If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Today I did something to my car (volume 2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭bazery

Would I have to put the cat back in for the nct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

bazery wrote: »
    Would I have to put the cat back in for the nct?
    Not in a diesel, no.
    I've had decatted diesels pass, it's only a requirement for petrols to have a cat fitted.

(Or do a good decat job, with a replacement exhaust piece that looks like a cat ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Exh_002.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,800 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

joujoujou wrote: »
    [...]

Will be painted tomorrow.

It is tomorrow. ;)

Unfortunately, the only direct-to-rust paint I had was hammer effect golden colour so springs look funny now. :D

Thankfully they'll be hidden deep in wheel arches. :)

322895.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭jprboy

corkgsxr wrote: »

I loved the difference it made with my 1.6 hdi. If I got another it'd be done from the get go.

All that with fuel savings. Went from averaging 36 up to 44 mpg

That was after a decat AND remap, right?

I also have 1.6 HDI (Peugeot 3008).

What's a ballpark figure for this job?

Any disadvantages with getting it done?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,672 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Not in a diesel, no.
    I've had decatted diesels pass, it's only a requirement for petrols to have a cat fitted.

(Or do a good decat job, with a replacement exhaust piece that looks like a cat ;) )

Is that decat or dpf delete you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

So the speaker in the front passengers door was making funny noises. I pulled off the door card and noticed that it was wrecked. I just unhooked it as the noise was terrible and made hearing the radio hard.

I hope to get one cheap from a scrap yard as I would like to have it right but for now til do.

Next week an oil and filter change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

Working on a French car for a change, a nice car actually.

2.JPG
    3.JPG
    4.JPG
    5.JPG
    6.JPG
    10.JPG
    11.JPG
    13.JPG
    14.JPG
    15.JPG
    19.JPG
    20.JPG
    22.JPG
    25.JPG
    31.JPG

To be continued...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

jprboy wrote: »
    That was after a decat AND remap, right?

I also have 1.6 HDI (Peugeot 3008).

What's a ballpark figure for this job?

Any disadvantages with getting it done?

Thanks.

Mine was a berlingo so no remap needed.

I can stainless weld good so I made it all myself.

Worked away for 6-8 months no bother then I put it back and sold the van

• Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,725 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

bmstuff wrote: »
    Working on a French car for a change, a nice car actually.

To be continued...

Lovely car, but I couldnt sit in it with that ugly steering wheel staring back at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Fitted a hood ornament :)

94BA3FC9856A4B5C888595DDEF95BB34-0000363222-0003673895-01024L-81BA175BBB7E43FA912CF96EFA8BB4F5.jpg

54154838347D4B09ACC7846DB8FC1A01-0000363222-0003673894-01024L-E6315830AF9B4DB3BE45FB7C9874A023.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

For some strange reason the top of my door was peeling the laquer. I had planned on getting it painted, but I have a perfectly mixed (By myself, lol) colour match aerosol and a can of laquer so I went at it myself.

Needs to be buffed and sanded still, I'll see how good I can get it just for the craic. I'll be getting it repainted early next year either way.

10712817_10154616736760176_6444992999262152721_n.jpg?oh=9921404b057277ba897ad38a34108a82&oe=548DEA30

10659394_10154616742870176_5245993440422873757_n.jpg?oh=5de61594b7ec5ad88ad8d2c407f780bb&oe=54BB7D47

I'm going to buff it back tomorrow, the sand back and re laquer the entire top half of the door.

You made a right bollix of the handle :pac:

Have to store it outside tonight and it's the one bit of masking I couldn't be arsed taking off, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I think you'll all agree, if there's one thing we love about our MM it's the subtle way he goes about helping people, not pointing out our bad points :D

Shur isn't MetzgerMeister German for HelpfulHelper :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Not the last time i checked! :confused:

WOW thats what it means :)

Actually it's Master Butcher but sarcasm seems to be lost on the likes of ye! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Not the last time i checked! :confused:

Do you check that often? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

Final pictures of the Renault Megane Sport Trophy...

32.JPG
    30.JPG
    33.JPG
    35.JPG
    36.JPG
    37.JPG
    39.JPG
    41.JPG
    43.JPG
    48.JPG
    47.JPG
    52.JPG
    53.JPG
    54.JPG
    55.JPG

Actually it's Master Butcher but sarcasm seems to be lost on the likes of ye! :D

I should have made myself clearer, i had checked and was reacting to what it actually was :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

So i have the speaker unplugged on my car. Called to a scrap yard yesterday who said they had the speaker. It was in a door which was left outside and was very wet. So the search continues.

Bit of wetsanding and buffing today and I'm happy :)

20140924_193048_10.jpg

Is that a brush?? :eek: :P

Yeah, it's leaning on the cloth roof though. Nothing worse than brushes on the ground :p

Good :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,800 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

A box has arrived...

323274.jpg

...with my weekend's job inside (apart from bbq and a few beers of course). :D

323275.jpg

There actually is no better feeling that when a box of car parts arrives!

And no worse feeling when the credit card bill arrives!