If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Bpmull wrote: »
    It's an actual test you drive around a double axle trailer that has to have a certain amount blocks in it for weight. That's about as much as I know about it not the easiest thing to pass from what I here but of your already handy with reversing towing a trailer it shouldn't be too bad.

I presume it would be out on country roads though? They'd hardly take you into a town and around estate's like in the driving test?

Thanks for letting me know, I've been driving on the farmyard for many years now and I was thought how to reverse a trailer into a shed before I learned how to go into 2nd gear so I think I might go for it :D

I am also applying for my Navigators licence during the summer, dont have anytime at the moment but Im certainly looking forward to that one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Is that a serious question? :eek:

Well I knew by looking at it it was resprayed, just felt like asking anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Buying that 550 makes fantastic sense in my head anyway. Buy at €14.5k cash price, tax for the year so it owes you just over €16k, then you have a taxed tested V8 5 Series all with the backing of that BMW 2 year warranty.

Enjoy for two years and sell on for €8k(?)

That's cheap reliable V8 motoring for two years. I totally would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Well I knew by looking at it it was resprayed, just felt like asking anyway.

That's a pretty good example of a proper restomod, i.e. taking a classic car and modernising it. Can involve modern brakes and suspension, new / different engine, fresh interior and paint and almost always bigger rims. If it's done right like with that Z it can look savage and make the car very easy to live with as a daily. If it's done wrong............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

That's a pretty good example of a proper restomod, i.e. taking a classic car and modernising it. Can involve modern brakes and suspension, new / different engine, fresh interior and paint and almost always bigger rims. If it's done right like with that Z it can look savage and make the car very easy to live with as a daily. If it's done wrong............

Bit like they do on muscle cars on Discovery channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I presume it would be out on country roads though? They'd hardly take you into a town and around estate's like in the driving test?

Thanks for letting me know, I've been driving on the farmyard for many years now and I was thought how to reverse a trailer into a shed before I learned how to go into 2nd gear so I think I might go for it :D

I am also applying for my Navigators licence during the summer, dont have anytime at the moment but Im certainly looking forward to that one :)

I think it's fairly toen based they won't bring you down really busy streets but it's not all countryside driving either.

I'm similar although it was vans and trailers in the yard every weekend I learned to drive in from about 12. By 15 I could perfectly maneuver a van and double axle trailer. It's the best way to learn. I hadn't drove with a trailer for a long time until last summer and it all comes straight back to you. By driving big stuff young I think it really helps with parking skills spacial awareness. The first car I ever parked in a car park I remember thinking Christ sure this yoke is tiny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

166man wrote: »
    Buying that 550 makes fantastic sense in my head anyway. Buy at €14.5k cash price, tax for the year so it owes you just over €16k, then you have a taxed tested V8 5 Series all with the backing of that BMW 2 year warranty.

Enjoy for two years and ship it to New Zealand, Australia, South Africa or just good old England.
    Profit!

Bit like they do on muscle cars on Discovery channel.

Pretty much. What Chip Foose does is all restomod. Don't always like what he does myself. They always go too big / flashy on the rims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Pretty much. What Chip Foose does is all restomod. Don't always like what he does myself. They always go too big / flashy on the rims.

More of a Fast and Loud kinda guy?

CianRyan wrote: »
    More of a Fast and Loud kinda guy?

It's a good show but they don't really improve much on the vehicles, just tidy them up.

Bpmull wrote: »
    I think it's fairly toen based they won't bring you down really busy streets but it's not all countryside driving either.

I'm similar although it was vans and trailers in the yard every weekend I learned to drive in from about 12. By 15 I could perfectly maneuver a van and double axle trailer. It's the best way to learn. I hadn't drove with a trailer for a long time until last summer and it all comes straight back to you. By driving big stuff young I think it really helps with parking skills spacial awareness. The first car I ever parked in a car park I remember thinking Christ sure this yoke is tiny.

Fe*k. Driving around Thurles town 2 weeks ago during rush hour was enough for me. I may look into another town with a high pass rate for it so!! (Only done the driving test two weeks ago)

I honestly think that the best car to learn to drive in is a big car. I know that insurance wont agree but you learn how to drive and park a bit better IMO.

Ive been driving the Mondeo for little over a year now and I feel that I can drive cars similar size or smaller no problem. But a friend who is driving a Micra or Polo finds it very difficult to drive a car bigger than it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

166man wrote: »

What would servicing be like on the above compared to the run of the mill 5 series?

A lot easier to live with than an M5 anyhow.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,391 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I got 2 tyres changed in a local garage last week. I went looking for my lock nut, and it wasn't in the car. Went back to the garage, and they couldn't find it. Would I be out of line asking them for a new lock nut set? They said it's easy for them to take them off, and just replace them with 4 normal nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,991 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

8 cylinder naturally aspirated so more oil, more spark plugs but not a complex engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

beertons wrote:
    I got 2 tyres changed in a local garage last week. I went looking for my lock nut, and it wasn't in the car. Went back to the garage, and they couldn't find it. Would I be out of line asking them for a new lock nut set? They said it's easy for them to take them off, and just replace them with 4 normal nuts.

They lost one, they buy you a new set, simples. You shouldn't be out of pocket because of their mistakes.

Marcusm wrote: »
    8 cylinder naturally aspirated so more oil, more spark plugs but not a complex engine.

Old school 4.8 V8 petrol with the LCI gearbox in it. Apart from more oil, circa 8 litres and plugs it shouldn't be too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

going for the timeless haunted Wangan Midnight Z look:cool:

Can't find a pic now but it was something like this only grey.

my_ride_by_animationchambers-d4b90se_zpsgdhyeuo3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

davycc wrote: »
    going for the timeless haunted Wangan Midnight Z look:cool:

If I did buy one it would be resprayed that exact blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Darraghmh91.

If I had one I'd get it just like this one .. It's a crackin example of one

http://youtu.be/EO2y_-vpolA

What do ye think of the Mini Cooper S?
    I've always had a soft spot for them and now THIS one has appeared online for sale.
    If I get a reasonable insurance quote, then I think I may be in the market to buy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

same here haunted or not:D

shame the one on dungdeal needs so much work and vrt

What do ye think of the Mini Cooper S?
    I've always had a soft spot for them and now THIS one has appeared online for sale.
    If I get a reasonable insurance quote, then I think I may be in the market to buy one.

They are a fantastic drive if a little unrefined. Harsh enough suspension but the supercharger whine is addictive.

Insurance is tough to get on them and they do have their fair share of problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭RobTheLad

Quick question guys, does anybody know if Liberty charge a fee for a temporary change on insurance, ie one day cover on a differant car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

RobTheLad wrote: »
    Quick question guys, does anybody know if Liberty charge a fee for a temporary change on insurance, ie one day cover on a differant car?

No they dont :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭RobTheLad

No they dont :)

Cheers man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Would it not be free for most insurance companies? What if it was like a week or two though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

GvidoR wrote: »
    Would it not be free for most insurance companies? What if it was like a week or two though?

I'm with liberty, swapped my insurance over to the 900 for the next month, told them the car was in the garage, yep grand no bother! was the reply