Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S05E09: The Dance of Dragons - Have NOT read the books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,604 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

ashdale5 wrote: »
    Where has Thoros of Myr disappeared to? There hasn't been a glimpse or a mention of him this season has there?

IIRC he was only in season 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Goddamn youtube offering up recommended videos. I think I've been spoilered:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭James74

loyatemu wrote: »
    IIRC he was only in season 2.

No, I'm in the middle of a rewatch, just finished season 2 last night and he hasn't appeared yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,604 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

James74 wrote: »
    No, I'm in the middle of a rewatch, just finished season 2 last night and he hasn't appeared yet.

S3 then - cool character but he was only in a few episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭DeadHand

ashdale5 wrote: »
    Where has Thoros of Myr disappeared to?

The last indirect reference to him was when the slaver was exaggerating Jorah's exploits to drive his price up. Along with claiming Jorah had slain Khal Drogo in single combat he claimed that Jorah had been the first through the breach at the siege of Pyke with a flaming sword. That was actually Thoros. Jorah was second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I definitely got the feeling they were setting that group up to come back into things... otherwise it was a lot of screen time for no clear reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Are the Knights of the Vale actually any good? We haven't seen them fight (that I can recall), and the Unsullied turned out to be somewhat overrated when it came to the crunch.

I expect that, like the unsullied, TKOTV will be as good as they have to be, for as long as the story needs them to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Are the Knights of the Vale actually any good? We haven't seen them fight (that I can recall), and the Unsullied turned out to be somewhat overrated when it came to the crunch.
    Well they're knights so they have to be half decent but really I think they are a threat now because they have taken no part in the fighting between the various factions and are still at full strength while everyone else is knackered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Haven't we heard before about how the knights of the Vale are fairly handy in a fight? I feel like we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Are the Knights of the Vale actually any good? We haven't seen them fight (that I can recall)

Bronn killed Ser Vardis Egen (captain of the guards at the Eyrie) in season 1 during Tyrion's trial-by-combat for the falsely accused attempted murder of Bran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

DeVore wrote: »
    I definitely got the feeling they were setting that group up to come back into things... otherwise it was a lot of screen time for no clear reason.

I think (hope) it'll be to bring the hound back into it. As far as we know the hound was left at deaths door and Thoros and the BWB are just out there roaming around. Stumbling across the hound and bringing him back would make sense.

Of all the characters we've lost, the hound has been the biggest loss IMO (by quite a distance too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I would find it fairly hard to believe that in all the wilderness out there, they just happened to wander past him lying on the ground in sufficient time before the crows made a mess of him...

I'd love for the hound to be back and I would even forgive the hacky writing but I think he's gone for good. :(

Has anyone considered that maybe under the sheet is Ned Stark? :) Ridiculous, I know but imagine the twist to the story! "Hey kids, I'm back... where's your mother?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

^ Can't be Ned as his bones went back to Winterfell in Season 2 as a gesture of goodwill by Tyrion. LF/PB and 2 Silent Sisters delivered them to Catelyn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Essien wrote: »
    I think (hope) it'll be to bring the hound back into it. As far as we know the hound was left at deaths door and Thoros and the BWB are just out there roaming around. Stumbling across the hound and bringing him back would make sense.

Of all the characters we've lost, the hound has been the biggest loss IMO (by quite a distance too).

Yeah the hound has been a massive loss but I've really missed Tywin.. Charles Dance played the role to perfection, such gravitas and Tywin was such a strong character. Really miss Joffrey too, such a bad ass character and Jack Gleeson is a wonderfully talented actor, hopefully he'll continue to pursue a career in acting.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭Puddle Q

seligehgit wrote: »
    Yeah the hound has been a massive loss but I've really missed Tywin.. Charles Dance played the role to perfection, such gravitas and Tywin was such a strong character. Really miss Joffrey too, such a bad ass character and Jack Gleeson is a wonderfully talented actor, hopefully he'll continue to pursue a career in acting.

Well Ramsay has taken the part of chief sadistic villain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Manchegan

It has beed said that in Star Wars, The Force was whatever was necessary to progress the plot.

It should be codified as a law of the GoT universe that whatever impediment stands in the way of an intended conflict can be dispensed with in whatever manner necessary without objection.

Viz, there will be no outcry of Deus Ex Machina when The Hound is saved from dying, so long as he defeats his brother The Mountain (thereafter being himself killed by his sworn enemy, Arya).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

DeVore wrote: »
    I would find it fairly hard to believe that in all the wilderness out there, they just happened to wander past him lying on the ground in sufficient time before the crows made a mess of him...

I'd love for the hound to be back and I would even forgive the hacky writing but I think he's gone for good. :(

Has anyone considered that maybe under the sheet is Ned Stark? :) Ridiculous, I know but imagine the twist to the story! "Hey kids, I'm back... where's your mother?"

First rule of TV land is unless you see them dying, the door is always open for a return. The major rule of GOT is....unless you see them succumbing to a needlessly gory fate then they will surely pop up again at some stage!:D

I don't think we have seen the last of the Hound, not by a longshot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I don't get why everyone thinks The Hound is alive
    Sure the Brotherhood Without Banners hated The Hound - why the feck would they bring him back to life if they found him?

I do however think that Brotherhood are gonna come back into the storyline - Surely the ability to bring people back from the dead is gonna have large part to play at some point..

Only other person That can bring people back was that crazy Witch who was able bring Drogo back to life - although he was basically braindead- but sure she was burned alive by Dani

I hope this isn't a case of book readers with their "thoughts" on the hounds fate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,349 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Puddle Q wrote: »
    I hope this isn't a case of book readers with their "thoughts" on the hounds fate...

That's what I'm worried about too. It's seems a very popular "theory" that The Hound is still alive.

I don't think he is. Said it before but I think the way they handled his death was to show how cold and ruthless Arya is capable of being rather than keeping the door open for a return.

He certainly is missed though. The Hound, Tywin and Oberyn were all killed at the tail end of last season and the show is poorer (but still excellent) without them.

Can't see how on the earth the Hound would still be alive, solely based on the fact we didn't actually see him die. Don't believe even given the speculated means by which he could be resurrected it is a viable possibility, it seems a tad to outlandish even for Game of Thrones.

It depends - it's possible some gomb thick bogger farmer came upon him and decided to help him. Just we haven't seen what actually happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Admittedly it's more of a hope as far as I'm concerned, purely because he was so damn entertaining.

Puddle Q wrote: »
    It depends - it's possible some gomb thick bogger farmer came upon him and decided to help him. Just we haven't seen what actually happened.

Agreed but it did have all the appearances that he was beyond saving, unless they've discovered advanced life support!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Agreed but it did have all the appearances that he was beyond saving, unless they've discovered advanced life support!:pac:

Or a maester with dubious morals and a penchant for the dark arts

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

J. Marston wrote: »
    That's what I'm worried about too. It's seems a very popular "theory" that The Hound is still alive.

I don't think he is. Said it before but I think the way they handled his death was to show how cold and ruthless Arya is capable of being rather than keeping the door open for a return.

He certainly is missed though. The Hound, Tywin and Oberyn were all killed at the tail end of last season and the show is poorer (but still excellent) without them.

I see what ya did there!:D

I agree though, three great characters all taken within the space of as many episodes. Its a shame alright. I was hoping the Dornish crowd this season would be a chip off the Oberyn block, but none so far have stood out. His brother seems to be quite moral and pragmatic, but not a truly engaging character.

You are most likely right, there seems to be a snowballs chance in hell of anybody living through those injuries. Then again it is a show with Dragons and Zombies so him being rescued by a good samaritan may not be that much of a stretch. But then again, as a poster up above said, doing something like that would be stretching things a bit, and I agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Thoros of myr already raised people from the dead, so anyone left in one piece or not burned to a cinder could come back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭LFC CONNAUGHTON

catallus wrote:
    Thoros of myr already raised people from the dead, so anyone left in one piece or not burned to a cinder could come back!

I feel like Thoros will have a big part to play with the white walkers considering they can both raise the dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

mzungu wrote: »
    I was hoping the Dornish crowd this season would be a chip off the Oberyn block, but none so far have stood out. His brother seems to be quite moral and pragmatic, but not a truly engaging character.

Doran isn't as dramatic as Oberyn was, but I think he's a really interesting character. They just haven't given him enough screen time though. The whole handling of Dorne has been a mess from the beginning. That plot had so much potential and it just became kind of farcical, and part of that problem was spending too much time with the Sand Snakes and not enough time with Doran, imo.

PressRun wrote: »
    Doran isn't as dramatic as Oberyn was, but I think he's a really interesting character. They just haven't given him enough screen time though. The whole handling of Dorne has been a mess from the beginning. That plot had so much potential and it just became kind of farcical, and part of that problem was spending too much time with the Sand Snakes and not enough time with Doran, imo.

Agreed. The bones of an interesting character are there it just needs to be fleshed out a bit more.