Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Lads, just a word of warning. I did this race 2 years ago and it was short of 13 miles. http://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/215170434
    I think they messed around with the start/finish line that year and I am not sure if they changed it back. Afaik it was short last year as well.

It will still be an excellent training run of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

menoscemo wrote: »
    Lads, just a word of warning. I did this race 2 years ago and it was short of 13 miles. http://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/215170434
    I think they messed around with the start/finish line that year and I am not sure if they changed it back. Afaik it was short last year as well.

If it's short on my garmin, I will continue to run until I've covered 13.11 miles :P. It would be very disappointing if it was though, especially considering the price. It's hardly cheap!

yaboya1 wrote: »
    If it's short on my garmin, I will continue to run until I've covered 13.11 miles :P. It would be very disappointing if it was though, especially considering the price. It's hardly cheap!

Yes I was very disappointed but a few of us that had done it kept a pact to keep shtum :p

I did the Marathon in 2011 and the start was in a totally different place:
    http://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/110039524
    Compare that to the Half in 2012 (half and Marathons start at the same time/place then split after a few miles)
    http://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/215170434
    It's easy to see from the above where the 400m or so are lost (right at the start). Afaik the Marathon has also been short for the past few years despite the marathon holding it's AIMS certificate. The course is AIMS measured but they don't actually use the AIMs course :rolleyes:. Maybe it's fixed this year though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

FFS Meno,

Don't say that, is the Full not AIMS certified, (so you'd expect the measuring for the half to be spot on) I did this about 6 years ago and PD'ed, so that might explain it :)

I see the price is now 50 yoyos so I'd be pretty pissed off if they can't get the fecking distance right.

TbL

Edit: posts crossing in cloudland re AIMS

FFS Meno,

Don't say that, is the Full not AIMS certified, (so you'd expect the measuring for the half to be spot on) I did this about 6 years ago and PD'ed, so that might explain it :)

I see the price is now 50 yoyos so I'd be pretty pissed off if they can't get the fecking distance right.

TbL

See above post.
    Since they changed the start line in 2012 all the 100 mara boys have been saying the mara is slightly short of the full garmin distance. Now since you will typically run an extra 0.1-0.2 mile over marathon distance this has not been evident enough to show up any complaints (they might typically get 26.15 garmin miles). The half however is a different story. The day I did it no-one got more than 13 miles and they used the same start line last year afaik.

See above post.
    Since they changed the start line in 2012 all the 100 mara boys have been saying the mara is slightly short of the full garmin distance. Now since you will typically run an extra 0.1-0.2 mile over marathon distance this has not been evident enough to show up any complaints (they might typically get 26.15 garmin miles). The half however is a different story. The day I did it no-one got more than 13 miles and they used the same start line last year afaik.

Thanks Meno,

The missus has been giving me loads all day about this and that, and I wasn't pissed off.

Read your post.

I'm pissed off now!

TbL

Thanks Meno,

The missus has been giving me loads all day about this and that, and I wasn't pissed off.

Read your post.

I'm pissed off now!

TbL

I passed this info on to one of the Irish AIMs course measurers earlier in the year so there is a chance he might have been in touch and that they have put things right.

Sorry for spoiling your night :o I've actually been away from boards for a few weeks before now otherwise I would have picked up on yee doing this race and let you know. If it is short you will still be able to get a HM workout and know where you stand REF average pace etc...

Tnx,

I see you're back doing a bit, any target or are you just getting back into it?

TbL

Tnx,

TbL

He's targeting 3:40 in Dublin :D

Tnx,

TbL

See Yaboya1's post :p

Yeah I am woefully off my best, haven't really done any decent training since April; If I am in good enough shape to pace DCM in 10 weeks I'll be happy enough then hopefully can use that as a base to kick on over the winter. Am entered for London again next year but might decide to do Manchester instead; we'll see.

Plan today called for a track session.

4 x 200m, 2 x 400, 1 x 600, 2 x 400, 4 x 200. 200m jog recovery between the reps.

The Epsom salt bath worked it's magic and had taken most of the stiffness out of the legs but they were still a bit heavy. I'm in London for the test of the week so got this done this morning.

After a 2 mile warm up on the grass pitches I hit the track. I'm not really built for this quicker stuff and the only resemblance I'd have to a sprinter is when my cheeks are flopping all over my face like a pair of long johns on a clothes line on a windy day :)

This session was comfortably hard compared with the last few ball bustin ones.

Finished with a 1.2 mile cool down jog.

Splits:

41,41,42,41:
    1.27,1.27:
    2.08:
    1.24,1.22:

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Nice work ..... another session nailed :D

+1. I'm expecting a big run on Sunday ;)

Plan today called for 7 miles easy.

Had a long day in London and I'm back in that hotel in spaghetti junction in Gatwick. Didn't get on the threadmill until after 10 and I had less than zero interest in this. Thought it might get easier as I worked my way through it but nah!

Pulled the plug (literally) after 6 miles

TbL

Plan today called for 4am & 7pm easy miles.

I'm still in London and was absolutely wrecked when the alarm went off before 6 and l slept in.

Only had a very short window to run this evening as I had a work commitment. Did 5.5 very slow slow miles around Redhill village.

I'm doing the Longford half on Sunday. Tomorrow's session was to be 5 miles easy. I'd probably be able to manage today's session tomorrow (4/7). I'm at the stage of the program where I don't want to miss miles if I can at all help it. I'm in Morocco end of next week and will miss one or two sessions.

Quick question, that I'd appreciate some feedback on (coach on hols and don't want to bother him with something so small), should I do the 4/7 or stick to the 5m in the plan.

Tnx lads,

TbL

I think you should stick to the plan. From what you've posted the last couple of days, you seem a bit tired/stressed out and your runs are becoming a chore. I think you'll benefit more from a few easy days than from flogging yourself to death over 6 easy miles :)

Plan today called for 4am & 7pm easy miles.

I'm still in London and was absolutely wrecked when the alarm went off before 6 and l slept in.

Only had a very short window to run this evening as I had a work commitment. Did 5.5 very slow slow miles around Redhill village.

I'm doing the Longford half on Sunday. Tomorrow's session was to be 5 miles easy. I'd probably be able to manage today's session tomorrow (4/7). I'm at the stage of the program where I don't want to miss miles if I can at all help it. I'm in Morocco end of next week and will miss one or two sessions.

Quick question, that I'd appreciate some feedback on (coach on hols and don't want to bother him with something so small), should I do the 4/7 or stick to the 5m in the plan.

Tnx lads,

TbL

Is the run still going? Record still on? :)
    I'm not sure if I'm right, but I'll give my opinion anyway. I was down for 6m (am) and 4m (pm) today. I thought I wouldn't be able to manage to fit the pm miles in, but now it looks like I will just about manage them. Anyway, if I wasn't to get them in, I would totally forget about them and move onto the next day as if I did. So I think you should just stick to the 5m easy tomorrow and keep yourself as fresh as possible for Sunday. See you then ;)

I think you should stick to the plan. From what you've posted the last couple of days, you seem a bit tired/stressed out and your runs are becoming a chore. I think you'll benefit more from a few easy days than from flogging yourself to death over 6 easy miles :)

Many tnx CM,

Was my initial thought too, but have to go to Casablanca Thursday & Friday next week and strong possibility of no running on those days, (in a week of planned higher mileage) so just thought I ask the collective wisdom.

TbL

Many tnx CM,

Was my initial thought too, but have to go to Casablanca Thursday & Friday next week and strong possibility of no running on those days, (in a week of planned higher mileage) so just thought I ask the collective wisdom.

TbL

Your training has been super so I don't think you need to worry about missing a couple of days next week either. It'll probably be good for you. I think as runners we tend to forget how important rest is especially when we're in the middle of a plan. If I was you I would be focussing on being fully rested and relaxed for Longford. Maybe try some yoga ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Your training has been super so I don't think you need to worry about missing a couple of days next week either. It'll probably be good for you. I think as runners we tend to forget how important rest is especially when we're in the middle of a plan. If I was you I would be focussing on being fully rested and relaxed for Longford. Maybe try some yoga ;)

Wot she said ^^^ ( except the sissy yoga bit)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

Off to Morocco? I'd say you spend more time abroad than you do in Ireland :P It'd be handy if they had a treadmill on the planes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Well its like this if that lady is saying go easy then you should go easy;) You wont hear it often from her!

Plan today called for 5 miles easy.

Been a busy few days with work and I've been all over the place from a routine perspective. Got back into Galway about 7 this evening and I got dropped off about 8 miles from the house, after a quick roadside change into some smelly gear.

Nice to get back onto familiar roads and I tipped along easily enough.

Ended up with 8.5 miles @ 7.50.

Couple of easy miles with strides tomorrow and Longford HM on Sunday.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Good luck tomorrow Mr Lemon.

DFIU.

Ferris B wrote: »
    Good luck tomorrow Mr Lemon.

DFIU.

Wha???

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Dont Fcuk it up.

get with it............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Best of luck tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Best of luck tomorrow....enjoy!

Plan called for 3 miles easy with strides.

Got our late this evening, but it was still nice and sunny.

Did the 3 miles nice and slow with no watch.

29th day straight running.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,776 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Looking forward to the report already. Have a good one.