Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• 15-10-2014 12:40pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Previous thread reached post limit.
    Enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Munster Ladies football Final Sat 18th Oct at 4pm in Killmallock Mourneabby versus The Banner(Clare)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Tomás McCarthy @tomasmcc · 1m 1 minute ago
    @Munsterpps Full Time Midleton CBS 0-11 High School Clonmel 0-10 Gary Leahy with last gasp winner

Munster P.P.S. @Munsterpps · 2m 2 minutes ago
    Dr. Harty Cup Result - Gaelcholáiste Mhuire 2-14 St Colman’s 0-7

Dr. Harty Cup result : PS na Tr. Youghal 0:15 v St. Caimin's 0:13, 2 wins from 2 for the Youghal Boys,#goingwell,@Munsterpps.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Harty cup in charville Wet ptich,damp but no real heavy rain very strong breeze though
    Full time youghal 0-15 Caoimhins  0-13

St caoimhins

Paul kinnerk clare coach coaching them
    Jason loughnne goals
    Damien o connor cratloe
    Cathal lynch full back  normally forward but their orignal full back was injured

kieran o connor cratloe
    guillfoyle wing back
    Ben gorman centreback
    Patrick mulready wing back
    Rory hayes midfield clare minor 1
    Dean devanney 2 point
    JackCunningham wing  aron clare u 21  brother
    Eoin flynn centre forward
    Darragh.mcmahon half forward
    Hayes newmarket
    Aron shanagher 9 7f
    Caragh agnew 1 point
       Subs brian o connor wolfe tones came on for hayes newmarket

Youghal

Harry olliphant youghal two great saves to stop shanagher ,plus one supberb save then 2 up ,saved a jack cunningham certain goal on

jack rourke killeagh st itsas
    Bobby mccarthhy st itas
    Bill mcgrath youghal
    Cathal deane st itas st itas superb long distance point
    Kevin murphy killeagh st itas
    Matthew farell youghal 1 point
    John paul lucey bride rovers
    Eddie o halloran clasmore
    Danny walsh youghal
    Declan dalton fr o.neills 12 8f 2wides and one free also dropped short injured right leg early
    Ten minutes left declan dalton got a bad belt ,wasnt intended,was injured but then fine again
    Made of strong stuff he is
    Was held from play quite well but placed ball was reason they won
    With two points up,they dropped him back as a full back sweeper just behind shanagher,knew only goal beat them
    He sweeped up two great balls
    Man of the match considering he got most of the teams scores

Connor hennessy youghal
    Chris morrisy youghal
    Darragh o brien killeagh plays full back for killeagh got a vital point 1
    Andrew seoige youghal

Subs

Alan mccaryhy clasmore
    Ryan coady youghal
    Jack merkushev st itas
    Darragh o connell youghal
    Padraig delaney st itas
    Edmond hynes clasmore
    Conor lynch clashmore
    Kenneth cantilliom st itas
    Oisin murphy fr o neills
    Charie bryan ardmore
    David ogbebor st itas
    Emmet barron st itas
    Liam cody youghal

Half time the score was youghal ten caoimhins six
    Decalton dalton 5 frees just one wide exhibtion long distance point scoring in that half from both play and placed ball,but mainly placed balls,anywhere within 65 metres.

A great win,youghal top of the group now,but tough games ahead,over relliance on dalton could catch them down the line,rochestown could have too much for them imo with shane  kingston also lethal for rochestown
    Roceshtown are in their group and while caoimhin will improve after this their st game rochestown should respect both opponents but fear not either of them imo.
    Charville are in the group also but after two losses unlilkey to qualify imo.
    Rochestown had a,bye this round,level with templemore on 2 pts  but a game in hand.
    Youghal have four from two games.Likely we get at least one cork team if not two from thos group which is fantastic news for cork hurling

Christy cooney was there at the match also,a real hurling man through and through.Great to see men of hes standing at school games supporting hes own

Great result for youghal,outside of my mom dalton,olliphant in goal,bobby mccarthy at full back, cathal deane and kevin murphy at half back,bobby o halloran,jp lucey at midfied were outstanding.
    Cathal Deane at half back,16 only i think ,was supberb,great point from wing back ,is one the cork minor selectors imo should monitor.For caimhins,Shanagher clare minor again next year,mulready,gorman ,and hayes at midfield were very good.
    Well done to all on a fine win for Youghal,unbelivable and great to see for such a small school compared to others.Immense credit due.
    Caoimhins will improve,and play nice brand,clare style of hurling under kinnerk.

On a side note, Wasnt at yesterdays harty cup game,but tim o mahony newtown got a goal again
    In hes last four games,club and school,six goals
    The one game he didnt get a goal v rochestown,just played,newtown,tuesday evining but still played well.
    Picking a  cork minor team now,he has got to be on it,simply has to be, having excelled at school,u 21,held hes own at senior against davy glynn ucc and darren mannix,this lad will only improve.
    Watched him since u 13,upward progession.
    He has superb hands,strong,pace,hurling,no soft scoring nonense,goal is on he goes for it.
    Morrisey limerick minor outstanding all year for them,o mahony,similar player but better than tom,tom is very good thats how good tim is.
    He has a steely resolve,hunger,real drive within.
    Like pa callaghan,the rare blend of fast tappy skill,but power in the air,pace on the ground,strong on the inside,beaitfuil on the field of play,the new breed of player,cork hurling craves for.A workhorse also but real craft,guile and there is more in him.
    Eoghan kinery overage now,is another to watch,real potential,okay v limerick but boxed in at corner forward does not suit hes,style of play.

Anybody know who got ag mhuires two goals please?
    Good day again for most cork schools in the harty cup.Well done all.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

Dwayne lee got the two goals. De Mon well on top all through game. Don't have names. But center back and two corner forwards very good.

Merkushev and Ogbebor are Killeagh. So is Cantillion iirc.

Orizio wrote: »
    Merkushev and Ogbebor are Killeagh. So is Cantillion iirc.

Yes i do know that.
    Killeagh st itas is their club at minor ,i said itas simply that as actually at match,hands so cold wanted make it as short as i could
    And that report wasnt for just you other knowelagble posters knew well exactly.what i meant in st itas.

Jack o rourke.,bobby mccarthy,deane same club etc
    I dont with all due respect need you.telling me what i need to know when i know too well where they from and practially all i need to know bout them hurling wise.
    Youre great to sit back and identify mistakes of others,well done. Thanks

Rebel norrie thanks a lot,much appreciated.,dayne lee is unreal and the other forwards eetr probaly dan gunning and evan sheehan.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,273 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Looks like a winning start to the thread, some good results today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Breadandbutter

TTM I'm copying your HARTY report into HARTY thread - presume that's ok !

No bother work away any time lad

• Registered Users Posts: 3 under study

Who are going to be crowned county senior football champions next sunday,I am really looking forward to this on, it's very hard to call there will be some fascinating match ups throughout the field,I fancy Ross to shade it as they seem to have the measure of Ballincollig over the last couple of years and in this years Tadgh Crowley final they won comfotably but i know it will be a lot tighter on Sunday

This is from the score.ie

[

That’s the headline in Bild
     as they bemoan a second successive qualification game where Germany failed to claim victory.
    “Clearly, something more creative would have done well against Ireland. What disturbs rather, are the many lapses of concentration, bad passes and arrogance. A world champion should never act negligently or arrogant.”

]

My view

This is the german media reaction after last night.
    I think it is very relative to here,this thread imo as it shows the perception of attuide on acceptance of standards and perception of focus compared to cork gaa at times.

Here you have the world champions just weeks in,just two bad results but proven players and manager missing key players,but as boateng their player also said they have no excues,shows why germany will bounce back be force in the euros,simply as the media demand more and world champions doesnt give them immunity,they wont accept sloppy passing or their Key word is arrogrance in any game they play.

In their eyes a world champion should never act negilenty or arrorgantly.Made the hair stand on my head.
    Like cody in kilkenny,all blacks in rubgy,kerry in football they demand a mininim standard all the time ,whether youre winning or loosing.
    Now what some may think is germany overreacting,its not,its ruthless truth and honesty in all corners such that germany wont drop of in their standards.

Cork get hammered,worst home defeat in twenty years over yet no uproar,no inquest more of it was just a bad day,a freak results.in year one,give cork time.
    Germany like cork hurling suffered greatly in 2006 around but revamped the underage,radically changed its coaching set up,now world champions.
    Germany look within,and theres a boiling point,enough is enough,but cork at u 21 hurling,senior football never accept when we hit rock g bottom.

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/martin-oneill-cavalier-germany-attack-ireland-1725161-Oct2014/
    Anybody clinging to ah cork footballers ran mayo to a point would want to rethink imo moral victories are usless
    Just see o.neills view on moral victory, it was a brillant view.
    And they had more of a right than cork in moral victory proclammtion,imo as germany were world champions
    Cork football taking on the second team in ireland with only one forward have no right imo to claim a moral victory in the one point loss to mayo.
    Were becoming like england in football,we glorify results against second rate team,over hype a manager,like england and roy hodgdon who talks the perfect game,most english media adore him,yet like cork football against top top teams hes exposed time and again,and ex pundidts on itv for example glenn hoddle,ian wright calling him gaffer,treat him like a god when their job is to anayalse a game but imo they fail to ruthlessy anaylise hes weakness
    Cork football must aim to be the Germany of soccer ,like kilkenny,not the england template,accept mediocrity despite huge rescources availble.
    Attuides in cork gaa must change for cork gaa to evolve imo.

Willam maher,tipp minor hurling manager i rate highely,won all ireland 2012.frank flannerry with cit before both left waterford senior team.
    I wasnt quite sure on.mcgrath this year but was impressed by the men he had with him,but with flannerry and maher gone imo poor reflection on mcgrath and i wouldnt rate waterford who.have,fine talent,coming up much of a threat next year to cork.
    Sounds like they have,real problems down there.
    Both to leave in year one,seems no faith in mcgrath
    They have new minor management also this year,so cork shouldnt fear them,draw minor two weeks time around.

Ut
    Nothing confirmed yet with pat mulchay ,hope he joins cork,if he doesnt dont be,suprised to see him go to another county ,a leinster county meant to very interested in him,a proven coach is hughely impressed by him i heard.
    Cork must act fast,snooze we loose.

Dwayne lee got the two goals. De Mon well on top all through game. Don't have names. But center back and two corner forwards very good.

D o connail na piarsaigh
    E o chonaing,c o suilleabhain,r o meadhra all na piarsaigh
    A o donobhain glen
    Ro muireasa,glen
    E o laoighre glen
    L o cochlainn glen
    C o hainifein na piarsaigh
    P de faoite glen
    D o breachtain glen
    D o chonaing na piarsaigh
    D o laoi na piarsaigh
    E o siochain na piarsaigh

Id presume ag lined out similar to team here that lined out in the ist game

Key players are o darren connell gk played senior na piarsaigh when brady was abroad,eddie gunning fine job senior q final replacing injured darren mannix,evan sheehan u 16 supberb forward,dan gunning eddies brother,of,course dayne lee this year corkminor splendid goal v limerick this year,played senior with na piarsaigh in championship,liam coughlan of the glen and chris hanafin na piarsaigh
    I think liam shorten ex cork footballer, current muskerry footballer,fine coach,is their fitness trainer with them still.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Horse84

Anyone got frank's email address cause he should be made to read this and learn how a manager should be appointed
    ‘Everybody was taking a line from the Cork strike team’ – Dubs players had input on Cunningham job
    http://jrnl.ie/1726495

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/hurling-managers-2015-ins-and-outs-1709391-Oct2014/

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/gaelic-football-managers-2015-1709341-Oct2014/

Clare twice in succession have with kissane last year the brillant,magnificent,tactical mastermind in ephie fitzgerald better senior coaches than cork.
    Tipp have a better coach in peter creedon,two counties with two good cork men.
    Creedon coached cahir to their first south title til 1950,coached cashel minor schools title etc.

Bar waterford,kerry,tipp,clare with sean collins,successful with cratloe,also,limerick with john brudair who had,success with drom with ned english in 2008,2009,and got st patricks to a senior county final ,all imo have proven successful coaches compared to Cork.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/leahy-strikes-late-for-midleton-291542.html

I said it tuesdsay john looney would light up the harty cup,ist game four from play,cert for cork.minors,i also said manely be availble to them,he got a point as s sub,vital in the end.A strong midelton team,missing a few can and will get much stronger after this their ist game out,blowing out their cowbebs.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/tasty-gaelcholaacuteiste-mhuire-serve-notice-291546.html
    The ag team i posted i was right,its similar to the ist game practially the same.
    Gunning and lee got rave reviews i,said it many times,gunning will be next full back at club and county in two years.
    A very Special player talent wise.
    That was a fine report by denis hurley he done a splendid piece on ag the day before also.Harty cup coverage,Denis does and has done the last few years been splendid imo,well worth reading for any hurling fan.

Paddy ryan also does a lot of games
    I have huge respect for anyone involved in the harty cup ,playing,coaching,media,fans etc.Its the bread and butter of young hurling imo.I love,cherish harty cup games,small crowds,yes but everyone their is not a bluffer or spoofer,they know their gaa,inside out,their there they simply want to be there,no prawn sandwich brigade more the flask of tea ham sambo liam griffin type of fan I admire truly and no matter what teams they support,all have a common interest,love,real real love for hurling.Great to see aron cunningham clare u 21 hurler their supporting hes brother.Top players are both.
    I met a fella yesterday that travelled all the way from galway just to watch shanagher play.That galway man has my respect.Lot of cork people their in the crowd.

A real sign of autumn is the harty cup as the autumn leaves blow on the crisp cold sharp mornings where the hurling is a joy to behold.I thought Daltons Field of Gold is Charville.Breathtaking,mouth watering masterclass it was.
    Well done Deccie.

Declan daltons free taking was an ehibition in masterclass long distance free taking.Low ,but hit like a bullet it,cruised over,like a concorde in flight bar the odd mishap,always reached its destination.Wonder flight trajectory in mid,air of the sliothar.11 frees,got 8 just two wides,one on target but dropped short,taken 65m out.

Great article Horse,you see the Dipalomtic process in Dublin would cause a,sevre allergic reaction to the cork, it would be alien to cork,they want total control.
    Dublin,fair play rushe for saying it.
    You see again always outside men in cork,eammon sweeney,liam griffin 2008 etc that critocise cork county board,no other cork pundit will do it regulary,No one still consitently questioned cuthbherts term over cleary.

Of course the one man that does question cork gaa is,cusack is seen as a trouble maker,having a rant,all the negatovity,and of course the great one, whats your agenda.I get that line here myself when I criticise things,stick to it,normally cause same mistake repeats itself.I wouldnt be saying it otherwise,but if your juding something you cant ignore a weakness if its exists.
    People in cork must ,some,stand up and realise ,they know it too well ,but want the easy life,wont go again the grain and have demorcatic voice and demand better.
    One  delegate in cork from a big club,believes ger blue had a job in cork,he left,not that cork lost him.It is like ger had no reason to leave
    He would want to review hes thoughts imo.Ger blue had limerick.job in hes pocket,knew hed never get the cork one,they could have given him the u 21 job,i believe he wanted it, then coulf be told if jbm goes senior is yours.He had to take limerick .
    Of course limerick blew it,wheel always turns a full circle,in
    Dublin have a three year vision now,limerick dont,how can they look whos incharge.Ger wanted to be senior manager for last 8 years,he had to go.He cant be expected be to,second in command all hes life.

A clare poster told us last week here,kinnerk was for clare all hes people were to a point,and thats why he joined them.
    Talk is kinnerk will do some coaching in limerick football at some grade now,ironic he wont do a thing with their hurling teams.
    See imo in limerick football cause they see it as the poor relations,no egos exist,in hurling too many want a piece of the cake,and only a few deserve it.Imo it was a huge huge reflection on limerick hurling kinnerk choose clare.
    Theres speculation one current,star underage limerick hurler has signed for aston villa.If thats true I wish him the best.If I was advising him,id say grab it with both hands,in this case.
    Choosing soccer ,is a risk to all counties gaa lads,but imo when you have teams that dont have chance winning glory you will likely have less reason to stay.
    The top elite athletes deserve to win glory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Sounds like Youghal have recruited a few from their catchment area in Moscow!!!

Eddie.hallorhan clssmore fine.player
    Whats the minor manager watrrford like
    Who will join.mcgrath at senior,is their trouble their?

Incredible, their pick goes from all over Cork and Waterford, even to Western Russia. :eek:

Yeah sure they've a massive pick ;)

I'm only joking obviously but just on a few of the second names it is interesting to see a few foreign looking ones. Would suggest their is some foreign ancestry there and good to see that to be honest, more people getting involved can only be a good thing.

Yeah Merkushov and Ogbebor are good young hurlers for Killeagh, think they both have at least one if not two more years at Harty, so I'm sure they'll be starting next year.

killeagh st itas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭Slobbery

D o connail na piarsaigh
    E o chonaing,c o suilleabhain,r o meadhra all na piarsaigh
    A o donobhain glen
    Ro muireasa,glen
    E o laoighre glen
    L o cochlainn glen
    C o hainifein na piarsaigh
    P de faoite glen
    D o breachtain glen
    D o chonaing na piarsaigh
    D o laoi na piarsaigh
    E o siochain na piarsaigh

Id presume ag lined out similar to team here that lined out in the ist game

Key players are o darren connell gk played senior na piarsaigh when brady was abroad,eddie gunning fine job senior q final replacing injured darren mannix,evan sheehan u 16 supberb forward,dan gunning eddies brother,of,course dayne lee this year corkminor splendid goal v limerick this year,played senior with na piarsaigh in championship,liam coughlan of the glen and chris hanafin na piarsaigh
    I think liam shorten ex cork footballer, current muskerry footballer,fine coach,is their fitness trainer with them still.

This the gealscoil section of the north mon school? two club teams, the Glen and NaPhairsigh supplying all the players that's something else really..

Alot of the Cork Schools doing well at the moment in the Harty - except for Colmans, what is the story there is it the loss of boarders?

as an outsider looking in - I would have thought that feeder clubs of Castelyon's (didnt they play in a minor premier minor last year?), Bride Rovers along with Kilworth, Watergrasshill and St. Catherines the school should be in position to stand on its own two feet?
    Just looking for informed opinion I as I said looking from a distance.
    Plus only one Fermoy player involved, strange for a big town, there mustn't be alot of work going in there

Anyway glancing across the groups the Cork schools seem to be doing well - the future is looking bright enough for ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭Slobbery

Willam maher,tipp minor hurling manager i rate highely,won all ireland 2012.frank flannerry with cit before both left waterford senior team.
    I wasnt quite sure on.mcgrath this year but was impressed by the men he had with him,but with flannerry and maher gone imo poor reflection on mcgrath and i wouldnt rate waterford who.have,fine talent,coming up much of a threat next year to cork.
    Sounds like they have,real problems down there.
    Both to leave in year one,seems no faith in mcgrath
    They have new minor management also this year,so cork shouldnt fear them,draw minor two weeks time around.

Ya it doesnt sound good a mass exodus, serious reality check for us this morning, if he kept the two selectors in itself but to lose them is makes it worse.

I was really encouraged to hear that our young players would be in a set-up with two guys who had recent success and experience with minor inter county and the fitzgibbon scene, guys use to dealing with players of their age group etc.

I would love to know why they left - is it because they went in and discovered it was a mickey mouse set-up?
    Or that the players weren't of a sufficient standard/ability?

Bad times!

Slobbery wrote: »
    This the gealscoil section of the north mon school? two club teams, the Glen and NaPhairsigh supplying all the players that's something else really..

Alot of the Cork Schools doing well at the moment in the Harty - except for Colmans, what is the story there is it the loss of boarders?

as an outsider looking in - I would have thought that feeder clubs of Castelyon's (didnt they play in a minor premier minor last year?), Bride Rovers along with Kilworth, Watergrasshill and St. Catherines the school should be in position to stand on its own two feet?
    Plus only one Fermoy player involved, strange for a big town, there mustn't be alot of work going in there

Anyway glancing across the groups the Cork schools seem to be doing well - the future is looking bright enough for ye

Good post I was thinking similar myself. I do know that there seems to be a big fall off in Waterford lads going to school there where traditionally a lot of lads from Ballyduff, the likes of the molomphys would all have gone to school and played harty in colmans. Lismore seems to be there preferment now.

Ya it doesnt sound good a mass exodus, serious reality check for us this morning, if he kept the two selectors in itself but to lose them is makes it worse.

I was really encouraged to hear that our young players would be in a set-up with two guys who had recent success and experience with minor inter county and the fitzgibbon scene, guys use to dealing with players of their age group etc.

I would love to know why they left - is it because they went in and discovered it was a mickey mouse set-up?
    Or that the players weren't of a sufficient standard/ability?

Bad times!

Id heard about Shane and pender hanging up their boots almost 2 weeks ago but there's possibly 5 or 6 more to follow suit if what I heard is true. I'm not naming names now as it wouldn't be fair. Mcgrath isn't popular there. It's not nice to see as there is talent in Waterford without a doubt.

Fermoy won the first day out however. Maybe they just had a bad day on Wednesday, sounds like they had no one to mark Lee.

Eddie.hallorhan clssmore fine.player
    Whats the minor manager watrrford like
    Who will join.mcgrath at senior,is their trouble their?

Brian O Halloran's younger brother I believe. If he's anything like his brother I'm sure he's very talented. Dunno how Clashmore have been relegated to Junior with the talent they have.