Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Hoping ulcers from when i was 16 dont affect this.... as with the ingrown toenail when i was 16 too.... /

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

OSI wrote: »
    He'll be stuck on all the graveyard shifts for a good while.

Balls. May as well walk so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

And thats a pass !

Was told that if i gain weight I'll be touching overweight but im grand for this now !

Bit weird since the average bus drivers are a lot bigger weight wise than me :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Bit weird since the average bus drivers are a lot bigger weight wise than me :/

You'll get there :D

Does anyone know if Nononsense insurance provide unlimited EU travel just like FBD? Can't seem to find anything on the net about it nor on their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Hoping ulcers from when i was 16 dont affect this.... as with the ingrown toenail when i was 16 too.... /

Kopparberg aged 16
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS7gFIO9wngScYwK44xFy2yFArOldTkLnucqN9g6Ucqk-_K8aiG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

New Civic Type R

https://3d-car-shows.com/honda-civic-type-r-at-the-paris-motor-show-2014/

First one to be turbo charged with i-vtec. 280 PS.

Question lads.

Would an S80 fuel pump do an S60? 2002 2.0t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

The E39 is booked in for its NCT on the 16th so should hopefully pick it up then or soon after if it passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

To celebrate my 30th birthday today I cycled into work and released I had left my work clothes at home. Spent the day teaching in cycling clothes. :o

ba_barabus wrote: »
    To celebrate my 30th birthday today I cycled into work and released I had left my work clothes at home. Spent the day teaching in cycling clothes. :o

That's what you get for celebrating a birthday by cycling, you really need to get out more :D

tossy wrote: »
    That's what you get for celebrating a birthday by cycling, you really need to get out more :D
    Opps I worded that arseways. I became a pushpedalist in August. I'm actually enjoying it. New bike being purchased in Jan. Sadly it means my Alfa is mainling living on the driveway :(

Perfect excuse to buy something vintage or classic for the weekends.

tossy wrote: »
    Perfect excuse to buy something vintage or classic for the weekends.
    I have a BX awaiting work in a shed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I hope you're not an English teacher :pac:

:o

No, thank God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

New Civic Type R

https://3d-car-shows.com/honda-civic-type-r-at-the-paris-motor-show-2014/

First one to be turbo charged with i-vtec. 280 PS.

Looks like sonic the hedgehog, its amazing nowadays you can have front wheel drive hatches putting out 280hp.

The amount of questions I'm asking people will think I'm a fecking troll :D
    Just got off the phone with the potential sale I'm hoping with and the seller is saying that the drop links have gone.
    When I asked what makes him think that he said it knocks going over bumps.
    I think I'm right in saying that number 1 the parts are fairly cheap to begin with and 2 is it a time consuming job to replace them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

New number plates arrived, stick on or screw on? The existing plates are riveted on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

So this evening I was stuck behind a group of water meter protesters for 20 minutes on a 600m stretch of road. I cannot believe I didn't stick one of the **** to the bonnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

bear1 wrote: »
    The amount of questions I'm asking people will think I'm a fecking troll :D
    Just got off the phone with the potential sale I'm hoping with and the seller is saying that the drop links have gone.
    When I asked what makes him think that he said it knocks going over bumps.
    I think I'm right in saying that number 1 the parts are fairly cheap to begin with and 2 is it a time consuming job to replace them?

well for my car for example they are less than 50 euro for a pair(not original).

if you've the correct size sockets/ allen keys ect and they are not rusted on it'd prob take less than 20 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Dord wrote: »
    New number plates arrived [...]
    Flat or pressed?
    stick on or screw on? [...]
    If I was you, I'd stick on flat ones, screw on (or put in surrounds) pressed ones.

nd wrote: »
    well for my car for example they are less than 50 euro for a pair(not original).

if you've the correct size sockets/ allen keys ect and they are not rusted on it'd prob take less than 20 minutes.

I wouldn't be that good at these sort of mechanics unfortunately. Better with engine stuff.
    Suppose I'm just curious how much a mechanic would fleece me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Idk tbh.

here's a vid on how to do them and these are pretty much the same as on my own car. but others might not be quiet as easy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqOsW1X1-O8&feature=player_detailpage#t=112

it is important to jack the car up at both sides at the same time.

Unregistered Users

nd wrote: »
    [...]

it is important to jack the car up at both sides at the same time.

Not really. :)

It's easier alright to have them replaced if there's no tension from uneven wheel load (one side up, another down), but still possible, with a little help from a pry bar/breakers bar/steel pipe/etc, appropriately used. ;)

joujoujou wrote: »
    Flat or pressed? If I was you, I'd stick on flat ones, screw on (or put in surrounds) pressed ones.

Pressed. I have the screws and caps already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ha, suppose you got some slagging for that!

Out of nosey-ness, what subjects do you teach?

Unregistered Users

Pressed. I have the screws and caps already.

Try stick them on first. If they not sit securely or you just don't like the look of them you can always go screw-on. No turn back if you try screw-on first. ;)

Alternatively try surrounds - but I know not everyone likes them. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Picked this monster up today from Europower in Glasnevin, nice guys in there and a hell of a selection.

b2_zpse43e1c16.jpg~original

b1_zpsf1dcf62f.jpg~original

My back and wallet is broken. Have to code it to the car at the weekend.

Took the Panda out on some local backroads and it was great fun. Comfortable and eager when in the right gear. My old A-Class was very scary on backroads.