Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭paddy13

PTH2009 wrote: »
    it is funny reading all the posts from July 20th last year after the wexford defeat. myself and many other posters were very worried about the future of waterford hurling. who would of known we would win the league and be in a munster final some 11 months later.

the munster final is on the same weekend as the connor mcgregor fight so it should be a good weekend.

a big shock is going to happen on sunday 21st june Wexford are going to beat Kilkenny believe me
    Its funny your so confident of other teams winning even if they are strong underdogs and never confident of Waterford even if we were strong favourites.
    Anyway I agree in that Wexford will put out big performance and if they have improved on last year they might just win. Be really great for Championship if they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭paddy13

Wonder would the Gaelic Grounds actually suit ye better than Thurles this year though, should the opposition be Tipp. The field is a good bit smaller than Semple.

I don't think so I know it might seem so, but the way we attack with that extra space it would make it easier to find our inside men and also the likes of Dunford and co will have further space to run at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,435 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

paddy13 wrote: »
    Its funny your so confident of other teams winning even if they are strong underdogs and never confident of Waterford even if we were strong favourites.
    Anyway I agree in that Wexford will put out big performance and if they have improved on last year they might just win. Be really great for Championship if they did.

Going to head up to that game in nowlan park. Its a great place to watch hurling and does have the potential to be a great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

KevIRL wrote: »
    Going to head up to that game in nowlan park. Its a great place to watch hurling and does have the potential to be a great game.

Keep your mouth shut and wear nondescript clothing. We don't want them claiming that we are arrogantly sussing out future opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

Another fellah who has been an absolute colossus as ever is Brick Walsh. What a man and what a servant he has been. Why wouldn’t all these young fellahs have the impeccable attitude they have when they have a role model like that to take after.

A man who was absolutely slated on here earlier in the year. People saying he was finished and that he was never a hurler anyway. Ye should hang yere heads in shame.

He is pure class, who cares if he doesn't lash the ball long distances, his pass rate is near perfect. Look at the way he set up two of the goals last Sunday, that's what he brings to the team, we have other players for hitting it long and scoring points. He is so calm, clever and skillful. Love watching him play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,625 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I think there's a round of club games coming up before the Munster final . Hopefully no injuries

Imagine losing tadgh De burca or Austin Gleason through injury

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭TyrionPower

I think there's a round of club games coming up before the Munster final . Hopefully no injuries

Imagine losing tadgh De burca or Austin Gleason through injury

Kilkenny had to do without Henry Shefflin - the greatest ever hurler - plenty of times due to serious injury, if it happens you just have to get on with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭conditioned games

Kilkenny had to do without Henry Shefflin - the greatest ever hurler - plenty of times due to serious injury, if it happens you just have to get on with it

Last year was the first time since he made his debut in 1999 that he missed a championship game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

When are the U21s playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,435 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Hslaw wrote: »
    When are the U21s playing

This night week down in Cork

Last year was the first time since he made his debut in 1999 that he missed a championship game.

He came off in an All Ireland final in 2007 after doing his cruciate a few weeks before.
    My point is that injuries are a part of sport - deal with it and move on - no point in worrying about what if this happens or that happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

KevIRL wrote: »
    This night week down in Cork

Thanks Kev, I had my wires crossed thought it was tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

Read in the Examiner today that Derek McGrath is set for an extension to his term. A reward for a job well done. The board are happy and so are the sponsors. The gates will only increase and the performance related deal with three.ie has hit all targets as of yet. Indeed the coffers are improving to the extent that the Walsh Park offices seem to be worth breaking into!!

So far so good. There was criticism last year. A lot of fans weren't happy but also the players. However, if there was no criticism and just apathy, Waterford Hurling would be in a sorry state.

I thought the reason for the sluggish start was that the team was trying to find a way of playing without Pauric Mahony. Pauric was the conduit (insert here fulcrum, lynchpin, metronome) always
    available for the simple pass, the steady assist or the settling free. With Pauric you get a guarantee of performance, a reliable measure. Without him we now go longer to the ball winners Maurice and Brick. It's more direct. It worked against Cork's defence. The Centre Forward position is an area we can attack through rather than from. You have to go over it against a stiffer defence. We can do that.

There are improvements. Daragh Fives seemed in good knick going through the warm ups with the rest of him. If he is ok he could played the auxiliary/breaking midfielder instead of Dunford, allowing the Colligan man closer to goal. The move Austin Gleeson forward option may not happen , the defence will probably remain intact. We might resort to it if the scoreboard insists on it. Then there is the lads that came off the bench. I have never seen such talent (and Eddie Barrett.....only messing) being introduced onto a Waterford team.

As for defence you can't have too many complaints. Pa Cronin scored well without pressure but I believe the logic is to allow that. You are not getting a goal. Tadgh de Burke won't be drawn. The comparisons were made to the Noel McGrath role, written and performed by Noel McGrath, in the semi final in 2010 where he took Brick for 5 points. People forgot that Eoin Kelly playing his interpretation of the Eoin Kelly role took us for 2 goals and that killed us. The points are the lesser of the two evils at the moment.

Another couple of additional points:
    Shane Bennett's introduction and his Brother's reaction to his introduction. Stephen then matched his brother's impressive scoring contribution. Similar how Shane Fives upped his game when his brother got on ahead of him. Competition in the panel. Competition in the family. All good.

Brian O Halloran making it to half time. I think that was his third championship start. His first that passed the short whistle. Didn't really work for him but he was always drifting into space and available. Moran, Barron, Brick and Maurice fluffed there lines too but they are central while O Halloran, along with Dillon and Dunford are working just as hard, mostly off the ball. Dillon and Dunford though have that killer instinct. Tom Devine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

U-21's beat Tipp in Challenge last week 1-14 to 0-14

Team listed by Phil Fanning in N and S

Billy Nolan
    Conor Gleeson
    Kieran Bennett
    Jack Mulaney
    Keiran Power
    Jason Roche
    Michael Harney
    Cathal Curran
    Mark O Brien
    Barry O Sullivan
    Jason Gleeson
    DJ Foran
    Ryan Donnelly
    Cormac Curran
    ......AN Other maybe Daragh Lyons

+9 Seniors from 26 panel last Sunday

TdeB
    Aussie
    Tom Devine
    Stephen Bennett
    Dunford
    Shane Bennett
    Pat Curran
    Mikey Kearney
    Shane McNulty

and Seanie Barry and I presume thats the panel for next Wednesday

Couple others maybe Colm Roche and Seamus Keating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Brad1234

3ships wrote: »
    U-21's beat Tipp in Challenge last week 1-14 to 0-14

Team listed by Phil Fanning in N and S

Billy Nolan
    Conor Gleeson
    Kieran Bennett
    Jack Mulaney
    Keiran Power
    Jason Roche
    Michael Harney
    Cathal Curran
    Mark O Brien
    Barry O Sullivan
    Jason Gleeson
    DJ Foran
    Ryan Donnelly
    Cormac Curran
    ......AN Other maybe Daragh Lyons

+9 Seniors from 26 panel last Sunday

TdeB
    Aussie
    Tom Devine
    Stephen Bennett
    Dunford
    Shane Bennett
    Pat Curran
    Mikey Kearney
    Shane McNulty

and Seanie Barry and I presume thats the panel for next Wednesday

Couple others maybe Colm Roche and Seamus Keating

That's incredibly Strong.. A win is a must with that group..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,625 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Brad1234 wrote: »

Is keiran Bennett brother of Shane and Stephen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭stumblingblock

Is keiran Bennett brother of Shane and Stephen

Yep. The eldest of the 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

Possible Under 21 Team against Cork

1. Billy Nolan

2. Conor Gleeson
    3. Kieran Bennett
    4. Shane McNulty

5. Tadgh De Burca
    6. Austin Gleason
    7. Michael Harney

8. Mark O Brien
    9. Colin Dunford

10. DJ Foran
    11. Tom Devine
    12. Shane Bennett

13. Patrick Curran
    14. Stephan Bennett
    15. Ryan Donnelly

I thought a few months ago that Aussie would definitely start centre forward for the U21 side but i think he'll stay put at centre back.
    Midfield is the hardest line to call. I wonder will they play similar style to the senior side. Very strong team on paper but as we all know that doesn't win you anything. Its a tough road ahead for this side to win Munster never mind the all Ireland. If they can get over Cork they may go on a roll.

Brad1234 wrote: »

A familiar tune. We've been saying that for the past 5 years at least in this grade and it always ends in disappointment.

I'm not overly concerned with this grade to be honest. Its all very much about who shows up on the night. Yes success and silverware would be a nice boost but as long as were moving in the right direction at senior level I'm happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

1. Billy Nolan

2. Conor Gleeson
    3. Kieran Bennett
    4. Shane McNulty

5. Tadgh De Burca
    6. Austin Gleason
    7. Michael Harney

8. Mark O Brien
    9. Colin Dunford

10. DJ Foran
    11. Tom Devine
    12. Shane Bennett

13. Patrick Curran
    14. Stephan Bennett
    15. Ryan Donnelly

That's a crazy good team.

In contrast, Cork have lost O'Callaghan, Cahalane, Histon and Kelleher from our 2013 Minors, Twomey and Stephen Murphy are doubtful and our 2012 Minors were very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Waternut

I heard Cahalane had some health problems, seriously talented young player (football too) and just what Cork seniors (hurling and football) need in the half forward line. Is he back playing club hurling and and any chance of him making it back soon?? Massive loss to Cork, would have def started this year.... Hope he makes it back to playing at the top level, potential to be a special player..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

1. Billy Nolan

2. Conor Gleeson
    3. Kieran Bennett
    4. Shane McNulty

5. Tadgh De Burca
    6. Austin Gleason
    7. Michael Harney

8. Mark O Brien
    9. Colin Dunford

10. DJ Foran
    11. Tom Devine
    12. Shane Bennett

13. Patrick Curran
    14. Stephan Bennett
    15. Ryan Donnelly

I thought a few months ago that Aussie would definitely start centre forward for the U21 side but i think he'll stay put at centre back.
    Midfield is the hardest line to call. I wonder will they play similar style to the senior side. Very strong team on paper but as we all know that doesn't win you anything. Its a tough road ahead for this side to win Munster never mind the all Ireland. If they can get over Cork they may go on a roll.

I would go with Seanie Barry in goal, jack Mullaney instead of McNulty and Kieran Power instead of Harney. Serious team on paper as you said but how often have we thought that. Our record at this grade is poor recently and add to that we have to go to Cork where our record at underage is terrible so I won't get carried away just yet. Brown and Mullane will definitely bring alot to the thing so hopefully we get the right result but it will be far from easy.

Waternut wrote: »
    I heard Cahalane had some health problems, seriously talented young player (football too) and just what Cork seniors (hurling and football) need in the half forward line. Is he back playing club hurling and and any chance of him making it back soon?? Massive loss to Cork, would have def started this year.... Hope he makes it back to playing at the top level, potential to be a special player..

Cahalane was a good prospect but he was always short on speed, which is a big handicap in modern hurling. Afaik he still isn't back, and might never be.

I thought O'Callaghan, Collins and a couple of others were better prospects from that group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭thegambler2

1. Billy Nolan

2. Conor Gleeson
    3. Kieran Bennett
    4. Shane McNulty

5. Tadgh De Burca
    6. Austin Gleason
    7. Michael Harney

8. Mark O Brien
    9. Colin Dunford

10. DJ Foran
    11. Tom Devine
    12. Shane Bennett

13. Patrick Curran
    14. Stephan Bennett
    15. Ryan Donnelly

Tadhg Burke will in my mind definelty be no.6, I think Austin will either be beside him at 5 or in midfield

Orizio wrote: »
    That's a crazy good team.

In contrast, Cork have lost O'Callaghan, Cahalane, Histon and Kelleher from our 2013 Minors, Twomey and Stephen Murphy are doubtful and our 2012 Minors were very poor.

Wheres pa o'callaghan. Looked a serious prospect at minor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

At the risk of sounding greedy or ungrateful for our current situation, I'm gasping for a win at Under-21 level. It's the last bastion of the winner-takes-all championship. Beating Cork, which we've only done once before in - you've guessed it - 1992 would be a wonderful kick in their knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

Jesus that is a serious team, will the game be on TG4 I wonder?

I'm guessing we don't get U21 on Gaa Go

Wheres pa o'callaghan. Looked a serious prospect at minor

No interest in playing inter-county hurling.

Orizio wrote: »
    No interest in playing inter-county hurling.

Is it a commitment issue? Is he happy starring with the club and not going the extra bit for the county?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭HuntingDrog

HillFarmer wrote: »
    Jesus that is a serious team, will the game be on TG4 I wonder?

I'm guessing we don't get U21 on Gaa Go

yep its on TG4