Welcome New Members/Old Members - Introduce yourself here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Ameila

Hello everyone Just after taking over my dads dairy farm as he no longer is able for the work,I 've a little knowledge so will need as much help as I can get from all you knowledgeable posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

How ye lads im from the premier county situated in the fertile Suir Valley. On this a while but i better introduce myself. Im only a young lad whose still in college studying Land Management. i love the out doors and hardship so i suppose farming was ideal. our main enterprise is a 500 ewe flock and growing. We finish a few store lambs. I look after the bull beef operation which is slowly getting bigger. I started out contracting last year so im kept going during the summer months at that. On the look out aswell for a woman with a bitta road frontage aswell and a hefty Single Farm Payment !! :P as the saying goes "his so hungry for land he'd eat clay". Haha im eager to learn so i hope ye old timers will teach me as i go. Looking forward to getting to know ye all :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,831 ✭✭✭✭Base price

davidk1394 wrote: »
    How ye lads im from the premier county situated in the fertile Suir Valley. On this a while but i better introduce myself. Im only a young lad whose still in college studying Land Management. i love the out doors and hardship so i suppose farming was ideal. our main enterprise is a 500 ewe flock and growing. We finish a few store lambs. I look after the bull beef operation which is slowly getting bigger. I started out contracting last year so im kept going during the summer months at that. On the look out aswell for a woman with a bitta road frontage aswell and a hefty Single Farm Payment !! :P as the saying goes "his so hungry for land he'd eat clay". Haha im eager to learn so i hope ye old timers will teach me as i go. Looking forward to getting to know ye all :-)
    Unfortunately I think most of us good'uns are long taken :D
    Best of luck in your endeavours and welcome :)

Base price wrote: »

I better be quick off the mark next time !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,125 ✭✭✭visatorro

great to see a couple more contractors coming along, reggie had abit of a monopoly there for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

I better be quick off the mark next time !!

Have you ever considered moving to Leitrim?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

tanko wrote: »

bc7.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

visatorro wrote: »
    great to see a couple more contractors coming along, reggie had abit of a monopoly there for a while

Mmmm might have to discourage this pup....... Welcome kid ;)

Yeah I hear she has a hape of frontage ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,831 ✭✭✭✭Base price

That is the best laugh I have had in ages :D
    Apologies Kovu :)
    Although I hear there is a bit of good land for sale on the Ballyconnel, Cavan side of Leitrim.
    david1394 might have deep pockets ;)
    Oh the thoughts of a F&F wedding and the guest list :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭White Clover

Although I hear there is a bit of good land for sale on the Ballyconnel, Cavan side of Leitrim.

Quadboy might have something to say about this :-D

Ah he's in NZ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Sure all the F&F crowd would have no craic, they would all have to go after the dinner to check things at home !

visatorro wrote: »

Ahh its only a handy operation at the moment but it's growing !

All mighty oak trees start with a seed

Haha its a long way to be drawing cattle :P

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Speak for yourself! :P :cool:

Reggie. wrote: »
    All mighty oak trees start with a seed

Any silage or hedge cutting i could do for you :P

We have our own side covered ;)

Fencing perhaps or dung spreading or a bitta dumper work perhaps ;-)

You are a fiesty one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

bitta fencing to do up this way, down a 60 degree slope and up again. ya in? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

gadetra wrote: »
    Speak for yourself! :P :cool:

Soooooooooooo........ How you doin? ;)

ganmo wrote: »
    bitta fencing to do up this way, down a 60 degree slope and up again. ya in? :cool:

Tis a track machine I'd want there ! But I'd give anything a shot once !

Har har, aren't you a funny one :p

@BasePrice, sure we can't even organise a F&F drinks night, we'd be hopeless at any sort of wedding.

Kovu wrote: »

@BasePrice, sure we can't even organise a F&F drinks night, we'd be hopeless at any sort of wedding.

Was there one already ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

if you're buying we'll be there tomorrow ;P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Yeah I hear she has a hape of frontage ;)

And What's the land like?:D:D

Bullocks wrote: »
    Was there one already ?

We were all set for one until realisation set in that we're all farming and couldn't possibly get away for a night :rolleyes:

We'll have to do a video conference type night out !