Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

zerks wrote: »
    I've said it before & I'll say it again - even a portion of the USC would more than fund water provision.

Given that we're currently borrowing over half a billion a month, I doubt it.

Even if we weren't, funding water out of central taxation doesn't work. If you want evidence of this, you can look at the creaking system we have now which has been funded in this manner since abolition of rates in the early 70's

Do you really trust politicians to make decision which are in the best long-term interest of society when it comes to capital investment in infrastructure, or do you think they'll spend the least amount possible and use the rest to fund give-aways budgets to try to secure their re-election 18months down the line?

I know what I'd prefer, and the current system isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,251 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    Red Pepper wrote: »
    I work in PR and I have some friends that are working close to the government. I am hearing that there is a huge drive this week to fill the media with non Irish Water stories - everything and anything to get Irish Water off the headlines. For example, the timing of new job announcements and FF/bailout letters last/this week isn't coincidental. The government are really scared this time. It's interesting.

I said that yesterday in the other thread when the contents of the Trichet letter were announced, but of course the "usual suspects" tried to suggest that it was totally unrelated :rolleyes:
    I am surprised this government have a PR department. Coming off the back of arguably the worst FF government in the history of the state, it is hard to fathom how badly wrong FG and Labour have got it. They have just plodded from one crisis or screw-up to another.

That's been the hallmark of Kenny's government.. do nothing except plod along and wait and see, but claim credit for any upswing as a result of a general (but apparently short-lived) improvement in Europe or private enterprise creating jobs.

As for PR.. this government have taken spin to a whole new level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Sounds like the government have decided to take stock of things and actually put some thought into the implementation of the water charges. It was stupid to try rush it through so fast.

There taking stock of feck all, all there doing is taking time to see if they can get away with deducting wages etc etc without using revenue if people don't pay

they'll also come out with more half arsed attempts to sweeten the pot to get people to sign up, stalling tactics is all while they run around with there arse in the wind

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

VinLieger wrote: »
    And that's also an incredibly sweeping statement, you can assure US that every single protestor marching knows what they are marching for and isn't just a sheep? There isn't one person in the country jumping on the bandwagon? How do you know this, did you talk to all of them?

Here is your reply, you accused another poster of speaking for all the protesters,while at the same time,took on this mantle yourself of representing the posters on this thread,no less.Note the word US

Sad.

Prevarication ensues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,931 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    gladrags wrote: »
    Here is your reply, you accused another poster of speaking for all the protesters,while at the same time,took on this mantle yourself of representing the posters on this thread,no less.Note the word US

Sad.

Prevarication ensues.

Ugh get over yourself if that's your biggest problem in the world right now you might want to turn of the computer and get a life.

Gonna take a break from this as im getting tired of beating my head against a wall and the constant attempts to derail the discussion away from what needs to be discussed and that's paying for water be it through IW or some other mean's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

I agree with metered water charges
    I work in PR and I have some friends that are working close to the government. I am hearing that there is a huge drive this week to fill the media with non Irish Water stories - everything and anything to get Irish Water off the headlines. For example, the timing of new job announcements and FF/bailout letters last/this week isn't coincidental. The government are really scared this time. It's interesting.

It's been pretty blatant this week tbh. Some of the stuff on RTE in particular is laughable. I don't know if they have a direct line to government's PR department but it would seem like it a lot of the time. Public service broadcaster my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Given that we're currently borrowing over half a billion a month, I doubt it.

Even if we weren't, funding water out of central taxation doesn't work. If you want evidence of this, you can look at the creaking system we have now which has been funded in this manner since abolition of rates in the early 70's

Do you really trust politicians to make decision which are in the best long-term interest of society when it comes to capital investment in infrastructure, or do you think they'll spend the least amount possible and use the rest to fund give-aways budgets to try to secure their re-election 18months down the line?

I know what I'd prefer, and the current system isn't it.

Strangely,for the first time I partly agree with you regarding the government's way of doing things.Improving infrastructure has always been low on their list of priorities no matter which party was in charge.IW isn't going to cure this either,too many vested interests which even in it's embryonic stage are using it as a way to improve their lot either financially or career wise,anyone who thinks they are the good guys that will cure all that's wrong with water provision & treatment are deluded.
    Politicians in this country have always been self serving & the mess that IW is is just a symptom of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    Bit more about the protest at Coolock from the Indo today.
    It has emerged that known activists associated with members of the Real IRA faction, formerly led by Alan Ryan, have hijacked a series of protests on the northside of Dublin.

The violence escalated on Wednesday night outside Coolock garda station on the northside of Dublin where a large group of demonstrators, mainly comprising genuine householders protesting against the proposed charges, had gathered.

During the violence, which involved the dissidents, a garda inspector was badly attacked, a female garda had a car window smashed and a volley of missiles was fired at the garda station.

Genuine protestors need to seperate themselves from these people or their message will be lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Genuine protestors need to seperate themselves from these people or their message will be lost.

Denis O'Brien owns GMC Sierra(water meter installers) and has the biggest shareholder stake in the Indo.
    Labelling a million people as part of the H2O IRA, sad to see you falling for the propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,262 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

I heard the Shinner McDonald on the radio yesterday evening. Sweep away the bluster and the SF solution to provision of water is to increase income taxes - is this what most protestors want?
    Other than the profession SW class, who are used to getting everything paid for by others, I doubt it.

Yes, the SF budget proposes to increase income taxes, as you'd expect from a socialist party, no surprise there.

Anybody earning above 32,800 and paying pension conts would face higher income taxes.

Of course, they wouldn't have to pay water charges or LPT.

Socialist parties tend to favour higher direct income taxes rather than indirect taxes.

Strangely,for the first time I partly agree with you regarding the government's way of doing things.Improving infrastructure has always been low on their list of priorities no matter which party was in charge.IW isn't going to cure this either,too many vested interests which even in it's embryonic stage are using it as a way to improve their lot either financially or career wise,anyone who thinks they are the good guys that will cure all that's wrong with water provision & treatment are deluded.
    Politicians in this country have always been self serving & the mess that IW is is just a symptom of this.

So what's your solution then.

You don't want a dedicated body to deal with water-provision, you don't want the current political system of funding it.

I presume you have a third way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

moxin wrote: »
    Denis O'Brien owns GMC Sierra(water meter installers) and has the biggest shareholder stake in the Indo.
    Labelling a million people as part of the H2O IRA, sad to see you falling for the propaganda.

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

VinLieger wrote: »
    Gonna take a break from this as im getting tired of beating my head against a wall and the constant attempts to derail the discussion away from what needs to be discussed and that's paying for water be it through IW or some other mean's

You should have considered the above before you jumped in with your double stanards,and hypocrisy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

MOD

Gladrags and Vienlieger, can ye give it a rest and get back on topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Surprised they haven't attempted to try to link protests to Isis at this stage.

If there's one thing FG excel at, it's divide and conquer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    MOD

Gladrags and Vienlieger, can ye give it a rest and get back on topic.

It's just handbags at this stage ;)

Valetta wrote: »
    What?

It says exactly what it says on the tin. Open your eyes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

if the political parties worldwide weren't experts at divide and conquer the people would be in control, nothing exclusively Irish about this tactic at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,592 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

if the political parties worldwide weren't experts at divide and conquer the people would be in control, nothing exclusively Irish about this tactic at all

Insightful as always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

There is a political element to all these marches and the organisation thereof.
    Thats to be expected and quite normal.
    At the more extremes ends there are undoubtedly subversive and dissident factions trying to generate inappropriate responses from the guards.
    A very dangerous game indeed and one which will, hopefully, end up being counterproductive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

My sources tell me that the FG parliamentary party meetings are very tense. They don't want a snap General Election. At the same time there is an understanding that SF dont want one either. SF are happy to let the government plod along from crisis to crisis for now and they also want to put some distance on the bad press Gerry Adams was getting. They expect SF to get up to 30 seats in the next GE, the question is at who's expense. The Labour parliamentary party meetings are a more closed shop but I expect they are worried. The big worry now is that when the pressure increases, Enda says or does stupid things (think Seanad) so he is being carefully managed.

It says exactly what it says on the tin. Open your eyes.

Nobody labelled one million people as part of H2O IRA - whatever that is, so your post is meaningless.

Probably best off deleting it and trying again with something that bears some resemblence to reality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

There is a political element to all these marches and the organisation thereof.
    Thats to be expected and quite normal.
    At the more extremes ends there are undoubtedly subversive and dissident factions trying to generate inappropriate responses from the guards.
    A very dangerous game indeed and one which will, hopefully, end up being counterproductive.

you do realise innocent women were seriously assaulted and pepper sprayed during the day by the garda? i know who's doing the provoking and it wasn't the "dissidents" you speak of
    My sources tell me that the FG parliamentary party meetings are very tense. They don't want a snap General Election. At the same time there is an understanding that SF dont want one either. SF are happy to let the government plod along from crisis to crisis for now and they also want to put some distance on the bad press Gerry Adams was getting. They expect SF to get up to 30 seats in the next GE, the question is at who's expense. The Labour parliamentary party meetings are a more closed shop but I expect they are worried. The big worry now is that when the pressure increases, Enda says or does stupid things (think Seanad) so he is being carefully managed.

well tough $hit, the people will decide when the next election is ;)

Nobody labelled one million people as part of H2O IRA - whatever that is, so your post is meaningless.

Probably best off deleting it and trying again with something that bears some resemblence to reality.

Denis O'Briens Indo in an act of desperation to save water charges labelled the protest movement as dissidents. Mud won't stick this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Who said that? You're just making something up, attributing it to others and then arguing against it instead of what they actually said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Insightful as always.

He's correct.

Even the Indos sensationalist headlines today have a picture of a car upturned, gas mask wearing rioters throwing misiles.....

Only thing, it was photos taken in Brussels..... Very Misleading, but obviously completely coincidental.

Denis O'Briens Indo in an act of desperation to save water charges labelled the protest movement as dissidents. Mud won't stick this time.

So they didn't label one million people as anything at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

So what's your solution then.

You don't want a dedicated body to deal with water-provision, you don't want the current political system of funding it.

I presume you have a third way.

I've said it before,streamline the water divisions of the LA's,we don't need one for each county & they are doing the groundworks anyway.Ringfence finance for water and cut out the middle man (IW).
    As it stands,IW are only a billing service dressed up to look something more than what they are.Of course being Ireland,things have been done arseways & a quango has been set up rather than sitting down & doing the right thing which might actually be value for money.

I've said it before,streamline the water divisions of the LA's,we don't need one for each county & they are doing the groundworks anyway.Ringfence finance for water and cut out the middle man (IW).
    As it stands,IW are only a billing service dressed up to look something more than what they are.Of course being Ireland,things have been done arseways & a quango has been set up rather than sitting down & doing the right thing which might actually be value for money.

Can you explain how this is done without a separate charge for water-usage.

What exactly is being ring-fenced and who is determining the amount to ring-fence?
    How often is the amount of ring-fenced funds determined and on what basis?

So they didn't label one million people as anything at all.
    Who said that? You're just making something up, attributing it to others and then arguing against it instead of what they actually said.

Yes they did. With a photo of a Brussels riot on the front page!!

Headline
    "Water protests infiltrated by dissidents as meters on hold" That there is labeling a million people as part of the H2O IRA.

And they mentioned that a "Garda inspector was badly attacked" according to their mysterious source. First report of that, even the Gardai themselves never reported that yet!