Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

It isn't quite just the language, but the culture too. And speaking from an ex-teachers point of view, the absence of interest in the language is generally paired with no interest whatsoever in culture or the country at all. I don't understand why, though. I don't understand why people don't want to express how great this country is, and what better way to do it but speak Irish? Or even show some respect towards the language, at the very least. It is a fascinating language.

You're what 25? Already have a house, rcz, gt 86 and in a great job. And you're an ex teacher, jaysus you don't hang about!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

You're what 25? Already have a house, rcz, gt 86 and in a great job. And you're an ex teacher, jaysus you don't hang about!!!

Not quite, I had a year long half contract which I struggled to even stick out.

But let me just say, in that year I was at a school, the levels of complete disinterest were astonishing. ShadowHearth says he loves Ireland, but this was not the case with some students, they want nothing to do with it at all and I'm just emphasizing how much of a shame that is but I've gone on for long enough, so I'll stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Labas! Kaip sakasa Lithucorkian prick? :pac:

Wat?

GvidoR wrote: »
    Wat?

Look who's arisen from the dead :P

Look who's arisen from the dead?

Was I ever dead?
    I dont want to sound like a dick, but Russian is a VERY rich language. Its not my first language, but due to family situation and my location of living I learned Russian.
    Russian Language has so many expressions and ways to "express" yourself, that English language could only dream. Swearing in Russian just takes the crown. Sometimes people ask me to translate it to Lithuanian or English and I cant. There is just no words for such awesomeness. :o

It's true about the Russian swear words, and the language in general, you can express yourself really well. I know a bit of it but I have no use for it so I have never bothered to learn it properly. Also, I don't exactly have warm feelings towards Russia itself either.

Was I ever dead?

Yes! Haven't heard from you around these parts in ages. Can't remember if it was this thread or not, but I had a fair bit of badmouthing for Ballaghaderreen a few days ago, you best not see it :P

Since the bypass opened up, I haven't been in Ballaghadreen, so I might look back if I don't have anything better to do. :pac:

Have I missed anything else?

Since the bypass opened up, I haven't been in Ballaghadreen, so I might look back if I don't have anything better to do. :pac:

Ah the words kip, dump etc came into the equation. That bypass is class though. Ever travel it at night, lights up class, so easy to put the foot down :D

It's nice allright. :)

What part of Mayo are you from anyways? Lately I've been there a couple of days a week.

It's nice allright. :)

What part of Mayo are you from anyways? Lately I've been there a couple of days a week.

East Mayo, not too far from Ballaghaderreen. Not going to say too much. I've noted that a lot of students in school use boards, and I sure as hell don't want to be found out. I block my car reg's in pics and all for that purpose :P

Ah fair enough.

I'm usually a bit up north from there, and perhaps a little west too. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,060 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

The issue is how it's thought, studying poetry and stories and all that crap as well as writing shouldn't be touched until you can speak it fluently.
    but we've more chance of motor tax being scrapped than the way irish is thought At primary schools

I "learned" Irish at school from I was 4 till I was 18 and if someone from a gaelteacht said hello to me I wouldn't have a clue what they were saying.
    I had cousins who lived in South America who came home most years for 3/4 weeks during those years and learnt a bit of Spanish of them and can still carry a Spanish conversation in most parts of the world almost twenty years later.
    Something seriously wrong with the way Irish is taught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

my last exam for this symester is 9.00am tomorrow, dreading it! structures and environmental science all rolled into one paper.

Best of luck with it. Mine is engineering materials and process machinery dynamics. It's basically a heavy mech eng module which the materials stuff isn't too bad dynamics though which is machinery vibrations etc is difficult enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,406 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

[...]

Have I missed anything else?

North-West Xmas meet:

[post]93487312[/post]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

dgt wrote: »
    You never told me you were French :(

I knew you weren't listening :( pff men....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

A bit ot, but do any of you speak French?

J'ai une petit peu, mais soulemant le mal!
    Je travaille avec deux hommes de francais.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

A bit ot, but do any of you speak French?

Oui, un petit peu,

Merde,
    Ta mere,
    etc.

Did 5 years of french in secondary school & 2 years in college and unfortunately haven't been in a position to use it conversationally & learn it properly, i can understand a french speaker but can't say a word back to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Je ne parle pas beaucoup, mais je parle et comprends bien.

I still can't understand that bit in the video though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Kurwa, kurwie, łba nie urwie. :pac:

Try to figure this one out, bunch of linguists :P

Sobanek wrote: »
    KURWA KURWA KURWA :pac:

My favourite polish phrase/insult type thing:

Cienki bolek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Cheensbo wrote: »
    My favourite polish phrase/insult type thing:

Cienki bolek

"Chinky bollix"?? That's a bit avant-garde! :confused:

Chinky Bollix has to be the best Polish to English interpretation I've seen in my entire life.

Kurwa, kurwie, łba nie urwie. :pac:

Fcuk fcuk, remove your head :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Chinky Bollix has to be the best Polish to English interpretation I've seen in my entire life.

My father was even better at it, God rest him. He used to translate "President Sadat of Egypt" as "The President sat on his hat, the eejit"! :D

Did French as far as junior cert level. Got an A in honours and dropped it for the leaving because I couldn't stand the teacher and thought I'd never have any use for the language because I knew I wanted to start an apprenticeship after school. Sure when will a sparks need French anyway? When the company he works for sends him to Paris for four months! That's when!

I'd say there was plenty of this:

Ou est la piscine? Ou est la gare? :D

So it turned out the injectors weren't coded.... :rolleyes:

bear1 wrote: »
    Fcuk fcuk, remove your head :p

It's actually "A whore won't rip a whore's head off" :D

Isn't it kurwo?