Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Today the plan called for 20 miles with the last 8 at PMP. These types of sessions have caused me problems in the past and despite Murph telling me it'd all come come good I was apprehensive about it. Got this in early this morning, weather was perfect for running only issue was during the first mile a Jack Russell made a go for me, the fecker actually tried to bite me while it's owner watched from the garden and didn't say a word. When the mutt tried again I drew a kick on him a got a lucky hit on his gob, that stopped him in his tracks and drew shouts of indignation from the owner. Hope the focker has to eat his pedigree chum through a straw! Anyway spent the first 12 miles worrying about the last 8. It worked out ok, despite a tough mile 19 and I picked it up for the last mile. Hopefully its the trailer for the movie "Lassie gets lucky in Amsterdam" :)

20 miles @ 7.32 pace.

73 total weekly miles.

Splits:

TbL

"Lassie nails his PMP LSR"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

yaboya1 wrote: »
    "Lassie nails his PMP LSR"

Tnx P.

Felt it was important to hit that one as it's my last LR and some of those types of sessions have gone pear shaped for me in the past.

This time next week you'll be on the beer savouring the sweat aroma of booze and a sub 2.55.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Tnx P.

Felt it was important to hit that one as it's my last LR and some of those types of sessions have gone pear shaped for me in the past.

This time next week you'll be on the beer savouring the sweat aroma of booze and a sub 2.55.

TbL

I hope you're touching wood......:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

PMP - Powerful Madra Puck :D

Great one man, nailed it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I hope you're touching wood......:pac:

Bit early in the morning for that kinda talk lads :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

"Lassie gets lucky in Amsterdam"

Doesn't sound like they'll be a PG rating on that;)
    Well done on a tidy session and for connecting with the hound - double success!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Brilliant run. Nice work on the Jack Russell too, although hope the owner isn't one of your neighbours! "Lassie Bites Back".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

That PMP looks suspiciously like a marathon time beginning with a 2. Is there something you're not telling us here? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

That PMP looks suspiciously like a marathon time beginning with a 2. Is there something you're not telling us here? ;)

Was thinking the same!

Not you too, KU!

Sub 3.05 is the target.

Don't think I've enough done in this cycle to go sub 3.

But if on the day everything somehow comes together and at mile 18 I'm close enough to sub 3, I won't be slowing down coz the target is sub 3.05 :)

That said as stated repeatedly I won't even be starting off at 7 min pace so there'll be to much to do to get close to sub 3!

Next cycle I'll be singing the sub 3 tune

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Picking up on your comment about St Anne's parkrun on AMK's log, when you do decide to come and visit make sure you give us some notice so we can have the silver polished and the red carpet at the ready:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Sub 3.05 is the target.

Yeah yeah!! We believe ya!:p

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Sub 3.05 is the target.

Yeah yeah!! We believe ya!:p

Bahanaman, you better contact Boards quick, it looks like FBOT or Yaboya have hacked your account!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Some very nice sessions being run here lately.

Did you give up the icecreams?

Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Bahanaman, you better contact Boards quick, it looks like FBOT or Yaboya have hacked your account!

TbL

Looks like Ferris hacked yours and left a load of sandbags lying around as his calling card :P

Plan today called for 4 miles very easy am and 6 miles easy pm.

This weeks session was brought forward a day to tomorrow so I decided to run this mornings run at recovery pace and this evenings at very easy pace.

Was happy with that decision as although the legs felt really good yesterday they had stiffened up considerably over night. First few miles were very slow and eventually got 5 miles in at 9.32 pace.

Eldest daughter was playing a semi final match in Craughwell this evening and as I got there early I decided to get a few miles in around the back roads of Craughwell rather than around Dublin later airport later (up in the big smoke tonight as heading to London very early tomorrow)

Lovely run around very quiet back roads interrupted occasionally by the odd barking dog (I had a fistful of pebbles at the ready in case the Jack Russells country cousins attempted a revenge attack :))

Got 6 miles in @ 8.22, total for the day 11.

Haven't given up the ice cream Ferris, everything in moderation, including cutting back on excess :)

TbL

Today the plan called for 2m wu/cd and 6 x 1m at HMP off 90 sec recovery.

Was very tired as was over and back to London in the day and had a bad nights sleep last night. First thing I noticed when I got to the car park at the airport was the wind, it was fairly breezy. Met up with coach at the papal cross park but remembered to move the car this time :) ( was pissed though to see it wasn't locked at 7 tonight!!)

Wind,both internal and external, is an auld fat lads enemy but lucky enough for coach I didn't have to practice my pretend cough! The stretches into the wind were tough enough tonight but in general I found the session reasonably comfortable with controlled breathing and legs in pretty good nick.

We decided to keep the reps as consistent as possible on this one.

Another decent session in the bag and a couple of easy days now till Moone.

Splits:

10 miles for the day

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

That's odd, there wasn't any wind to speak of on the coast when I was out around 5pm. Not the external variety anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Just wondering what kinda pace you intend to run at in Moone - all mp or will you do a progression type run?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

Was very tired as was over and back to London in the day and had a bad nights sleep last night. First thing I noticed when I got to the car park at the airport was the wind, it was fairly breezy. Met up with coach at the papal cross park but remembered to move the car this time :) ( was pissed though to see it wasn't locked at 7 tonight!!)

Wind,both internal and external, is an auld fat lads enemy but lucky enough for coach I didn't have to practice my pretend cough! The stretches into the wind were tough enough tonight but in general I found the session reasonably comfortable with controlled breathing and legs in pretty good nick.

Splits:

10 miles for the day

TbL

After the session the kid (;)) did this morning, you should've/could've really put the squeeze on him tonight. I bet he'll sleep tonight.

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Just wondering what kinda pace you intend to run at in Moone - all mp or will you do a progression type run?

Hey J,

I'll run the first 3-5 miles at 7 min pace and if feeling good bring it down to a max of 6.50, have been told that it's not flat out racing but rather another controlled session albeit within a race environment. I hope to finish feeling like there's more in the tank. I'm feeling strong and would like to think the 7 min pace should not drain me but anything can happen on the day.

TbL

Stazza wrote: »
    After the session the kid (;)) did this morning, you should've/could've really put the squeeze on him tonight. I bet he'll sleep tonight.

Ha ha Stazza, unfortunately I'm still twice his age, twice his weight and half the talent so unless I manage to fall on top of him I won't be putting squeeze on him anytime soon :) The fecker wasn't even slightly out of breath, was talking the whole way around!

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

Ha ha Stazza, unfortunately I'm still twice his age, twice his weight and half the talent so unless I manage to fall on top of him I won't be putting squeeze on him anytime soon :) The fecker wasn't even slightly out of breath, was talking the whole way around!

TbL

A swift kick in the crackers will stop him chatting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

TbL

He was probably only talking to save you having to do the pretend coughing:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭dukeraoul

Splits:

10 miles for the day

TbL

See ya in Moone!

TbL

I'd lay money if you'd really kicked it in you coulda dropped him... ;)

dukeraoul wrote: »
    See ya in Moone!

I'll see you at the start :)

Are you gonna go out hard Q or are you using it as a session?

I'll start stirring it early, are you gonna give DR a handicap :)

TbL

I'll see you at the start :)

Are you gonna go out hard Q or are you using it as a session?

I'll start stirring it early, are you gonna give DR a handicap :)

TbL

Hahaha I'm pretty sure we're both running this as an MP session in fairness -though to indulge your **** stirring until he beats one of my PBs(recent masters ones Tbf) he'll just have to run scratch ;)

Great stuff, nothing like a bit of **** stirring to get the craic going. DR since it looks like Q's gonna have you in his rear view mirror, I'll take ya + 15 mins :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

See ya in Moone!

No sure if you've done this race before. I know your only doing it as MP session but the early miles are quite quick and you could get carried away a bit with the pace.

Keep plenty in reserve for a few tough miles towards the end.