Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sunday Game Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,690 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Monaghan - tyrone on last .
    Must be talking points about that gane ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Poor enough behaviour by Michael Murphy getting the Mayo lad sent off- he grabs him by the collar and has a go at him- then when your pushes him- he starts acting like an oul woman.
    Poor form and sour grapes considering the contest was over.

*Look through my previous posts where I have regularly described Murphy as the best player in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,690 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Poor enough behaviour by Michael Murphy getting the Mayo lad sent off- he grabs him by the collar and has a go at him- then when your pushes him- he starts acting like an oul woman.
    Poor form and sour grapes considering the contest was over

Yeah , and making sure he tells the umpire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

^^^^^
    Ah for feck sake lads!

TJ wins MOTM.

Buckley was brilliant today. At least Donal Og didn't get to award it to Fives which he dearly would love to have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

How can Donal Og persist with his systems bullsh1t after that display today? Takes a special kind of ego I suppose....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Hard to believe that neither Des or any of the panel picked up on Keegan's 8 or 9 steps before scoring Mayo's second goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

In fairness that's a shocking MOTM decision. Buckley was the standout player today.

TJ seems like a bizarre decision.
    Who else was nominated ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,569 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

TJ seems like a bizarre decision.
    Who else was nominated ?

TJ, Buckley, and Darragh Fives.

I suppose TJ got the goal and scored two points from play, along with being flawless from placed balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Kilkenny, once again, got away with some amount of stuff today.

Clearly, there's a different rulebook when they play.

The amount of slapping, dragging and other stuff going on.
    All aided and abeted by the referee.

I wait now for the backlash.
    Despite being in a pub surrounded by club hurlers, after a club game who all agreed that Kilkenny games are refereed differently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,176 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

A Meathman complaining about Tyrone being dirty :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Be fair lads; hair ruffling is a red card offence, especially if there was a perm put in on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

He never said they were dirty, he said they were bringing the game into disrepute with their antics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

"The game was over with 15 mins to play, so it didn't matter"

Ehhhh.... I think your own team Fermanagh were in a similar position against Roscommon a few weeks ago, and they didn't resort to cynical stuff. Seems to be an accepted part of the game for some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Des is a right comedian :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Not a mention of Michael Murphy not getting booked or trying to get a player sent off and yet Tiernan McCann should publicly apologise.

Tyrone are pack of ******** alright but its a complete double standard singling them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

corny wrote: »
    Not a mention of Michael Murphy not getting booked or trying to get a player sent off and yet Tiernan McCann should publicly apologise.

Tyrone are pack of ******** alright but its a complete double standard singling them out.

Especially coming from Ciaran Whelan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

A lot better than the lot on SKY who did not even discuss it.
    Brolly got it spot on in the Independent today

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/joe-brolly-diving-stalling-meanspiritedness-the-tyronemonaghan-game-was-depressing-31437275.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Think he is saying cynical cheating and feigning of injury to get the opponent sent off.

Yes cheating, something none of the Great Meath Teams ever did.

Yes cynical cheating.

Do you want me to repeat it?

And yes I am a Meath man and proud of it and delighted that you still haven't recovered from 1996 though you were probably in nappies:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Ciaran Whelan "Monaghan were just as culpable"

No, they fucking weren't. Any team is going to react to the shite they were subjected to yesterday. The play acting from Cavanagh and McCann was particularly disgusting to watch. Marty Duffy is a poor ref, he's about 5"5, not exactly intimidating. That game needed a referee like Deegan from Laois, he's not perfect but he takes zero shit in terms of play acting and feigning injuries. I genuinely blushed when Cavanagh hit the deck after McManus had touched him, the size of him FFS!

The U21 final this year was an embarrassment to Tyrone GAA. Tipp wanted to play football but again we had a weak referee who pandered to Tyrone's cynical play. It was sickening to watch Tyrone lift that cup, and I know I'm not alone in saying that.

Is this the direction the GAA want football to go in? We'll have U10s hitting the deck all over the country after witnessing that crap yesterday.

President of the GAA, sort it out now!

dixiefly wrote: »
    Think he is saying cynical cheating and feigning of injury to get the opponent sent off.

Yes cynical cheating.

And yes I am a Meath man and proud of it and delighted that you still haven't recovered from 1996 though you were probably in nappies:)

Yeah the great Meath teams would just stamp on your head instead. It's not "cheating", it's "manly".

As Colm O Rourke said (and he used to defend Tyrone0 said it is following them around like a bad smell.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Jeez, O'Rourke really hates Tyrone. You'd swear Meath were choirboys when he was playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭wonga77

I think their card is marked now, whoever is reffing the semi final will be well aware of what they are capable of

Nib wrote: »

The U21 final this year was an embarrassment to Tyrone GAA. Tipp wanted to play football but again we had a weak referee who pandered to Tyrone's cynical play. It was sickening to watch Tyrone lift that cup, and I know I'm not alone in saying that.

The U21 final wasn't a particularly cynical game, not sure why there was so much complaining after it. Yesterday's match was very dirty though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I agree, but there were a lot of niggley incidents in both games. They don't have time to show all of them, or comment on all of them. The McCann incident was by far the worst of the lot and deserved to be highlighted imo. RTE are often guilty of putting the so called star players on a pedestal. They'll bang on about them all day long when they do something good, but they rarely focus on the less than favourable aspects of their play. Didn't Murphy have to sit out a game in the league because he picked up so many black cards? Or he was at risk of missing a game if he got another one? And I am not picking on MM here, they give a lot of other big name players similar kid gloves treatment too.

Delighted to see Shane Lowry getting the recognition for winning the Bridgestone invitational.

A real sportsman, Tiernan McCann take note.

Jeez, O'Rourke really hates Tyrone. You'd swear Meath were choirboys when he was playing.

Think he hates the cynical cheating more than robust play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

aveytare wrote: »
    The U21 final wasn't a particularly cynical game, not sure why there was so much complaining after it. Yesterday's match was very dirty though.

Because most of the mouths talking about it didn't watch the game.

Think he hates the cynical cheating more than robust play.

Robust is one way of putting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Yes cynical cheating.

Meath always blamed everyone else. In the 1986 - 1990 period, they blamed Cork and Mayo for being the dirty ones. When Mayo and Cork met in the 1989 final, it was one of the finest and cleanest games of football of that era. So it wasn't Cork or Mayo that were the dirty ones when they played Meath. I was at all of those games, and the aforementioned 1996 encounters too, and also when Meath took out Peter Canavan early in the 1996 semi-final. Meath had some fine footballers, so it was a pity they had to have so much of the rough stuff.