Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

bear1 wrote: »
    I think I may have finally solved why my diesel S40 is drinking so much and there is sweet fcuk all I can do about it.
    I was driving it on the motorway this evening when I started paying attention to the rev counter.
    At 100km/h it's revving at 2000rpms in 5th gear, bring it to 130km/h and it's at nearly 3000rpms!!
    So I'm going to assume that the gearing ratios are all wrong on this car.
    Or.. I'm talking ****e.

Sounds almost like a petrol ratio. My car in sixth is at 1900 at 120kmh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Do 120kmph instead? my own yoke gets a good bit less economical at 130kmph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Talk about drinking petrol. I used €30 worth of petrol doing 170km. That was filled from near at the empty line but the petrol light did not comne on. What mpg is that does any smart people know? I'm useless at these calculations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭jprboy

Talk about drinking petrol. I used €30 worth of petrol doing 170km. That was filled from near at the empty line but the petrol light did not comne on. What mpg is that does any smart people know? I'm useless at these calculations.

Assuming you paid €1.50 per litre and that you did use all of the €30, that's approx 24 mpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

colm_mcm wrote: »

Mine get more economical the faster it goes.....so if i manage to get to the speed of light without it breaking down, I'll have infinity mpg :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Believe me I've tried, makes no difference at all. It's at about 2700rpms at 120km/h.
    From what another poster showed me on fuelly these dci S40 engines aren't known for their economical abilities.

jprboy wrote: »
    Assuming you paid €1.50 per litre and that you did use all of the €30, that's approx 24 mpg

Oh right. Well I put that €30 in Friday evening and had to fill up again Saturday night, but I was driving like a lunatic, high revs (to keep mivec engaged) in back roads with bends and twists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Do we have a bicycle forum? I think my 16 year old Raleigh Manta Ray is nearing the end of it's useful life. Loose bearings jammed the pedals as I was crossing a busy junction today. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

The caddys we have in work sit at 4,200 rpm going down the motorway at 120-130 kph just off the limiter. That's where the sdi engine shows it's real faults there actually not too bad around d
    Town keep up with the flow of trafic well. Just the higher speeds well I think there top speed is 88mph anyway.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Do we have a bicycle forum? I think my 16 year old Raleigh Manta Ray is nearing the end of it's useful life. Loose bearings jammed the pedals as I was crossing a busy junction today. :eek:

Here

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

MY mechanic might soon hate me unless referred boardsie behave.

that said, his temp fix on the exhaust is holding two weeks later

no more recommendations :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Meh he either wants business or he doesn't i can't see how a customer needs to behave unless it's a case of people refusing to pay for work done and i certainly don't see how it's your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Stheno wrote: »
    MY mechanic might soon hate me unless referred boardsie behave.

that said, his temp fix on the exhaust is holding two weeks later

no more recommendations :D

What's up?
    If it's the master cylinder which is why he'd be pissed off

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

He's well overbooked, suggests he's very popular tbh

I however need a new car, any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Mine get more economical the faster it goes.....so if i manage to get to the speed of light without it breaking down, I'll have infinity mpg :D

The a Jag is like that too, more economical in 4th at 120kmph than 5th, and more economical at 150kmph than 120kmph (allegedly)

Also lads how are PS3's still so dear ?

Wanted to buy one with GT6 and it's coming to just shy of 300 squid

Mechanics hating customers? Seems to be the in thing these days, I can't seem to get a hold of mine, all i want is my 900 engine back, wouldn't take 10 minutes

He's well overbooked, suggests he's very popular tbh

I however need a new car, any suggestions?

What's wrong with your gtv?
    What's your budget?

Brera/159?

That 3.2 litre GT 05 on DD seemed like a bargain and a natural progression from the GTV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

The a Jag is like that too, more economical in 4th at 120kmph than 5th, and more economical at 150kmph than 120kmph (allegedly)

My 75 was like that. Same mpg at 60mph as 80mph.

Mechanics hating customers? Seems to be the in thing these days, I can't seem to get a hold of mine, all i want is my 900 engine back, wouldn't take 10 minutes

Mine doesn't he just expects you to have a bit of respect tbh
    What's wrong with your gtv?
    What's your budget?

Brera/159?

Not a 159, definitely a Brera, looking for alternatives, will be buying in the next six months for cash, not excited by BMW, might consider an SLK, half thinking of getting the gtv through the nct for half nothing and going for a porsche

What I'd like is a gtv replacement

Mine doesn't he just expects you to have a bit of respect tbh

We don't happen to have the same mechanic do we??

Would you not call down to him and see how he is getting on with it?

I would, but the last time i was there he basically, but politely told me to f off, he's only holding the engine i done the work, I can understand where was coming from though he was doing a fairly big job, so i said id call him another time, still waiting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Stheno i only used your mechanic once and we got along fantasticly but havent been back since !

pickles, bust in and steal it back !

Stheno i only used your mechanic once and we got along fantasticly but havent been back since !

pickles, bust in and steal it back !

Bust in?? jaysis the man would kill me! Literally! 3rd grade black belt so he is :pac:

From over on the picture thread

Mr heilongs red bumper

319849.jpg

"Hmm I need it to match the car, and I've no paint! Aha! I know!"

sharpie.png

tumblr_inline_nadwtoHzaV1qzk1it.jpg

"Ahhh good as new!!"

319871.jpg

"What do ye think lads?.....lads???"

92059128c7adbf2a0a07f6d1bb34fee2.jpg

Totally worth doing this :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Do you often sit in front of the computer with just a tie on??

Sorry you'l have to speak up, I'm wearing a tie at the minute :pac:

May be getting my hands on a rear gta arb for the 156 in return for a manifold i have. Yippeeeeeee