Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Intifada

bobmalooka wrote: »
    There seems to be serious liquidity issues at Rangers right now after narrowly dodging a winding up order. The guts of the Brentford money is likely to be gone by the end of the week. whoever has their sights set on power at Ibrox will need to act soon. Interesting times again.
    Their latest bail-out (500k) has been secured against the McLeod money so they'd want to hope it's still there.

Are Scottish club not meant to demonstrate that they can remain trading for the coming season, at the start? Lost count of how many times they've sent the begging plate around now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Intifada wrote: »
    Their latest bail-out (500k) has been secured against the McLeod money so they'd want to hope it's still there.

Are Scottish club not meant to demonstrate that they can remain trading for the coming season, at the start? Lost count of how many times they've sent the begging plate around now.

If you know so much you would also know that this bunch of crooks have so far turned down two serious gets of investment. The rats are scared and are now very dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Eirebear wrote: »
    A sareholder too? That's nice. :pac:

No, just a concerned citizen. The poor honest fans already lost all their money when the previous incarnation imploded. I'd hate to see a convicted tax cheat swindle them this time round.

Fair play to Mr Easedale this morning, propping up the club with a loan of £500,000. If it weren't for him and Mike Ashley the club would be in awful trouble.

No, just a concerned citizen. The poor honest fans already lost all their money when the previous incarnation imploded. I'd hate to see a convicted tax cheat swindle them this time round.

Fair play to Mr Easedale this morning, propping up the club with a loan of £500,000. If it weren't for him and Mike Ashley the club would be in awful trouble.

If you really believe that then you are pretty stupid if not you are being pretty stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

If you really believe that then you are pretty stupid if not you are being pretty stupid.

It's very difficult to know Ashley's full motivation, he has a strong incentive to see Rangers being commercially viable with the sports direct merchandise deal.

I don't know what the story is with the Easdale buck, I'd love to know what conditions are attached to his loan and if he now has claims on certain assets.

In my own unqualified/uninformed and completely speculative opinion the whole thing is a scramble for claims on the physical assets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭RoryMac

It's very difficult to know Ashley's full motivation, he has a strong incentive to see Rangers being commercially viable with the sports direct merchandise deal.

I don't know what the story is with the Easdale buck, I'd love to know what conditions are attached to his loan and if he now has claims on certain assets.

In my own unqualified/uninformed and completely speculative opinion the whole thing is a scramble for claims on the physical assets.

That's how it looks to me too, I reckon Ashley's motivation is just to protect the commercial agreement with Sports Direct. Did he also not acquire the rights to the stadium name at some point?

RoryMac wrote: »
    That's how it looks to me too, I reckon Ashley's motivation is just to protect the commercial agreement with Sports Direct. Did he also not acquire the rights to the stadium name at some point?

He did but has it no longer as for the rest just look at Newcastle everyone says they are debt free but in fact they owe Ashley well over 100 million. The man luckily for us had been told he cannot increase his stake in the club as for the Easdales well know gangsters from Greenock very few want them at the club and hopefully Park and co will oust them.
    This carry on with HMRC is a case in point HMRC won't talk about any company who has up to date taxes but The rat Irvine tried to make Easdale loaned the money to pay taxes no he didn't the board are a barel of crooks and have to be cleaned out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

You seem to know the ins and outs a bit better than the average punter, where does the law stand if - as seems to be the case - Ashley & The Easdales are running us dangerously close to administration (some might say trying to force that outcome) when there have been very public offers of cash put on the table?

It seems to me, one way or another, we are finally entering the endgame.
    The 3 Bears & King's plans don't seem entirely different to those scenarios at Hearts/His/Motherwell in terms of positive fan ownership aims where the other side looks like complete destruction and divvying up the corpse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭RoryMac

He did but has it no longer as for the rest just look at Newcastle everyone says they are debt free but in fact they owe Ashley well over 100 million. The man luckily for us had been told he cannot increase his stake in the club as for the Easdales well know gangsters from Greenock very few want them at the club and hopefully Park and co will oust them.
    This carry on with HMRC is a case in point HMRC won't talk about any company who has up to date taxes but The rat Irvine tried to make Easdale loaned the money to pay taxes no he didn't the board are a barel of crooks and have to be cleaned out.

Yeah I thought I heard that he had given up the rights to the stadium name but wasn't sure.

It does look to me from the little I know about it that the vultures are circling and using these 'loans' to gain control of assets before the endgame what ever that may be.

It's hard to see how the situation will play out when there are so many parties involved with claims over the assets and money running out fast.

You seem to know the ins and outs a bit better than the average punter, where does the law stand if - as seems to be the case - Ashley & The Easdales are running us dangerously close to administration (some might say trying to force that outcome) when there have been very public offers of cash put on the table?

It seems to me, one way or another, we are finally entering the endgame.
    The 3 Bears & King's plans don't seem entirely different to those scenarios at Hearts/His/Motherwell in terms of positive fan ownership aims where the other side looks like complete destruction and divvying up the corpse.

I only know a little bit on Irish Company Law (and I mean little) for work but our legal systems are broadly similar.

There could be a number of laws broken (and I would guess there is), on the simplest of levels it would appear they aren't acting in the interests of shareholders as these actions are hurting share prices and if I had time to read I could probably come up with a few more where you could argue the law has been broken. It's very technical and boring stuff.

I really don't know how well those these things are enforced there, here it would be extremely difficult to prove. We have a Director of Corporate Enforcement who seems to do nothing. Any cases which do go before judges end up farcical with lawyers bamboozling judges as the relevant acts are badly written and contradictory. I'd expect things work slightly better in the UK in that regard.

I'm amazed that fans (owning shares) haven't grouped together to find ways of looking into this, from the outside looking in there COULD be a case to be made.

Disclaimer: I know nothing so treat my ramblings as nonsense.

Im amazed that fans (owning shares) haven't grouped together to find ways of looking into this, from the outside looking in there COULD be a case to be made.

Unfortunately egos and our generally fractured support have left us in just as much mess in that regard with RST, Rangers First & Sons of Struth all fighting for the same patch of turf.

well I'd hate to be the one to unite Ye so good luck with that

In fairness, as i mentioned with Motherwell/Hearts/Hibs earlier on - all of their recent optimism has come about through someone coming in with money who is then able to work out share deals over a number of years with the fans of each club.

At this stage, all I can hope is that those looking to take control can do that.
    They have suggested that is their aim - except for the american guy, who seems to have come out of the blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

As has been pointed out, some fans (quite a number actually) seem to believe for some reason that Ashley and his cohorts are trying to engineer an Admin 2 situation.... But how would that be in any way a financially good thing for him?
    Surely a thriving and competitive business would suit him more?
    I think fans of your new club are very distrusting (and with very good reason I suppose) but it's gone so suspicious that if somebody is actually there to benifit the club and by extension themselves in a genuine capacity, the fans wont believe it and automatically want them away from the club.

As has been pointed out, some fans (quite a number actually) seem to believe for some reason that Ashley and his cohorts are trying to engineer an Admin 2 situation.... But how would that be in any way a financially good thing for him?

Murray Park? Ibrox?
    Who knows?

Maybe it's just a case of "If i can't have it no one will", at the end of the day losing a couple of million is a drop in the ocean to Ashley who is currently owed about 50 times that by Newcastle.

Again though, I find it odd how many Celtic fans are now telling us to believe in Ashley after all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Murray Park? Ibrox?
    Who knows?

Maybe it's just a case of "If i can't have it no one will", at the end of the day losing a couple of million is a drop in the ocean to Ashley who is currently owed about 50 times that by Newcastle.

Again though, I find it odd how many Celtic fans are now telling us to believe in Ashley after all this.

I'm not saying believe in him. He may well be the wolf he is suspected to be. But the suspicious nature of your fans could be clouding their collective judgement.
    It's certainly true that the club isn't well liked, but not EVERYBODY is an enemy trying to sink you.

I'm not saying believe in him. He may well be the wolf he is suspected to be. But the suspicious nature of your fans could be clouding their collective judgement.
    It's certainly true that the club isn't well liked, but not EVERYBODY is an enemy trying to sink you.

I just to look at Newcastle to know I don't trust the man.
    That plus Celtic fans saying we should trust him
    And I am sorry a tic fan lecturing Rangers fans about paranoia is hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

You're going to have a scumbag running the club no matter what i reckon. Just hope they have higher ambition than fumbling from financial crisis to another and eyeing up liquidating assets at every turn.

Ashley would turn RIFC into a feeder for Newcastle, hoovering up profits for himself.

King, still wonder why he didnt buy Rangers for £1 if he had sunk £20m into it. Surely he'd have an interest in saving the club at that stage...

Dempsey wrote: »
    You're going to have a scumbag running the club no matter what i reckon. Just hope they have higher ambition than fumbling from financial crisis to another and eyeing up liquidating assets at every turn.

Ashley would turn RIFC into a feeder for Newcastle, hoovering up profits for himself.

King, still wonder why he didnt buy Rangers for £1 if he had sunk £20m into it. Surely he'd have an interest in saving the club at that stage...

Really I don't give a flying **** what you think. Who says King will be running the club and I don't believe Park and Co are not scumbags

LOL, why so touchy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

But surely you recognise a symbiotic relationship when you're in one.

Interesting that Rangers fans still dismiss what Celtic fans think, after all that's happened to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

The Rangers Board have turned down a takeover from Robert Sarver.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/rangers-board-reject-robert-sarver-takeover-bid-1.2056329

Interesting that Rangers fans still dismiss what Celtic fans think, after all that's happened to them.

No, we're just blown away by your sincerity and care.

Nobody is pretending to be sincere and caring about your plight. None of us ever have or were. That's irrelevant though.

Yet you wonder why we don't care what you think. You certainly make that very easy ;)

Sorry you've misunderstood. I don't wonder why, I just said it was interesting. Whether or not you care what I think, your club is still down the ****ter and I'm laughing.

Nobody is pretending to be sincere and caring about your plight. None of us ever have or were. That's irrelevant though

Sorry but when did you start speaking for the rest of us?

How Scottish Clubs and football fans are treated as cash cows to be milked by whatever means/lie possible by those governing the game and in turn allowing the ilk of Whyte, Green, Romanov, Ashley, Easdales and all the spivs that have infiltrated clubs recently without any fit and proper "fit and proper persons test" should anger everyone tbh.

A suppose its a good example of what FIFA and football governance has come to stand for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Out of interest... what Celtic fans said you should trust him?

Dempsey wrote: »
    Sorry but when did you start speaking for the rest of us?.
    Haha right enough Dempsey :D The day I speak for you is the day I pack it in!