Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭Redo91

QuantumP wrote: »
    If you assess the performances of any of the current squad based just on the last year, you could make a case for selling every single one of them. Nobody has done enough in that time so I don't think that's a good enough argument for selling Mata. If he doesn't fit LvG's system then yeah, maybe he should go. Personally I don't think it will work out with him and I've felt that way for a long time but LvG seems to like him, given he's played in 20/23 PL games this season. He could be a really important player for us next season if we're competing on all fronts so I wouldn't jump the gun on him just yet.

De Gea?

Happy with the win and the 1st half performance on Saturday. I'm also happy that LVG expressed his concern in the post-match interview that we slowed it down in the 2nd half and didn't move the ball forward quick enough. At least we are on a slight upward curve (2 league wins on the trot!!:eek:) heading into the vital and unpredictable West Ham game.

Few things from the last 20 or so pages...
    NUTZZ wrote: »
    I often wonder about this and if the match fixing probe he's involved with has a bearing.

I will be back with a TL:DR later on the Herrera situation, but I would not be too quick to completely dismiss this as a factor. The kid pisses excellence most of the time he plays for us, there is more than meets the eye to this and more than playing Rooney, RVP and Falcao in the starting 11. For me, the fact that he didn't even get a run yesterday speaks volumes. LVG said in the PM interview that at 3-1 he wanted to kill the game, considering the way the result went last time we were 3-1 against Leicester. Herrera should have been a shoe-in to be 1 of the 3 subs used by Van Gaal at 3-1. Nippy, aggressive, creative, forward-thinking, but not lacking in defensive qualities either. Already starting to go TLDR here, so that's all I'll say on Herrera for now.
    irishfeen wrote: »
    Daley Blind's game by numbers:

94% pass accuracy
    5 interceptions
    4 clearances
    3 tackles won

Great Performance!

I'm delighted for Blind and for us, very solid and promising performance. Yes the RVP goal was offside, but Blind's pass into RVP was inch perfect, just as it was for that goal in the World Cup. I relish the thoughts of having a fit and in-form Blind and Carrick in the squad.
    Pro. F wrote: »

Rooney and Blind had a cake walk in the middle with the way Leicester sat off them, but they weren't near authoritative enough for me. Rooney just does not know how to link up play with simple passes. Blind will be heaped with praise for his defending, assists and keeping it simple, but you can see he isn't nearly fluid enough in possession. The two of them will cost us against better teams.

You're not wrong unfortunately. Rooney's mentality renders him largely ineffective in CM. It is in his fabric to be the man who if not is hitting the net himself, is the man who gives the ball to the guy who hits the net. Rather than starting and being involved in a quick burst of simple passes that unlock a defence, he tries to play one ball to unlock the defence and way more often than not it is to the detriment of our play. He is a born goalscorer and goalmaker, CM is a waste of his talents and those of our genuine CM talents on the bench watching him.
    Fellaini has a right to feel like he has earnt gametime in there as well. We have enough competition in midfield without shoe-horning Rooney into it as well.

I know there's still work to be done in CM and a Pogba/Vidal type addition signed, but for me as a United fan it's still a bit surreal to be able to agree with this.
    Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Just from watching the highlights on game of the day I'm not sure how Blind got man of the match, Di Maria looks very average yet again, Rooney needs to be further forward, Jacuzzi looks to be regaining last year's form and Jones looked alot more comfortable in his preferred position.

This wasn't funny last week when you said it, just like it isn't funny now. In fact it hasn't been funny since about late 2013.
    Fakman87 wrote: »
    I'm embarrassed at the shambles our club has become. We've spent hundreds of millions on a bunch of mercenaries who don't give a damn about the club and now we're cheering on Swansea to do us a favour against Southampton.

The old way died with fergies retirement. Football will never be the same again.

If you are being wholly genuine in everything you said there, then you can relax a bit. Us spending large sums of money and breaking transfer records on quality players (and those lacking quality) is nothing new in the Premier League Era. In fact, we more or less set the precedent for it. However, there was no denying that our squad was overdue an overhaul by last Summer, an overhaul which still isn't complete. Thankfully though, the club were in a position to carry this out without having to rely on a sugar daddy owner for bankroll. We did this through an acute business model enabled by 20 years of success.

Out of those brought in last Summer, Falcao is the only one I would even remotely consider putting into the 'mercenary' category. Another poster said it better than I could a few pages back about Falcao, he leaves absolutely nothing on the pitch and gives 100% every time, a model professional. When he first came to United, he spoke in volumes about his happiness at being at the club. Now I do know that a lot of this would be general PR that comes with any new signing, but the guy is Radamel Falcao - He could walk into Old Trafford without saying a word and still be deafened by the reception. He looked genuinely chuffed to join Manchester United, as he fúcking well should be, and his goal celebrations are a thing of beauty.

'Cheering on' Swansea, or a team of their ilk, to beat one of our current rivals is nothing new in football either. The fact that that rival is currently Southampton is a lot more to do with their rise than our fall. We are competing with them for 3rd/4th, not 7th/8th like last season.

And finally, Fergie and the old way; You used Fergie here in the context of the money spending. Fergie, who broke the English transfer record for Rio Ferdinand and splurged the odd £20-30m whenever he felt it was needed. Fergie, who in the Summer before his final season said that he bought the best goalscorer available to him to make sure that we wouldn't lose the league on goal difference again. Or did RVP come up through our youth system?

I think you are being unnecessarily overdramatic here, extreme doesn't even cut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Fakman87 wrote: »
    I'm embarrassed at the shambles our club has become. We've spent hundreds of millions on a bunch of mercenaries who don't give a damn about the club and now we're cheering on Swansea to do us a favour against Southampton.

The old way died with fergies retirement. Football will never be the same again.

I thought people were saying it died when the Glazers took it over. Or was it when the club became a PLC, when the crest went from Manchester United Football Club to just Manchester United. :rolleyes:

Point is clubs and the game in general are always changing and morphing into something different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

advertsfox wrote: »
    A little stat that's hard to fathom...

Our aggregate score with Leicester this season is 6-6 :O

At least we won on away goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

BloodBath wrote: »
    It's hardly reactionary. We've had a year to assess his performances. You can't just blame the players around him. He himself has not done enough. The same people were saying give Shinji time. He was player of the season for Dortmund etc. He wasn't good enough either.

The notion that Mata isn't good enough is just ridiculous. Bar DDG nobody has set the world alight over the past 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭QuantumP

Redo91 wrote: »
    De Gea?

Touché. But you know what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

90ed01f0-aabd-11e4-a76b-811f4f0e6c92_es_herrera.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

RobertKK wrote: »

Happens everywhere really. If you are a rich person then you are easily a target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    Happens everywhere really. If you are a rich person then you are easily a target.

It does indeed, I feel the same way about any robber trying to break into someone's home.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Mata has wished Anderson all the best on his return to Brazil, so that seems to have gone through anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Another useless but I would say almost unique star....Leicester score 6 league goals v Utd this season....from a grand total of 6 shots on target over the two games!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

I love if a centre half was signed to start alongside rojo who i think is going to be a star for united but i guess were going to have to put up with jones, smalling and evans for the rest of the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,902 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

sky88 wrote: »
    I love if a centre half was signed to start alongside rojo who i think is going to be a star for united but i guess were going to have to put up with jones, smalling and evans for the rest of the season

If they can remain fit for more than 90mins it would be a fecking start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

Any chance we might be watching flightradar at any point today?
    Bit of gossip inn the Express this morning but you couldn't believe a word in that rag.

Everyone else have made moves, we are not playing well but we seem to be standing still. Failure to get 4th would be a disaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

quietest transfer window ever
    i'm going to bed after being up late for the superbowl and then up early for a doc visit
    I'd love to wake up to some massive news, but i've no confidence in it happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

kstand wrote: »
    Any chance we might be watching flightradar at any point today?
    Bit of gossip inn the Express this morning but you couldn't believe a word in that rag.

Everyone else have made moves, we are not playing well but we seem to be standing still. Failure to get 4th would be a disaster.

To put a positive spin on it, We're not playing well, but we're only 5 points off City in 2nd place.
    Beat Leicester away and Swansea at home for example, (two of the results that pissed me off most this season) and we're second. Granted, it doesn't always work out like that, but I'm confident of an improvement....

Oh, and I'd be staggered if we do sign anyone, especially considering van Gaal's comments recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

Al Capwned wrote: »
    To put a positive spin on it, We're not playing well, but we're only 5 points off City in 2nd place.
    Beat Leicester away and Swansea at home for example, (two of the results that pissed me off most this season) and we're second. Granted, it doesn't always work out like that, but I'm confident of an improvement....

Arsenal are playing well, so are Spurs and Liverpool are getting results and have improved no end since the 3-0 at OT. The pressure is really on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Al Capwned wrote: »

Oh, and I'd be staggered if we do sign anyone, especially considering van Gaal's comments recently.

Another positive spin is that we have 1 loss in 15 games, highest or second highest goals at home. Second to Chelsea In points at home.

Just don't mention our away record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Another positive spin is that we have 1 loss in 15 games, highest or second highest goals at home. Second to Chelsea In points at home.

Just don't mention our away record.
    Similarly, LVG finally brought in 6 quality players which were needed.
    They are now starting to assimilate and find their feet.

No offence to Buttner, Welbeck, Anderson, even Fletcher, Hernandez or Nani, but we now have better players

Similarly, it was high time for Vidic, Rio and Evra to depart. Given their struggles in the last year or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,308 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Every game feels like cup game from here.

Every team is going to have few slip ups along the way, but if any of the 4 teams behind us lose couple games with rest winning it going be tough for them and same for us.

Its at a stage where we just cannot afford to drop points in 2 games in a row.

A win at weekend would be huge and a team I love seeing United beat.

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

kstand wrote: »
    Arsenal are playing well, so are Spurs and Liverpool are getting results and have improved no end since the 3-0 at OT. The pressure is really on.

Spurs play Arsenal and Liverpool in their next two fixtures. Liverpool have Everton, Spurs, Southampton and City as their next 4 fixtures plus home and away against Bestikas either side of the Southampton game. Points are going to be dropped by our rivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Getting ahead of myself, but would love to take 2nd from City. They're only 5 points ahead and haven't exactly been pulling up trees. If the team could get their sh*t together and play to their ability it would be easily done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Getting ahead of myself, but would love to take 2nd from City. They're only 5 points ahead and haven't exactly been pulling up trees. If the team could get their sh*t together and play to their ability it would be easily done.

Could happen.
    United have only the league to worry about - and given injuries, most players have been off for part of the season.
    Should be finishing strongly.

Think only De Gea, and maybe Rooney have been regualrs in the team this season.
    Even Rooney had an injury at one point if I recall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Could happen.
    United have only the league to worry about - and given injuries, most players have been off for part of the season.
    Should be finishing strongly.

Think only De Gea, and maybe Rooney have been regualrs in the team this season.
    Even Rooney had an injury at one point if I recall

We really need to focus on the FA Cup, which is our best chance of silverware this season. Especially with city and chelsea out of the picture we need to go all out to win this god damn cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,283 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

brinty wrote: »
    quietest transfer window ever
    i'm going to bed after being up late for the superbowl and then up early for a doc visit
    I'd love to wake up to some massive news, but i've no confidence in it happening

I never could understand Irish people watching this nonsense. I know some Irish people who would watch this crap and not watch rugby. Makes no sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭bantee

BloodBath wrote: »
    I never could understand Irish people watching this nonsense. I know some Irish people who would watch this crap and not watch rugby. Makes no sense to me.

I suppose it would make sense if you had zero interest in rugby though. What has being Irish got to do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Every game feels like cup game from here.

Every team is going to have few slip ups along the way, but if any of the 4 teams behind us lose couple games with rest winning it going be tough for them and same for us.

Its at a stage where we just cannot afford to drop points in 2 games in a row.

A win at weekend would be huge and a team I love seeing United beat.

I'll never forget THAT GAME,we missed chance after chance then lost the league.

Top 4 and the FA Cup would be acceptable after last season's shambles.Build on it next season and push for the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Maybe because they like AF and not Rugby? Not that difficult tbh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,283 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

bantee wrote: »
    I suppose it would make sense if you had zero interest in rugby though. What has being Irish got to do with it?

What has it got to do with it? We have international and club teams that are among in the best in the world at it and it's a far superior sport to the ****e that is American football.

Some people just love the superficial nonsense that America produces though.