Be honest, how bad is your diet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

fussyonion wrote: »
    as soon as the wine's open, I'm all over Pringles and nuts
    giggidy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

My diet is impeccable OP so I'm better than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭mountsky

Plenty of veg,greens are a must,also of course meat and fish,chicken not as much,I eat loads of turkey which us great for protein&fibre.
    When snacking, yogurts & fruit strictly, luckily I've always maintained my weight even now into my 30s,I've been lucky on the weight score for years,exercise daily, try to aim for 2ltrs of water also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

My diet is bad. I eat out probably five to six times a week. I don't consistently eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. Some days I only eat one meal. Other days I snack all day long. I guess I'm pretty lucky that I'm not overweight because I eat terribly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Comfort eating is my downfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

I eat meat two times a week and other then that it's all fruit and veg with some carbs.

Even I think my diet is boring as s***e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭etherealfairy

My current diet is something like this! I'm a recovered anorexic and I maintain my weight by eating this (18 y/o girl, lacto-ovo vegetarian)

Breakfast- porridge/Weetabix with agave, nut butter (cashew/peanut), a banana and almond milk plus black coffee

Snack- dried fruit (dates) and popcorn

Lunch- wholemeal wrap with houmous, raw vegetables (cucumber, carrot, tomato, red pepper)

Snack- protein flapjack and some dark chocolate

Dinner- sweet potato wedges roasted in soy sauce, chilli, garlic and paprika, falafel and vegetables

Dessert- soya yoghurt with granola

Snack- wholemeal toast with jam and peanut butter, green tea

I would say that I eat very balanced and I'm in good health! I eat intuitively and listen closely to what my body wants, eating when I'm hungry and stopping when I'm nicely full, answering my cravings. If I want pizza or a veggie burger I will for sure have it! I usually always have some form of 'unhealthy' food a day, balance is key. When I'm out with friends I will treat myself for sure, cake, pina coladas, the lot :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

iifym on a bulk is living the dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

My current diet is something like this! I'm a recovered anorexic and I maintain my weight by eating this (18 y/o girl, lacto-ovo vegetarian)

Breakfast- porridge/Weetabix with agave, nut butter (cashew/peanut), a banana and almond milk plus black coffee

Lunch- wholemeal wrap with houmous, raw vegetables (cucumber, carrot, tomato, red pepper)

Dinner- sweet potato wedges roasted in soy sauce, chilli, garlic and paprika, falafel and vegetables

I would say that I eat very balanced and I'm in good health! I eat intuitively and listen closely to what my body wants, eating when I'm hungry and stopping when I'm nicely full, answering my cravings. If I want pizza or a veggie burger I will for sure have it! I usually always have some form of 'unhealthy' food a day, balance is key. When I'm out with friends I will treat myself for sure, cake, pina coladas, the lot :)

Boringggggggg Zzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭etherealfairy

fussyonion wrote: »
    Boringggggggg Zzzzzz

Well actually I really like it. We all have different tastes. Like I said, if I feel like I want pizza and chips I will have it. It's just my body craves that sort of food more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

My every diet is pretty good. Almost everything we eat is cooked from scratch with lots of veg, fresh herbs and aromats like ginger, garlic, shalllots and chilli piled in. Dessert is rare in this house. I eat more red meat and less fish and vegetarian meals than I'd like to because I have to accomodate my family, I love fish and falafel but I'm alone in that. We have takeaway about once a month, always pizza or Indonesian. None of us find chippers appealing.

However, I drink a lot more beer and wine than I should and I also like a toke which often leads to me eating anything remotely edible looking that I can lay my hands on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

My diet is unreal. Plenty of bread, meats, vegetables and gluten free desserts (rewards for good eating). I was inspired by the federally approved food pyramid to bring my weight down from a hefty 25 stone to a slender 24.

Just wondering why gluten free?

Seeing eat bread then you are not coeliac so there is no need to eat gluten free foods as it's no healthier than foods with gluten.

Seems to be a bit of a perception out there know with the increase of availability of gluten free foods that they're a healthier option but it is not the case.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Just wondering why gluten free?

Seeing eat bread then you are not coeliac so there is no need to eat gluten free foods as it's no healthier than foods with gluten.

Seems to be a bit of a perception out there know with the increase of availability of gluten free foods that they're a healthier option but it is not the case.

Going by the rest of the post I think that was part of the joke :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I'm the worlds laziest vegetarian(pescetarian). I can't really be bothered to eat loads of vegetables so I pretty much eat Quorn products with each meal intead of meat or chicken. I am very fussy about reading labels, animal byproducts are in all sorts of weird places. Sweets with added pork/beef gelatine, yum:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

bluewolf wrote: »
    Going by the rest of the post I think that was part of the joke :)

Yes: on second reading you're most likely right but a lot of people do think that's the case though.

I'm the worlds laziest vegetarian(pescetarian). I can't really be bothered to eat loads of vegetables so I pretty much eat Quorn products with each meal intead of meat or chicken. I am very fussy about reading labels, animal byproducts are in all sorts of weird places. Sweets with added pork/beef gelatine, yum:rolleyes:

Re you a pescetarian or a vegetarian? 'm not trying to pry just curious since you mention both :)

Are you a pescetarian or a vegetarian? I'm not trying to pry just curious since you mention both :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Lau2976 wrote: »
    Are you a pescetarian or a vegetarian? I'm not trying to pry just curious since you mention both :)

Pescetarian, but it's easier to say vegetarian since most people don't know what it is and pescetarian sounds a bit pretentious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Some days good, some days bad.

I was too lazy to make popcorn for dinner tonight so I'm eating peanut butter with a spoon instead.

Pescetarian, but it's easier to say vegetarian since most people don't know what it is and pescetarian sounds a bit pretentious.

Ah cool :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Its okay, could be better. I'm vegan and eat a lot of natural foods, don't drink, I avoid sugar Mon-Fri but let up on that at the weekend. I drink far too much tea and coffee and I think I am overdoing the nuts as well but apart from that I am okay. I have a takeaway most weekends and trying to cut back on that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭ElecKtrA

Jaysus!!! some people's diets are absolutely horrendous!!! I thought mine was relatively poor until I've read this thread lol

I never ever get takeaways...I don't drink or smoke either...but my diet needs improving!

Breakfast is nearly always a big bowl of porridge..with some chopped walnuts and raisins ... I love my breakfast and I look forward to it every morning lol..

Lunch....is a weak point....just a banana and apple.

Dinner...is generally chicken breast with cous cous...lots and lots of fresh veg...mushrooms, peppers, broccoli, red onions primarily...also I could have an omelette or frittata, egg/ham salad with chick peas....if I'm feeling really hungry and have the time then...I would make Sheppards pie. I might eat fish once a week....salmon baked in oven with some chunky chips.

Snack....tea with 3/4...maybe 5 biscuits! always a bar of chocolate...before bed...terrible habit! sometimes I bake cakes...so I'd always have a slice of that too lol.

I'm very fit...and go to the gym regularly...but at the same time I'm trying to build muscle and I'd like to eat cleaner! In the new year....I think it's time to keep the chocolate as a weekend treat only! I want to reduce my sugar intake...it's a highly addictive substance and it's about time I tackle it! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I thought mine wasn't great but going by this thread, I'm not doing too badly at all!

Breakfast is usually porridge or cereal with a glass of juice and a coffee. Lunch might be ryvita and paté, or if I'm working, some form of bread and maybe chowder. Dinner is usually pretty good, a homemade curry/bolognese/chili or steak with potatoes and veg. I love fruit and veg and usually have quite a bit, though not always my five-a-day. I might have one takeaway a month.

Chocolate and bread are my downfall though. And wine. If it wasn't for that trifecta of badness I'd probably be a stone lighter :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭CroatoanCat

Hi ethereal, your diet sounds fantastic. So glad to hear of your recovery. Sounds like you are keeping a great balance there. You must feel very strong and healthy :)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭xXxkorixXx

I'm dying with either the flu or a cold since yesterday, so yes my diet is apauling, chipper for dinner! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

I can't remember the last time I ate 3 meals in one day.

I usually eat one or two meals a day. Sometimes they are very healthy and sometimes not! If I have a craving for snacks, I'll usually replace a meal with the snacks.

I'll be honest and say that my diet is due entirely to laziness. I lost over 2 stone by exercising, running and going to the gym 4 times a week at least. Back then, I would eat a lot more. These days, I don't have the time to exercise as much so I've had to cut way back on how much I eat to maintain the weight I want to be. I could still eat tons of super healthy foods but they usually take a lot of effort to prepare.

I also drink a lot of green tea, peppermint tea and coffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

It's delicious so probably bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I once ate an entire multi-pack of Tayto Wheelies, Chickatees and Snax in one evening. Twenty-four packs altogether.

Make of that what you will.

xXxkorixXx wrote: »
    I'm dying with either the flu or a cold since yesterday, so yes my diet is apauling, chipper for dinner! :-)

Definitely just a cold if you can eat chipper!! Feel better though. Even colds are shyte.

My diet is up and down. I'm in training so I need to eat absolutely perfectly but I don't always :(

I cook everything from scratch, I cook pretty well to be fair. I've been making my own bread and snacks lately to try and be better but then the likes of this weekend I stayed in my friend's house. I had biscuits, I had a lot of guinness, and I had lovely white bread.

Today I'll have porridge with dried fruit for brekkie, an apple for snack, chilli for lunch (no rice or anything), a banana before I leave work. A recovery protein shake and lamb rogan josh (again, no rice etc). I might have a cappuccino if I feel so inclined. I'll drink at least two litres of water and I'll also run 9 miles.

That's pretty much my diet every day. Replace chilli with soup most of the time and I might have hummus and celery sticks in the afternoon if I'm not running straight after work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

It was a good week up until weekend. All week I had good enough food and proper amountsof it. Even did my cardio all 5 days.
    Then weekend came in. Me and lads had an Russian sauna on Saturday night with staying in. So savage night of drink, smoke and food and sauna. Next day, when I finally got home, I went for a big feck off kebab. It was lovely, but today my stomach and "hole" are in bits... I am already on throne 3 times since I started work at 6:00... I just can't handle greasy kebabs as I used too...