Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Not sure about asking price, but I'd include a pic of the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Dord wrote: »
    Not sure about asking price, but I'd include a pic of the front.
    Cheers have included pic of front now too. You not sure about price as in don't know or think it's too much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Cheers have included pic of front now too. You not sure about price as in don't know or think it's too much?

I don't know how much they normally go for. I just had a quick look at your ad. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,549 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Lads opinions on my ad and what you think re asking price please. http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-accord-type-s-taxed-and-nct/7762641

Wouldn't be overly impressed by the pics tbh, I'd be going somewhere scenic/posh and taking 8 exterior pics at 45° angles to each other, a few of the interior/dash taking the baby seat out.

Price seems good to me anyway and its a class colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Damn, the amount of Subaru Legacy in local town is just jaw droping! :eek:

I see a good few and very well looked after B4s around. One of them is white Estate B4 driven by a Blond girl. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaall Riiiiiight! :D

But nah, if serious, it looks like the only Jap stuff that survived on the roads are scoobies. I dont see any s14/15 180sx, skylines or even Civics/integras anymore. sad. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Lads opinions on my ad and what you think re asking price please. http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-accord-type-s-taxed-and-nct/7762641

The interior pics aren't great tbh. Just pointed at the seats. I'd take one of the clocks with the car running showing mileage. And then another one of the full dash maybe from the backsit looking in. As colm said the outside could be taken in a better location but lovely car and colour best of luck with the sale :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Damn, the amount of Subaru Legacy in local town is just jaw droping! :eek:

I see a good few and very well looked after B4s around. One of them is white Estate B4 driven by a Blond girl. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaall Riiiiiight! :D

But nah, if serious, it looks like the only Jap stuff that survived on the roads are scoobies. I dont see any s14/15 180sx, skylines or even Civics/integras anymore. sad. :(

I seen a few hundred at Euro JDM meet last Friday and they are all in mondello today.
    SH are you coming to the meet in portlaoise in 2 weeks?

YbFocus wrote: »
    Bad pulley or loose/worn belt?

Just off the phone to my buddy. The belt/tensioner had never been replaced in the Santa Fes 300,000km life :rolleyes: Its one of his many company vehicles so he can pick and choose what he wants to drive tomorrow.

A tow truck is carting her off in the morning to his mechanic. He doesn't seem bothered by it. I told him I'd cover the cost and he refused. It'll be a company expense. Sound guy in fairness. His attitude was if it didn't happen to me it was gonna happen to him and it could have happened to him anywhere in Ireland. Delighted it happened to me at home and not when I drove it to Dublin a few weeks back

I seen a few hundred at Euro JDM meet last Friday and they are all in mondello today.
    SH are you coming to the meet in portlaoise in 2 weeks?

Well obviously you will see a lot of them in jdm meets. I did sow a lot of scoobies in one place on Subaru club meets! :pac: Jdm are not so common on roads though.

As for me meet. I don't know yet. I will see closer to date. How I am on money and work etc. I would love to in fairness.

In other news. Subaru half recaro seats are now a lot more comfortable when I lost 21kg (3.3 stone) :D

Well done SH. Things going well for you so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Dord wrote: »
    Here ya go. Quick phone pic I snapped yesterday. I need to charge my SLR for better pics.

<GIANT PANDA PICTURE>

It's a 1.2 Dynamic with the Euro 5 engine, which has 10hp more :eek:, better fuel economy, lower g/Km CO2, aircon, electric windows & mirrors, and alloys. I haven't taken it out for a proper spin yet though, just a few short trips.

Lovely! I've driven one, buzzy little engine :D

It has to be an import with that reg right?

Nah, that's original Irish reg

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Well done SH. Things going well for you so?

It's as good as it can be I guess. I am focused on getting back in to shape right now. Getting few extra hours at work lately. Meeting my friends more often. Hopefully next week my house mate will finally move in. Living alone for a month gets boring very fast.
    Still can't get a good night of sleep though.

It's funny SH, you're just doing the things you stopped doing!
    Was there myself a good few years ago.
    It'll get easier anyway.

Come on damn it, where are my shocks:mad: I have been waiting since 13th of Aug. They are on a boat from Japan but today my car has started the dreaded bouncing when going over rough roads, a sure sign its time to change the shocks.

It's funny SH, you're just doing the things you stopped doing!
    Was there myself a good few years ago.
    It'll get easier anyway.

I was actually dying for a pint last night, but I only got back home about 22:00 and it was too late even to bother to call anyone as they all were already wasted. Funny thing is I was never craving for a social pint in an actual pub for the last 6 years. It's really wierd how she things can change you. :)

Anyway, back to cars. I am not going to be buying a brand new car, but I was always wondering on how the hell those finances with last balloon payment worked. I checked Citroën and they got that finance with that last payment. And as an option they say that you can give your car and get new Citroën when times comes. Surely they are not taking that car as deposit value? They just knock off a grand or two from brand new car and take your old yoke?

Come on damn it, where are my shocks:mad: I have been waiting since 13th of Aug. They are on a boat from Japan but today my car has started the dreaded bouncing when going over rough roads, a sure sign its time to change the shocks.

Most likely at customs m8.

I was actually dying for a pint last night, but I only got back home about 22:00 and it was too late even to bother to call anyone as they all were already wasted. Funny thing is I was never craving for a social pint in an actual pub for the last 6 years. It's really wierd how she things can change you. :)

Anyway, back to cars. I am not going to be buying a brand new car, but I was always wondering on how the hell those finances with last balloon payment worked. I checked Citroën and they got that finance with that last payment. And as an option they say that you can give your car and get new Citroën when times comes. Surely they are not taking that car as deposit value? They just knock off a grand or two from brand new car and take your old yoke?

They give a pessimistic future value on the car. So say threres €3000 left on the car, and its actually worth €7000, you've got €4000 deposit in the trade in.
    Citroen residuals are shoite though, so tbh I'd be sticking German if I was doing PCP

They give a pessimistic future value on the car. So say threres €3000 left on the car, and its actually worth €7000, you've got €4000 deposit in the trade in.
    Citroen residuals are shoite though, so tbh I'd be sticking German if I was doing PCP

I guess they will still do a very bad value of it anyway. I wonder if this is even popular way of buying car?

It Definately is. I was reading about a Renault bank a few months ago, I believe a huge portion of their business is pcp.

It used to be the thing to do about 15 years ago too, lads on the dole were getting finance on new Puntos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Some exciting revelations to make about the RCZ and its alloys when my photos upload to facebook...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

One thing with car ads, I prefer the pics all taken in the same spot at the same time. It's looks great in the pics but no passenger side and some have tints and some don't. Looks odd.

If the towbar is removable take it off, if not mention it's unused or something.

It Definately is. I was reading about a Renault bank a few months ago, I believe a huge portion of their business is pcp.

It used to be the thing to do about 15 years ago too, lads on the dole were getting finance on new Puntos.

hmm I wonder how people deal with it so. As first thing that comes in to my head, is a stress after last monthly payment as you have to come up with 5-6k eu to pay off the car or add to get new car again.

I would love to hear from some people who had done the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

It's been a long day. Left Dublin this morning at 11 to head to cork with a mate to pick up a car, then onto to Waterville in Kerry and now back to dublin. The go safe crew are out in force today, saw 5 feckin vans, thank Christ it was a Tim spark and not a v6.
    The car in question is beautiful, lovely light tan interior and a wooden steering wheel, just a wonderful place to be! :D this 156 drives so well, no rattles, really responsive engine, fresh clutch. It's so nice to be in an Alfa that none of the previous owners drove into the ground, something I hate seeing.
    Oh and some of you may have seen this car before.....

OSI wrote: »
    These deals are why people like my Dad are looking at their 3rd new Audi in 6 years. It's easier to say "**** it I'll just get a new car" than "I should start saving for that balloon payment"

Surely he still needed to add more money on deposit for next new audi? I doubt it had enough value to cover the payment and next deposit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

hmm I wonder how people deal with it so. As first thing that comes in to my head, is a stress after last monthly payment as you have to come up with 5-6k eu to pay off the car or add to get new car again.

I would love to hear from some people who had done the whole thing.

My grand parents just got a new 3 series on Pcp. Wait for it 18 k euro balloon payment :eek: that's a nice one to have to come up with. I'm not 100 % sure how it works but I think there options are hand back the car after 3 years and have nothing. Buy another new one on Pcp and the dealer cover all/ a lot of the deposit as the dealers have wiggle room as they recon it will be worth 25k so going on that there up a nice bit if you hand it back. Finally you pay the balloon payment and you can get that money whatever way you want savings cu loan bank loan whatever.

I personally hate the idea of Pcp. Will only ever work out some what reasonable if you have the money to pay the balloon payment as otherwise the dealers are up even more money. Must be popular anyway as I have a load of relations that have new cars on Pcp and none of them have a penny which is the type it seems to attract due to the low deposit. Now obviously I'm not trying to say everyone who is on Pcp doesn't have money but it just seems to attract them sort of people who will just be able to cover the repayments and that's it. Whereas the term loan you have higher monthly repayments due to the fact you own the car at the end.

Most likely at customs m8.

I am sure they would have sent me a letter.

2 questions.

1) Anyone have any experience with Lidls air compressor and pneumatic gear? Is it worth the €200ish euro for everything?

2) Can I get a sump plug in a motor factors? Had a replacement for the S60 but its gone missing. The old (current) one is in a bad way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I broke the small piece of metal that connects the brake line to the caliper this morning, will I have to get a new brake line or can that piece be gotten separately generally does anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Does 3.5k for a 2006 Clio 1.5 dCi with 72k miles sound reasonable?