Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Galway meet Galway meet !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Bpmull wrote: »
    Had my first experience of being a passenger in a yaris today. 2005 last of the old model. There very spacious in the back once the seats are back although then there is effectively no boot but still. It seems very nippy around town at low speeds. Reasonably convertible suppose to be very economical. The cons I could see were it didn't seem to handle great around corner now maybe that was just me being a passenger. It gets loud over 60 kmh and really loud over 100 kmh. I couldn't believe how noisy tbh not just engine but road noise now maybe that was down to tyres a certain amount. I wouldn't be to mad about driving one on the motorway everyday or on constant long trips. But as a town or tipping around car I can see why they are popular.

Mine didn't get loud until around 80km/h, it has decent tyres though, I found the handling decent enough, it's fun to chuck about. I want to get a TRD 150hp Mk1 in a few years :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Mine didn't get loud until around 80km/h, it has decent tyres though, I found the handling decent enough, it's fun to chuck about. I want to get a TRD 150hp Mk1 in a few years :)

I have a feeling this one could have had sh!t tyres which could have caused a lot of the handling noise issues. My head was just touching the roof which wasn't bad either considering its a small car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

bear1 wrote: »
    Bloody hell, I saw Gort on your location and figured that's where you were :)
    My God you live near Balla?!? I went to school there, fcuking hated the sight of the place.
    Shag all there.

You went to Balla school, I went to Claremorris, st Colmans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

They mean Balla as in Ballaghadereen, all the people around there refer to it as that. Don't know why, it's still a kip, and always will be :D :P The bypass is the only decent thing there, because it keeps you away from the place :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

They mean Balla as in Ballaghadereen, all the people around there refer to it as that. Don't know why, it's still a kip, and always will be :D :P The bypass is the only decent thing there, because it keeps you away from the place :pac:

Are yes, I see that now once you mentioned it and went back to joujoujou's post and it is kinda obvious now. "You live near Balla", and his location is beside Ballaghaderreen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Another thousand miles clapped up without a bit of bother.

The car had so much potential

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Yeah I meant Ballaghaderreen, I went to St.Nathys. The principle was a famous priest who conned the DOE into thinking more teachers were working there than there actually were.
    Saved up the extra money for years and legged it to the US once the DOE began investigating.
    An utter kip of a place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

bear1 wrote: »
    Yeah I meant Ballaghaderreen, I went to St.Nathys. The principle was a famous priest who conned the DOE into thinking more teachers were working there than there actually were.
    Saved up the extra money for years and legged it to the US once the DOE began investigating.
    An utter kip of a place.

The money was just resting in his account!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

dgt wrote:
    Another thousand miles clapped up without a bit of bother.The car had so much potential

Which car is this now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Which car is this now?

Maserati Gran Turismo Stradale.
    He went mad lately, have you not seen the pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

So was insuring the st and current company sertus only would insure it 3rd party and wanted 300 extra for the privilege!! The broker said they could do fully comp with another crowd but again for 350 extra! Needless to say told them get knotted and am fully comp with 123 for 530 happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Gavman84 wrote: »
    So was insuring the st and current company sertus only would insure it 3rd party and wanted 300 extra for the privilege!! The broker said they could do fully comp with another crowd but again for 350 extra! Needless to say told them get knotted and am fully comp with 123 for 530 happy days.
    Apart from them charging you €40 or whatever anytime you think of phoning them I find they give an extremely competively priced piece of paper in windscreen for 2L+ (:eek: OMG! :rolleyes:)cars. Haven't had to do much with them other than cough up the moola though, so can't say if they are much good for anything else.

Ya they are by far I think the cheapest for St think most owners with them. I hope to have no dealing with them either going forward other than then paying them!! Sertus were cheapest last 3 years but this car was a big no from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

YbFocus wrote: »
    Maserati Gran Turismo Stradale.
    He went mad lately, have you not seen the pics?

Must be the one I seen in navan yesterday. Slammed, straight pipe, yellow fogs!

Thats deadly. You an aul lad!? Paying the same on a 90hp 2l diesel.

Interslice wrote: »
    Thats deadly. You an aul lad!? Paying the same on a 90hp 2l diesel.
    Haha I'm old enough I suppose 30 full license since 2002 and 7 years ncb they added 30 I think for 2 points I have.

Getting there myself. I'll be 30 in a year and a half. Will have 5years ncb by then too. Should be 8 but lost 3 years when I was away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I know I will get rail roaded for saying this, but I actually like those Brand new Clio yokes. There is one in black, black alloys and with red markings on doors in town. Looks really cool and it would be a great run around.

*Gets ready for a wave of rotten tomatoes...

I know I will get rail roaded for saying this, but I actually like those Brand new Clio yokes. There is one in black, black alloys and with red markings on doors in town. Looks really cool and it would be a great run around.

*Gets ready for a wave of rotten tomatoes...

No tomatoes from me! Clio across the last 20 years has been the best looking car its size.

Like here, it looks really nice in such colour and those trim bits in red. I would not mind 1.2 90hp petrol one.

image_01.jpg

Only thing I don't like about the new Clio is the range of engines. Could be a bit puncher to be honest, for the Petrol there's a huge gap between the 0.9TCe and the RenaultSport Clio. Something in between would be nice I think.

So, just went on their website.

R-link ( highest trim ) with 1.2 petrol 90hp engine, that looks same as in that picture - 19.900eu. Add all the bull**** charges and it will get to 21k eu.
    Not a bad price for highest spec one, but still not near my affordability level. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

One of the lads here in Basel bought a new Leon Cupra with practically full spec last week, cost him €31k inc. interest on finance, same car in Ireland is €40k :pac:

Can't bate a bit of VRT :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Can't bate a bit of VRT :D

Oh you can. With a stick. And a bloody big one at that.

Jaysus ****. Why dealerships dont offer zero percent finance here in Ireland. I though it was pretty much a norm for UK? Just checked at my bank for car finance and they wanted 12.3% APR! :eek: Fecking madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

I don't trust my financial stability enough to finance a car.

I just couldn't ever take out finance :o

I don't trust my financial stability enough to finance a car.

I just couldn't ever take out finance :o

Well, in fairness. I am very good when it comes to money. I do like to take a loan for a car, even if I can buy it right off. I just like to have extra money if needed. Then again I never took out more then 5k loan and I am loan free for a very long time. The most expensive car I ever bought was clk200 for 8k eu.
    Loans and credit cards are amazing things, its just a shame that muppets who dont know how to use them or realistically calculate the amount they can afford give it a bad reputation.
    Thats why I checked how much new Clio would cost me and I know I cant afford that finance. So I just have to walk away. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

So I'm quitting tomorrow :D