Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Have to agree that the stickers were ruining the car.
    The engine picture gave me a semi :D
    Cleve could you do me just one favour when you get it, make a 10 second video and put the camera next to the exhausts... then floor the bastard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Epic, the engine shot looks great. It polishes up well, If I had it I would get it painted american Steel Blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Possibly this weekend but more likely next weekend.
    I'm in work 6days this week including the weekend so wont be able to pick her up.
    I have a few other photos that were sent on so I'll upload a couple here (ones that are not personally identifiable, since the former owner is in some and I won't put up someone's photo without prior consent_)

Edit: So apparantly I can only add one photo per post, is this new??

Looks epic...(and I reckon it was just the size of the photo that prevented you from adding more...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

bear1 wrote: »
    Have to agree that the stickers were ruining the car.
    The engine picture gave me a semi :D
    Cleve could you do me just one favour when you get it, make a 10 second video and put the camera next to the exhausts... then floor the bastard!

Haha I don't think putting the camera near to the exhaust is even necessary. There are no words to describe the sound of the beast. But yup, I'll be taking a couple of videos anyway.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Epic, the engine shot looks great. It polishes up well, If I had it I would get it painted american Steel Blue.

Cheers.:)
    I was looking at a few different colors and I think the ones online that look the best is in gloss black. I do like the decals and that though, so I am not sure atm.
    Anyway I havent even picked her up yet so I'll enjoy driving it for the rest of the season and think color schemes when she's tucked away for the winter.

Cheers.:)
    I was looking at a few different colors and I think the ones online that look the best is in gloss black. I do like the decals and that though, so I am not sure atm.
    Anyway I havent even picked her up yet so I'll enjoy driving it for the rest of the season and think color schemes when she's tucked away for the winter.

Black would suit it for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

So, someone living across the road from me owns a Black A4, done up with bodykit, false badging and the usual twin-exhaust thing.

And it's been sitting there Thumping on the drive since around 9am while he dicks around with it. The bass carries ****ing everywhere, and it's going through me bloody head.

The same ****ing Dump Dump Dump Dump, Dump Dump Dump Dump... Whump..... Dump Dump Dump Dump, Dump Dump Dump Dump.....Whump.... for nearly 7 hours.

This should be a Capital offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

OSI wrote: »
    Noise pollution is an offence.

Not during the day, only during "unsociable" hours. And even then best of luck getting anybody to do anything about it.

I gave up after a month and a half when I lived in Leixlip. (My eldest daughter was waiting for a major heart operation at the time, and couldn't sleep)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Dartz wrote: »
    Dump Dump Dump Dump, Dump Dump Dump Dump... Whump..... Dump Dump Dump Dump, Dump Dump Dump Dump.....Whump.... .

I know that tune it's a belter! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Got ye olde mortgage approval today, so happy out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

YbFocus wrote: »
    Got ye olde mortgage approval today, so happy out :D

Buying or building?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Dartz wrote: »
    So, someone living across the road from me owns a Black A4, done up with bodykit, false badging and the usual twin-exhaust thing.

And it's been sitting there Thumping on the drive since around 9am while he dicks around with it. The bass carries ****ing everywhere, and it's going through me bloody head.

The same ****ing Dump Dump Dump Dump, Dump Dump Dump Dump... Whump..... Dump Dump Dump Dump, Dump Dump Dump Dump.....Whump.... for nearly 7 hours.

This should be a Capital offence.

Better than having to live beside a chap mowing the same lawns every f*cking day with the same droning c*nt of a lawnmower. I've had visions of driving across it and making sh*te of it with the tractor. I'm driven apesh*t on a daily basis and hes too stupid to see the damage hes doing to the grass, the wild flowers and bees, but its alright cos hes keepig the road looking nice....

Still, you may get the last laugh when he goes to start it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Love the smell of fresh cut grass

pred racer wrote: »
    Buying or building?

Building :D

On the noise thing, even during the day you have to be within a certain limit, or its still noise pollution.

Building :D

On the noise thing, even during the day you have to be within a certain limit, or its still noise pollution.

Yeah, I heard that, same reason a Garda would give out saying your exhaust was too loud.

Yeah, I heard that, same reason a Garda would give you your exhaust was too loud.

Or why Mondello are getting a bollocking over the cars always being too loud, in the middle of the day!
    I swear they do a lot for that area to try make up for it and they just keep running them into the ground :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Or why Mondello are getting a bollocking over the cars always being too loud, in the middle of the day!
    I swear they do a lot for that area to try make up for it and they just keep running them into the ground :(

You'll always find it's one or two....your a young feckin chap to have a mortgage!!! Are you even old enough for classic insurance yet? :pac:

I am indeed, just this year!
    Ah have a good job under me now and stuff, get the ball rolling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I am indeed, just this year!
    Ah have a good job under me now and stuff, get the ball rolling!

You must have got a job pretty quickly when you left college so. Speaking of jobs in trying to decide where to go on placement. Bit of a nightmare trying to decide what to pick of the list. I think I may be racking up a lot of mileage as everywhere is far from home bar two places but trying to get them is not easy as it's a certain amount random choice you pick 6 places and after interviews they put you in any of the 6.

Bpmull wrote: »
    You must have got a job pretty quickly when you left college so. Speaking of jobs in trying to decide where to go on placement. Bit of a nightmare trying to decide what to pick of the list. I think I may be racking up a lot of mileage as everywhere is far from home bar two places but trying to get them is not easy as it's a certain amount random choice you pick 6 places and after interviews they put you in any of the 6.

No bp it took a year, but paid off in the end.
    In the long run it may be one of these placements that lands you your first job so be happy no matter what you get :)

No bp it took a year, but paid off in the end.
    In the long run it may be one of these placements that lands you your first job so be happy no matter what you get :)

Didn't realise it was a year at least you've got something you like anyway. I know the placement is definitely important hence why picking the right 6 can be difficult ah I'm sure it will be all fine in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

will be on my final year placement come January, i know your pain. I want to pick the place that will offer me the job :P

I know you have to be thinking of that too. Starting interviews next week so that should be fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

This^^^^
    Working in a major event centre I can tell you, you will have the same goody too shoes making the slightest smallest thing a big deal.
    This is the face as soon as she rings :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

So today I got my results back from my repeats, I passed one and failed another :(

However they went on to say the subject I failed has been dropped and all I've to do is an assignment to pass it, looks like I'm in second year :D

So today I got my results back from my repeats, I passed one and failed another :(

However they went on to say the subject I failed has been dropped and all I've to do is an assignment to pass it, looks like I'm in second year :D

Great news all round so man :)

Congratulations!

Great news all round so man :)

Congratulations!

So it seems! Well done on the mortgage too by the way :)

Off to barca on the 20th of next month, driving seems a bit out of it now :(

Thanks man!

900 going on the back burner for a while?
    It will only mean its all the sweeter when she gets there!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

So it seems! Well done on the mortgage too by the way :)

Off to barca on the 20th of next month, driving seems a bit out of it now :(

You dropping that plan?

@ YB congrats :)

Must get a car soon, sharing the OHs merc is driving me mental.

Thanks man!

900 going on the back burner for a while?
    It will only mean its all the sweeter when she gets there!

It'k be a weekend job from now on it seems! I need to get brake fluid and two tyres, so about 50 quid should do the job, however I might be going to sligo a bit more often now though :)