Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Anywhere decent online to get mobil or castrol oil at a reasonable price micksgarage or halfords are the only two I've tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,558 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Opie oils?

Micks garage seem to be reasonable for castrol.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Opie oils?

Micks garage seem to be reasonable for castrol.

Basically castrol edge 4 litres on micksgarage is 50 euro which would be just about enough.

Although I've stumbled accross this which meets the 504/507 spec but I'm not sure if it would be as good (see link). I currently use quantum oil vw own brand but that seems to be getting mixed enough reviews even though its made by castrol apparently not as good as edge. I want to try and get the best I can as oil is obviously important. I can also get mobil 1 5 litres for around 48 in halfords.

http://www.micksgarage.com/proddetails.aspx?pid=1214863

I used Total Quartz 9000 synthetic in the Civic for the last 3 oil changes, car hasn't blown up.

Well I suppose if it meets the specs and its a decent well known brand too. 15 quid on castrol is a good saving too. I change the oil every 15k kk anyway even though it's longlife. Apparently some of the variable service interval mk5s in the uk are only serviced every 20-30 k miles when the car tells them but it's still ridiculous to leave it that long.

Isn't/wasn't Total the factory oil used in Citroens?

image_zpsa81297d8.jpg

I think you could be right I've seen plenty of them stickers on citroens alright.

Sebastian loeb had a big one on his car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Sebastian loeb had a big one on his car.

That guy was a nutjob, I remember watching one wrc in france i think and one of his wheels came off, so he got his co driver to sit on the door to balance the car while he drove it back to the finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Anyone see this on fb tonight?

https://www.facebook.com/angardasiochana

Basically an AMA session by the guards trying to get through questions from folk about modified cars, (arisen from the case of the welded diff recently) was a great concept IMO and a nice way of the gardai trying to converse on a level with the modified car community.

However, (In my opinion anyway) in practise, it turned out to be an outlet for a load of bottomfeeders to try and abuse the gardai directly and derail the session. Shame really as the folk on the garda end seemed to try and answer the genuine questions fairly, and even answered a load of silly questions.

A lot of folk on replying to it are the very reason that the modified car scene has such a bad name, no favours done at all.

The problem is that doing something like this from behind a computer screen isn't the way to go.

If you want to engage with modified car people - or indeed car enthusiasts generally - because we might all be partial to a bit of modifying at some point.

I take the view that the way forward is to get out there and actually MEET them. See the actual cars - have a look at them - talk to the people who own them.

Might learn a bit more that way.

People acting the clown and disrupting the session is ALWAYS annoying - but on the other side of the coin - being the cynical person I can be - I do wonder about the idea of engaging via facebook etc.

I think id feel better about the Garda engagement if it was done in the real world actually taking time to meet people - talk to them - see actual cars.

Could you imagine them coming along to a car show or to Mondello when theres track day stuff going on.

Or even someone from AGS actually engaging with forums like this one - introducing themselves - engaging in conversation in a normal way.

The Uk police engage with twitter a lot - I follow a female inspector from over there and some of the roads policing units have their OWN twitter accounts.

You get to know people that way - idiots will always be idiots - but you have to separate the idiots from the cars.

Way I see it is - idiots will continue to be idiots even if they stopped driving modified cars and went completely standard in terms of cars.

The issue I have is engaging on facebook has a bit of a tick boxes feel to it - ie this is someones task for the week.

If you put time into it and try and engage in person - it feels more genuine imo

Was on DD and stumbled upon this

20737167.jpeg

Heres my car

IMG_20150113_164353.jpg

Notice anything? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Awww, volvo siblings.

I wouldn't be judging the value of your car against a learys lissarda car though!

Awww, volvo siblings.

I wouldn't be judging the value of your car against a learys lissarda car though!

They've actually had it for as long as I've owned my car if not longer but I never noticed the reg before. That price is scandalous but it looks spotless compared to mine. Very well looked after. Although it's suffering from wrinkly front reg plate like the original plate on mine.

Didn't check the price, how much? I just recognise that backdrop as a regular feature in dreamer of the year thread haha.

Its a contender for dreamer of the year at €2450. 3 and a half times what I paid for mine 18 months ago :rolleyes:

That's not bad for them actually?

You robbed someone to get yours at that price! Ah the upsides of Irelands diesel fetish.

That's not bad for them actually?

You robbed someone to get yours at that price! Ah the upsides of Irelands diesel fetish.

Ah its still at least a grand overpriced even from a dealer. Mine was a steal though. Proper bangernomics

I'm suprised they are even selling it tbh. Most vw dealers seem to sell back as far as 07-08 cars but even at that it's normally only vw stuff they would be selling going back to 07-08. Everything else older like that volvo would normally be sold to the trade cheap and then they would sell it on.

Bpmull wrote: »
    I'm suprised they are even selling it tbh. Most vw dealers seem to sell back as far as 07-08 cars but even at that it's normally only vw stuff they would be selling going back to 07-08. Everything else older like that volvo would normally be sold to the trade cheap and then they would sell it on.

Looks like no one in the trade even wants it! Poor Volvo :( :P

In other news, got a call earlier so back to work on Monday after a brief stint on the rock n roll (October). Job itself seems grand and money is terrible but I don't care at this stage. Just delighted to get back working again. Hurrah!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Looks like no one in the trade even wants it! Poor Volvo :( :P

In other news, got a call earlier so back to work on Monday after a brief stint on the rock n roll (October). Job itself seems grand and money is terrible but I don't care at this stage. Just delighted to get back working again. Hurrah!! :D

heres a laugh for you.

Volvo C70 (basically an s60 convertible) - can't understand these idiots, no wonder they've being sitting on it for donkeys at this stage.

http://www.spiritmotorgroup.ie/Used-Cars/?car=79814104362840200&make=&model=&type=&year=&max=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

That is brilliant! And the absolute state of that interior...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I was just looking up the 350Z, I was suprised it weighs around the same as my car, however this is what caught my eye on the wiki page;

"With 143 deaths per million registrations, the two-door 350Z model year 2005 to 2008 has topped the list of deadliest cars in the United States."

Ever since the Pathfinder caught my eye, I've been looking up similar type Jeeps/SUVs I'd like to consider in future.

I always looked at (proper) jeeps as being bullet proof. Designed for dragging trailers across muddy fields and delivering goats to mountains. But everything I like the look of (and do a search for) seems to have fairly negative reviews.

The Pathfinder, apparently, has this small issue, where every once in a while, the engine implodes!? What!? :eek: :confused: And the car is a write-off.

The Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 litre is apparently a waste of time and the 3.2 litre is a lot better, but both are prone to giving issues (nobody quite detailed what these issues are, though).

The Pajero Sport is a 'raging alcoholic' that will, according to a boardsie on a thread I found, "eat you out of house and home" (that line still makes me laugh :D ).

I can't remember the specifics, but I know the Outlander didn't get a great reception either on the threads I found online.

The issues affecting the Pathfinder are apparently also prevalent on the Patrol and Navara, as, from what I gather, they're all pretty much the same jeep with a different body shape.

The Suzuki Grand Vitara seems to be hit and miss, but doesn't seem to get too much hatred (from what I've seen).

Is the LandCruiser the only reliable jeep on the roads? This seems madness!? (as an aside, any Jeep/SUV I buy would never a work a day of it's ownership with me. I just like the look of them). I do realise that people are more likely to complain than compliment online, and that's fair enough, but surely an imploding engine is a fairly serious issue!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

That guy was a nutjob, I remember watching one wrc in france i think and one of his wheels came off, so he got his co driver to sit on the door to balance the car while he drove it back to the finish

Thats the opening scene to stroker ace :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ever since the Pathfinder caught my eye, I've been looking up similar type Jeeps/SUVs I'd like to consider in future.

I always looked at (proper) jeeps as being bullet proof. Designed for dragging trailers across muddy fields and delivering goats to mountains. But everything I like the look of (and do a search for) seems to have fairly negative reviews.

The Pathfinder, apparently, has this small issue, where every once in a while, the engine implodes!? What!? :eek: :confused: And the car is a write-off.

The Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 litre is apparently a waste of time and the 3.2 litre is a lot better, but both are prone to giving issues (nobody quite detailed what these issues are, though).

The Pajero Sport is a 'raging alcoholic' that will, according to a boardsie on a thread I found, "eat you out of house and home" (that line still makes me laugh :D ).

I can't remember the specifics, but I know the Outlander didn't get a great reception either on the threads I found online.

The issues affecting the Pathfinder are apparently also prevalent on the Patrol and Navara, as, from what I gather, they're all pretty much the same jeep with a different body shape.

The Suzuki Grand Vitara seems to be hit and miss, but doesn't seem to get too much hatred (from what I've seen).

Is the LandCruiser the only reliable jeep on the roads? This seems madness!? (as an aside, any Jeep/SUV I buy would never a work a day of it's ownership with me. I just like the look of them). I do realise that people are more likely to complain than compliment online, and that's fair enough, but surely an imploding engine is a fairly serious issue!?

How about one of the Landys with the new AJD-V6 donk?

@kkv have a look at the 2006 onwards Jeep Grand Cherokee (not the normal cherokee). My dad bought one new in 2007 and kept it about 3 years now they are a serious jeep 3.0 v6 225bhp one of the better mercedes engine and drivetrain. A user on here rover james not here anymore had a 2006 one. They are constant 4wd with a low range and auto only transmission. Really nice to drive. Just put it in drive and if you put your foot to the floor it will pull like mad up through the gears would be alot quicker than a landcruiser. 25-35 mpg depending on driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

kkv, best get a thread started I reckon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

kkv, best get a thread started I reckon...

.....in Creative Writing! :eek:

Hadn't really thought about making a thread. Must do that, yeah, See what people think.

BP, never thought of the Jeep Grand Cherokee. Can't picture it in my head for some reason, but will take a look alright :)