Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welcome New Members/Old Members - Introduce yourself here!

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Ameila

Hello everyone Just after taking over my dads dairy farm as he no longer is able for the work,I 've a little knowledge so will need as much help as I can get from all you knowledgeable posters.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,045 ✭✭✭davidk1394

How ye lads im from the premier county situated in the fertile Suir Valley. On this a while but i better introduce myself. Im only a young lad whose still in college studying Land Management. i love the out doors and hardship so i suppose farming was ideal. our main enterprise is a 500 ewe flock and growing. We finish a few store lambs. I look after the bull beef operation which is slowly getting bigger. I started out contracting last year so im kept going during the summer months at that. On the look out aswell for a woman with a bitta road frontage aswell and a hefty Single Farm Payment !! :P as the saying goes "his so hungry for land he'd eat clay". Haha im eager to learn so i hope ye old timers will teach me as i go. Looking forward to getting to know ye all :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,164 ✭✭✭✭Base price

davidk1394 wrote: »
    How ye lads im from the premier county situated in the fertile Suir Valley. On this a while but i better introduce myself. Im only a young lad whose still in college studying Land Management. i love the out doors and hardship so i suppose farming was ideal. our main enterprise is a 500 ewe flock and growing. We finish a few store lambs. I look after the bull beef operation which is slowly getting bigger. I started out contracting last year so im kept going during the summer months at that. On the look out aswell for a woman with a bitta road frontage aswell and a hefty Single Farm Payment !! :P as the saying goes "his so hungry for land he'd eat clay". Haha im eager to learn so i hope ye old timers will teach me as i go. Looking forward to getting to know ye all :-)
    Unfortunately I think most of us good'uns are long taken :D
    Best of luck in your endeavours and welcome :)

Base price wrote: »

I better be quick off the mark next time !!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭visatorro

great to see a couple more contractors coming along, reggie had abit of a monopoly there for a while

• Registered Users Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭tanko

I better be quick off the mark next time !!

Have you ever considered moving to Leitrim?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

tanko wrote: »

bc7.png

• Registered Users Posts: 24,370 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

visatorro wrote: »
    great to see a couple more contractors coming along, reggie had abit of a monopoly there for a while

Mmmm might have to discourage this pup....... Welcome kid ;)

Yeah I hear she has a hape of frontage ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,164 ✭✭✭✭Base price

That is the best laugh I have had in ages :D
    Apologies Kovu :)
    Although I hear there is a bit of good land for sale on the Ballyconnel, Cavan side of Leitrim.
    david1394 might have deep pockets ;)
    Oh the thoughts of a F&F wedding and the guest list :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭White Clover

Although I hear there is a bit of good land for sale on the Ballyconnel, Cavan side of Leitrim.

Quadboy might have something to say about this :-D

Ah he's in NZ

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Sure all the F&F crowd would have no craic, they would all have to go after the dinner to check things at home !

visatorro wrote: »

Ahh its only a handy operation at the moment but it's growing !

All mighty oak trees start with a seed

Haha its a long way to be drawing cattle :P

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Speak for yourself! :P :cool:

Reggie. wrote: »
    All mighty oak trees start with a seed

Any silage or hedge cutting i could do for you :P

We have our own side covered ;)

Fencing perhaps or dung spreading or a bitta dumper work perhaps ;-)

You are a fiesty one

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

bitta fencing to do up this way, down a 60 degree slope and up again. ya in? :cool:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

gadetra wrote: »
    Speak for yourself! :P :cool:

Soooooooooooo........ How you doin? ;)

ganmo wrote: »
    bitta fencing to do up this way, down a 60 degree slope and up again. ya in? :cool:

Tis a track machine I'd want there ! But I'd give anything a shot once !

Har har, aren't you a funny one :p

@BasePrice, sure we can't even organise a F&F drinks night, we'd be hopeless at any sort of wedding.

Kovu wrote: »

@BasePrice, sure we can't even organise a F&F drinks night, we'd be hopeless at any sort of wedding.

Was there one already ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

if you're buying we'll be there tomorrow ;P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Yeah I hear she has a hape of frontage ;)

And What's the land like?:D:D

Bullocks wrote: »
    Was there one already ?

We were all set for one until realisation set in that we're all farming and couldn't possibly get away for a night :rolleyes:

We'll have to do a video conference type night out !