Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

The 407 is a comfortable car, and I've been enjoying it so far, but I think I'm missing the height of the Rav4. :o

How I haven't lost my front number plate yet, I don't know. I've managed to scratch the underbody at the front multiple times now. Not sure why anyone would voluntarily lower their car at all. My heart sinks everytime I hear that plastic scraping noise.. (thankfully nothing serious, just very small rubs here and there, but I like to try take care of the car, so a bit disconcerting all the same :( )

I really wish 3ltr insurance was more affordable. Why are we still waiting for a 1.2ltr Hilux, Toyota? Get your act together for feck sake! :mad::p

In other news. Subaru half recaro seats are now a lot more comfortable when I lost 21kg (3.3 stone) :D

As someone in the process of trying to get into shape, myself (down 2.5 stone, with at least another 2 to go before I'll consider being a little happier), i have to say - fair play to you, SH.

The whole weight loss thing is an absolute bastard! :mad: And it's everyone else's fault (obviously)! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I broke the small piece of metal that connects the brake line to the caliper this morning, will I have to get a new brake line or can that piece be gotten separately generally does anyone know?

I'd say you need a new brake line, show us a pic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

The 407 is a comfortable car, and I've been enjoying it so far, but I think I'm missing the height of the Rav4. :o

How I haven't lost my front number plate yet, I don't know. I've managed to scratch the underbody at the front multiple times now. Not sure why anyone would voluntarily lower their car at all. My heart sinks everytime I hear that plastic scraping noise.. (thankfully nothing serious, just very small rubs here and there, but I like to try take care of the car, so a bit disconcerting all the same :( )

I really wish 3ltr insurance was more affordable. Why are we still waiting for a 1.2ltr Hilux, Toyota? Get your act together for feck sake! :mad::p

As someone in the process of trying to get into shape, myself (down 2.5 stone, with at least another 2 to go before I'll consider being a little happier), i have to say - fair play to you, SH.

The whole weight loss thing is an absolute bastard! :mad: And it's everyone else's fault (obviously)! :D

I dont want to sound like a cocky bastard, but it was way faster and easier then I expected. I was gathering all that weight for at least 3-4 years and I managed to drop it in 8 weeks. In a way it was harder to put it on. :D

Motor related: I woke up in the morning on my first alarm, instead of on second one. So u got my **** together and drove off to work. Half way to work I realised: I am going 45 minutes too early Ffs! So theres me in scooby dropping the seat back at works carparks and just going in to deep sleep lol. Thanks **** I put alarm again. :D
    almost slept in. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ohh ya scraping the underbody is something I'm all too used to. Plenty of roads I travel on have dips and if you go over them fast then it rubs. Even the ramps at school cause a problem if I go over them fast. I've noticed that it's started to scrape going over very gentle dips, moreso than it used to, must check it out, undertray or something might be loose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

A man says to the bartender, "My wife was killed by a spider last year."
    The bartender asks, "Bloody hell. What kind, tarantula or Black Widow?"
    The man replies, "No, Alfa Romeo."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I have a brand new TDI badge... I wonder what should I do with it? Stick on the Bora for lols or sell it? Does anyone here want it? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Sobanek wrote: »

Badadum tisssshh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Sobanek wrote: »

I'd say i have about 3 friends who would find that funny.... can't wait to tell it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

GvidoR wrote: »
    I have a brand new TDI badge... I wonder what should I do with it? Stick on the Bora for lols or sell it? Does anyone here want it? :P

Put it on a front instead of VW badge like a Boss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

pred racer wrote: »
    I'd say you need a new brake line, show us a pic.

I reckon so too, its just the piece of metal the banjo connecter is attached to. Ill post a pic later.

Its the piece of metal right before the cylinder banjo connector in this pic
    http://powerhouseperformancecycle.com/store/images/gold-hose-with-banjo.jpg

Ohh ya scraping the underbody is something I'm all too used to. Plenty of roads I travel on have dips and if you go over them fast then it rubs. Even the ramps at school cause a problem if I go over them fast. I've noticed that it's started to scrape going over very gentle dips, moreso than it used to, must check it out, undertray or something might be loose

If you want to hear underbody scraping, try driving a 159 for a while;)
    I reckon so too, its just the piece of metal the banjo connecter is attached to. Ill post a pic later.

Its the piece of metal right before the cylinder banjo connector in this pic
    http://powerhouseperformancecycle.com/store/images/gold-hose-with-banjo.jpg
    New brake line dude.

Right thought as much, might as well upgrade them both so while at it! Thanks chief. Need two friction bearings too for the front struts :o

French heap o dirt :D

pred racer wrote: »
    French heap o dirt :D

Well tbf it was my fault for the brake line, the socket slipped and my knuckles proceeded to snap it :pac:

Anyone have a recommendation for a good anti-seize for car bolts etc? Been meaning to get one for a while now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

416 miles up on the trip and still not empty :) wonder what consumption i got.... Who gives a sh*te if it costs near €80 to fill tomorrow, im feeling good :D
    Well tbf it was my fault for the brake line, the socket slipped and my knuckles proceeded to snap it :pac:

Anyone have a recommendation for a good anti-seize for car bolts etc? Been meaning to get one for a while now

Plusssss gasssss

dgt wrote: »
    416 miles up on the trip and still not empty :) wonder what consumption i got.... Who gives a sh*te if it costs near €80 to fill tomorrow, im feeling good :D

Plusssss gasssss

Plus Gas seems to be a penetrating fluid I need anti seize to put on the bolts when retightening them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Plus Gas seems to be a penetrating fluid I need anti seize to put on the bolts when retightening them :)

Derpy :o

I find that some thread lock acts as an anti seize matter as well as holding the bolt in place. Once the bond is broke it aids removal

Or a personal favourite, copper grease...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Loctite 242. The blue stuff. Avoid the red stuff, need lots of welly and a blowtorch to loosen it.

Yeah, see I have copper grease but Ive found a lot of stuff online saying not to use it especially with aluminium. I always had copper grease down as just something to put on some brake components and not as a specified anti-seize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Didn't think I'd get some pictures of the new yoke until I bought it but it happens to be in College today, here's a quick one I got.

20140929_114848_zpsvwlriw5y.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Nice Sir :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Very nice indeedy! Best of luck with it!

What is it a 525i?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Nice work dude. ;)

What is it a 525i?

Yep, 525i Auto, pretty much the whole spec, Black Leather, PDC front and back, Dual Zone Climate, MFSW and Cruise. Owned by a Mechanic in Blarney that is going to sort it out and get a new NCT before I pick it up.

I have a mahle fuel filter off my 325 which I never fitted and 2 chrome exhaust tips that are in great condition :) Although I think the e39 pipes are bent downwards instead of straight out like the e46 6pots, if they even have the dual pipes?

Also, you're gonna need a DA :D

Just opened a pack of tesco custard doughnuts and there's 6 in it.......result :D

I have a mahle fuel filter off my 325 which I never fitted and 2 chrome exhaust tips that are in great condition :) Although I think the e39 pipes are bent downwards instead of straight out like the e46 6pots, if they even have the dual pipes?

I'd probably take those off ya alright! The E39 Petrol Sports have straight out pipes whereas the SE's and Diesel Sports have downwards pipes, makes a huge difference to the look of the car!

EDIT* Just thinking that doesn't the E46 have a twin exit exhaust? The E39 has a single one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Well wear Norman. About time :pac:

Folks have ordered the new family wagon/repmobile. S60 D4 SE Luxury Auto. Darkish silver with black leather interior with wood trim. Every extra you can think of.

Almost €50,000 :eek:

I'd probably take those off ya alright! The E39 Petrol Sports have straight out pipes whereas the SE's and Diesel Sports have downwards pipes, makes a huge difference to the look of the car!

EDIT* Just thinking that doesn't the E46 have a twin exit exhaust? The E39 has a single one.

Yeah I was thinking they were single exit alright, Ill see if I have any other parts left over from the BM later