Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Billy86 wrote: »
    1. How do you know this was his job?

2. Have you ever cooked a steak? Do you know what happens if you keep cooking it for two hours to keep it warm?

It would be tougher than a jockey's ar$e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,211 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

It is a shame to see Top Gear end.

I hope Oisin Tymon finds himself out on the kerb without a job as he is clearly unable to do the job he was paid for, how can he not do a simple task such as have warm food ready for the presenters when they returned.

I reckon Oisin thought he was going to get a big pay out from BBC/Jeremy by going to the A and E with his burst lip. He realised he is now a figure of hate and ridicule and decided it was best not to press charges

I'm not making any assumption about your motivation but this point has been trolled to death on this thread already.

Tymon is a TV show producer, not a food producer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I hope Oisin Tymon finds himself out on the kerb without a job as he is clearly unable to do the job he was paid for, how can he not do a simple task such as have warm food ready for the presenters when they returned.

That's not his job. He stayed on to greet them when he didn't need to. The kitchen had finished their shift and gone home.

And his job doesn't appear to be jeopardy. Sense prevails.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I reckon Oisin thought he was going to get a big pay out from BBC/Jeremy by going to the A and E with his burst lip. He realised he is now a figure of hate and ridicule and decided it was best not to press charges

Have we ever met?
    I work in an industry which runs parallel to the TV and movies industry and yet you seem to know things about it which i have never realised.
    A producer has some direct influence over hotel kitchens now?
    Bugger me. Never knew....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Well, seeing as your post is a mere reposting of the same sh1te and nonsense of previous similarly deluded posters you'll understand then when the more grounded posters here treat what you post with little more than laughter and derision, as well as assumptions about parentage, IQ and questions of how you managed to type it in without assistance.
    But then it was more about attention seeking, so good luck with that.

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    That's not his job. He stayed on to greet them when he didn't need to. The kitchen had finished their shift and gone home.

And his job doesn't appear to be jeopardy. Sense prevails.

Some posters have suggested Tymon should have cooked the food himself. A restaurant would be mental to let an amateur have a go at using their equipment.

On an unrelated point, Clarkson has been reasonably sensible since he sobered up after the event. He's a normal guy who's subject to human pressures. Someone said his marriage has broken down recently which is extremely stressful (regardless of the cause). He asked people to leave Tymon alone and he hasn't made the ridiculous arguments put forward by some of his fans. They do their hero a disservice by trying to make Tymon responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Some posters have suggested Tymon should have cooked the food himself. A restaurant would be mental to let an amateur have a go at using their equipment.

On an unrelated point, Clarkson has been reasonably sensible since he sobered up after the event. He's a normal guy who's subject to human pressures. Someone said his marriage has broken down recently which is extremely stressful (regardless of the cause). He asked people to leave Tymon alone and he hasn't made the ridiculous arguments put forward by some of his fans. They do their hero a disservice by trying to make Tymon responsible.
    Yeah it's Clarkson's lickspittles who are coming across as worse than Clarkson in the whole fiasco. I honestly don't find Clarkson that bad outside of the incident. I think he knows a lot of his fans (not all by the way) are numbskulls and he showboats to them with this anti PC stuff (most of which I honestly believe he is only saying for the craic, and some of which is totally innocuous) as he knows their reaction will be "What a hero" and it's no doubt highly entertaining for him - as entertaining as reactions of the Guardian-reading stereotypes it offends I'd bet.
    I don't agree with that approach by the way, I think it's silly - but I do think the guy is smarter than some give him credit for. Same with Katie Hopkins. The pair of them can be right ***** but I really do think they're not as bad as people outside of their "shock" personas. Richard Littlejohn and Rod Liddle are far more poisonous in my opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

What you wrote is intelligent and sensible, sadly it will be ignored by the many kids, trolls, morons and arseholes that don't care what side they shout for,as long as they get to post their childish sh*t. And that goes for either side. AH is delivering in spades as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I reckon:

1) you have no clue what producers do or don't do.
    2) if the presenter was some leftwinger you would have different opinion.

I actually like Clarkson. And I watch the specials on top gear and any of the interesting tasks. You can't however hit people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I actually didn't really know or expect before this incident that the producers were responsible for food outside situations where they are no where near a hotel. Once you book a hotel your work is done as far as I am concerned. If jazza wanted hot food he could have made it back earlier.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I actually like Clarkson. And I watch the specials on top gear and any of the intersting tasks. You can't however hit people.

I hope I'm not overstepping but I think this sums up the opinion of the vast majority of people posting here.
    There's lots to like about Top Gear and entertaining about Clarkson and his adventures with his fellow presenters.
    But you can't hit people, as you say.
    Thanks again for making the point nice and clear to those who reckon they are scoring points for ignorant halfwits everywhere, who wish to be celebrated for their narrow horizons and limited vision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 The lazy rat

Yeah it's Clarkson's lickspittles who are coming across as worse than Clarkson in the whole fiasco. I honestly don't find Clarkson that bad outside of the incident. I think he knows a lot of his fans (not all by the way) are numbskulls and he showboats to them with this anti PC stuff (most of which I honestly believe he is only saying for the craic, and some of which is totally innocuous) as he knows their reaction will be "What a hero" and it's no doubt highly entertaining for him - as entertaining as reactions of the Guardian-reading stereotypes it offends I'd bet.
    I don't agree with that approach by the way, I think it's silly - but I do think the guy is smarter than some give him credit for. Same with Katie Hopkins. The pair of them can be right ***** but I really do think they're not as bad as people outside of their "shock" personas. Richard Littlejohn and Rod Liddle are far more poisonous in my opinion.

I was agreeing with you until you mentioned that mental patient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,426 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

dissed doc wrote: »
    I would happily pay 100 quid a year to sub Top Gear.

I asked quite a few TG fanboys in Ireland to pay my TV licence for the privilege of watching it... they all declined

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I asked quite a few TG fanboys in Ireland to pay my TV licence for the privilege of watching it... they all declined

Moronic :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭circadian

The other Ryu is cooler than you.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Moronic :rolleyes:

That's right, you were one of them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Never has a paper masthead been so true if you take out a sub to SMoS

Capture.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭towelly

It's only a tv show, Cheesedick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Aidric wrote: »
    Jesus Wept.
    The person they should be annoyed with is Jeremy Clarkson himself for spectacularly ****ing up and putting himself in a position that compromises his presenting job, but these types aren't capable of that kind of basic thinking, bless 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I suppose you expect a smack in the mouth when you mess up in work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

Great piece on Jezza by Nick Rufford in the News Review section of The Sunday Times today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,555 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Great piece on Jezza by Nick Rufford in the News Review section of The Sunday Times today.

I hear that the BBC management guy,has had death threats over the sacking.

Tells a lot about the mentality of some of the hard core 'fans'..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

Warm Food where the f*** were they shooting, the north pole ?

As far as I read Oisin was the producer, not some skivvy cantering maid.

As for Oisin being a figure of ridicule I think that term would more appropriately attributed to JC. Fancy hitting someone just cause your hungry. What a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I hear that the BBC management guy,has had death threats over the sacking.

Tells a lot about the mentality of some of the hard core 'fans'..

Well done for stating the obvious. Yes sending death threats to someone does say a lot about the mentality of said person. Someone get this guy the medal he deserves for outstanding contribution to society. :rolleyes:

Can't wait to see Clarkson & the lads, head up a new programme away from PCBBC. Should make the series even more valuable & sought after now. No publicity is bad publicity in this instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,566 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Those dribbling goons sending threats and shooting their mouths off are just going to make Clarkson totally unemployable.

What network would want him when that's the type of behavior you can expect from fans when Clarkson himself messes up?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

sunday evenings just aren't the same without TG :(

suppose i'd have to watch the footie tonight zzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,555 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Those dribbling goons sending threats and shooting their mouths off are just going to make Clarkson totally unemployable.

What network would want him when that's the type of behavior you can expect from fans when Clarkson himself messes up?!

In fairness it was probably only a small minority went that far.

The majority would be harmless enough kind of people,who just 'enjoy' Clarkson trying to 'sock it to the man' whilst trousering get large wads of their cash at Top Gear Appearences which I'm led to believe are not exactly stellar.

These people need a hero to act out their fantasies I guess.

I doubt if they are too concerned about the law in these events.

One that enjoys making money. TG isn't my cup of tea but it turns a profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

To all those that keep saying Oisin was a producer, not a caterer: nice to see you're finally accepting the fact that whatever set Clarkson off, wasn't merely the fact the hotel couldn't provide him with a hot meal, as that would have been something he know doubt would have encountered many times on location shoots. Quite obviously it was something the production team did or did not do regarding that which angered him. Or perhaps the attitude they had to it. Clarkson being the decent sod he is though, is still taking full responsibility for his behavior and not looking to blame anyone else and that is admirable.
    Sand wrote: »
    You're literally defending that he was given that swollen lip, or to be more exact you're saying you don't care if Tymon ended up assaulted.

Said the opposite of that actually:
    I'm not saying Oisin deserved to end up with a swollen lip ..
    I'm not ignoring it - its just your definition of "disciplined" is essentially nothing that would in any way inconvenience Clarkson.

So you're a mind reader now are you.
    Christ almighty - as well as not punishing Clarkson, you want them to punish Tymon too?

Give the hyperbole a rest will you. I never for one second said that Tymon should be "punished". In fact I said that no matter what Oisin did wrong, it would not excuse him ending up with a swollen lip. What I actually said was:
    I also feel however that Oisin must take responsibility for whatever role he played in the argument and don't reply and tell me that Clarkson has said that none of what happened was his fault, as that was just Clarkson being Clarkson, nice guy to a fault and no doubt he feels guilty for causing Oisin to end up with a split lip and getting that hassle on social media, but Oisin has to have said and did something which riled Jeremy, there is no doubt about it. Not that it justifies him being lunged at or verbally abused.

You see, no mention whatsoever of the guy needing to be "punished".

You're confusing someone needing to accept whatever part it is (if any) they have played in a confrontation taking place, with shouldering blame for it. I'm not saying there must be an element of responsibility with both parties in all confrontations. Indeed, sometimes people are 100% innocent and through no fault of their own they are end up being a victim but conversely sometimes people end up victims but are not entirely blameless. Clarkson saying Oisin is blameless is just him being a gent as it is uncharacteristic for him for him to behave otherwise.
    For some imagined slight or crime? All reports present Tymon as a decent, inoffensive guy who was entirely the victim. Clarkson was the one carrying out the 20 minutes abusive rant, and the physical attack. Tymon is completely blameless.

You're being naive. If I leave my laptop on my passenger seat, it's not my fault that some lowlife smashes my window and nicks it, BUT I have to take some responsibility as but for my carelessness it wouldn't have occurred. It's not Tiger Woods' fault that his wife is a nut and tried to maim him with a golf club as he was driving his car, smashing it's windows and causing him to plough into a tree, BUT he must take some responsibility as he had done a few things to anger her. So that's all I'm saying. Sometimes there are reasons and while reasons in and of themselves don't excuse or condone certain behaviors, they should be explored nonetheless.
    Because you're trying to justify Clarkson by claiming with no evidence whatsoever that Tymon gave as good as he got.

I said nothing of the sort. Nothing Oisin could have said or done would condone him ending up with a swollen lip. Oisin taking responsibility for his part in confrontation doesn't mean he would saying he deserved what occurred either. Just like if someone said they needed to take responsibility for leaving their laptop on their passenger seat wouldn't mean they were saying they deserved to have their window smashed and laptop stolen as a result.

Look, maybe I am wrong and he Clarkson just attacked Oisin over his role in not having arranged a hot meal but everything about how the man has conducted himself over the last 30 years or so tells me that for him to behave like that would be completely uncharacteristic and so it is my belief that the man was provoked. I see no other reasonable explanation. Doesn't mean his reaction is excusable, not at all but it would just make it more understandable. Reasons =/= excuses.
    There remains the question of why Clarkson reported the incident.

No it doesn't. Quit looking for nefarious reasons as to why he reported the incident. He did so as it was the correct and proper thing to do. There are no examples of the guy ever trying to conceal anything from his employers in the past. He also reported the eeny meeny miny moe incident first and there was no damage control there as the "story" had not been leeked yet but sure why let the truth get in the way of this neverending persecution.
    Its quite simple. An assault happened. Thats illegal and a sack able offence.
    There is, by the way, no workplace where you wouldn't have been fired for this.

Not necessarily: Injured employee ... Senior staff not fired.