Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LC Off Topic Thread (2015/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Lee_la

Should've done my homework last weekend.. These French comprehensions are killing me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Hana98

Lee_la wrote: »
    Should've done my homework last weekend.. These French comprehensions are killing me

Those comprehensions are insanely difficult! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Beca19

Meanwhile ive watched 3 seasons of grey's anatomy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Bazinga_N

Beca19 wrote: »
    I've watched 2 seasons of Grey's Anatomy, 3 seasons of Parks & Recreation and have gone out an excessive amount of times :p Even went on a roadtrip to Wicklow with my friends.

Still have homework left to do as well :rolleyes: Why did I do this to myself!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭koolis02

Watched 2 seasons of wentworth prison and went out way too much. Have to read a 400 page book for monday and do an review on it..... Great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

koolis02 wrote: »
    Watched 2 seasons of wentworth prison and went out way too much. Have to read a 400 page book for monday and do an review on it..... Great.

Ah here, reading is great fun! Read three 300-400 page books over the break :pac: what book do you have to review?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭koolis02

Ah here, reading is great fun! Read three 300-400 page books over the break :pac: what book do you have to review?

Depends on the book i suppose... Nineteen eighty-four by George Orwell So far its really boring, hopefully it picks up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Hana98

Depends on the book i suppose... Nineteen eighty-four by George Orwell So far its really boring, hopefully it picks up

My friend read that. He said it was scary!

That's a real flick in the horror genre I believe.

I read that over the break just for fun and it's actually really good. It's not a book so much about the story it's more about the setting. It's all about politics and how Orwell thought they'd be by the time 1984 came around. If you really think about it as you read it, how different is it to the world we live in now? It'd actually be quite interesting to review if you look at it from that prospective :)

Bazinga_N wrote: »
    I read that over the break just for fun and it's actually really good. It's not a book so much about the story it's more about the setting. It's all about politics and how Orwell thought they'd be by the time 1984 came around. If you really think about it as you read it, how different is it to the world we live in now? It'd actually be quite interesting to review if you look at it from that prospective :)

Same as, Orwell was pretty insightful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 kitkat98

Hi I'm new to the boards! :-) was wondering I does anyone have notes on king Lear characters and themes. My teacher is a disaster ! She's never in and we only finished the book last week after starting in in November:O:-(:-)

kitkat98 wrote: »
    Hi I'm new to the boards! :-) was wondering I does anyone have notes on king Lear characters and themes. My teacher is a disaster ! She's never in and we only finished the book last week after starting in in November:O:-(:-)

Nope not really sorry but I've a few essays if you want to have a look at them.. Also the mentor version of king Lear that we have has great notes and there's loads online, try shmoop or sparknotes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 kitkat98

Nope not really sorry but I've a few essays if you want to have a look at them.. Also the mentor version of king Lear that we have has great notes and there's loads online, try shmoop or sparknotes :)

Thank u really appreciate it. :-)I will.<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭coolerboy

Delighted got 93% in my practice irish oral ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭TheEdgeofGlory

coolerboy wrote: »
    Delighted got 93% in my practice irish oral ! :D

Fair play to you! Do you have any tips?, as I have an oral exam with an outside teacher as part of my summer exam and I've struggled with the oral aspect all year ( my written and aural are very strong).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 QuiteHumerus

Beca19 wrote:
    Nope not really sorry but I've a few essays if you want to have a look at them.. Also the mentor version of king Lear that we have has great notes and there's loads online, try shmoop or sparknotes

If it isn't too much bother could you send me an essay or two? I'm having trouble with structuring my king lear essays.

The irish oral ... -dies-

If it isn't too much bother could you send me an essay or two? I'm having trouble with structuring my king lear essays.

Yeah no problem, they're written by me though and I'm not claiming they're amazing or anything haha but I'll send them on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭lumosteph

Yeah no problem, they're written by me though and I'm not claiming they're amazing or anything haha but I'll send them on :)

Oooh could you send one on to me too please, if you have time!

Funny thing is - the Italian oral is pretty easy. I find the subject much easier ... must be because it's related to English. I'm convinced Irish was created by aliens who got bored torturing us physically ... :l

Haha same thing with French it makes so much more sense to me :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Consonata

I've been off boards for quite a while. Just checking in to see how everyones doing? How are you all prepping for your summer exams. Im stressing atm because we haven't covered alot with our maths teacher because he's been ill alot. It means an easier summer test but ultimately a tougher ride in the long run.

How much have you guys covered, so far we have Algebra 1+2, Geometry 1+2, The Line and Circle, Probability 1+2 and Stats 1+2. Is that low, or is the course massive that it feels low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Take Your Pants Off

Algebra 1+2+3, Trigometry, The Line and Circle, Functions and Calculus.
    So pretty much the same as ye.
    In terms of summer tests, I just did some maths questions and revised ecology over the weekend.
    Going to start the serious studying from this week onwards.

Algebra 1+2+3, Trigometry, The Line and Circle, Functions and Calculus.
    So pretty much the same as ye.
    In terms of summer tests, I just did some maths questions and revised ecology over the weekend.
    Going to start the serious studying from this week onwards.

Yeah, I've been drawing up a study schedule for the next few weeks. It's going to be a slog considering I have to get ballpark 550 points ish and keep up Music commitments as well :/

Consonata wrote: »
    I've been off boards for quite a while. Just checking in to see how everyones doing? How are you all prepping for your summer exams. Im stressing atm because we haven't covered alot with our maths teacher because he's been ill alot. It means an easier summer test but ultimately a tougher ride in the long run.

How much have you guys covered, so far we have Algebra 1+2, Geometry 1+2, The Line and Circle, Probability 1+2 and Stats 1+2. Is that low, or is the course massive that it feels low.

I have Algebra 1 + 2, Complex Numbers, Sequences and Series, Financial Maths, Length-Area-Volume and a lot of Algebra 3 (he skipped a few sections :confused:).

On Probability now.

My English teacher is the same as your maths teacher. We only did two of our comparative texts and King Lear so yeah - and not much exam preparation. :mad:

I have Algebra 1 + 2, Complex Numbers, Sequences and Series, Financial Maths, Length-Area-Volume and a lot of Algebra 3 (he skipped a few sections :confused:).

On Probability now.

My English teacher is the same as your maths teacher. We only did two of our comparative texts and King Lear so yeah - and not much exam preparation. :mad:

We have the English course finished thank god.

Actually that doesn't look too bad, Like we've covered areas that you guys haven't yet like Geometry, Circle, Line etc. So hopefully we aren't going to be COMPLETELY in the deep end next year.

In terms of Maths we've covered: Algebra I, II & III, Complex Numbers, Sequences - Series - Patterns, Length - Area - Volume (although we found this topic confusing so our teacher kinda just left it and said we'd go back to it later), The Line, The Circle, Geometry I, Trigonometry I & II, Probability I and Statistics I.

We're on Probability II now and we've decided to try and finish Probability and Statistics this year rather than doing revision which might be a good idea or a bad idea :eek: Not sure yet :P

In English, we've done tons of Paper One Stuff, four poets and King Lear. We're starting our comparative movie now and we'll have two comparatives and two poets to do next year which isn't too bad :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭lumosteph

How's everyone doing in Geography?
    So far all we've done this year is the physical section (we skipped folding and faulting) and a bit of OS maps. I feel like I'm gonna have to do a lot my self this summer!

lumosteph wrote: »
    How's everyone doing in Geography?
    So far all we've done this year is the physical section (we skipped folding and faulting) and a bit of OS maps. I feel like I'm gonna have to do a lot my self this summer!

I have all of regional geography done, plate tectonics, rocks, volcanoes, earthquakes, fold mountains, the coast and just started rivers.

Physical geography is huge so you're fine I think.