Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Woop, eBaying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

pred racer wrote: »
    All I know is that every golf in north Tipp was out today, and not one of them was going anywhere quickly.

None of them were me anyway. The 1.4 petrol ones are not suppose to be too quick and they were the main one that sold here I'd say.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They had a 75PS 2.0 PD SDI in the Mk5, Similar to the caddy (which is 69PS)
    You see them a bit in the UK

Aright I did have a feeling about them in the uk. The sdi in the caddys are not too bad having been in them over the summer there well able to keep up with flow of traffic and ok acceleration until about 60 mph after that forget it. They are ridiculously lowly geared in every gear though going down the motorway anyway where near the 120kmh and your sitting between 3500 and 4000 revs which is high I don't know how it doesn't harm the engines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Bpmull wrote: »
    None of them were me anyway. The 1.4 petrol ones are not suppose to be too quick and they were the main one that sold here I'd say.

All silver Tdi's here, not a red letter to be seen :(
    Driven by birds on the phone and auld wans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,834 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

All I know is that every golf in north Tipp was out today, and not one of them was going anywhere quickly.

It's all the Ryder Cup publicity; all the Golfs are trying to self-drive to Hollywood to pay tribute to Roareeeee.

All silver Tdi's here, not a red letter to be seen :(
    Driven by birds on the phone and auld wans.

Silver is the one colour I don't like in them. I was in a basic one a while back and couldn't believe how horrible the basic mk5 is inside. So much black plastic not even a trip computer on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They had a 75PS 2.0 PD SDI in the Mk5, Similar to the caddy (which is 69PS)
    You see them a bit in the UK

A close friend of mine had one a few years ago, 2005 5 door import. Was nowhere near as rough as the 1.9 SDI, quite a nice driver, I didn't find it overly slow at the time either

Round 7 already :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

dgt wrote: »
    A close friend of mine had one a few years ago, 2005 5 door import. Was nowhere near as rough as the 1.9 SDI, quite a nice driver, I didn't find it overly slow at the time either

Round 7 already :eek:

14Nm makes all the difference :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The alfa love is reborn after a day of driving a 156 2.5 V6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Just found out I can insure a 2004 E61 545i!

€6,824.05 for Third Party, Fire and Theft and €8,193.06 for Fully Comprehensive.

Ouch :pac:

But an E61 545i with LPG would be a yummy car to own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Sobanek wrote: »
    Just found out I can insure a 2004 E61 545i!

€6,824.05 for Third Party, Fire and Theft and €8,193.06 for Fully Comprehensive.

Ouch :pac:

But an E61 545i with LPG would be a yummy car to own.

Reasonable quote i would think you'll all agree :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

If anyone happens to see a young lad driving a dublin bus around town today, please take her handy

It'll probably be me on the driving test and i want to get the job !

If anyone happens to see a young lad driving a dublin bus around town today, please take her handy

Ok for today only I will be nice to Dublin bus drivers:p

You do realise, if you get the job........it's game on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Ok for today only I will be nice to Dublin bus drivers:p

You do realise, if you get the job........it's game on :D

Haha i can only guess you work for a competitor ! ?

Cheers lads. This is the big one i suppose that if i got it id be set up now for retirement !

Haha i can only guess you work for a competitor ! ?

Cheers lads. This is the big one i suppose that if i got it id be set up now for retirement !

Nope, I just hate Dublin bus drivers and I will go out of my way to cut them off,
    Nearly as much as Dublin Taxi drivers:pac:

OSI wrote: »
    I look forward to the day you gain infamy via a YouTube video of your interaction with an irate cyclist :P

I could imagine the driving test alright

*fecking poxy cyclists. Lets see how many of the bolloxs we can run over in an hour !*

Waves middle finger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I had a dream were I was driving a Dublin Bus but it was from the upper deck, scary as fúck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Haha, scooter.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Good luck

I had a dream were I was driving a Dublin Bus but it was from the upper deck, scary as fúck.

I've had that dream aswell :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I've had that dream aswell :eek:

I thought you'd be the guy in the back listening to scooter :P

Ya ****ing hooer ya

Walk out behind a van just as im driving a double decker bus pass ya... swerved and avoided thankfully !

Passed the driving test anyway lads. Now for interview and the rest of the hiring process !

Take that gaybo and your hatred of young male drivers. I'll have fun not letting you use your bus pass !

Ya ****ing hooer ya

Walk out behind a van just as im driving a double decker bus pass ya... swerved and avoided thankfully !

Passed the driving test anyway lads. Now for interview and the rest of the hiring process !

Take that gaybo and your hatred of young male drivers. I'll have fun not letting you use your bus pass !

Congrats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Ya ****ing hooer ya

Would they not interview you before letting you drive a bus around the city ? :D

The interview was tough enough alright but i just got through it there... heres hoping lads !

And sure either wwayit was different to get out and about on a bus in the city getting cut up by taxis and cycles !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Ya ****ing hooer ya

Delighted for ya. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

So what's the going rate for a full service these days?

Mechanic took my car and spent about 3.5 hours wandering around it. Gave me a price breakdown of €98 for parts and €135 for labour. Total came to €233 (well, €230).

This full service somehow didn't involve the changing of glow plugs, which I had specifically asked to be done. Everything else was done though, from what I can tell (oil filter, oil change, air filter, etc.) and he gave it a decent look over and plugged it into his laptop/dignostics software (which brought up a.. you guessed it, glow plugs issue!).

I can't help but feel I've paid over the odds. I've used this mechanic for the past 2 years (since I started driving), and have always been relatively happy, but I'm not at all impressed with this most recent effort.

Or am I being completely unfair? Perhaps the 407 is just a pain in the hole to service? What do ye guys think? Am I being unreasonable, or is it time to get a different mechanic on the scene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Nah that sounds about right, it's the same where i work for a full service and diagnostic check too, anything after that is at the will of the owner, ironically enough we had a 407 in the other day, for glow plugs and something else, I wasn't working on it, but the guy had half the engine out on the ground and wasn't too impressed at what he pulled out, whatever it was