Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,429 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

CruelCoin wrote: »
    No need really. He'll make good tv elsewhere, and i'll continue to read his books (and those of Mays for that matter). I'm not going to lose any entertainment out of all of this.

I don't particularly care that he was sacked. I care about how he was sacked.

He wasn't sacked though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

You're obviously not as hard as Renegade Maniac

*flexes nipple muscles*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Had he been decked (and rightly so) I'm pretty sure it would have been blown up a bit over a week, Oisin would receive the exact same support he's received here for obvious reasons and Clarkson would have made sure he wasn't fired. Mainly because he'd have made up with the man and because doing so would make him look good too.

What a bizarre fantasy.

Strumms wrote: »
    It's far from a load of crap. Just because you have had the 'pleasure' of working in such an environment or indeed believe as you seem to that it is acceptable, I can tell you that it is so far from the norm in everyday working life regardless of profession. Maybe you are going back some years as regards your experience but thankful society has moved on so far as anyway that work place violence, bullying, harassment of any nature is not prevalent in any sector and is generally dealt with swiftly and justly as in this case. Exceptions will always occur but 99.99 % of society don't condone, see as acceptable or indeed behave in the way Clarkson did or what you see as ok. Get a grip.

People will always be on top. People will always be beneath them, and the people on top have the power to keep them there. This happens everywhere. People being pushed out because they don't accept what's happening.
    If I need a grip, and you can't or won't see this then I can only pity you.

What a bizarre fantasy.

What bizarre selective quoting.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

This Clarkson Defence Force stuff is reaching Conspiracy Forum levels of nonsense now.

I fully expect Clarkson to be beatified any day now, at this rate.
    Probably carry a banner for UKIP as well.
    The drunken abuse could have been forgiven but the assault could not, end of.
    The widespread media coverage of previous, unrelated, gaffes was unhelpful though, no point demonizing someone of you want to have a rational debate.

It's more helpful to imagine a bank manager slugging a cashier if he failed to supply a hot lunch to him due to said manager being both late and drunk, he'd be fired with no arguments in his defence to be made.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

People will always be on top. People will always be beneath them, and the people on top have the power to keep them there. This happens everywhere. People being pushed out because they don't accept what's happening.

That's called fascism, in case you were wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

So selfish of Clarkson in a way though , seeing as May and Hammond may potentially be out of a job if top gear isn't renewed.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    That's called fascism, in case you were wondering.

Huh... Funny, I thought fascism was an unfortunate method of government with a disproportionate tendency to kick off rather nasty disagreements between multiple countries. My mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,253 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Thanks for the pity but if any is going it should only be for you, out of touch with reality unfortunately.

What do you do for a living you are in the dark ages I can only imagine you sitting behind a computer in a suit of armour...You do realise that most companies have a hierarchical structure and still manage to operate successfully, or should I say more successfully when there is a friendly, open, respectful,people driven, empowering and constructive atmosphere between all levels of employees. You really need to take a step back and do some research into modern for example CRM and how organisations are run especially regarding the groundswell of professional opinion from company presidents to collage professors who have carried out studies on these matters, jeez.

Huh... Funny, I thought fascism was an unfortunate method of government with a disproportionate tendency to kick off rather nasty disagreements between multiple countries. My mistake.

You've made a lot of mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I do. Any time Clarkson has described himself, in spoken or written form, it's been in a negative light. "A bean pole with a beach ball taped to it that a stork made a nest on top of" is one of many ways he describes himself.

Had he been decked (and rightly so) I'm pretty sure it would have been blown up a bit over a week, Oisin would receive the exact same support he's received here for obvious reasons and Clarkson would have made sure he wasn't fired. Mainly because he'd have made up with the man and because doing so would make him look good too. He's clever like that but mainly because he doesn't have that superiority complex eveveryone says he does. He is a massive arsehole, but he doesn't even try to hide it. That's what people hate about him. Not that hes an arsehole. That they can't "catch him out" for being one and sit bag in a cloud of their own pungent sanctimony with a smug grin on their gimp, thinking "we got you". He regularly denies them that pleasure by admitting it himself and it absolutely kills them. Though they'd rather die than admit it.

Look, I like Clarkson. He's an entertaining presenter.

But he went with the "Do you know who I am, I'll have you fired" angle that denoted a supreme arsehole. Then he assaulted someone. There is no "catching him out." He tied and rope, and threw it over the branch himself with his escapades (which, in my book were overblown), with this latest one he kicked the chair out from under himself.

The lovable rogue thing will eventually tire out the bosses, and with the BBC reeling from previous controversies, a physical assault from one of their stars isn't something you can sweep away.

If Clarkson had kept it to just words, I've no doubt they'd be back on the air. If it had been Tymon that assaulted Clarkson, I'd expect his contract to be under scrutiny as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,211 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yeah I'm fairly sure everyone knows that happens. Most of modern society is about ensuring that people get ahead through merit of some kind rather than through punching people. You understand that right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Clarkson is a boorish lout. He appeals to the moronic 'lad' culture. The type of nitwit who chuckles at the humour found in loaded magazine and has a poster of a "fit bird" hanging in their blue-collared workplace.

Glad to see he is being dropped by the BBC. Should have occurred long ago.

That's what people hate about him. Not that hes an arsehole. That they can't "catch him out" for being one and sit bag in a cloud of their own pungent sanctimony with a smug grin on their gimp, thinking "we got you". He regularly denies them that pleasure by admitting it himself and it absolutely kills them. Though they'd rather die than admit it.

I'd be fairly certain that most people don't give a crap about Clarkson.

He's not that important or that interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I fully expect Clarkson to be beatified any day now, at this rate.
    Probably carry a banner for UKIP as well

Unlikely. UKIP have tried to enlist his support and he literally laughed at them. He is pro Europe for a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Candie wrote: »

People keep saying that in this thread.

Yet here we are.

Candie wrote: »

A Machiavellian genius in his own lunchtime. Not dinner time though. He gets grumpy then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Clarkson is a boorish lout. He appeals to the moronic 'lad' culture. The type of nitwit who chuckles at the humour found in loaded magazine and has a poster of a "fit bird" hanging in their blue-collared workplace.

Glad to see he is being dropped by the BBC. Should have occurred long ago.

While you, no doubt, are sipping your Chardonnay over your goats cheese salad, watching The Culcher Show and feeling oh so superior as you are flicking through the Guardian newspaper. That better be a Prius in your driveway.
    Doesn't make you any better, more intelligent or valuable as a member of society as all those blue collar grunts. What you work as anyway? Let me know, need a good laugh. I promise I won't take the piss (too much).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Its a bind - like being a fan of both Clarkson and Stewart Lee.

Most reasonable people would just hope he learns from this and goes on to make loads more great television.

While you, no doubt, are sipping your Chardonnay over your goats cheese salad, watching The Culcher Show and feeling oh so superior as you are flicking through the Guardian newspaper. That better be a Prius in your driveway.
    Doesn't make you any better, more intelligent or valuable as a member of society as all those blue collar grunts.

It's weird how someone who doesn't like Top Gear is derided for snobbery when some posters are espousing the virtues of fascism and supporting literally beating low-level employees to defend Clarkson. It's beyond parody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

There should always been room for loud "roustabout" characters on the tellybox - we don't want to end up in the world parodied in WIA.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

He actually isn't, or not nearly to the degree of stereotype the Right On types(™) have of him. Have you actually read any of his writings, particularly the earlier stuff? Unlikely.

One reason he and his show is/was so popular is that he and they and it weren't "right on", weren't the perennial bedwetter Prius driving hippies all too prevalent in the culture today. Often berated in the culture today with it. It was somewhat representative of an aspect of maleness more and more frowned upon by those arbiters of the culturally acceptable. Especially in the online world. Men with my little pony fetishes are oft OK and oddly acceptable, ditto for Cosplay types and that's cool, whatever floats your boat, but men who like Top Gear and such are automatically boorish fascist louts with nary a braincell between them and slightly dangerous with it. Eh no.

Stupidly Clarkson has played right into the hands of those right on types by being a complete tool of late. Well done you eejit. ease off the booze, give up the fags, have a kitkat and cop on FFS.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

I like Jezzer, not hugely bothered who he lost the head with or how, and am looking forward to whatever new project the old fecker does. I doubt he will go hungry in the meantime. An hour in the pub would have you listening to more un-pc stuff than he'd ever broadcast in a lifetime. The Mollies have taken over the asylum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

The bolded is irrelevant. I know lots of people working in that environment who are nothing like that. Meanwhile, nowhere white-collar has a stupid, macho culture, no, not at all. :rolleyes:

There's nothing wrong with anyone who is entertained by TG. There is something wrong with someone who thinks Clarkson should be allowed berate and assault a junior colleague without consequence, because of who he is.

And the morons sending death threats to Tymon are the absolute worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

People keep saying that in this thread.

Yet here we are.

Still beating that drum? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

I think he secretly wanted to leave top gear.
    It has to be the most repetitive boring show on TV.

Don't get me wrong, the stig, the race track in a reasonably priced car,
    the trips across america were all very good and excellent tv but its done
    to death now. Its so scripted and corny its hard to watch.

It would have been impossible to leave that show without some scandal,
    now he gets massive publicity, keeps his bad "boy" image and is free
    to go something new...

very smart, and he is rich so he will never be charged...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I am I the only person who taught top gear had run its course and was after going past its use by date with about 3 years at least???

Also I taught clarkson was just someone who I just couldn't warm to for some reason....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Still beating that drum? :D

Oh "Mr I don't care about Clarkson" is still here a week later.

Shocking.