Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

with a fat lip!!!!! are you serious? what kind of gimp goes to Hospital with a fat lip after getting a bit of a slap? and people accuse me of Trolling!!!

Undiagnosed head wound? Excessive bleeding? Tooth piercing the lip, possibly requiring stitching? Underlying medical condition, such as hemophilia? Do you know his medical history, because I sure as hell don't.

As a first aider, I'll always recommend someone visit at least their GP, if they receive a injury that they are not comfortable with, no matter how minor it may appear. Christ, I've seen someone lose a finger due to a paper cut. It's not for you to decide what wasn't appropriate medical treatment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

There goes the Knighthood for services to "telling it like it is."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

fryup wrote: »
    Johnathon Ross anyone??

God no, this is the creep who got a girl to strip naked and get her mother to confirm she did, when he on virgin radio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

We'll not see the like again (unless they get a another gig)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,804 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Just saw him on Sky News, exclusive coverage of him on a bicycle!

Has he taken it so badly that he can't face cars any more or have BBC taken his licence off him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Why do you keep ignoring the fact that Clarkson doesn't dispute what's in the report or any of the witness accounts of what happened?

Eh, why would he do that? Even I don't dispute the report.

What I take issue with is the decision to sack him and also with the way the report was worded. I feel ambiguous language was deliberately used so that there would be room for people to believe the incident was far worse than what it was, obviously so they could justify sacking the man. Nobody disputes that Oisin was in some way struck by Clarkson and sustained a cut lip and nor does anybody dispute that Clarkson went on to verbally abuse him. Hence May calling him a knob but that does not mean that he acted in a way that people on this thread are suggesting he did. Like some violent thug who snapped cause he couldn't have steak and straight punched the producer who broke the news to him.

If Clarkson punched Oisin for replaying some catering information, he would have been reported by half the crew before he had a chance to do so himself and the police would most likely have been called and arrested the guy. None of that occurred and the report would have said as much if it had. Instead, they issued a mealy mouthed statement with feck all specificity. Struck doesn't say shag all. I also feel there is a little bit of the lady doth protest too much regarding the whole Oisin did nothing wrong, Oisin was a professional, Oisin is amazing, totally unprovoked, without provocation, no honestly, butter wouldn't melt.. etc etc. Clarkson was away on TG shoots when Oisin was still in nappies, and I highly doubt that was the first occasion that there was an issue with getting food at a hotel and so to believe that this guy, after all these years, decides to punch a producer straight in the mouth just because he can't arrange a steak meal, is a little hard to accept and again, had he done so, he wouldn't have been left to report himself as the crew would have been falling over themselves to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,069 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Really hope he gets the Late Late Show.
    Be savage.
    I'd stay in Friday night if he did.
    (I stay in regardless but that's cos I'm broke ass mudda)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,566 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What I take issue with is the decision to sack him and also with the way the report was worded. I feel ambiguous language was deliberately used so that there would be room for people to believe the incident was far worse than what it was, obviously so they could justify sacking the man. Nobody disputes that Oisin was in some way struck by Clarkson and sustained a cut lip and nor does anybody dispute that Clarkson went on to verbally abuse him. Hence May calling him a knob but that does not mean that he acted in a way that people on this thread are suggesting he did. Like some violent thug who snapped cause he couldn't have steak and straight punched the producer who broke the news to him.

If Clarkson punched Oisin for replaying some catering information, he would have been reported by half the crew before he had a chance to do so himself and the police would most likely have been called and arrested the guy. None of that occurred and the report would have said as much if it had. Instead, they issued a mealy mouthed statement with feck all specificity. Struck doesn't say shag all. I also feel there is a little bit of the lady doth protest too much regarding the whole Oisin did nothing wrong, Oisin was a professional, Oisin is amazing, totally unprovoked, without provocation, no honestly, butter wouldn't melt.. etc etc. Clarkson was away on TG shoots when Oisin was still in nappies, and I highly doubt that was the first occasion that there was an issue with getting food at a hotel and so to believe that this guy, after all these years, decides to punch a producer straight in the mouth just because he can't arrange a steak meal, is a little hard to accept and again, had he done so, he wouldn't have been left to report himself as the crew would have been falling over themselves to do so.

Jesus, whatever

You say you don't dispute the report and then list a number of things in the report that you dispute

Tymon was subjected to an unprovoked verbal and physical assault by Clarkson. That's the crux of the report... you either accept it or don't. And even Clarkson does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,211 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

This is a wind up right? The guy is a bully who is just after punching someone and then threatening to get the punchee fired. He's the star of the most popular and profitable show on bbc. And you can't figure out why junior bbc employees might have been reluctant to stick their neck out and escalating things further by calling the police?

I credit you with more intelligence than you're pretending to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,804 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Seriously, what are you on?

"Struck doesn't say much"

Also, don't you think he was reported by the crew as somebody obviously reported it.

I think if anybody in my work 'struck' a colleague in any way, it would be handled internally and handled similar to how the BBC did it. No police would be called unless there were more serious injuries.

I don't know why you're defending Clarkson who is clearly an arrogant bully and he just had to go.

BBC were 100% right and did everything right and their report is damning and in no way ambiguous.

Nacho, BBC are still reeling from the scandal of stars and top brass being protected, and then, one of their stars turns up, 2 hours late, from the pub, and an altercation ensues. What do you think they are going to do? Clarkson was on warnings as it was.

What would you prefer to see in the report? "Jezzer lamped yer man, n den he clattered to the ground like a lil bítch." Reports are always in report speak.

Look, I happen to like Top Gear, and I enjoy watching the 3 lads and their antics. But Clarkson got himself into trouble. Actions and consequences, and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭mailforkev

I'm a long time Top Gear viewer and have actually met Clarkson in real life and even I can see that this was 100% his own fault if what has been reported is actually what happened.

However, the idea that everyone is equal and is held to the same standard is cloud cuckoo land thinking.

Clarkson is top level talent and due to his draw makes the BBC a huge amount of cash, and creates the opportunity to pay salaries to a large production team. Ant & Dec or Graeme Norton would be similar in the UK industry.

Now the talent needs to be managed much better than Clarkson obviously was but without the talent there's no TV shows. They are simply more important than the rest of the team.

The only losers here really are the viewers and the BBC themselves. The TG presenters will be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,253 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The Clarkson excusers around here are some deluded bunch. The reality is if any of them were victim to an assault both verbally and physically in their place of work they would be straight away complaining and looking for the perpetrator to be sacked, anyone would, nobody needs a work environment where that kind of hostile and dangerous atmosphere can hang over people and manifest itself out of the blue, such as an argument or a perception of incompetence on behalf of somone else, it would be unnatural otherwise.

Instead the Clarkson sympathisers show their true colours, clutching at straws by throwing mud and trying to characterise the victim in a negative light. Oisin Tymon has remained silent until today where he made what I felt was a very dignified statement whereas the accused has been mouthing off at any opportunity, slagging off his employer and made nothing of a sincere apology and as for the other two.... A total lack of class all around.

Anyone who has the mindset of or sticks up for Clarkson in this instance is an idiot pure and simple and just pissed because their favourite Tv show may be no more, there are sometimes bigger principles at steak then your poxy TV show, get a ****in grip and accept an invite back to the real world any time you like.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Seriously, what are you on?

"Struck doesn't say much"

Yes, it says very little. I have seen rows where people have struck the other unintentionally. People grabbing at someone, going for a jacket and catching their lip. Or when the other person is trying to break free and arms are flailing about. Sh1t happens. Like said, a complete lack of specificity in the report.
    Also, don't you think he was reported by the crew as somebody obviously reported it.

He reported himself. Which tells me you didn't even read the post you quoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,211 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

mailforkev wrote: »
    The only losers here really are the viewers and the BBC themselves. The TG presenters will be grand.

Are you forgetting someone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Even more amazing the amount of people who follow three middle aged men acting out fantasys and generally indulging in laddish behViour that would not be tolerated in most towns and villages around the country.

And in which town do you live in that tolerates you, how do you exercise your mighty power of tolerance beyond the keyboard? Or maybe you don't...I see, how tolerant of you.

How terrible! What we need is more Gok Wan and cookery programmes, more mid afternoon property programmes till the end of eternity.

Maybe the laddish good natured behaviour appeals to a certain something inside all men, that is rarely shown in media at all these without an agenda, Top Gear being the exception.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Well, so fat this thread is going fairly well, considering this is After Hours...:D

Are you forgetting someone?

The producer fella? He's a salaried BBC employee so will just be reassigned to a different show, more than likely with a get out of jail card in his pocket if he doesn't sue them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

Strumms wrote: »
    The Clarkson excusers around here are some deluded bunch. The reality is if any of them were victim to an assault both verbally and physically in their place of work they would be straight away complaining and looking for the perpetrator to be sacked,
    jesus christ, have you ever been on a building site or a factory? this kind of banter goes on all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Did anyone read all 122 pages of this? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,253 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

jesus christ, have you ever been on a building site or a factory? this kind of banter goes on all the time

Verbal abuse as has been reported and the nature of it plus a physical assault, that's banter ? right, like I say, back to the real world any time you like.

He's getting a ridiculous amount of abuse for something that is in no way his fault. He won't be out of a job but he's hardly getting out of this unscathed.

True, but I'm sure he's a level headed guy who can rise above abuse from some keyboard warriors. He will be well looked after by the BBC and quite rightfully so. His career/livelihood is intact.

Nacho, BBC are still reeling from the scandal of stars and top brass being protected, and then, one of their stars turns up, 2 hours late, from the pub, and an altercation ensues. What do you think they are going to do? Clarkson was on warnings as it was.

He shouldn't have been on a warning to begin with. The fact that he was shows that the morons at the BBC and more about pleasing certain sections of society these days than they are about anything else. These are the same tossers that okay'd the editing of the Major's language the last time Faulty Towers was shown.
    What would you prefer to see in the report? "Jezzer lamped yer man, n den he clattered to the ground like a lil b1tch." Reports are always in report speak.

What a nonsense question. To be specific about the assault would not, quite obviously, have meant them using language like you just did and the fact that the BBC purposefully used very ambiguous language when referring to the incident, to me screams deliberate agenda driven ambiguity. If I am wrong, we will find out, but like I keep saying and not one person has addressed this point, is: had this been a straight out assault where Clarkson just punched Oisin in the face, why did Oisin not report the matter him himself? Or why did the crew not report him? In fact, why did the hotel witnesses or the hotel staff not call the police? And the answer to all that can only be that all present felt it something of a magnitude that would be best dealt with by those concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Scarleh for ya, Nacho.

Can you give me an updated post count too luv, plz? Tanks luv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

This Clarkson Defence Force stuff is reaching Conspiracy Forum levels of nonsense now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,290 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Alan Partridge set to replace Jeremy Clarkson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

So despite a damning report against Clarkson, the BBC are going to continue paying his wages until the end of contract. Some show of support to the victim there!!

He shouldn't have been on a warning to begin with. The fact that he was shows that the morons at the BBC and more about pleasing certain sections of society these days than they are about anything else. These are the same tossers that okay'd the editing of the Major's language the last time Faulty Towers was shown.

What a nonsense question. To be specific about the assault would not, quite obviously, have meant them using language like you just did and the fact that the BBC purposefully used very ambiguous language when referring to the incident, to me screams deliberate agenda driven ambiguity. If I am wrong, we will find out, but like I keep saying and not one person has addressed this point, is: had this been a straight out assault where Clarkson just punched Oisin in the face, why did Oisin not report the matter him himself? Or why did the crew not report him? In fact, why did the hotel witnesses or the hotel staff not call the police? And the answer to all that can only be that all present felt it something of a magnitude that would be best dealt with by those concerned.

Rightly or wrongly, he still had warnings hanging over him. And there really is only so many times you can push your luck.

Why did Tymon or the rest of the crew not report Clarkson? Maybe they didn't want to get him into trouble! Why did the witnesses or staff not report him? Bystander effect, or maybe they didn't want to get him into trouble.

I don't see it as being a swift jab, followed by a devastating right hook. I do, however, see it as a drunken man, flailing around, possibly catching Tymon unawares. They were separated, most likely by members of their own group. I've seen something similar before, working in hotels, where someone gets a bit drunk, does something stupid, and gets dragged off. It'd be rare for the cops to get involved.

Reports like this are worded in such a way as to give information, without causing offense.

Fact of the matter is this: Clarkson caused the incident. Clarkson reported himself. He was suspended, pending investigation. In the mean time, he got drunk again, at a charity function and ragged on the BBC. Of course they had to act. He forced their hand. It's his own fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

JC definitely nailed his own coffin shut and he has only himself to blame, but still ... end of an era almost :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,426 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

So Clarkson was not sacked, the BBC have decided not to renew his contract which was up pretty soon?