Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

Im not saying he wouldnt be well known. But as i said "hearsay" is irrelevant in a court of law. May effect judges leniency if he is aware of the character but a witness cant stand up and say "we think he done this and that" in court

Yeah but were not talking about a court of law. You coudl be well known to guards without ever receiving a conviction. Obviously given that the guy is clearly unhinged and the Gardai know this we can assume that Fran has had form in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,742 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

This will still feature I am sure. But I think the aim will be to keep both alive.

Even if we all know that there is pressure on both actors - as this has been a massive improvement in both their acting lives.

If there is another year next year (Should be last next year imo) - it is hard to imagine Fran and Nidge - not in last series.

Perhaps Fran in jail - is a useful holding time to get fran to last series ?

but just guess and enjoying speculation here.

I'll be honest - I wasn't ready for this Paulie story at all.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Great episode tonight, tour de force from Peter Coonan.

Fran being in jail must mean we see Noelie again. This made me wonder about the final scene of the last series with Nidge in the cell. Maybe Fran gets out on bail and for his own protection Nidge goes into prison. Although id expect such questions to be answers at the business end of this season.

Loving this so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

walshb wrote: »
    We seriously meant to believe that Fran and the travellers didn't notice the white van? It was all over the scenes, yet Fran, this criminal, saw nothing. It was so obvious that he'd get nabbed before he went to kill Nidge.

Frans mental state was in turmoil after Paddy told him about the Nidge Linda link, I'd say you could have driven a double decker bus full of ERU officers along side him at that point and in his rage of disbelief he wouldn't have noticed.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

walshb wrote: »
    We seriously meant to believe that Fran and the travellers didn't notice the white van? It was all over the scenes, yet Fran, this criminal, saw nothing. It was so obvious that he'd get nabbed before he went to kill Nidge.

Must admit i didnt think Kieran was too inconcpicous myself.

Trish is depressed, that's going to go somewhere and Paulie/Siobhan is going to end in something dramatic - maybe Tommy dies and she convinces him to off Nidge for her?

Paulie did twig in tonight's episode that Siobhan doesn't like Nidge didn't he.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,133 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Blay wrote: »
    Well my source is the Dept. of Justice website so we'll go with that :pac:

If they can pin him for intent to endanger life it would be 10 minimum, I wouldn't say they'd have trouble convincing anyone of Fran's form on that score.
    It's 5 years and the judge can suspend it or part of it. Purely going on this
    nc6000 wrote: »
    Why didn't the motorbike fall over during the hijack when the guy had to get off it?

I said the same thing when it happened! Obviously they wanted to add to the drama and thought no one would notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,742 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

As a side - a bit of a joke this country - a lad only getting 2 1/2 years for an illegal firearm

Give them 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,291 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Cienciano wrote: »
    It's 5 years and the judge can suspend it or part of it. Purely going on this

It's 10 for possession with intent to endanger life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭batistuta9

what else would a gun do??? :pac::pac::pac:

batistuta9 wrote: »
    what else would a gun do??? :pac::pac::pac:

This is the breakdown;
    Possession of firearms with intent to endanger life - maximum sentence of life imprisonment and a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years imprisonment;
    Prohibition of use of firearms to resist arrest or aid escape - maximum sentence of life imprisonment and a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years imprisonment;
    Possession of firearm while hijacking a vehicle - maximum sentence of 14 years imprisonment and a mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years imprisonment;
    Possession of firearm or ammunition in suspicious circumstances - maximum sentence of 14 years imprisonment and a mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years imprisonment;
    Carrying firearm with criminal intent - maximum sentence of 14 years imprisonment and a mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years imprisonment; and
    Altering a Firearm - maximum sentence of 10 years imprisonment and a mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years imprisonment.

Justice.ie

He doesnt trust Paulie. But I think Micha the bodyguard might bear a grudge too after the way he was just left to be butchered as Nidge ran off.

Speaking of bodyguards, where was Nidge's new guy tonight? Can he not do overtime due to budget cuts also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,133 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Would be difficult to prove that bit.

Funny, the entire set up by the gardai was to get nidge. When he was about to be got, they go above and beyond the call of duty to save him :pac:
    (I know, they didn't know it at the time)

nc6000 wrote: »
    Why didn't the motorbike fall over during the hijack when the guy had to get off it?

He's a rookie and was using stabilizers :D

Speaking of bodyguards, where was Nidge's new guy tonight? Can he not do overtime due to budget cuts also?

I suppose Nidge didnt call on him since Lizzie is dead and he thought that Paulie would have killed Patrick

He's a rookie and was using stabilizers :D

Poor young lad still has a learner permit :pac:

He was driving Nidge and Paulie in the Beemer wasn't he? Then he dropped them at the garage and Aido picked them up out the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Fran's character as much as I enjoy him, seems to be a rip off heath ledger's joker in the dark knight movie.

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Too much crap with the cops, ok showing him looking through his telescope once is fair enough, but christ i thought i was watching a bloody show on astrology with 4he amount of times we had to look through that cops bloody telescope

That was done to emphasize exactly what the cop could see as opposed to what we could see I'd imagine.

KKkitty wrote: »
    Tommy is annoying me so far.

Why? Sure he hasn't said or done a thing :D

Few people on twitter struggling as to why Paulie would only have a cheap Nokia. Think of it like this. He is not going to spend big money on something he might have to have to chuck into the river afterwards due to the fact it could be incriminating evidence.

Exactly what I thought the second I saw it.

Anyone that watches a bit of NCIS etc. knows a burn phone is an essential.

Few people on twitter struggling as to why Paulie would only have a cheap Nokia.

He must monitor Boards Bargain Alerts

-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

mzungu wrote: »
    This made me wonder about the final scene of the last series with Nidge in the cell. Maybe Fran gets out on bail and for his own protection Nidge goes into prison.

I was kind of thinking that "I've got a bone to pick with you" will do for nidge in the end. The finger is still hanging around Fran's caravan. The writer must of kept it there for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

How I wish I could watch this whole series in one go!! Brilliant episode, (despite how easy it was for the garda to follow Fran all about the place unnoticed).

Only the second time Love/Hate made me cry; first time when Darren got shot and killed by Lizzie, and tonight when poor Frano found out the truth about Nidge pipebombing Linda. :(:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 maryenault

I loved Tony Soprano too, it's quality entertainment

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    I was kind of thinking that "I've got a bone to pick with you" will do for nidge in the end. The finger is still hanging around Fran's caravan. The writer must of kept it there for a reason.

Maybe the Gardai will get a warrant to search Frans caravan (If they know of it's existence) and find something that might point the finger at Nidge ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Paulie did twig in tonight's episode that Siobhan doesn't like Nidge didn't he.

twig? he asked her a direct question.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

If/when Nidge goes, it's all over.

My view is that the final scene of the final episode will be Nidge either dying or surviving.

We're not gonna see Series 7 with Elmo leading the lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Didn't Paulie say he had to borrow him when he called to the house?
    Nidge even said 'I managed to take a piss before x arrived'?