Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Water meter protests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

All the more money going into Gardai pockets.. overtime, danger money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,856 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Graces7 wrote: »

Damn those guards getting paid to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

SpaceTime wrote: »
    My concern is that I think there's always a tipping point when a general sense of discontentment can turn into the same kind of situation Mrs Thatcher created with Poll Tax - that turned very ugly for a while.

The Government is really walking too close to that side of the seesaw at the moment. I'm genuinely noticing more evidence that this is starting to snowball.

Every country needs a revolution every now and then. If ever a nation needed one it's this one.

Things have to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Violence is the only solution in this country. Anything else will just be ignored and forgotten about until the next scandal. I wouldn't condone violence against people or anything like that but maybe a bit of criminal damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

niallo27 wrote: »
    Violence is the only solution in this country. Anything else will just be ignored and forgotten about until the next scandal. I wouldn't condone violence against people or anything like that but maybe a bit of criminal damage.

Contradictory statement much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

No we need mass civil disobedience not violence.

Contradictory statement much?

You know what I mean. These marches aren't worth a bollox. They are just being ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Yes let's wreck our streets and cause more burden to the tax payer to fix the carnage.

I do wonder sometimes.

No we need mass civil disobedience not violence.

What is your idea of mass civil disobedience.

Jaysis you would swear somebody had actually laid a hand on a politician with the mass hysteria going on over Joan Burton.

Irish people are such shrinking violets these days, "oh no there was a hint of malice in the air.....oh how awful!"

For crying out loud, a little bit of jostling of a car, give me a break.

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Yes let's wreck our streets and cause more burden to the tax payer to fix the carnage.

I do wonder sometimes.

What do we have now. A few thousand people walking down the street. What are the politicians saying. Ya let's pretend we give a ****. Sure them fools will will have forgotten about this in a month and we can **** them over again.

Jaysis you would swear somebody had actually laid a hand on a politician with the mass hysteria going on over Joan Burton.

Irish people are such shrinking violets these days, "oh no there was a hint of malice in the air.....oh how awful!"

You can say the same about the garda's handling of the protestors.

A few shoves here and there and the people are whinging and crying.

What do we have now. A few thousand people walking down the street. What are the politicians saying. Ya let's pretend we give a ****. Sure them fools will will have forgotten about this in a month and we can **** them over again.

So your plan is to wreck our streets and possibly injure our citizens?

Great plan.

So your plan is to wreck our streets and possibly injure our citizens?

Great plan.

Jaysus don't over exaggerate anyway.

So can you post your organised plan for a bit if civil disobedience, including your measures to prevent injury to people yet wreck a few buildings.

You gonna have a buffer zone and barriers set up etc?

You can say the same about the garda's handling of the protestors.

A few shoves here and there and the people are whinging and crying.

The difference is:

1) The Gardaí are professionally trained (apparently) and have consistently over-reacted to any public demonstrations (remember the nut job beating emo kids with a truncheon at a May Day protest years ago, or the use of dogs on a anti student fees demo a couple of years ago?).
    2) Your statement gives a clue, because nobody laid a finger on Joan Burton. A water balloon was thrown, fair enough, but nobody smashed the windows of the car or anything

So can you post your organised plan for a bit if civil disobedience, including your measures to prevent injury to people yet wreck a few buildings.

You gonna have a buffer zone and barriers set up etc?

What's the alternative though. Roll over and get ****ed again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Ah yes....those Gardai....how dare they get paid for doing their job :rolleyes:

They may not have physically touched Joan B but they trapped her in her car for over two hours then chased after her when she got out.

Now I understand that people are angry, although I do think a lot of it is being exaggerated and jumping on the bandwagon, but trapping some-one like that is completely unacceptable in my book.

It's gone far beyond so-called peaceful protests now, people are acting like thugs and animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

How dare they work when needed!

Danger money? Please have a bit more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

They may not have physically touched Joan B but they trapped her in her car for over two hours then chased after her when she got out.

They did physically touch her when she was hit by the water balloon. It wasn't going to cause her any major harm but it was physically touching her nonetheless.

It's gone far beyond so-called peaceful protests now, people are acting like thugs and animals.

To summarise:

Hundreds of thousands of citizens have protested peacefully in the past few weeks. A couple have been a bit too robust, the worst of that has been manifested in a water balloon and surrounding a car.

Yes it really has gone "far beyond" peaceful. :rolleyes: Jeez, you don't really leave much room for further escalation do you?

Did you see the protests on the news in Kiev last Jan/Feb? Now THAT's what it looks like when a protest goes "far beyond peaceful".

Not a piddling little water balloon for crying out loud.

Phoebas wrote: »
    They did physically touch her when she was hit by the water balloon. It wasn't going to cause her any major harm but it was physically touching her nonetheless.

Yes you're right, I'd forgotten that!

I'm sure the whole experience was very frightening for her though, if she wasn't hurt.

To summarise:

Hundreds of thousands of citizens have protested peacefully in the past few weeks. A couple have been a bit too robust, the worst of that has been manifested in a water balloon and surrounding a car.

Yes it really has gone "far beyond" peaceful. :rolleyes: Jeez, you don't really leave much room for further escalation do you?

Did you see the protests on the news in Kiev last Jan/Feb? Now THAT's what it looks like when a protest goes "far beyond peaceful".

I wasn't just referring to that and you know it.

If you think what has been happening over the last number weeks peaceful protesting then you must be either delusional or living under a rock.

Either way you need a reality check.

I wasn't just referring to that and you know it.

If you think what has been happening over the last number weeks peaceful protesting then you must be either delusional or living under a rock.

Either way you need a reality check.

Exactly what is the most extreme thing that you are referring to?

Did anyone occupy government buildings? What's the extent of this "savagery" that has you so perturbed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

Not something anyone should do to any freeman or woman. :pac:

The reaction on here is an example of why we will continue to get ****ed over in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

To summarise:

You appear to have forgotten the bricking of Gardai. It was kind of a big deal around here. Not sure how you could have accidentally forgotten it.

Exactly what is the most extreme thing that you are referring to?

Did anyone occupy government buildings? What's the extent of this "savagery" that has you so perturbed?

People chasing after politicians, throwing things after them, trapping a woman in her car and attempting to tip it over, attacking Gardai isn't enough for you?

Just stop pretending you can't see it, will you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

The reaction on here is an example of why we will continue to get ****ed over in this country.

Yes, there is nothing like the bullying and intimidation of a woman, by holding her hostage in her car, to really get the ball rolling for social and political rebellion.

Cowards and idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

100% this.

I have been on the water protest marches and some of the anti austerity ones and I think the disgraceful behaviour of the rabble in jobstown will turn people off the anti water charges campaign.
    what is making this campaign successful is that it have brought in working and middle class people and united people who would normally be at loggerheads.
    Scenes like jobstown and idiots shouting "peaceful protest" will only serve to break those recently formed bonds.
    You will always have a few nuts in a big campaign like the anti-water charges - but what you hope is so called leaders behaving with some decorum. but no.

Fionnan Sheahan is right in todays Indo - Paul Murphy TD is immature.
    I'd go further and say he is a clown - he doesn't realise how to handle this platform he has at the moment and will blow it for the sake of a shaking his fist at the man. Real small minded stuff.

The Shinners arent any better - as I saw Sean Crowe TDs facebook at the weekend gloating over the Joan Burton incident and calling the gardai "hapless". All for the sake of a few LOLz and internet high 5s.

Has it come to this where they might be fcukers in the extreme but FF and FG are the only crowd able to handle power?
    Their policies suck balls - i want change - but who can handle it?

depressed and angry , as I know people who were on water protests in the past but wary of being tagged with socialists/shinners who will now withdraw there support.