pistol_75 wrote: » No sure if you've done this race before. I know your only doing it as MP session but the early miles are quite quick and you could get carried away a bit with the pace. Keep plenty in reserve for a few tough miles towards the end.
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Thx Pistol, That's useful to know, I've not done it before, it usually takes me a bit to get going anyway so hopefully I won't go mad! Are the last few miles very hilly? TbL
Bulmers74 wrote: » What time were you there this afternoon? I was up from the sticks myself today & was there 'til 3.30
ThebitterLemon wrote: » I've almost done 60 days straight running but having read the Dublin City Marathon thread, it seems that I've been doing it all wrong and should have only started training this week. As long as I did the hola hoop competitively at school, roller skate to work for the next 4 weeks and flake into a 10k I'll be grand
ThebitterLemon wrote: » I propose that the 2014 DCM thread is kept open permanently, it's a veritable mine of running wisdom. I'm going to join a Tri club as apparently it's a FACT that any Tri guy who decides to concentrate on running would leave us mere running mortals for dead in a race. TbL
ThebitterLemon wrote: » I propose that the 2014 DCM thread is kept open permanently, it's a veritable mine of running wisdom. TbL
viperlogic wrote: » I've stopped reading that and the sub3 thread as it makes you start doubting your plan and training and possibly should have done things different. Will read it once marathon is over in a few weeks
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Plan today called for the nursing home special. Woke up this morning very early with a sore throat, one feckin day running in the rain and I come down with a sore throat and the sniffles, FFS! It seems to be bacterial so that's not so bad and better getting it now rather than in 3 weeks. Got out just as it was getting bright for 3 miles, done at 9.22 recovery. I propose that the 2014 DCM thread is kept open permanently, it's a veritable mine of running wisdom. I'm going to join a Tri club as apparently it's a FACT that any Tri guy who decides to concentrate on running would leave us mere running mortals for dead in a race. In other news in my next cycle and in my attempt to go sub 2.55, I've decided to give up LR's and all sessions. I've picked up the latest in technology that's guaranteed to get me that sub 2.55. TbL
FBOT01 wrote: » Good luck in Moone tomorrow......Enjoy!
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Today the plan called for the Moone kilo marathon in or around PMP. Solid day at the office, average 6.47 Splits 6.46 6.56 6.53 6.48 6.54 6.52 6.50 6.44 6.54 6.40 6.48 6.51 6.33 6.41 6.42 6.42 2.00 (for the last bit) TbL
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Today the plan called for the Moone kilo marathon in or around PMP. Was up very early as the AA journey planner said the drive would take just under 4 hours, FFS! It might have if Ms Daisy was driving in heavy traffic! Got there with two hours to spare! Throat still sore so took a couple of paracetamol and got a hours kip in the car. Registration was quick and easy and I strolled down to the start in the warm mid morning sunshine. The panto villain DR Q, he doesn't have horns or a tail nor a trident with DCM 3 week wannabe's head impaled on it, came over for a chat. We were soon off and I found it hard to get the breathing right but again soon settled into it after hawking up a ton of phlegm. Fecking hell the route was "incliney" and it was hard to keep even splits. After about 5/6k I was running on my own and it stayed this way for the rest of the race except for the runners I passed on the second half. There was no one to latch onto and I think this makes the job tougher. Was getting warm but I only took about a half bottle of water the whole way around. The second half of the course also seemed harder and there was a bit of a hill at the finish (tnx for the warming Pistol). Legs felt good at the finish. Meet up with Krusty, Dublin Runner and Q at the finish and we made our way over to the hall where they had put on a decent spread. Had a bit of craic with Q and DR and I left them to do their warm down run. Solid day at the office, average 6.47 Splits 6.46 6.56 6.53 6.48 6.54 6.52 6.50 6.44 6.54 6.40 6.48 6.51 6.33 6.41 6.42 6.42 2.00 (for the last bit) TbL
menoscemo wrote: » Solid effort. So when are you gonna finally admit that you are going for a sub 3?
Bahanaman wrote: » Ya may as well just come clean.... Sub 3 attempt for definite Mon four weeks! And you'll get it too!
ThebitterLemon wrote: » Legs felt grand today and was gonna do 7-10 miles easy but a text from coach and a worsening head cold saw me do another nursing home special. Did 3 miles recovery @ 8.57, a little quicker than usual. 65th straight day running and just under 65 miles for the week. TbL