Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It's like the assumption that any e60 (even with the m5 side skirts, quad exhausts, and air intakes on the side above the indicators) is a tarted up 520d.
    The sad part is, a quick check on mywheels or similar normally proves that assumption to be correct.

Or again, the amount of RS4 TDIs versus real RS4's on the road. Certainly would be a factor in my decisioning not to buy a real RS4 if I was considering one.

I think I would be the opposite, I would absolutely buy an RS4, and badge it as a TDI. All letters are red, because V8 petrol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I think I would be the opposite, I would absolutely buy an RS4, and badge it as a TDI. All letters are red, because V8 petrol :D

Paint the exhaust tips black and all :D
    I liked the idea (to the point I was considering rebadging my 535d to a 518i when I had it) but I've just been turned off the RS4 so much by all the wannabe's.
    I mean I don't think I have seen more than one rs4 in the flesh - and that was at a boards meet! The rest (and you'd see multiples dalily) are RS4 TDI's

Paint the exhaust tips black and all :D
    I liked the idea (to the point I was considering rebadging my 535d to a 518i when I had it) but I've just been turned off the RS4 so much by all the wannabe's.
    I mean I don't think I have seen more than one rs4 in the flesh - and that was at a boards meet! The rest (and you'd see multiples dalily) are RS4 TDI's

I almost hate to say it. But in terms of mods you can do to standard A4's....they don't look half bad! (...form a queue to give me a punch in the face...). Completely over done, and a lot of them are done badly. But the RS4 is a very understated car in itself, when compared to the likes of an M3 of similar vintage.

I've no problem with the mods to an a4, like even putting a (functional) dual exhaust system is kindof cool and improves the car imo.
    But leave off the RS4 badge. Sacrilege.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I've no problem with the mods to an a4, like even putting a (functional) dual exhaust system is kindof cool and improves the car imo.
    But leave off the RS4 badge. Sacrilege.

My take on it also, it's not an rs4 so it doesn't wear the badge. Simple as.

My car was adorned with m badges when i got it, there's not one to be seen now!

YbFocus wrote: »

For clarity sake...no badge can be included...ever...on anything other than an RS4! And even then I'd totally debadge (or rebadge) the thing anyway. I'm talking like I'd ever actually own an RS4...unfortunately I just can't see that happening. MX5 with a supercharger is what's on my mind after watching that video in the youtube thread.

This irritates me no end.
    The amount of m518d and m520d on the road really annoys me. F10 cars with m520d on the back?
    Words cannot describe....:mad:
    Anyway there's no point, as anyone who knows what the m badge signifies will knwo that there's no such thing as an m520d. And those that don't - wont care either way as they will just look for the BMW sign and the reg plate year.:rolleyes:

For clarity sake...no badge can be included...ever...on anything other than an RS4! And even then I'd totally debadge (or rebadge) the thing anyway. I'm talking like I'd ever actually own an RS4...unfortunately I just can't see that happening. MX5 with a supercharger is what's on my mind after watching that video in the youtube thread.

Scrap the stock engine and get an sr20 in there.
    Very light, you can push 300 with little work.
    A few grand will see 450 to 500.
    I can only imagine what that would be like in an mx5 :D

having been in a 550bhp near 3ton car at the weekend, I can only imagine what 450-500 would be like in a feather car like the mx5!

Fastest thing i was ever in was a track ps13, rb26 pushing 600bhp.
    Would have weighed 1.1 tonnes or so, it was mind blowing!

Id say the fastest car I've ever driven was my 535d. However the fastest car I was ever in was a civic owned by a poster on here, over 200bhp/tonne. I would say your track car was a feckin beasht, about 500bhp/tonne, thats insane!!

Id say the fastest car I've ever driven was my 535d. However the fastest car I was ever in was a civic owned by a poster on here, over 200bhp/tonne. I would say your track car was a feckin beasht!!

Oh god it wasn't mine man, a former idc pro driver owned it. He got all his work done by a mechanic friend of mine, brought me for a spin in it.
    Bloody terrifying. Spinning in fourth at over 100mph in the dry when it came on boost kind of terrifying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Saw an X5 M50d yesterday..

You had one job!

bmw-x5-m50d-4x4-2013-badge.jpg?itok=D0hWhPRA

Hard to believe that mish mash of font styles was from the factory.
    It's like they left a chav handle the badging and he just went to Halfords!
    Looks worse in person.

X5 m50d?

[/drool]

They could put whatever badges or colors or whatever on that car and I would still love it. Tri-turbo, enough torque to turn the planet's spin the other way, daysul, sub 5 seconds 0-60.... and in an SUV body! So much want, that words cannot describe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

I'd wager that X5 is a badge warrior, can't believe BMW let the car leave the factory like that. plus on the real M50's on google image the whole badge seems further over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Yeah the one I included is off a press car so its the real deal, I didn't bother taking a picture yesterday as I was too busy grimacing.

Just shows its bad if people think the real one looks fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Can someone tell me what in the name of fook is wrong with the exhaust on this?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia-1-9tdi-2005-year-nct07-15-/7680429

Seems like a really bad DIY job

Mother of god...

I mean I talk of the MX5 and turning into a beast...I could really just look at more mods for the e46. But there's no power to be had out of it, which maybe defeats the purpose...

Koni sport shocks on the way though...that should be a nice improvement.

If the mileage was higher I'd nearly wager it was taxi. Rough as a donkeys arse that yoke.

That's presuming that mileage is genuine at all....I reckon not....

Could be a possibility

Mother of god...

I mean I talk of the MX5 and turning into a beast...I could really just look at more mods for the e46. But there's no power to be had out of it, which maybe defeats the purpose...

Koni sport shocks on the way though...that should be a nice improvement.

Koni stuff is second to none, great choice man.

To do work on the 325 would be too costly to be effective.
    I'd go low compression and supercharge it if you were doing anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

kind of depressed. bought a vw passat estate 2011 (2.0) and its just not the same as my 2.0 petrol a4.

sure its more economical, but diesel cars suck. THEY SUCK

kind of depressed. bought a vw passat estate 2011 (2.0) and its just not the same as my 2.0 petrol a4.

sure its more economical, but diesel cars suck. THEY SUCK

Remap it :)

Got to love classic insurance.
    Changed my policy from a 1995 2.0d Toyota Carina to a 440ci (~7 liter) Chrysler and there wasn't even so much of an admin charge let alone a policy increase! (And it only cost 180 p/a to begin with)

Koni stuff is second to none, great choice man.

To do work on the 325 would be too costly to be effective.
    I'd go low compression and supercharge it if you were doing anything.

Power gains are not worth the extreme cost in such mods on the e46. Simply not worth it! Buying an M3 would be more cost effective in every way!

Engine swap. 330d and bigger turbo.
    That's the way to go :P

If you want power then japs and turbos is the only way to go.
    Easily accessible, cheap and some great cars.
    Plus it's a road well walked so parts are cheap and plenty know the routine.
    When building up that s14 we found all the info to do it ourselves online. 8 drift days later and still not a glitch!
    The sr, jz and rb series engines love tuning and take mighty trashing! Plenty of jz's running 450 to 500 on standard internals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I know a 350bhp sr20, gear box, exhaust and NISTUNE ECU sitting on a crate eating for a car.
    It was offered to me for €2500 as a mates price, if you are thinking of an SRX5 Alan, let me know and I'll put you on to him. :D

Was planning on buying it but work fell through and I couldn't afford it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

The Saab B204 is another engine capable of taking massive power increases. Some mad lads in sweden have engines pushing 700bhp.