whats the weather like in your area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Odelay

It's one of them nights you turn off the telly and listen to it howl:) Tied any swing doors on the sheds together tonight, no chances taken here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Odelay wrote: »
    It's one of them nights you turn off the telly and listen to it howl:) Tied any swing doors on the sheds together tonight, no chances taken here.
    window wide open in bedroom here to listen to the wind and rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Welded a gate on saturday. Never did much welding before... Tonight will test it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Fairly windy but not alot of rain with it thank **** , hopefully it won't get much wetter or it will be a couple of weeks after when ground will be fit for slurry . We have another 3 weeks left before we will be in trouble but it could've been spread a few weeks ago in grand conditions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    window wide open in bedroom here to listen to the wind and rain

Its supposed to help babies sleep. Working so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Bullocks wrote: »
    Fairly windy but not alot of rain with it thank **** , hopefully it won't get much wetter or it will be a couple of weeks after when ground will be fit for slurry . We have another 3 weeks left before we will be in trouble but it could've been spread a few weeks ago in grand conditions

There was a Tweet about slurry earlier on, I was wondering would it be brown snow or brown rain they wanted given the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Shockin' windy. There's a bit of a storm brewing up outside too!! :D

Wife got a text there to say the school is closed tomorrow because of a red weather alert . Feck sakes , we never had better roads , cars , schools and we'll fed insulated kids , in 20 yrs time will people be afraid of rain and fresh air blowing get a biteen strong !

Bet the kids ain't complaining

Same as that, I haven't told her yet, going to sleep in and let the panic begin around 9am :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

It's a joke. Five weather warnings for a bit of snow and rain. Bit of wind now and the emergency crisis board are meeting. Its bloody winter. Will there be an address to the nation if we get sun this summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

wont be a joke if someone gets killed ont he road by a falling tree, or debris, or floods. Its not a joke atall infact

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

dharma200 wrote: »
    wont be a joke if someone gets killed ont he road by a falling tree, or debris, or floods. Its not a joke atall infact

There is a good chance we will get strong winds a few times a year, especially January. Now the fact the emergency council is sitting to discuss this now is a joke. What are they going to do about dangerous trees now? That should have been taken care off in the summer and that's when they should be sitting to plan for things like this.

Hopefully no one will get hurt though!

Same as that, I haven't told her yet, going to sleep in and let the panic begin around 9am :pac:
    Lucky fecker, I have to have cattle fed and kids sent off to minder before 8 .

dharma200 wrote: »

Ya thats true , but can people not uses the senses they were born with to realise these dangers instead of having to listen to coloured alerts. Soon people will be checking their iPhone to see what the weather is like outside rather than actually going out for a look

I've sheep to feed but any of the other work I've on the now very, very long "to do" list doesn't look like it'll be done tomorrow for weather and lack of money or materials issues. So I'm sleeping in, on a week day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Weather got rough here at about 8pm, sounded like someone was outside the house with a powerhose randomly spraying the windows - methinks Whelan ;)
    No rain now, the wind has died down a bit and it has got milder.
    Saw a shooting star a few mins ago when I went to feed the dogs :)

I've sheep to feed but any of the other work I've on the now very, very long "to do" list doesn't look like it'll be done tomorrow for weather and lack of money or materials issues. So I'm sleeping in, on a week day :D

Dead right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Quite wild here in cavan about 7 pm, quieter now. All these Orange alerts, and Yellow alerts and Red alerts, feck sake, since we changed to Kilometers per hour the forecasters have the people drove mad with 100 kph gusts. That and the tabloid press looking for a "shocker" of a headline.
    Have the chainsaw ready, just in case! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I was listening to Gerald Flemming Met office on the 6 o'clock news and he was saying that it was up to individual school principles to decide if schools were to close of not. He also said that the wind speeds would not be as extreme as last years Feb storms.

Base price wrote: »
    I was listening to Gerald Flemming Met office on the 6 o'clock news and he was saying that it was up to individual school principles to decide if schools were to close of not. He also said that the wind speeds would not be as extreme as last years Feb storms.

The only issue around the school here is there are a fair few very tall trees in the yard right by the school. Other than that I don't see the issue to be honest.

In fairness H&S has to be a priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Before or after you sink the elbow

Sink the elbow ? Is that waking herself up ? She is out the gap a 7 for work tomorrow that's why I'm on duto with kids !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Sink the elbow ? Is that waking herself up ? She is out the gap a 7 for work tomorrow that's why I'm on duto with kids !

It won't be worth your while going asleep at sll so if yer going to have time to sink the elbow

Base price wrote: »
    In fairness H&S has to be a priority.

Don't remember it being an issue when I was going and no one died :D Worried about being sued more like!

Modern Ireland with all the trimmings :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Its kicked off here. ... drove from Limavady Co. Derry to west cork today. They are getting the worst of it up there. Even the austrian tank builders fecked off from site at 11am

Still blowing like mad out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Been a bit blustery here overnight but nothing crazy at all.
    Should I expect more storm or has it passed by now??