Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

pistol_75 wrote: »
    No sure if you've done this race before. I know your only doing it as MP session but the early miles are quite quick and you could get carried away a bit with the pace.

Keep plenty in reserve for a few tough miles towards the end.

Thx Pistol,

That's useful to know, I've not done it before, it usually takes me a bit to get going anyway so hopefully I won't go mad! Are the last few miles very hilly?

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Thx Pistol,

That's useful to know, I've not done it before, it usually takes me a bit to get going anyway so hopefully I won't go mad! Are the last few miles very hilly?

TbL

There's a few nice inclines over motorway etc for example. When you pass under the finish line shortly after starting you will hit a downhill. Bear in mind you will come back up this road towards the finish so you will be able to make up your own mind. This is probably the biggest continous hill but there are a nice few short inclines etc in there as well.

Nothing to worry you with how your training has been going.

Plan today called for 4/7 very easy and easy miles am/pm.

Was staying in Stephens Green last night and set the alarm nice and early to get the am session done before work. Jezus to a poor auld Bogger like me the Dublin rush hour traffic is a terrifying experience! Got 5 miles in at 8.40, not the most pleasant of runs but a good start to the day.

Headed to the PP for the pm session parked in the papal cross car park and was down to my "smalls" before I realised that I'd left my runners in the hotel. FFS! Got back into heavy traffic to retrieve the runners, low on motivation and fearing that I'd can the session I called Yaboya and Duannington to see if they were up for a few miles. DD was caught up but by pure chance Yaboya called me back and was just passing the quays on the way back from golf. He's looking fit, lean and in great shape, we did 5 miles easy together before he jetted off to do 2 MPM while I plodded out another 2 easy. Got 7 miles in at 8.25.

In deference to my cleaner diet I'm having a flat whitebread chicken thing in the Applegreen on the motorway rather than my usual Whopper. The thing tastes like seagull wrapped in the golden pages :)

Total miles today 12.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

What time were you there this afternoon? I was up from the sticks myself today & was there 'til 3.30

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    What time were you there this afternoon? I was up from the sticks myself today & was there 'til 3.30

Couple of hours after that J

You're only in my little black book for west of the Shannon dates :)

TbL

Plan today called for 4/7 miles, very easy and easy am/pm.

Got out this morning on my local hilly route, it's the first time in ages I've run in the rain, thought it would make a change and be enjoyable but feck that!

Got 7 soggy miles in @ 8.01

Got a rub during lunch break and the legs were very heavy, considered resting up this evening but went out with my daughter for a very slow 3.3 miles (was delighted as it's the longest she's ever run). Pace was about 10.15.

I've almost done 60 days straight running but having read the Dublin City Marathon thread, it seems that I've been doing it all wrong and should have only started training this week. As long as I did the hola hoop competitively at school, roller skate to work for the next 4 weeks and flake into a 10k I'll be grand :)

FFS Ecoli where can I get a decent set of roller skates at this stage!!

10.3 miles total today.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Good luck to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I've almost done 60 days straight running but having read the Dublin City Marathon thread, it seems that I've been doing it all wrong and should have only started training this week. As long as I did the hola hoop competitively at school, roller skate to work for the next 4 weeks and flake into a 10k I'll be grand :)

Have you not heard the latest? Running anything more than 16 miles in training is counterproductive. Man we are all F***ed (except Gavlor)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,793 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

May the Moone be with you. Best of luck!

Plan today called for the nursing home special. Woke up this morning very early with a sore throat, one feckin day running in the rain and I come down with a sore throat and the sniffles, FFS! It seems to be bacterial so that's not so bad and better getting it now rather than in 3 weeks. Got out just as it was getting bright for 3 miles, done at 9.22 recovery.

I propose that the 2014 DCM thread is kept open permanently, it's a veritable mine of running wisdom. I'm going to join a Tri club as apparently it's a FACT that any Tri guy who decides to concentrate on running would leave us mere running mortals for dead in a race.

In other news in my next cycle and in my attempt to go sub 2.55, I've decided to give up LR's and all sessions.

I've picked up the latest in technology that's guaranteed to get me that sub 2.55.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I propose that the 2014 DCM thread is kept open permanently, it's a veritable mine of running wisdom. I'm going to join a Tri club as apparently it's a FACT that any Tri guy who decides to concentrate on running would leave us mere running mortals for dead in a race.

TbL

we just need to make sure that the Duke keeps getting very little sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

I propose that the 2014 DCM thread is kept open permanently, it's a veritable mine of running wisdom.

TbL

I've stopped reading that and the sub3 thread as it makes you start doubting your plan and training and possibly should have done things different. Will read it once marathon is over in a few weeks

viperlogic wrote: »
    I've stopped reading that and the sub3 thread as it makes you start doubting your plan and training and possibly should have done things different. Will read it once marathon is over in a few weeks

Agreed, when it comes to running knowledge I'm as thick as two very short planks, but I'm lucky enough that I don't have to think about it at all, having someone in your corner that can quickly change a plan to accommodate changing circumstances is invaluable and takes away a huge amount of hassle/stress.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

viperlogic wrote: »

I know what you mean. It is good to read though and see the many different approaches. The main thing is the have full confidence in yourself and your training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Plan today called for the nursing home special. Woke up this morning very early with a sore throat, one feckin day running in the rain and I come down with a sore throat and the sniffles, FFS! It seems to be bacterial so that's not so bad and better getting it now rather than in 3 weeks. Got out just as it was getting bright for 3 miles, done at 9.22 recovery.

In other news in my next cycle and in my attempt to go sub 2.55, I've decided to give up LR's and all sessions.

I've picked up the latest in technology that's guaranteed to get me that sub 2.55.

TbL

There's an inline skating marathon in Berlin tomorrow ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Good luck in Moone tomorrow......Enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Good luck in Moone tomorrow......Enjoy!

+1, best of luck TbL.

Today the plan called for the Moone kilo marathon in or around PMP. Was up very early as the AA journey planner said the drive would take just under 4 hours, FFS! It might have if Ms Daisy was driving in heavy traffic! Got there with two hours to spare! Throat still sore so took a couple of paracetamol and got a hours kip in the car. Registration was quick and easy and I strolled down to the start in the warm mid morning sunshine.

The panto villain DR Q, he doesn't have horns or a tail nor a trident with DCM 3 week wannabe's head impaled on it, came over for a chat. We were soon off and I found it hard to get the breathing right but again soon settled into it after hawking up a ton of phlegm. Fecking hell the route was "incliney" and it was hard to keep even splits.

After about 5/6k I was running on my own and it stayed this way for the rest of the race except for the runners I passed on the second half. There was no one to latch onto and I think this makes the job tougher.

Was getting warm but I only took about a half bottle of water the whole way around. The second half of the course also seemed harder and there was a bit of a hill at the finish (tnx for the warming Pistol).

Legs felt good at the finish. Meet up with Krusty, Dublin Runner and Q at the finish and we made our way over to the hall where they had put on a decent spread. Had a bit of craic with Q and DR and I left them to do their warm down run.

Solid day at the office, average 6.47

Splits

2.00 (for the last bit)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

That is a flipping mighty run :D

Nice work :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Today the plan called for the Moone kilo marathon in or around PMP.

Splits

2.00 (for the last bit)

TbL

Solid effort. So when are you gonna finally admit that you are going for a sub 3? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭paddybarry

Today the plan called for the Moone kilo marathon in or around PMP. Was up very early as the AA journey planner said the drive would take just under 4 hours, FFS! It might have if Ms Daisy was driving in heavy traffic! Got there with two hours to spare! Throat still sore so took a couple of paracetamol and got a hours kip in the car. Registration was quick and easy and I strolled down to the start in the warm mid morning sunshine.

The panto villain DR Q, he doesn't have horns or a tail nor a trident with DCM 3 week wannabe's head impaled on it, came over for a chat. We were soon off and I found it hard to get the breathing right but again soon settled into it after hawking up a ton of phlegm. Fecking hell the route was "incliney" and it was hard to keep even splits.

After about 5/6k I was running on my own and it stayed this way for the rest of the race except for the runners I passed on the second half. There was no one to latch onto and I think this makes the job tougher.

Was getting warm but I only took about a half bottle of water the whole way around. The second half of the course also seemed harder and there was a bit of a hill at the finish (tnx for the warming Pistol).

Legs felt good at the finish. Meet up with Krusty, Dublin Runner and Q at the finish and we made our way over to the hall where they had put on a decent spread. Had a bit of craic with Q and DR and I left them to do their warm down run.

Splits

2.00 (for the last bit)

TbL
    Savage, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Cracking run TbL - onwards and upwards indeed !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Good man, great for the confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

menoscemo wrote: »
    Solid effort. So when are you gonna finally admit that you are going for a sub 3? ;)

After that session he'll be claiming he's going for sub 3:01 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Ya may as well just come clean.... Sub 3 attempt for definite Mon four weeks! And you'll get it too!

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Ya may as well just come clean.... Sub 3 attempt for definite Mon four weeks! And you'll get it too!

Tnx for the vote of confidence Bahanaman, but I definitely wouldn't have run another 10 miles at that pace. I don't want to jeopardise a sub 3.05 PB after all the training I've done by blowing up. We'll know for sure tomorrow 3 weeks :)

If you're back on here then telling me "I told you so !", sure I'll be happy out. :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Solid run indeed... Great stuff..
    Could be well capable of the sub 3, but go with
    what you feel is right for you at this time.
    Don't blow it :)

Legs felt grand today and was gonna do 7-10 miles easy but a text from coach and a worsening head cold saw me do another nursing home special. Did 3 miles recovery @ 8.57, a little quicker than usual.

65th straight day running and just under 65 miles for the week.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Legs felt grand today and was gonna do 7-10 miles easy but a text from coach and a worsening head cold saw me do another nursing home special. Did 3 miles recovery @ 8.57, a little quicker than usual.

65th straight day running and just under 65 miles for the week.

TbL

Jaysus I hope it's not man flu!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Superb running yesterday sir, keep the eye on the prize. Hopefully as Sam says it aint man-flu, thats near death stuff that!!