Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Another McLaren clone launching today

10675805_10152436382467153_3040138384095033416_n.jpg?oh=e852d4ccb5ec8b37f590652179565ac8&oe=548F37C0

This is worse than the BMW photocopier :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Todays been a good day, some guy quizzed me on the car, and at the end told me "you're bloody insane for owning something like that, but fair play!"

Now i'm off to work to play mechanic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

https://www.facebook.com/events/333562500152210/?sid_reminder=8714012881466687488

anybody going to the airisde euro&jap meet tonight? I am anyway will be my first time in years:(:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

New car sorted :)

Will you have it in time for the meet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

davycc wrote: »
    https://www.facebook.com/events/333562500152210/?sid_reminder=8714012881466687488

anybody going to the airisde euro&jap meet tonight? I am anyway will be my first time in years:(:D

I might go, car is clean anyway. Wont finish work until 9:30 do might be too tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Dord wrote: »
    Will you have it in time for the meet?

Dont think so unfortunately. The NCT has been out since January so theres no point going for it now and getting a few months. He said hes happy to throw it through for the longer cert and hold onto it and sort it out for me. If it gets NCT'd in the middle of October it should get a cert for 1 year and 3 months or will it just get it until January?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I might go, car is clean anyway. Wont finish work until 9:30 do might be too tired.

Might see ya there so Chris Ill be in the pink Ignis Sport;)

Dont think so unfortunately. The NCT has been out since January so theres no point going for it now and getting a few months. He said hes happy to throw it through for the longer cert and hold onto it and sort it out for me. If it gets NCT'd in the middle of October it should get a cert for 1 year and 3 months or will it just get it until January?

If it's overdue, it'll be til January. Best just get that over with IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Is Aviva open tomorrow at any stage, want to transfer insurance from Sunday evening until into next week.

Or is there a way you can do that yourself if you log on online??

If it's overdue, it'll be til January. Best just get that over with IMO.

Yeah if that's the case ill just send it through. Must send him a text but either way it still has to get the rocker gasket replaced and rear light sorted to pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Or she used your card without permission so she wouldn't have to pay.

id be getting new account and cards if it was me !

Speaking from an nct point of view.... no way possible they took payment twice

All grand. Payment was done automaticly by NCT centre. I met her today and got my 55eu back. It was just a bit annoying and all.
    It just I had my Visa details for booking as they asked. Obviously back them we were still together, so I did not planed **** to go down in 3 months. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Was going to view a focus St in the kilkenny in the morning but it's gone by the looks of it dose :mad: looked decent too 08 one but was 5 door didn't mind that too much. Ah well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

dgt wrote: »
    Attempting a nice speed run of an engine swap in a little bit.

This can only end in disaster

Well that went well. Ended up spending my day with..... Um.... Then sick in the evening and recovering today. So that's 2 days gone over some unexpected flirting :(

Still, I have this evening, I think. I have had my red bull and more jd for later. Wonder will I get it all assembled this evening.... Or will I have to face more unexpected adventures :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The m50 north was horrific this evening. Got stuck late in work and spent over a half hour literally sitting there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Stheno wrote: »
    The m50 north was horrific this evening. Got stuck late in work and spent over a half hour literally sitting there

Ouch...bet that was thirsty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Cleaned my car this evening it's so shiny now :)

That autoglym resin polish and gloss protector is actually so easy to use I was suprised it leaves a great shine too. Nothing nicer than driving around in a clean car.

Jaysus, selling a car is a pain in the hole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

It's very easy if you'll accept half your asking price and a nearly fresh mars bar

ba_barabus wrote: »
    It's very easy if you'll accept half your asking price and a nearly fresh mars bar

But I didn't advertise it on adverts.ie :confused:

I've only had a few ridiculous offers but they were from eejits. 3 viewers so far, 2 interested(ish) and will get back to me (yeah right! :rolleyes:). People are expecting an awful lot from a base spec 12 year old entry level Merc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

People are expecting an awful lot from a base spec 12 year old entry level Merc.

This is the problem right here. I remember selling my focus I was straight about it didn't try to hide anything. I was selling it fairly right and the body wasn't to bad on it and for a van it was mint. Still I had people showing up jaysus there's a bit of a chip gone out of that alloy small scratch there ( less than an inch) oh I wouldn't be happy with that. Felt like saying to them to fcuk off to ford and go and buy a brand new one for 5 times the price and they won't have any problems.

The lad I actually sold it too thought it was spotless he brought a ford head mechanic with him and he completly checked it over from head to toe and said it was one of the better ones he had seen in a long time. I also said to him about it cutting out when it gets to 1/4 of tank of fuel he said it was a common problem with he was actually sound out infairness. But you have to go through slit of idiots before you get a good buyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Bpmull wrote: »
    This is the problem right here. I remember selling my focus I was straight about it didn't try to hide anything. I was selling it fairly right and the body wasn't to bad on it and for a van it was mint. Still I had people showing up jaysus there's a bit of a chip gone out of that alloy small scratch there ( less than an inch) oh I wouldn't be happy with that. Felt like saying to them to fcuk off to ford and go and buy a brand new one for 5 times the price and they won't have any problems.

The lad I actually sold it too thought it was spotless he brought a ford head mechanic with him and he completly checked it over from head to toe and said it was one of the better ones he had seen in a long time. I also said to him about it cutting out when it gets to 1/4 of tank of fuel he said it was a common problem with he was actually sound out infairness. But you have to go through slit of idiots before you get a good buyer.

I just can't handle the army a turds when selling car. That's why I just give keys to my friend, ask him to do stuff needed to sell the car and then just give him a few quid of sale.

The fella I'm buying the 525i off must be delighted with himself, didn't even have to advertise it :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Ouch...bet that was thirsty!

Twas a pain in the hole after a 11.5 hour day due to crises :(

I've tracked it this week, and seem to be getting an overall 30mpg so far, that sound unrealistic? Pretty much all M50 and the lovely road you were on from Ashbourne to Swords.

Got it into fifth for the first time today!
    OSI wrote: »
    I actually managed to complete an entire telephone tech interview moving a full 5 feet on the M50. It's amazing how easily the whole thing comes to a standstill.

I offered a colleague who uses public transport and was equally delayed with me a lift. Fecker fell asleep and snored his way through half of it!

Once I heard there was a crash on the M1 intersection it was up the M2 for me :)

Stheno wrote: »

I offered a colleague who uses public transport and was equally delayed with me a lift. Fecker fell asleep and snored his way through half of it!

Once I heard there was a crash on the M1 intersection it was up the M2 for me :)

Cheeky fecker! :D

In fairness if it had been the opposite, I'd have done the same, I was exhausted by the time I got home :) He'd as bad, if not worse a day than I did and the poor fecker has to work all day tomorrow too! It was one of those weeks where everything that could go wrong did, then a pile of ****e no one anticipated also landed :D

He did apologise when I hit the bendy twisty road and the car woke him up :D

Then commented on how much the car preferred bendy back roads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Todays been a good day, some guy quizzed me on the car, and at the end told me "you're bloody insane for owning something like that, but fair play!"

Now i'm off to work to play mechanic :pac:

Outta curiosity, where/what as do you work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What car have you now Stheno?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

nd wrote: »
    Outta curiosity, where/what as do you work?

I work part time in a local garage :) according to the guy who owns the place, I can "turn a wrench" so i got a job there

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What car have you now Stheno?

2.5 V5 156

OSI wrote: »
    Black?

Charcoal grey as I would call it :)