colm_mcm wrote: » Opie oils? Micks garage seem to be reasonable for castrol.
colm_mcm wrote: » I used Total Quartz 9000 synthetic in the Civic for the last 3 oil changes, car hasn't blown up.
colm_mcm wrote: » Sebastian loeb had a big one on his car.
Cheensbo wrote: » Anyone see this on fb tonight?https://www.facebook.com/angardasiochana Basically an AMA session by the guards trying to get through questions from folk about modified cars, (arisen from the case of the welded diff recently) was a great concept IMO and a nice way of the gardai trying to converse on a level with the modified car community. However, (In my opinion anyway) in practise, it turned out to be an outlet for a load of bottomfeeders to try and abuse the gardai directly and derail the session. Shame really as the folk on the garda end seemed to try and answer the genuine questions fairly, and even answered a load of silly questions. A lot of folk on replying to it are the very reason that the modified car scene has such a bad name, no favours done at all.
Special Circumstances wrote: » Awww, volvo siblings. I wouldn't be judging the value of your car against a learys lissarda car though!
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » They've actually had it for as long as I've owned my car if not longer but I never noticed the reg before. That price is scandalous but it looks spotless compared to mine. Very well looked after. Although it's suffering from wrinkly front reg plate like the original plate on mine.
Special Circumstances wrote: » Didn't check the price, how much? I just recognise that backdrop as a regular feature in dreamer of the year thread haha.
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » Its a contender for dreamer of the year at €2450. 3 and a half times what I paid for mine 18 months ago :rolleyes:
Special Circumstances wrote: » That's not bad for them actually? You robbed someone to get yours at that price! Ah the upsides of Irelands diesel fetish.
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » Ah its still at least a grand overpriced even from a dealer. Mine was a steal though. Proper bangernomics
Bpmull wrote: » I'm suprised they are even selling it tbh. Most vw dealers seem to sell back as far as 07-08 cars but even at that it's normally only vw stuff they would be selling going back to 07-08. Everything else older like that volvo would normally be sold to the trade cheap and then they would sell it on.
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » Looks like no one in the trade even wants it! Poor Volvo :P In other news, got a call earlier so back to work on Monday after a brief stint on the rock n roll (October). Job itself seems grand and money is terrible but I don't care at this stage. Just delighted to get back working again. Hurrah!!
toastedpickles wrote: » That guy was a nutjob, I remember watching one wrc in france i think and one of his wheels came off, so he got his co driver to sit on the door to balance the car while he drove it back to the finish
[Deleted User] wrote: » Ever since the Pathfinder caught my eye, I've been looking up similar type Jeeps/SUVs I'd like to consider in future. I always looked at (proper) jeeps as being bullet proof. Designed for dragging trailers across muddy fields and delivering goats to mountains. But everything I like the look of (and do a search for) seems to have fairly negative reviews. The Pathfinder, apparently, has this small issue, where every once in a while, the engine implodes!? What!? :eek: And the car is a write-off. The Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 litre is apparently a waste of time and the 3.2 litre is a lot better, but both are prone to giving issues (nobody quite detailed what these issues are, though). The Pajero Sport is a 'raging alcoholic' that will, according to a boardsie on a thread I found, "eat you out of house and home" (that line still makes me laugh ). I can't remember the specifics, but I know the Outlander didn't get a great reception either on the threads I found online. The issues affecting the Pathfinder are apparently also prevalent on the Patrol and Navara, as, from what I gather, they're all pretty much the same jeep with a different body shape. The Suzuki Grand Vitara seems to be hit and miss, but doesn't seem to get too much hatred (from what I've seen). Is the LandCruiser the only reliable jeep on the roads? This seems madness!? (as an aside, any Jeep/SUV I buy would never a work a day of it's ownership with me. I just like the look of them). I do realise that people are more likely to complain than compliment online, and that's fair enough, but surely an imploding engine is a fairly serious issue!?
Alanstrainor wrote: » kkv, best get a thread started I reckon...