Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

How did he test drive it with no NCT?

Well I would guess that he sat into the car, closed the door, turned the key, placed his foot on the brake, selected drive, put down the handbrake, released the foot brake and accelerated down a selection of public highways. How would you do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I never did before until I drove the E39 Auto, very smooth and seems to kick down when you want it to. Perfect for where it will usually live.

Yeah it does look great, exact spec I wanted too! I want the estate as I think they look way better and will be handy out for Airsoft and Road trips, 2.5 to boot too!

The tourings look great and that's a brilliant colour.
    I'm playing with the idea of bringing an e39 in from England around Christmas. Can't find one I want here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Car looks nice FHN. Not enough people buy estates. Personally, I think the BMW estates have better lines than their saloon counterparts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

YbFocus wrote: »
    The tourings look great and that's a brilliant colour.
    I'm playing with the idea of bringing an e39 in from England around Christmas. Can't find one I want here.

I toyed with that idea as well for an M-Sport Touring but it's a bit too much for me at the moment, lovely yokes over there, I'd probably try for a V8 at that stage though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

How did he test drive it with no NCT?
    Ah come off it. .
    Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Well I would guess that he sat into the car, closed the door, turned the key, placed his foot on the brake, selected drive, put down the handbrake, released the foot brake and accelerated down a selection of public highways. How would you do it?

Well I just thought it was the law that a vehicle could not be driven without a valid NCT.

Trust me I break the law from time to time. I was in court twice for driving offences and was banned from driving for two years, so maybe I'm just cautious now and would not take the chance of test driving a car without a NCT.

I toyed with that idea as well for an M-Sport Touring but it's a bit too much for me at the moment, lovely yokes over there, I'd probably try for a V8 at that stage though :P

That's the plan, bring home at least a 35, or a 40 :) Red the same as 166 man's I think. Rare though!

I'd love an Imola Red Touring, be paying ridiculous money for it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

M-Sport Imola Red Saloon is what you want tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I painted my bumper today, was at it most of the day as there was some areas that needed filler, by the time I finished it the sky was already dark.
    320198.jpg

You'd get it back though when you sell it :) they're always worth more.

They are no doubt, V8 + Imola Red + M-Sport = €€€€€

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Went to fit the fog lights today, but I'm missing a clip thing, kind of a swivel joint is what I'm told. Looking at other fog lights for sale they don't come with them, so it must be a seperate clip. They are on focus' with the standard fogs aswell. Anyone know what they're called, or can find one online?

243huso.png

It's the bracket you need but I don't think they are sold separately. Maybe try ford, they could order them for you or a cheap set on ebay.

41eE3Kb%2Bi9L.jpg

They are no doubt, V8 + Imola Red + M-Sport = €€€€€

But look at the car you get :)
    That's a real dream machine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I am just surprised ToastyPickle drove a BMW, he is not exactly a fanboi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

ToastedPickles took a look and drive of this http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-5-series-2-5-litre-petrol/7552348 for me today, some man! He said it was all good to him, there was no noises/squeeks and the box was good.

Very tempted to have a look at it next Friday and see what the story is with it, possibly buy. What do ye make of it?

Just to let you know that dealer is fairly sound too. We bought a megane estate off them id say 3-4 years ago. They seemed fairly upfront and honest. Small enough dealer but seem to turn a good few cars all the same. Granted the megane had a few electrical problem but I don't think they tried to hide them kind of intermittent. Sold the car on for a few hundred profit 6 month later so can't complain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I am just surprised ToastyPickle drove a BMW, he is not exactly a fanboi.

I'd say he absolutely loved it. Sure he's an out and outright BMW closet fanboi, he doesn't want people to know he secretly sticks BMW badges all over his Saab's :p

Now plotting on buying that touring sure :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Maybe it's just me, but if that 5 series was decent, he'd slap a test on it...a dealer selling a trade sale car screams lots of problems to me

But look at the car you get :)
    That's a real dream machine :)

I want either a V8 one or M5 next, not for a good while yet though!

Maybe it's just me, but if that 5 series was decent, he'd slap a test on it...a dealer selling a trade sale car screams lots of problems to me

Well that megane we bought of the same dealer had no nct and it passed first time with no issues we didn't even spend anything on it maybe he just isn't into nct testing cars I don't know.

dgt wrote: »
    I'd say he absolutely loved it. Sure he's an out and outright BMW closet fanboi, he doesn't want people to know he secretly sticks BMW badges all over his Saab's :p

Does he not already drive a BMW Estate? :confused::confused:

DSCF0184_zps231ecdf1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Yay this is true :pac: It's time i came out, I secretly wish i had a bmw and think saabs are as ghey as christmas :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

It's time i came out

I'm glad you mustered up the courage, well done, were all behind you! :D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Bpmull wrote: »
    Well that megane we bought of the same dealer had no nct and it passed first time with no issues we didn't even spend anything on it maybe he just isn't into nct testing cars I don't know.

I don't know either, it just screams alarm bells to me. Why wouldn't he nct it? It'd add another 4-500 onto the price

I'm glad you mustered up the courage, well done, were all behind you! :D:pac:

One at a time lads :D:pac:

Ah no in fairness, I thought id offer to have a look seeing as i was near it anyways

Plus the guy visits the bangernomics section here and knew my car from the sticker :pac: I'm famous! :D

I don't know either, it just screams alarm bells to me. Why wouldn't he nct it? It'd add another 4-500 onto the price

You can even see from the ad where the motor tax is mentioned it is never going to make huge money as it's only specific people who will buy it so maybe they see it better to keep the price as low as possible. Once it's checked over properly you would have a fair idea if it will fail on anything major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Hal1 wrote: »
    It's the bracket you need but I don't think they are sold separately. Maybe try ford, they could order them for you or a cheap set on ebay.

Ya the bit that goes around this piece. There's a holder in the fog light slot for it too. Went to the dealer today, he wasn't sure, he had an exploded view of the front fog lights and found what he thought was the bracket. €2 each so he'll have a pair in tomorrow. I'm just trying to find a pic of said bracket online, so I know what I'm looking for. :)

5mkftt.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Is that you, toasted? :pac:

9bgjnm.png

Is that you, toasted? :pac:

9bgjnm.png

Jaysis that scared me for a sec! :eek::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭kev250

By phoning the nct, can the centre tell a potential buyer if a car has been sent for the nct and failed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

kev250 wrote: »
    By phoning the nct, can the centre tell a potential buyer if a car has been sent for the nct and failed?

No, data protection. They won't even tell you if a cert is fake or not over the phone.