The Official Ryder Cup 2014 Thread - No betting talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

One thing I have learned from watching the golf this week is that Scotland is a bloody cold place.

I managed to get nine holes in this evening after the golf wearing shorts and a t shirt and it was very humid ,it was like winter in Gleneagles and alot of people looked like they were going skiing instead of golfing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

sullivlo wrote: »
    Yeah but if USA had won and McGinley hadn't picked GMac, I think the same people would be saying the same - that it was bad man management from McGinley.

That was my point.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Watson did captain the US in 1993 when they hockeyed Europe at the Belfry. Can't be completely useless.

I think the real issue is that 1993 is 21 years ago.

McGinley is more contempary.

Picking someone like Nicklaus or Watson seems to be more of a hindrance than a help.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,203 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I'm thrilled. What a glorious 3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,359 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

One thing I have learned from watching the golf this week is that Scotland is a bloody cold place.

I managed to get nine holes in this evening after the golf wearing shorts and a t shirt and it was very humid ,it was like winter in Gleneagles and alot of people looked like they were going skiing instead of golfing.

it may have been cold, but damn it was gorgeous to look at :D:D

i think mickelson's comments were uncalled for to be honest, watson telling the world that mickelson text him begging him to play was a out of order. just think mickelson was being very childish by saying what he said at the press conference. jeez like. you can clearly see the difference between the usa and europe. usa are all about me, me, me, while europe are about the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Just to show how well Rory started. He would have been 1up after 6 holes against the Americans. No not against their best player but against the best eclectic score of their whole team. So 12 against one and he beats them over the first 6 holes. That's some start. I hope I have my maths correct as I may be wrong.

He would have been 1 down after 9 holes against their whole team. So imagine that Rory was playing the whole of the American team's better ball and being only one down after 9.

He then possibly either went off the boil or else more likely he played safe to keep Fowler at bay. Once he got the lead then I think he backed off.

Against the American team's better ball he would have been 4 down after 14 but I think he would have been closer if he had been pressed.

But one down against 12 others after 9 holes is some playing.

OK so in reality 12 would have done better as they all would have gone for the birdie/eagle but it shows how well Rory started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Looks like the yanks are letting their hair down too...

323581.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    Looks like the yanks are letting their hair down too...

323581.png

Maybe they should just play table tennis for the next one...:D might have a better chance:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

First Up wrote: »
    I thought Darren was very poor. Bland cliches and not a single insight. He sounded like a fan rather than a pro with experience of having been there.

It's a tricky one, though. Golfers are fairly sensitive creatures and you've got to watch what you say, esp. to the opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    I'd say that won't be the last bottle Lee pops tonight ...

http://instagram.com/p/tgG4ghLhAH/

Thats pure comedy out of westwood! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Rikand wrote: »
    Thats pure comedy out of westwood! :D

Ha isn't it!? I thought his expressions were priceless. I'd say he is a good lad to go for a few pints with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

If Watson was a turkey a la Faldo, Mickelson as the senior player is entitled to comment.

Great captains don't necessarily make good captains. A bit like football really.

Nicklaus, Faldo, Watson...

McGinley put in a big effort. Fair play. But look at Olazabal, a highly successful player.

Whatever about the result, I would not compare Watson's attitude to that of Sir Nick's remarkable performance in 2008. And I thought Faldo again showed poor judgement criticizing a current player during the competition when that could have had a negative effect on the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I think it came down to the fact that Europe had better players and a better team than the Americans. I dont think you can blame Tom Watson for that, although he did make a couple of errors with pairings. Its getting to the stage now where a couple of wins for the USA would be good for the competition. 8 out of the last 10 for Europe - if this continues, the US players are going to become more and more disconnected from the event, and the gap is going to get even wider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Delighted for Jamie D, been following his progress the last couple of years. Getting the credit he deserves now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Bubba is deadly, he'd be great craic on the next board s golf society night out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Watson did captain the US in 1993 when they hockeyed Europe at the Belfry. Can't be completely useless.

He was in touch back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Seve OB wrote: »
    Bubba is deadly, he'd be great craic on the next board s golf society night out!

You like Bible reading then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭flanzer

Super 3 days. Lived up to all my expectations. Highlights for me were
    - Justin Rose's conduct, on and off the course. Cool, calm and collected battler
    - Patrick Reed's conduct on the course - loved it. Every competition needs a Patrick Reed or a team of Patrick Reeds
    - Rory's 1st round knockout of Rickie yesterday. Nearly got back in to see Dubuisson tee off on the 1st. Undisputed world number 1 at the moment. No one comes close to him
    - Jamie Donaldson. The Irish Open win in 2012 was a turning point for him. Have followed him closely since then and thoroughly delighted he'll go down in history as sealing the deal for the win in Gleneagles. Touching at the end when his Mam and Dad came onto the green to congratulate him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Patrick Reed will be great for the US team in years to come, we all love the pantomime baddie. The Yanks got riled by Poulter last time out and it'll be Reed who'll get Europe's goat up the next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Ryder cup over.......I am missing it already! I didn't get to see a lot yesterday, but have it recorded.....for later in the week. It was great to watch, particularly from Saturday on, when the guys started running in the putts.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,888 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Christ there's a lot of debate about Tom, he could well have done a mirror management with Dustin and Dufner in the team and without Simpson and Bradley and won the thing, at the end of the day the captain makes the picks and yes some strategy in pairings but the players do the playing and quite simply we had the better players, both individually and playing together, foursomes 7:1 end of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭geeksauce

To be fair I don't think Tom Watson was wrong at all for dropping Phil on Saturday particularly for the foursomes, his performance on Friday was awful never hits a fairway, fortunately for him he is used to playing from the rough and is adept at doing so but imagine being his partner and always being in the sh1t.

And at the press conference I would think Phil was p1ssed off with him for not playing him on Saturday but again based on his performance on Friday he should have set out Saturday. Why he was texting Tom I don't know, surely they were staying in the Gleneagles hotel and he could have gone and knocked on his door and spoken to him, but then maybe he is not as approachable as McGinley and that could be the issue. McGinley gets involved while Watson looks down from his ivory tower at the players like a CEO rather than a team member.

Mickleson didn't say much wrong in his press conference though from what I heard of it, he was asked his opinion and he gave it. Saying they should maybe look at what they did the last time they won it and use that formula seems like a reasonable assessment, why change something that helped you win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Why always me

Iv no real love for phil. But i dont think he has said much wrong..i seen the interview and what he says is pretty spot on to the question he is asked. I just got a feeling watson had not connected with the players. Imo he is to long out of the circle. You need to be kinda one of the boys. But be respected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,940 ✭✭✭abff

Patrick Reed will be great for the US team in years to come, we all love the pantomime baddie. The Yanks got riled by Poulter last time out and it'll be Reed who'll get Europe's goat up the next time.

Yes, you would expect him to be around for a few Ryder Cups. But I remember Anthony Kim in Valhalla buzzing around like a particularly irritating bee and the expectation was that he would be a thorn in the European side for many Ryder Cups to come.

As for Mickelson, I think he made a bit of a show of himself this week. Started off with his snide comment about litigation and ended up having a hissy fit because he was dropped on Saturday so decided to take it out on Watson.

I know Watson made some mistakes, but he was nowhere near as bad a manager as Nick Faldo and I don't remember any of the European team publicly criticising him in the immediate aftermath of Valhalla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Faldo talking about respect. The irony!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Was wondering what Nick Dougherty was doing on Sky TV for the coverage, not exactly an enviable CV but then I realised that Di Stewart is now Di Dougherty and the penny dropped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It will be interesting to find out what really went on with Mickelson and Watson, if we ever do. There must have been fireworks behind the scenes.

Phil is getting a lot of stick, and rightly so imo. There's a time and a place, he was out of order.

But Watson was no angel either and had plenty of digs at Mickelson too.

Making his rejection (re the text) of Mickleson public was out of order.
    He also went out of his way to say he wanted guys that were hitting fairways on the teams, clearly a dig at Phil.
    He's one of the best golfers around and has done so despite being wild off the tee. Most people could see why Phil may not be ideal for foursomes but there was no need to have an indirect pop at him and no need to put it out into the public domain (and you have to include Mickleson in the fourball better ball imo).

Surprised that Watson hasn't got more bad press about his comments. There was 2 of them at it over the weekend. Mr. Nice Guy he wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

PARlance wrote: »
    It will be interesting to find out what really went on with Mickelson and Watson, if we ever do. There must have been fireworks behind the scenes.

Phil is getting a lot of stick, and rightly so imo. There's a time and a place, he was out of order.

But Watson was no angel either and had plenty of digs at Mickelson too.

Making his rejection (re the text) of Mickleson public was out of order.
    He also went out of his way to say he wanted guys that were hitting fairways on the teams, clearly a dig at Phil.
    He's one of the best golfers around and has done so despite being wild off the tee. Most people could see why Phil may not be ideal for foursomes but there was no need to have an indirect pop at him and no need to put it out into the public domain (and you have to include Mickleson in the fourball better ball imo).

Surprised that Watson hasn't got more bad press about his comments. There was 2 of them at it over the weekend. Mr. Nice Guy he wasn't.
    I think USA got what they paid for (metaphorically) in Tom Watson. He's old school from the days of the captain commands and the players obey and he wasn't prepared for the kind of player power that apparently Mickelson tried to wield.

He's getting a lot of stick apparently for not being prepared well enough but he tried to get some of the top 20 players to go to Gleneagles after the Open back in July and only Keegan Bradley and Jim Furyk turned up.

There's a disconnect there in the US team and it's not all between the captain and his team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I'm amazed Mickelson had to text his captain, surely taking him aside after/before a team meeting is how it should have been done.

Just shows the togetherness wasn't there. You need 12 players desperately wanting to win this thing, and I get the feeling there were a couple on team USA that didn't want it enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Delighted to see McGinley recieve so much praise from European and U.S. press and every European player. He really gave it everything. As Watson said in one of his interviews he was getting to know a lot of his players this week where as McGinley has been close to a lot of his team over the last two years.

Also delighted for Donaldson, played great all week and delighted it was him that got the deciding point. Feel sorry for Gallacher, he got no help on Friday from Poulter but he made up for it on Sunday by playing very well, only to come up against Phil who was on a mission, Gallacher was still sounding happy afterwards and looked like he loved the experience at least.

The U.S. team obviously need to look at things, they should not be beaten so easily, Tiger, DJ, Horschell and Dufner are all big losses, but in Spieth, Reed and Fowler they have 3 excellent young players that will cause Europe trouble for a few years. I loved Reed's passion, he got under people's skin but isn't that why we love Poulter and Garcia in the Ryder Cup, they could have done with a few more players who wanted to win as much as he did.

Not the greatest Ryder Cup but not every one can be, it was still great viewing and some of the play by both teams was brilliant, a few brilliant matches especially Gmacs recovery on Sunday.

Looking forward to 2016 already.