If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

On about size of signatures, I think Foxhole Normans could do with being bigger, hard to see what is going on in his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Do you have that exact model adaptor?

Probably not actually. Brain fart. Although the adapter I did buy said it'd work on the 106 too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I thought boards would automatically shrink it but, meh can't be bothered to change it.

Please do. It's really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I thought boards would automatically shrink it but, meh can't be bothered to change it.

Either you change it or you'll be getting a slap from an Admin :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Somebody posted pics of this car already, but today I was lucky enough to see something very *special * not once, but twice.

Dacia sandero with "made in France, reddened in ireland" sticker.

This man is allowed drive without a responsible adult and shares the roads with me and you.. be afraid, be very afraid!

Somebody posted pics of this car already, but today I was lucky enough to see something very *special * not once, but twice.

Dacia sandero with "made in France, reddened in ireland" sticker.

This man is allowed drive without a responsible adult and shares the roads with me and you.. be afraid, be very afraid!

I've seen this in Limerick. He has the fog lights painted orange as well.

Not sure if he knows it wasn't made in France?

There's some sticker across the front windscreen too.
    It's a base model AFAIK?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I've seen this in Limerick. He has the fog lights painted orange as well.

Not sure if he knows it wasn't made in France?

Humongous "Alta performance" sun visor sticker now and seat covers in a very fetching red.

Twas the Alta performance sticker caught my eye, they do a lot of stuff for mini cooper s - not sure what their performance line for dacia sanderos consists of.

That's the one :) saw it outside Aldi last week. Wanted to take a pic but there was someone in the passenger seat.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    That's the one :) saw it outside Aldi last week. Wanted to take a pic but there was someone in the passenger seat.

Someone snapped it already, can't find original pic on phone.

I've no problem with someone driving a dacia, or any other uncool car - but just deal with it and stop trying to make it cool!

Happy now, Ye bastards. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

...the bracket is annoying me...

/twitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

...the bracket is annoying me...

/twitch

Oh god!! :eek: what has been seen cannot be unseen!!!

Fix iiiiit! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

It's 443x250px.... and 103Kb (not that anyone cares these days), still twice the permitted height.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1354
    All signatures should not exceed the following size limits:

Text: Including horizontal spaces - 4 lines normal size (font size 2) OR 8 lines small size (font size 1). Font sizes above 2 are not allowed. Do not use the tags. Carriage returns/new lines are a separate line, so if your sig has three lines of text separated by two spacer lines - that's 5 lines.
    Images: Images totalling up to 500 pixels wide, 125 pixels tall and 30k in size. No animated images are allowed.
    You may include 1 line of font size 2 or 2 lines of font size 1 text underneath an image.
    Referral links in signatures are not permitted and will be removed.

Damn you bástards. Here is me thinking I was great with my new fancy signature.

I will have to go back to photoshop and try edit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

For a 13 year old it's way past your bedtime.

Just watching Mike Brewer and Edd China on The Saturday night show.

Edd did work experience for Channel 4, specifically Fr Ted.

He was the one who created this!!!

hqdefault.jpg

I doubt it. That is camera tricks.

Why would he lie?

Shotguns, kangos and normal hammers apparently. Took him a week!

Why would he lie?

Shotguns, kangos and normal hammers apparently. Took him a week!

Maybe I suppose.

I see your comment vanished :pac:

Your too quick. I was thinking after I posted it, why would he lie, I always assumed it was camera tricks.

Very few if any camera tricks in Fr Ted. He even rigged up Fr Jacks wheelchair to go backwards in the magic road episode!

Also, WD is the number 1 car show in the world now since the fall of Top Gear. Eleventy billion viewers a week or something :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Uh-oh. :eek:

17197_978445612166489_4456492979975302103_n.jpg?oh=67ed93f2d91de9f6e4ac949f77d560c0&oe=55A87A4F

So I've been putting an average of about a thousand kilometers a week on the Focus. It's given one issue so far - the heat shield underneath collapsed on it, and had to be screwed back into place as it was rubbing on the exhaust (costing a whopping grand total of €15).

I serviced the car myself (mk1 Focus is so simple to do) when I got it, working out around €80 all in (well.. everything except the fuel filter).

I'm finding it relatively economical and hasn't cost me the earth on fuel. It's acted as my office, bedroom, daily runaround and continues to transport lots of my gear around without any issue with regards to cargo capacity.

I think it looks relatively nice in general, is comfortable on lengthy journeys (13 hours being my longest, and no back pain), the sunroof is an enjoyable gimmick, the tax is reasonable (€514 annually for a 1.6), my insurance is the cheapest it's ever been (€715), it's petrol so none of the diesel problems can occur, it's starting first time, every time, due to it's cargo capacity it's gotten me some ad-hoc courier work with electrical appliances, It's NCT'ed til July (and will probably pass with less than €300 being spent on it, in my complete guess work estimate).

At the moment it's in need of a dipped bulb, and a brake bulb (which I've ashamedly been putting off for over a month now :o ). It's tyres are also in need of replacing (on the front, anyway).

So assuming I spend €50 on two cheapo ditchfinders on the front, and €300 for the few bits for NCT, coupled with the actual NCT fee of €55, add in the €80 spent on servicing and €15 for the heat shield, and I've spent €500. I paid €40 to get the car looked over when I first bought it and the car itself set me back €1,000. that brings me up to €1,540.

That makes it very possibly the cheapest car I've owned/run since I started driving (only driving just over 2 years, admittedly, but this is my 4th car). I'm finding it very hard to fault the car. It's doing everything I want it to do, and more. Has not once let me down and doesn't look like it's going to let me down at all in the short/medium term.

110A158ADA76448C97E27BDDB9F07827-0000333410-0003729656-00800L-E6458CBFA21647E69032B7ED3B537771.jpg

... Yet I'm still on Donedeal every day looking for something else! I'm mad for a Pathfinder or Pajero or other such big-engined jeep that I don't have any need for whatsoever and will no doubt cost me a fortune to run and repair. I'm simply itching to buy something that I'll own three weeks and regret ever buying in the first place. :o

Folks, any recommendations on a welder in the north killdare area?

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Folks, any recommendations on a welder in the north killdare area?

Are you near carragh?

Carbury i should say

I could walk to carbury!

Mycroft H wrote: »
    I could walk to carbury!

I'll pm you so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,934 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Just got back from a rather long drive to Italy.
    Thoughts on the Hondas performance after a constant 3200km drive. I got really good fuel range, averaged 6.6l per 100km which for a pretty heavy car with a few bags in the boot isn't bad.
    Cruised along at 140kph not a bother, got her up to 180 and she still had more to give but with the amount of speed cameras everywhere I chickened out.
    She's pissing out black smoke at this stage so that's another thing for me to have looked at.
    In general, no complaints. She didn't put a foot wrong anywhere (apart from the smoke) and quite good on fuel if you keep it at 2500rpms.
    Just wish I could finally get the last of the niggles ironed out and she would be a perfect cruiser.
    I do have to say though, Austrian drivers are feckin terrible. They hog the outside lane for as long as they want and God forbid you flash them out of the way or as I usually do before flashing is stick on the indicator.
    They have no spatial awareness whatsoever and they can't stand being overtaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

bear1 wrote: »
    Just got back from a rather long drive to Italy.
    Thoughts on the Hondas performance after a constant 3200km drive. I got really good fuel range, averaged 6.6l per 100km which for a pretty heavy car with a few bags in the boot isn't bad.
    Cruised along at 140kph not a bother, got her up to 180 and she still had more to give but with the amount of speed cameras everywhere I chickened out.
    She's pissing out black smoke at this stage so that's another thing for me to have looked at.
    In general, no complaints. She didn't put a foot wrong anywhere (apart from the smoke) and quite good on fuel if you keep it at 2500rpms.
    Just wish I could finally get the last of the niggles ironed out and she would be a perfect cruiser.
    I do have to say though, Austrian drivers are feckin terrible. They hog the outside lane for as long as they want and God forbid you flash them out of the way or as I usually do before flashing is stick on the indicator.
    They have no spatial awareness whatsoever and they can't stand being overtaken.

That's some journey. What route did you take? What Honda do you have? I can't remember seeing it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,934 ✭✭✭✭bear1

dorgasm wrote: »
    That's some journey. What route did you take? What Honda do you have? I can't remember seeing it before.

Warsaw -> Brno -> Vienna -> Udine -> Bologna.
    Twas a great trip in fairness. It's the Accord I'm usually bitching about.