consequences are plain to everyone. Hughes deserved to be sent off just for being that naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Yes I thought the contrast in the performance of the respective referees was stark.Marty Duffy totally lost control of the first game,awful and far too whistle happy.He should have dished out a few cards early to stamp his authority and stop the nonsense.

I thought David Gough was right up there in terms of giving one of the best performances of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

If GAA are to clamp down on diving, it would have to be a new rule to be introduced at the start of next year.

It would be seen as unfair if they started with giving Tiernan McCann a ban, after taking no action against O'Mahony, Shiels, O'Donoghue and many more, also including hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

If GAA are to clamp down on diving, it would have to be a new rule to be introduced at the start of next year.

It would be seen as unfair if they started with giving Tiernan McCann a ban, after taking no action against O'Mahony, Shiels, O'Donoghue and many more, also including hurling

Add colm Cooper to that list too.you can't put a hand on him and he's down like he was shot in battle.

It just can't be ignored after this year anyway. The entire thing is turning into the premiership. Only 4 teams with a hope of winning, diving, feigning injury, trying to get lads sent off or booked. It was never a part of our games but its even in hurling now. It needs to be stamped out before it becomes accepted like it is in soccer

In my original post on this matter I asked why? That's the thing about Tyrone they didn't need to do it they were well in control of the game. Almost every time Monaghan rallied they ran back up the field and scored some lovely pints. They were well in control from about say, 45 minutes gone. Sean Cavanagh starts his bull**** of lying on the ground after a jersey pull on around 50 minutes. He's the leader, there are no more experienced/respected players on that panel and that panel is very young. It's not the first or last time it's been seen on a football field but in my mind they are the most blatant shameless offenders.

Black card can stay but the punishment must be a sin bin for 10mins instead of what we have now. The list of offences it covers must include feigning injury, time wasting (holding on to lads after the whistle has sounded, not dropping the ball immediately once the free is given), pulling up lads you claim shouldn't be injured (that's up to the ref, pulling up lads only adds to the chaos)

Then we need video reviews of incidents to exonerate or punish the people involved.

O'Donoghue for me has really brought this to the fore, every single game he goes down holding his face after a kick in the shins. In the recent Munster final the Cork boys only started after they saw what he was after getting as a result of his play acting. O'Mahony is also a disgrace, he's a member of an Garda Siochana too, ffs. Are there no Francie Bellews left at all!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,978 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Stoner wrote: »
    Dublin are less successful than Kerry, if it's a Kerry Dublin final will you shout for Dublin?

The lesser of two evils, but yes I would prefer Dublin to win as I know that would hurt every Kerry fan to the bone!! But the opposite would also be true - win win really:)

The hypocrisy here is disturbing. What I'd say to Monaghan is what goes around, comes around.

And here's a top tip: don't touch a guy's head when the consequences are plain to everyone. Hughes deserved to be sent off just for being that naive.

This sort of BS excuses that sort of behaviour, it's not soccer ffs. The ref was also atrocious for this incident on the replay you could see that he had a perfect view of the incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ShamoBuc wrote:
    The lesser of two evils, but yes I would prefer Dublin to win as I know that would hurt every Kerry fan to the bone!! But the opposite would also be true - win win really

An honest poster!!
    You should contribute to new standards for player reviews.

I also think if there is a video screen there the ref should look at it. This stupid idea that they won't look at definitive evidence because it's not available everywhere is ridiculous imo.

There is a part solution there for some games, use it if you have it, it will cost nothing

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,553 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Hibbeler wrote: »
    I'm sorry but I feel you're wrong to equate what happened yesterday with the hard Meath teams of the Boylan era and indeed the Cork teams of that era. Those teams yes were very physical and agressive and gained a reputation for it. But the reputation let's face it is based on the other teams not being able to handle it. There is a difference to being a strong physical side and being cynical for the sake of it as was the case yesterday.

You'd have to feel that if a Meath/Cork player from that time had fallen over to get someone sent off because someone crumpled his hair ala McCann yesterday he'd hear about it from his own teammates
    In the 1990 final, Mick Lyons got a hell of a punch from a Cork player (the highlights are on YouTube). His reaction? Walked away while rubbing his cheek.

To equate the antics of certain players yesterday to the Meath or Cork teams of that time shows up a complete lack of knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Stoner wrote: »
    An honest poster!!
    You should contribute to new standards for player reviews.

I also think if there is a video screen there the ref should look at it. This stupid idea that they won't look at definitive evidence because it's not available everywhere is ridiculous imo.

There is a part solution there for some games, use it if you have it, it will cost nothing

+1 Stoner. Hawkeye isn't available elsewhere so that argument falls down right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

This sort of BS excuses that sort of behaviour, it's not soccer ffs. The ref was also atrocious for this incident on the replay you could see that he had a perfect view of the incident.

There are folks from every county openly admitting in this very thread that their team is just as cynical as Tyrone

Why don't we draw the line at O'Donoghue or O'Mahony? I guess it's because they're from Kerry.

Also, can people get some ****ing perspective on this issue and stop suggesting he should be ashamed for his family's sake? It's not his responsibility to clean up officiating and the rule book. It his responsibility to take maximum advantage of opportunities that help lead to victory. Harsh lesson for Monaghan who try to do the very same thing.

I'll get out of the way of everyone's vendetta against Tyrone now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Jippo

O'Donoghue for me has really brought this to the fore, every single game he goes down holding his face after a kick in the shins. In the recent Munster final the Cork boys only started after they saw what he was after getting as a result of his play acting. O'Mahony is also a disgrace, he's a member of an Garda Siochana too, ffs. Are there no Francie Bellews left at all!!

This is complete rubbish.

O'Donoghue did feign injury in the AIF against Donegal and I was embarrassed by that as a Kerry man.

O'Mahony's act was in the same postcode of Shields and McCann but that was SEVEN years ago.

I think some of ye are believing a little too much of what ye read on the internet regarding JOD.

Now watch this:

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/kerry-penalty-video/299735

for me this is a difficult decision for the referee to make in real time (I was parallel to it and didn't think it was a penalty). For me it is a free out.

However I don't see any dive at all here! In the process of falling, which I believe Collins caused (legally), JOD remonstrates with the referee.

Where is the dive? JOD dives and feigns injury here at 70.20 (match clock) 1:13:50 (YT clock) to waste time:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGbwe1m7jkQ

He didn't hold his face after getting hit in the shins but held his face after minimal contact to the face. I can say I am embarrassed by that but the claims that JOD is a serial diver are way off the mark in my opinion.

JOD is having a tough time with injury and in my opinion this reputation that he is beginning to get is more than a little unfair. He dived yes. That is bad yes. You can call him a diver yes. Does he dive every game? No. Does he hold his face after getting hit in the shins? No.

The penalty incident was just a bad call by the ref I wouldn't blame him for that but during that game he took a shoulder where there was zero contact with his face and went down holding his face in a clear attempt to con the ref a la McCann yesterday. He's a gifted footballer but he regularly does that sort of crap. When big name players like him and Sean Cavanagh are doing this sort of crap it becomes acceptable by everybody and starts becoming the norm, and that's the pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Jippo

The penalty incident was just a bad call by the ref I wouldn't blame him for that but during that game he took a shoulder where there was zero contact with his face and went down holding his face in a clear attempt to con the ref a la McCann yesterday. He's a gifted footballer but he regularly does that sort of crap. When big name players like him and Sean Cavanagh are doing this sort of crap it becomes acceptable by everybody and starts becoming the norm, and that's the pity.

So he got a shoulder in the shin??

He doesn't regularly do that sort of crap. I went and found the one time I can remember him doing it now can you point to one other? Perhaps the incident with the shoulder and the holding of the face:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQbxpYRgwr8

I agree that it is bad to see big players at this nonsense but I have become a bit tired of people saying JOD is a frequent diver when as a follower of the Kerry team I have only seen him do it once. Once blatantly anyway.

The shin part was a slight exaggeration on my behalf but if you are trying to tell me that he has only ever done that sort of thing once you need to take off the green and gold tinted spectacles. At least we can agree that when marquee players are doing that sort of crap it's bad for the game. The real issue is that it's awful to see and managers should put a stop to it really. Unfortunately as someone mentioned above they see it as just another way of getting an edge over the opposition. I think that's pretty sad. Why don't you see it in hurling??