Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    Daith wrote: »
    Fairly sure the injunction excludes actual residents of the area?

What if they are a relative / visitor ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭Daith

Stargate wrote: »
    What if they are a relative / visitor ?

Cutting your grass? Fair play to you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

either way, getting our water written down as owned by the irish people will be one step towards helping things change.

What?

Keeping things the same will be a step towards helping things change?

Do you even know yourself what you're looking for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

What?

Keeping things the same will be a step towards helping things change?

Do you even know yourself what you're looking for?

keeping things from getting into private hands will be a step towards showing the irish people that they actully have a say in what their government does, despite kenny & co. acting otherwise.

i know exactly what i'm looking for, ive stated it on numerous occasions in this thread.

Cutting your grass? Fair play to you!

Ah now Daith :) was using it as an example is all , i think you missed the point of my question . It's not about cutting grass lol , the injunction as far as i know says 20 meters. Surly its impossible for people to go about their normal day without them breaking said injunction unintentionally . Should they be arrested too was my question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    moxin wrote: »
    And yes, please point out the convictions for said assaults?

The Gardai attacked a pensioner at Santry, you saw the video. They provoked the crowd which grew exponentially at Coolock hence this slur today from Denis O'Brien owned Indo and GMC Sierra.

Convictions? it only happened the other day. How would there be convictions?

You could certainly argue the crowd at the clinic were provoked by seeing a woman being pushed and falling to the ground but we aren't talking about the clinic. What you are saying is that the crowd were provoked at the clinic and then formed a mob to attack the Gardaí at the station causing both injury and damage. You seem perfectly ok with this. I am not.

keeping things from getting into private hands will be a step towards showing the irish people that they actully have a say in what their government does, despite kenny & co. acting otherwise.

i know exactly what i'm looking for, ive stated it on numerous occasions in this thread.

I think I understand.

You want to keep things exactly as they are now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,353 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I think its fair to say that this little incident. And lets be clear it is just that. Was engineered by Endas back room team to attempt to deflect from the issue at hand.

Why would Enda Kenny and a certain member of the Irish Water Contracts winning appear in an area that has been known as a hot bed for Anti Irish Water sentiment and protest.

Its quite clear this was manufactured to get headlines and get some heat of the actual debate here. Which is why we are getting delay tactics after delay tactics.

"we will have an answer within the next 2 weeks"

They are engineering stunts and trying to gauge reaction. People can see straight through it. This stunt did little more than to antagonise the Gardai into pulling out support for installations in that locality.

Eyes are still firmly on the ball Enda.

I think I understand.

You want to keep things exactly as they are now?

is understanding things completely incorrectly an everyday issue for you? because if it is you should probably just ignore this thread, rather than continually look like you're either:

A. a fool.

or

B. trying really hard to be smart but failing miserably.

Ah now Daith :) was using it as an example is all , i think you missed the point of my question . It's not about cutting grass lol , the injunction as far as i know says 20 meters. Surly its impossible for people to go about their normal day without them breaking said injunction unintentionally . Should they be arrested too was my question

Yes of course they'll be arrested and probably be sold as slave labour for some Denis O'Brien company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Convictions? it only happened the other day. How would there be convictions?

Protests against water meter installations and the GMC allegations have been going on since February.
    You could certainly argue the crowd at the clinic were provoked by seeing a woman being pushed and falling to the ground but we aren't talking about the clinic. What you are saying is that the crowd were provoked at the clinic and then formed a mob to attack the Gardaí at the station causing both injury and damage. You seem perfectly ok with this. I am not.

The Gardai attacked women at Santry. Then pepper sprayed more women at Coolock Garda station where the arrested at Santry were brought to, there are pictures in the newspapers and FB of the results of the pepper spray. Then their male relatives rightly got upset and shouted and marched around the Garda station, no evidence of injury and damage there unless you are making it up?

I wonder how much support these marches would attract if the organisers arranged for people to march behind banners proclaiming 'Water should be funded through increased PAYE taxation rates' or 'Politicians to continue to decide on appropriate levels of investment'?

That's the reality though.

All very well to chant "No No No" to water charges, but water will need to be paid for by someone.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    Tony EH wrote: »
    But, it is that easy, IF the agenda was really about fixing the leaks and conservation, which, I think most honest people agree by now, it isn't.

As usual, ripoff Ireland kicked in and the charges got tangled up with lots of of other crap, until we end up with extreme bloat and jobs/perks/bonuses for the boys in an unnecessary billing company that Fine Gael and their buddies were hoping the Irish people would just simply accept.

The agenda has to be about a lot more than just fixing the leaks and conservation, it's about changing the whole way that the political system operates, and how some of that system is paid for,

The emphasis in this thread has been heavily on the potable water side of water, and while that is important, the other side of the coin is the waste water treatment side, and that's way more complex in many respects, and significantly more expensive than providing the water, in that the waste side has to deal with not only domestic waste, which is relatively simple, but the same system also has to deal with all manner of trade effluent, which varies from day to day, and from location to location, and if it is not correctly assessed and the right treatment systems used, it can cause all manner of problems in the treatment facility, and further downstream.

Historically, waste water has been very poorly managed in Ireland, if at all managed in some areas, and those failings are one of the reasons for the high levels of boil notices in some areas, and dealing correctly with those issues is going to be expensive and time consuming, and will not succeed unless the whole process is removed from short term political interference, it is a long term fundamental project that can no longer be long fingered without costing Ireland huge penalties in EU fines for failing to comply with regulations and directives that have been in place for (in some cases) over 10 years.

For a country the size of Ireland, and with the population distribution we have, it really is not appropriate to have multiple small units dealing with all aspects of water, the right level is to have one national body, and to significantly enhance the ability of that central unit to analyse, manage and deal with the waste water side. Most of that infrastructure is not effectively in place, some of it may be there at local levels, but the overall structure is inadequate, and it HAS to be made fit for purpose in order to keep people and our environment safe.

There are also issues with water harvesting, processing and distribution that will be better managed at a national level without having to worry about local or county borders, and there are significant benefits in having treatment facilities that then provide water to a wider area than just a local town.

A significant part of this sort of infrastructure is absent through neglect. It is needed in order to comply with European legislation, and to ensure that we meet our obligations.

What such an organisation does NOT need is the baggage of semi state structure, semi state dead wood that's been moved sideways by the local authorities, semi state "entitlement" culture, and semi state senior management with a visible track record of failure in previous roles in other semi state organisations.

That's why it wasn't easy, there are over 2000 people in IW that they didn't need, but they got anyway.

What needs to happen is that the political elite need to recognise that we have seen through their deceptions and self serving, and are no longer prepared to blindly bank roll their excesses and inappropriate activities, and that change needs to also extend to the state services, where many outdated and inappropriate practices and methods have to be ended.

I am under no illusions, this is not going to be easy, or quick, and it will take some very dedicated people to make it happen, and some of them are going to have to be considerably younger than me in order to make sure that the necessary changes are carried through, and made a permanent part of the new structure.

It would have been far more painful if the IMF/Troika had forced through these changes, as they would not have allowed any flexibility or fudge factors, and they would also have ensured that the changes made were permanent. That didn't happen, so it's down to the people of this country to make the politicians aware that we no longer accept their methods, or party structures or cronyism, corruption and greed, and all the other things that have been highlighted over the last number of weeks in this thread.

So no, it's not going to be easy, as it's about far more than just leaks and conservation.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

is understanding things completely incorrectly an everyday issue for you? because if it is you should probably just ignore this thread, rather than continually look like you're either:

A. a fool.

or

B. trying really hard to be smart but failing miserably.

It's hardly my fault you can't properly explain your position.

let's try again - How would you like water provision to be funded going forward?

Yes of course they'll be arrested and probably be sold as slave labour for some Denis O'Brien company.

Denis "Banks write off €300m in three deals , Siteserv , Topaz and Beacon Hospital " O'Brien

All very well to chant "No No No" to water charges, but water will need to be paid for by someone.

It is already paid for by everyone through indirect taxation. You want us to pay twice for it which is outrageous.

It's hardly my fault you can't properly explain your position.

let's try again - How would you like water provision to be funded going forward?

and its hardly my fault you cant keep up with what was on your screen 3 pages back.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92936897&postcount=295

Denis "Banks write off €300m in three deals , Siteserv , Topaz and Beacon Hospital " O'Brien

Sounds like the issue is with the banks tbh?
    It is already paid for by everyone through indirect taxation. You want us to pay twice for it which is outrageous.

Not twice. Pay more. Either a separate company or through increased taxation. I've no problem with either but IW now come across as a right entitled quango

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

How many times will you pay for water next week? or next month?

and its hardly my fault you cant keep up with what was on your screen 3 pages back.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92936897&postcount=295

So, an income related taxation that makes no allowance for actual usage - am I understanding that correctly?

Because, that's pretty much what we have now - which was my point.

So, an income related taxation that makes no allowance for actual usage - am I understanding that correctly?

Would you be against an assessed charge for water then?

No, your post was wrong, it WAS paid for by SOME through indirect taxation, but in order to meet our obligations under EU regulations and directives, it WILL be paid for by the consumer going forward, and in order to be fair, it will be paid for on the basis of metered consumption.

That part of it is fixed and irrevocable.

After that, the exact how is now back in the melting pot, for all the reasons that are being argued about in this thread, and clearly, the Government parties are in deep trouble, as even they can't agree about how the new system is going to work.

The only thing we can be sure of is that some form of new system that will be based on the consumer paying will be in place at the end of the discussions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Protests against water meter installations and the GMC allegations have been going on since February.

The Gardai attacked women at Santry. Then pepper sprayed more women at Coolock Garda station where the arrested at Santry were brought to, there are pictures in the newspapers and FB of the results of the pepper spray. Then their male relatives rightly got upset and shouted and marched around the Garda station, no evidence of injury and damage there unless you are making it up?

So you think they just pepper sprayed women at the station for the craic and this riled up the crowd? What's sad is you've probably convinced yourself this is true.

it WILL be paid for by the consumer going forward, and in order to be fair, it will be paid for on the basis of metered consumption.

That part of it is fixed and irrevocable.

How is it fixed if not everyone can be metered?

Because, that's pretty much what we have now - which was my point.

well is that not better than a half metered/half arsed model they're currently rolling out?

how is it acceptable to you that someone on a set charge can run their water all day and still pay less than someone who conserves with a meter?

its either ALL or look for another way. the current model just creates more financial divisions.

transparent taxation that is directly passed on to the actual service would be preferable until they come up with a way to pay that's FAIR to everybody and not just one that suits the government because they already hung their bollox on it.

Would you be against an assessed charge for water then?

I think people should pay for water based primarily on usage with appropriate protections for those vulnerable members of our society who are unable afford to.

Usage based payments will encourage people to conserve water which is likely to become a scarcer and more expensive resource for society to provide as population levels increase in the future

I think people should pay for water based primarily on usage with appropriate protections for those vulnerable members of our society who are unable afford to.

i dont think we're a million miles away from each other. my issue is with the sytem they've set up, not the paying for water part. as long as the system is fair, transparent and kept in public hands then i'll happily pay a fair price.

How is it fixed if not everyone can be metered?

For now, it will be on the basis of a standard charge based on occupancy, which wont be that far adrift, there are plenty of figures for water use available from other countries where they've metered for years.

What should have happened is that metering should not have been optional for some areas, such as apartments. There are ways to deal with that, but it needs some clear heads to put it into place and make it happen, there are very few places where it is impossible to put meters into place,

I don't see any places where ESB supplies power without a meter, (other than for things like street lights, where the usage can be very precisely calculated), if they can do it, so can the water authority. Maybe not from day 1, but certainly before too much time elapses.

Valetta wrote: »
    How many times will you pay for water next week? or next month?

My motor tax and VAT has paid for it already and continues to do so.