Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,732 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

OSI wrote: »
    Interesting article posted in the Classics forum:

http://www.independent.ie/life/motoring/car-news/116000km-the-distance-to-make-up-diesel-premium-30609279.html

Interesting that it's now becoming a part of the wider media. But the way it's reported is a tad. He says it's true because a Citroen Executive told him so.

Hmmm.....

Just like Citroen Electronics, that's utter sh1te.

Rare that I do Whole Life Comparison's between Petrol & Diesel models nowadays, but a new diesel over a 3 or 4 year term will be cheaper over the whole life than the equivalent petrol, but quite a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yeah, but that's probably based on 1.6 HDIs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I had the pleasure of spraying diesel all over mister G Dalton today:D

Last time he asks me to start a car for him:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,834 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

R.O.R wrote: »
    Hmmm.....

Just like Citroen Electronics, that's utter sh1te.

Rare that I do Whole Life Comparison's between Petrol & Diesel models nowadays, but a new diesel over a 3 or 4 year term will be cheaper over the whole life than the equivalent petrol, but quite a bit.

How much of that is down to higher residuals on the diesels as a result of the relative obscurity (word used advisable) of 3-4 year old petrol models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Anybody want a voucher to the value of €300 for MyDental Clinic in Ballsbridge? Too far away for me to use it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

I have a toffee crisp in exchange for dental voucher could throw bag of tayto into the mix if required!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

coolisin wrote: »
    I have a toffee crisp in exchange for dental voucher could throw bag of tayto into the mix if required!!

Lame effort, I'd be offering a half eaten stale bag of taytos stashed underneath the drivers seat :D

Anybody want a voucher to the value of €300 for MyDental Clinic in Ballsbridge? Too far away for me to use it really.

How did you manage to end up with a voucher to a dental clinic that's nowhere near you? :confused:

Regardless, I know someone looking to get dental work, done. I'll say it to them. Can you PM me how much you'd be looking for, for it? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Some competition via Joe.ie. Was months ago, they fecked up their system, so I only got it now. Just checked it there and it says in the T&c's "non transferable, to be used by the issued party only". Bummer, sorry guys :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Attempting a nice speed run of an engine swap in a little bit.

This can only end in disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I know this question has been asked a gazillion times lads but if the gardai are using the hand held speed camera guns do they have to pull you over or can the new ones also take picture of reg?
    Passed one in Tallow this morning doing about 63kph in a 50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

I know this question has been asked a gazillion times lads but if the gardai are using the hand held speed camera guns do they have to pull you over or can the new ones also take picture of reg?
    Passed one in Tallow this morning doing about 63kph in a 50

I'm almost certain they have to pull you after confirming your speed on the handheld. At 63 kph you were most likely at no more than 55kph give or take so you'd be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

It was a female guard holding it up to her face Im sure, at least I hope, only spotted her at the last second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭jprboy

It was a female guard holding it up to her face Im sure, at least I hope, only spotted her at the last second.

:eek::eek::eek:

*** Reads previous posts ***

*** Excitement dies ***

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

On my cycle home yesterday, I saw a really cool modded Polo....I generally don't like that kind of stuff, but it looked class! It was a 03/04 3 door. That had been resprayed in a cream colour, with BBS LMs (painted purple with a deep chrome dish), and was running stretched tires. i gave the guy a thumbs up at a set of lights and he raised and lowered it on it's bags!

...i think i'm ill! But it was deadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

On my cycle home yesterday, I saw a really cool modded Polo....I generally don't like that kind of stuff, but it looked class! It was a 03/04 3 door. That had been resprayed in a cream colour, with BBS LMs (painted purple with a deep chrome dish), and was running stretched tires. i gave the guy a thumbs up at a set of lights and he raised and lowered it on it's bags!

There's people to deal with that. . They're called exorcists :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

that was on donedeal recently, cant seem to find it now. i thought the same thing, very nice... for a polo :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Neighbour pulled out of car park this morning to be met by a Customs vehicle that happened to be passing by. Neighbour was driving a UK/NI reg car bringing their child to school. Oops! I got a chuckle watching it unfold.

In other news, I'm picking up the new car on Saturday. It's not a batmobile (unfortunately) as some may think. It's not really secret either as I've mentioned what I was going to buy before. I had to put my practical hat on so it's nothing fancy or crazy. Pics to follow.

I have another buyer coming tonight for the Merc. Hopefully that'll go and everything will wrap up nicely. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Dord wrote: »

In other news, I'm picking up the new car on Saturday. It's not a batmobile (unfortunately) as some may think. It's not really secret either as I've mentioned what I was going to buy before. I had to put my practical hat on so it's nothing fancy or crazy. Pics to follow.

Is it the Up! that you were thinking about before?

Nah not the Up!... As with any Vw car when you start speccing them up it gets crazy. Its still a small car though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Panda?

Lads, is it me or is this way too cheap?
    NCT is legit so I'm very very interested.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-saab-9-3-1-9-tid-diesel-estate/7741391

Just found out I'm going to be a daddy :) So my type of car purchase has somewhat changed :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Just got a call from dublin bus .... attend a medical !

You're nearly there :)

bear1 wrote: »
    Lads, is it me or is this way too cheap?
    NCT is legit so I'm very very interested.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-saab-9-3-1-9-tid-diesel-estate/7741391

Just found out I'm going to be a daddy :) So my type of car purchase has somewhat changed :/

Congrats man :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Congrats man :)

Thanks :) The kid better be a good one for making me buy a stationwagon :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Thanks :) The kid better be a good one for making me buy a stationwagon :pac:

Galway City has also relocated to the US has it? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Cheers for all the kind words and advice during my recruitment process lads. Its being fun too ! Just hoping the last part goes well now !

If dord comes back with a B class i will be disappointed :(

Cheers for all the kind words and advice during my recruitment process lads. Its being fun too ! Just hoping the last part goes well now !

If dord comes back with a B class i will be disappointed :(

My money is on a 135i :)

Panda?

Ding ding ding. We have a Weiner! :pac: