Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,742 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I remember it - but feel - I need to go back an watch all that Linda stuff again .

Amazing the empathy people have for Fran - a murder (lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I wonder if that detective (that was following Nidge) is going to go over to the darkside. He's complaining about having to pay his maortgage and not wating to do unpaid overtime. It's been a while since they had a bent copper and it's an essential part of a show like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 trevdahead

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Is that his name? Coz I all I ever hear whenever they call him by his name, is something that sounds like "Gick" or "Kick". :confused::confused::confused:

I think they call him kigg as in cigire(irish for inspector)
    I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Na - this idea that Paulie is the new man is not a runner for me.

Fran - Nidge - then the show is over (imo)

Love/Hate = Fran and Nidge. Paulie will be a major character and perhaps in this and next season. But he will I predict fill more the Dano role than the Nidge role?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭dashdoll

Does anyone have a link for tonights episode or know where I could watch it?

I missed it and it's not on RTE player yet ... either is last weeks episode!

Thanks.

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    True enough, no one has really come close to them throughout all seasons.

Its a shame
    Hughie (played by Brendan Gleeson's son?)
    was killed off so early in the show. A really good character and actor.

Basically - to kill him of was a mistake - but I feel he said , ok I'll replace him with Fran - , Fran reminds me of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,101 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

walshb wrote: »
    We seriously meant to believe that Fran and the travellers didn't notice the white van? It was all over the scenes, yet Fran, this criminal, saw nothing. It was so obvious that he'd get nabbed before he went to kill Nidge.

I would say Fran is his state of mind just wanted revenge for Linda to kill Nidge so wasn't paying any attention to anyone following him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,263 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Why did Monahan lie to his wife about being at a teenager's funeral? There seems to be something going on between him and the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Amazing the empathy people have for Fran - a murder (lol)

Lol yeah amazing too how people watch Tom and Jerry cartoons. They're hitting each other with frying pans! The Monsters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Remember nidge was doing Linda?

Think he only told Darren about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,293 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Why did Monahan lie to his wife about being at a teenager's funeral? There seems to be something going on between him and the window.

He didn't, he said he was at Andrew the dentist's funeral; 'The body in the canal' and mentioned that he had two kids, one of which was the teenager doing his LC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

He didn't, he said the guy who died had a son doing the leaving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

The WAGS were very prominent tonight as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Oh God Hughie.
    I absolutely hated every minute of him purely because he was such a horrible unpredictable loose cannon. Even his last scene showed how unpredictable he was.!!
    It was a great character, played by a great actor, but my nerves couldn't handle watching him!
    :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,101 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Remember nidge was doing Linda?

Think he only told Darren about that.

I hope Darren told someone this maybe Siobhan or Tommy but if Siobhan knew she would have said by now and Tommy is in a coma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

trevdahead wrote: »
    I think they call him kigg as in cigire(irish for inspector)
    I think

Thanks for that. It was really starting to annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭part time punk

walshb wrote: »
    We seriously meant to believe that Fran and the travellers didn't notice the white van? It was all over the scenes, yet Fran, this criminal, saw nothing. It was so obvious that he'd get nabbed before he went to kill Nidge.

Yeah it was a bit far fetched allright, think Fran was so caught up in it all that he didn't notice but the 2 travellers at the gate guarding it surely would have, especially the fact it was there whenever Fran was and left whenever Fran did.
    Still another great episode and no point in a few unrealistic bits ruining it:)
    Loving Patrick and his crew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

My extensive criminal legal expertise (gained from detective tv shows) tells me that Fran is part of a larger investigation so he won't be held for longer than a week on the firearms charge :D

Moynihan said it himself last year- "I want to get them locked up for a long stretch." That would only happen if they're charged with murder or caught smuggling drugs. These smaller charges are a waste of time for the guards really. Remember Elmo last year, caught with drugs and left out with no charge.

Ok you really need to turn up the volume on your tv. He was on about the fact that Andrew had teenagers the same age as theirs to try bring the whole realness of it home to his otherwise uncaring wife. That said i think the cops are a bit too goody two shoes and married to the job. I realise the writers probably havent the room to develop characters properly but i think if the right money could be invested in this program then the three cop characters could have been developed better and made more human. Kieran is brilliant though and coming out with excellent lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

a real scary character in the early series was the guy who was stalking Darren' sister

Lol yeah amazing too how people watch Tom and Jerry cartoons. They're hitting each other with frying pans! The Monsters!

What - Tom and Jerry is a cartoon.

This is a storyline - from real life crime in Dublin.

People are empathising with characters that are murders - it is just interesting - and shows how in real life these people can become idolised in their community - because "he sorted out those lads in the park".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Its amazing to see the arcs, john boy killed by his closest, nidge will probably be killed by someone he trusts, maybe the young hitman he has.

The only person with the connections and the position to off him is paulie

I don't think Nidge will be getting killed any time soon. There will be loads of attempts on him but those who mess with him will more than likely end up dead. In the past, he weathered the various threats posed by Dano, Lizzie, the gardai and others and now, he will see off the likes of Paddy and eventually Paulie. Fran's fate is less sure. He is as iconic a character as Nidge and I predict both Fran and Nidge to survive as long as Love/Hate does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

Great episode, edge of the seat stuff. I thought Fran finding out about the pipebomb was done a bit clumsily, but the tension that followed made up for it and as for the headbutt - brilliant stuff.

The cops dealing with cutbacks was well done, showing the reality of the job, but surely a white van sitting across from a halting site twice in one day would have been noticed. And complaining about the Seat, but was what Frano was driving much better?

I'm still laughing at Janet's line about her knees!

Trish is depressed, that's going to go somewhere and Paulie/Siobhan is going to end in something dramatic - maybe Tommy dies and she convinces him to off Nidge for her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Hitchens wrote: »
    a real scary character in the early series was the guy who was stalking Darren' sister

Ah poor Luke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,758 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Are you serious - that lad had to pull his gun , had to fire shots , yes these lads are trained , but they only do that 1 day a year maybe.

He said he fancied a pint.

It just shows that they are in a stressful job - catching one of those ****ers with something tangible alone is a big day , they are like a rugby team them lads - they live close to the edge.

Firing shots, for even a lads at that level - when the other lad had a weapon -

is a day you may go "I fancy a pint".

This is spiraling. I originally, when watching, did not think catching Fran with the gun was a big deal. This is not just him out for a pint after to calm the nerves. The chief was there too. It seemed to be a huge victory for something that I thought Fran could easily get off with, with a bit of lawyering up.

Another poster quickly cleared up to me though that possesion of a gun would put Fran away. There was no need for any further clarification from you. If you'd even read the text you quoted me on you'd see I understood the reason behind the celebrations after the other posters clarification but you had a go anyway.

To the other poster... As for the drugs analogy, it did not make sense in the context of what I was saying because my issue was with the severity of Frans crime. Of course big wins are celebrated.

Anyway, hoped that cleared that up.

Cracking episode, roll on next Sunday :)

What - Tom and Jerry is a cartoon.

This is a storyline - from real life crime in Dublin.

People are empathising with characters that are murders - it is just interesting - and shows how in real life these people can become idolised in their community - because "he sorted out those lads in the park".

It tends to happen in these types of shows, people loved Walt in Breaking Bad but hated his wife for getting in the way of him being a drug dealer and murderer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

deise08 wrote: »
    Ah poor Luke.
    couldn't think of the name.........looked a bit like one of the Dublin footballers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Now up on the player lads

2e50f30084ddb055136af5d460f75f98.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭emanresu esrever

Blay wrote: »
    10 years in the mandatory minimum sentence.

5 years isnt it. Double check your sources

Well my source is the Dept. of Justice website so we'll go with that :pac:

If they can pin him for intent to endanger life it would be 10 minimum, I wouldn't say they'd have trouble convincing anyone of Fran's form on that score.