Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Interslice wrote: »
    Tdi conversion :v

Couldn't find a saab dude sorry. Got a cap for my mc alright. If you pick one up I.ll have all the other stuff sorted by then. Most of it.s in the shed anyway. Only take a minute to put together. Is your clutch on a seperate reservoir? Mine is but it was gone of the only diesel there :/. Petrol modeld seem to be all of the one reservoir. I want to change my clutch fluid coz its mouldy lookin.

Some booo :P

Ah that's grand, its tucked away so it is, I'll pick one up and let you know, its in the same tank as the brake fluid so it is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Cian, I know it Sucks to sell a car you like, but well being and financial situation is above everything. As much as I love mx5s and as much as I miss ( and sad to see it go away) my one, I am voting for selling it on.
    You sell it now and get your financial situation sorted and make someone happy with a nice new car. There is nothing worse then seeing a car sitting and rotting away. It was painful as hell for me to see skyline just sit there and do nothing. :(
    Sell it, get money and sort your situation. When back on feet - buy a nice nee Mx5 again. As you said yourself: thankfully Mx5s are not so rare.

Lots of driving to be done tomorrow for all the wrong reasons. Handing out CVs to every business within a 50 mile radius of Limerick that I can think of. 48 of us let go last Friday so its back to the drawing board :(

Have to do it in a fiesta too because the S60's fuel pump is acting the maggot. Will also be stopping off in several breakers to see if I can source a replacement. Fun times ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

You must have broken something big this time:pac:

Just fitted coilovers, New top mounts, friction bearings, drop links, custom HEL brake lines, full brakes all round with fluid changed and spark plugs and work are sending me to Switzerland for 6months Wednesday, haven't even got to drive it with the new bits and wont either :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Some booo :P

Ah that's grand, its tucked away so it is, I'll pick one up and let you know, its in the same tank as the brake fluid so it is :)

I have a good 1 man break bleeding system thingy here gathering dust you can borrow if you want? Europat made in uk, called vizibleed one-man complete kit...for mini nipples' only it claims on the box if you want to google it's suitably?😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Anyone else notice the stupid cvnts driving in the dark on drl's lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Big Nasty wrote: »

Been a bug bare of mine for a while now. I think half of them are posing and the other half are as described lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,549 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Including the Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

tossy wrote: »
    Been a bug bare of mine for a while now. I think half of them are posing and the other half are as described lol.

I never understood why drls aren't set that the tail lights come on too.

These fools don't have a clue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

They do on my parents octavia but I don't think they do on newer ones. I always thought that was a better set up. Even though it's argued that DRL's are only needed for vehicles approaching you either way it's certainly no harm to have the tail lights on all the time with the DRL's.

davycc wrote: »
    I have a good 1 man break bleeding system thingy here gathering dust you can borrow if you want? Europat made in uk, called vizibleed one-man complete kit...for mini nipples' only it claims on the box if you want to google it's suitably?😉

I wouldnt say no! :D

That's one thing they got right on my car, all the lights come on, and stay on, if you switch to the parking lights the tail lights stay on, if your headlights should simultaneously fail, the fogs double up as headlights, granted you can't got over 80kph, but they do the job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Just fitted coilovers, New top mounts, friction bearings, drop links, custom HEL brake lines, full brakes all round with fluid changed and spark plugs and work are sending me to Switzerland for 6months Wednesday, haven't even got to drive it with the new bits and wont either :(

Ah bollocks, that's annoying. Will they cover flights home in that period? I can mind it for ya, just because I'd hate to see it rot away or something............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Well the first frosty morning of the Autumn/Winter and there are already idiots driving without clearing all their windows. Had a car coming towards me drive up into the ditch because they could not properly see the gap between me and the ditch.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I meet a Clio in the mornings near the same town. It was fine all along when the mornings are bright but now this guy drives with front and rear fogs on. The reason is because both dipped beams are out, as are the other tail lights. I had enough the other morning being blinded by his rear fogs so overtook him. I flashed my rear fog to show that it was annoying - just twice and then let it off - hoping he might get the hint. Next thing he sticks on full beams and leaves them on. The nice guy in the artic behind seeing what he did went to town on him. Every light, full beams. It was like staring at the sun. Much better lesson than my feeble attempt:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Ah bollocks, that's annoying. Will they cover flights home in that period? I can mind it for ya, just because I'd hate to see it rot away or something............

They will yeah, but the car will be taxed and insured if you want to take it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I wouldnt say no! :D

Cool pm sent dude

I was behind a nice 3 series Beemer today a 2011 ish one. Had a boards motoring sticker on it too. I can't think of anyone on here that has a newer shape 3 series though. Also I got a job for college work placement today so I'm delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,549 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bpmull wrote: »
    They do on my parents octavia but I don't think they do on newer ones. I always thought that was a better set up. Even though it's argued that DRL's are only needed for vehicles approaching you either way it's certainly no harm to have the tail lights on all the time with the DRL's.

Think there's a Scandinavian setting that means the rears are permenamtly on.
    Its ridiculous that you'd just have fronts on given how stupid people are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

colm_mcm wrote: »

+100

New cars must come with ABS
    How hard to specify auto lights too?

colm_mcm wrote: »

The car came with that set up but I've seen other Octavia's that aren't set like that. So it must be whatever way the factory set it up or maybe the garage change the setting.

Just off the phone to my buddy. The belt/tensioner had never been replaced in the Santa Fes 300,000km life :rolleyes: Its one of his many company vehicles so he can pick and choose what he wants to drive tomorrow.

A tow truck is carting her off in the morning to his mechanic. He doesn't seem bothered by it. I told him I'd cover the cost and he refused. It'll be a company expense. Sound guy in fairness. His attitude was if it didn't happen to me it was gonna happen to him and it could have happened to him anywhere in Ireland. Delighted it happened to me at home and not when I drove it to Dublin a few weeks back

In the morning/a week later, same thing :P

We tried to get the belt back on but admitted defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Feeling a tad annoyed this evening as I have a car I love but never drive! I thought my mileage was going to increase but instead it's fallen away to nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Lads do you all think this is a stupid idea?
    Basically I'm back in Dublin this Friday and then leaving from Shannon on Sunday to then be back in Dublin the 17th.
    The flight arrives at around 11.30pm in Dublin this Friday and unfortunately I need to get my parents to pick me up from Galway as there are no more buses. They will also have to do this the Friday after this one (17th).
    So I was thinking if it maybe makes more sense this Saturday to drive down to Dublin and park it at Bewleys for the week.
    Obviously me parents would still have to pick me up on Friday but they wouldn't the week after.
    Calculations are this:
    29e to park in Bewleys for the week.
    14e then from Dublin Airport to Loughrea. So the total cost for Saturday would be 43e.
    While I'm writing this it makes feck all sense actually. Anyone else have a better idea?
    Feel bad having my parents drive down every Friday at mindnight to get me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

bear1 wrote: »
    Lads do you all think this is a stupid idea?
    Basically I'm back in Dublin this Friday and then leaving from Shannon on Sunday to then be back in Dublin the 17th.
    The flight arrives at around 11.30pm in Dublin this Friday and unfortunately I need to get my parents to pick me up from Galway as there are no more buses. They will also have to do this the Friday after this one (17th).
    So I was thinking if it maybe makes more sense this Saturday to drive down to Dublin and park it at Bewleys for the week.
    Obviously me parents would still have to pick me up on Friday but they wouldn't the week after.
    Calculations are this:
    29e to park in Bewleys for the week.
    14e then from Dublin Airport to Loughrea. So the total cost for Saturday would be 43e.
    While I'm writing this it makes feck all sense actually. Anyone else have a better idea?
    Feel bad having my parents drive down every Friday at mindnight to get me.

These two bus companys do late buses direct from Dublin Airport to Galway. Used them the last time I was flying.

http://citylink.ie/

http://www.gobus.ie/index.php

One leaves at 00.30 andother 11.55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Fair play to Meath Traffic Corps.

7c6e2948bccab5d0eaea76b59403b5ed.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Wow, state of that!

These two bus companys do late buses direct from Dublin Airport to Galway. Used them the last time I was flying.

http://citylink.ie/

http://www.gobus.ie/index.php

One leaves at 00.30 andother 11.55

Thanks for those. I already had checked gobus but they don't stop in Loughrea :/
    And the citylink says it stops at 8.30?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Having such a crap day :(

S'up?