Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend an Android Box that runs XBMC - [No copyrighted material]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭savemejebus

Anyone have a link to a mirror for the finless 1.1 (or newer) roms for the MK808B Plus, his freaktab links are down?

Also, what happened the huge thread in BA about these sticks, there was a tonne of useful info there but it seems to be gone. (sorry if answered earlier in thread - didn't have time to go through all the pages).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Any idea why no keyboard is showing up on the screen of my MXQ?

Is it just in Kodi? If so,I used an Aeon Nox style skin and the keyboard showed up blank,had to change it.Maybe that is the problem,try a default skin and see if it helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Lads I flashed openelec onto a mxq there but all that is showing up is a black screen after it boots up. Any ideas what I can do to fix it ?

The picture isn't showing but when I press buttons on remote I can hear stuff happening. So doesn't seem totally fcuked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭dahat

The picture isn't showing but when I press buttons on remote I can hear stuff happening. So doesn't seem totally fcuked.

Try re flash it maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭deckie27

Anyone have a link to a mirror for the finless 1.1 (or newer) roms for the MK808B Plus, his freaktab links are down?

Also, what happened the huge thread in BA about these sticks, there was a tonne of useful info there but it seems to be gone. (sorry if answered earlier in thread - didn't have time to go through all the pages).

I've finless 1.1 here and can upload it.
    It's about 400mb
    Where is suitable?

dahat wrote: »
    Try re flash it maybe.

Found a newer version. Can't believe I didn't try this sooner. It's like a new box.

Open Elec ****s all over Android IMO. Wouldn't have anything else on a box.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Can you throw up a link please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭deckie27

Can't find it and I had a number if posts in it.

Must off been deleted with gearbest. Daft as said everything you wanted to know about the product was in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

I think there was discussion sometime back about the advancedsettings.xml settings for cache.

I am using this:

<advancedsettings>
    <network>
    <buffermode>1</buffermode>
    <cachemembuffersize>157286400</cachemembuffersize>
    <readbufferfactor>10</readbufferfactor>
    <imageres>720</imageres>
    <fanartres>1080</fanartres>
    </network>
    </advancedsettings>

Any idea if its an optimal setting for a 2GB / 16GB Android box?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Anyone have the AAA addon installed? Got a message when I was about to watch the United game that the addon had ripped code or streams or something from other addons, when I back clicked out from the message gave me an option AAA or Xunity clicked Xunity and lost Vdubt addon and AAA was still there (I uninstalled it though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

user2011 wrote: »
    Anyone have the AAA addon installed? Got a message when I was about to watch the United game that the addon had ripped code or streams or something from other addons, when I back clicked out from the message gave me an option AAA or Xunity clicked Xunity and lost Vdubt addon and AAA was still there (I uninstalled it though).

Yeah there's a whole litany of accusations flying back and forth on twitter and Facebook the last few days, apparently AAA peed off a lot of the devs, VDub, Mikey, Metalkettle etc.

Although I see their point in away, its a tad ironic that they're giving out about "stealing".

I deleted AAA when I got the prompt, but It still popped up a few times afterward, until I shut down XBMC and reopened it again.

Apparently theres another source for AAA that will work and allow you keep both but I've not bothered to re install it yet.

deckie27 wrote: »
    I've finless 1.1 here and can upload it.
    It's about 400mb
    Where is suitable?
    Thanks a mill,that would be great, what ever works for you would suit me, if not sure maybe something like https://www.wetransfer.com/we

Mad they trashed that thread, its really a case of throwing the baby out with the bathwater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I could not flash that MK808b plus for the life of me, it's the first thing ever I have not been able to flash, I think the little button inside it never worked so no idea if I can do anything with it....

Works alright stock though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Yeah there's a whole litany of accusations flying back and forth on twitter and Facebook the last few days, apparently AAA peed off a lot of the devs, VDub, Mikey, Metalkettle etc.

Although I see their point in away, its a tad ironic that they're giving out about "stealing".

I deleted AAA when I got the prompt, but It still popped up a few times afterward, until I shut down XBMC and reopened it again.

Apparently theres another source for AAA that will work and allow you keep both but I've not bothered to re install it yet.

Was Vdubt stealing? It never mentioned anything about his addon but it was his that got removed.

user2011 wrote: »
    Was Vdubt stealing? It never mentioned anything about his addon but it was his that got removed.

The Devs including VDub are saying its AAA that were stealing, his is removed because the whole Xunity talk repo has been pulled.
    If you have the addons from Xunity on your system, they'll survive, but wont be updated.

Mikey is promising a new addon soon, but like most of his stuff, it'll be great for a few days then be pulled or left to wither.

It's all a bit crazy really, but at least Genesis, Ivue, Israel are working, as is Halow BBTS etc.

sugarman wrote: »
    Could someone link me to an Openelec image for the mxiii 2gb version?

Found a few with dead links, or else just for the 1gb model. Also want something relatively tested and bug free.

Cheers
    http://amlinux.ru/image/5.0.3/

Thanks, is that definitely for the 2gb model?

Yeah. If you can't get it to work try the s82 one.

In case anyone is interested, the freaktab link for finless 1.1 for MK808b Plus has been fixed. Can be downloaded from here with full thread and info here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭jimosterberg

Having an issue installing this now, have the zip folder extracted on the sd card and in the box. When I use the toothpick method it gets to the android recovery mode with the android logo and loading bar, but when finished loading, just get a black screen. An ideas?

Have you put the three files on your sd card - the aml, zip and recovery files?
    Was your sd card formatted to fat32 first?

Okay, getting somewhere... Seemed to be the SD card, tried another and im away.

Getting into recovery now and selecting the files from the mem card

Installs no problem, but when I reboot, all i get is a flash of the "tronsmart" screen and then nothing, black screen again:(

Anyone done this with the MXIII?

I only did it on the weekend. Did u use the s82 version? Someone on here recommended it over the mx3 version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭wildrover444

Has anyone got the tronsmart usb to Ethernet adaptor working with the mk808b plus. Bought it from geekbuying and received a week ago but MK808B-Plus doesn't seem to be recognising it. I installed whatever drivers came with it and tried it out on laptop and it worked fine. I have Finless bobs ROM on stick and had another Ethernet adaptor working on it but speeds are not that great with it so that's why I got the tronsmart one cos it was supposed to be quicker. Any advice would be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭massy086

Yeah I tried both linked to me on the previous page. They both installed just fine, but still just getting a black screen on reboot.
    Are you clearing the cache and factory setting before u flash openelec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

The repo is back on. If you know what I am talking about ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭massy086

Cache, yes. Factory setting? As in full wipe/format or?
    Ye do a full wipe

coldfire1x wrote: »
    The repo is back on. If you know what I am talking about ;)

Quick question, been trying out a Torrent add on and found it quote good but I suspecty connection is being throttled.

Anyone else on Vodafone come across such issues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭mel123

So i bought an MK808b with no remote (clever). can anyone link me to a remote I can use, ive tried to download loads in the play store but none are successful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

mel123 wrote: »
    So i bought an MK808b with no remote (clever). can anyone link me to a remote I can use, ive tried to download loads in the play store but none are successful.

Just buy a usb wireless mouse and that will do the job....